• audiobook

From the Publisher

Amy Waters Yarsinske, a former intelligence officer and Pulitzer Prize-nominated author, breaks the incredible true story of Lt. Comdr. Michael Scott Speicher, the first American pilot shot down during the Gulf War, found alive in Iraqi custody eleven years after the US government left him for dead.

On January 16, 1991, Speicher participated in the initial air strike of the Persian Gulf War. Moments after an attack by an Iraqi MIG-25, Speicher's plane vanished over the Baghdad desert. The next day, Secretary of State Dick Cheney and Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Colin Powell told the American public that Speicher was the first casualty of the Gulf War. He was listed as KIA/BNR.

Tracking this explosive story for the past eight years, Yarsinske interviewed top government and military officials, diplomats, pilots, informers, and Iraqi defectors to write a stunning true account of the denials and cover-ups that obscured an essential fact: Speicher actually survived.
Published: Listen & Live Audio on
ISBN: 9781593162771
Listen on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for No One Left Behind by Terence Aselford and Amy Waters Yar...
With a 30 day free trial you can listen to one free audiobook per month

    Related Articles

    2 min read

    Why We’ve Fallen Short And Why That’s No Longer An Option

    NORTH KOREA’S ISOLATED dictators have long believed that nuclear weapons will ensure regime survival against U.S. military power, enabling it to unite the Korean Peninsula on its terms. Successive U.S. Administrations have tried various strategies to thwart the dangerous trajectory of the regime. Some have made progress, only to be set back by North Korean perfidy, by changes in policy direction and by cautious partners and allies in the region who wanted a different approach. We now know that for much of this time Pyongyang was working to preserve and even expand its nuclear program. North Ko
    2 min read

    Why Is Rex Tillerson Skipping The NATO Meeting?

    On Monday, U.S. officials said Secretary of State Rex Tillerson will skip what would have been his first official meeting with the foreign ministers of NATO members. Instead, Tillerson will travel to Russia. The move will likely fuel speculation about the Trump administration’s ties to the Putin government and its commitment — or lack thereof — to the NATO alliance. With Russia’s recent aggression toward former Soviet Republics, including Georgia and Ukraine, onlookers worry that NATO, which was created as a bulwark against the U.S.S.R., is becoming increasingly necessary at a time when the ad
    The Atlantic
    3 min read

    'We Are Better Than This Ban': Dissent Over Trump's Immigration Order

    U.S. State Department officials are expected to sign a memorandum opposing President Trump’s executive order on immigration, saying “We are better than this ban.” Trump’s executive order suspends the U.S. refugee intake for 120 days and bans Syrian refugees for the foreseeable future. It also bars from the country all citizens of seven predominantly Muslim countries—Iran, Iraq, Libya, Syria, Sudan, Somalia, and Yemen—regardless of their visa status for 90 days. The Trump administration says the move is to make the U.S. safer. But in a draft memo obtained by the The Atlantic, and first publishe