Nikmati judul ini sekarang juga, ditambah jutaan lainnya, dengan uji coba gratis

Gratis selama 30 hari, lalu $9.99/bulan. Batalkan kapan saja.

The Jetsetters: A Novel

The Jetsetters: A Novel

Ditulis oleh Amanda Eyre Ward

Diceritakan oleh Thérèse Plummer


The Jetsetters: A Novel

Ditulis oleh Amanda Eyre Ward

Diceritakan oleh Thérèse Plummer

peringkat:
3.5/5 (388 peringkat)
Panjangnya:
8 jam
Dirilis:
Mar 3, 2020
ISBN:
9781980057673
Format:
Buku Audio

Catatan Editor

Reese Witherspoon pick…

This big-hearted family tale is Reese Witherspoon’s book club pick for March 2020. “I love the sense of adventure in this story — it’s about a disconnected family that reunites on a cruise ship traveling through Europe. If you’re packing for Spring Break, be sure to include a copy of this fun read,” Witherspoon wrote in the announcement post.

Deskripsi

A Reese's Book Club x Hello Sunshine Book Pick

When 70-year-old Charlotte Perkins submits a sexy essay to the "Become a Jetsetter" contest, she dreams of reuniting her estranged children: Lee, an almost-famous actress; Cord, a handsome Manhattan venture capitalist who can't seem to find a bride; and Regan, a harried mother who took it all wrong when Charlotte bought her a Weight Watchers gift certificate for her birthday. Charlotte yearns for the years when her children were young and she was a single mother who meant everything to them.

When she wins the cruise, the family packs all their baggage—literal and figurative—and spends 10 days traveling from sun-drenched Athens through glorious Rome to tapas-laden Barcelona on an over-the-top cruise ship, the Splendido Marveloso. As lovers new and old join the adventure, long-buried secrets are revealed, and the Perkins family is forced to confront the defining choices in their lives.

Can four lost adults find the peace they've been seeking by reconciling their childhood aches and coming back to each other? In the vein of The Nest and The Vacationers, Ward has created a delicious and intelligent novel about the courage it takes to reveal our true selves, the pleasures and perils of family, and how we navigate the seas of adulthood to cruise—we can only hope—toward joy.

Dirilis:
Mar 3, 2020
ISBN:
9781980057673
Format:
Buku Audio

Tentang penulis

Amanda Eyre Ward was born in New York City, and graduated from Williams College and the University of Montana. Her short stories have been published in various literary reviews and magazines. She is the author of the critically acclaimed and award-winning novel ‘Sleep Towards Heaven’ and ‘How to be Lost’, and was named by the New York Post as one of five Writers to Watch in 2003. She lives in Austin, Texas, with her husband, geologist Tip Meckel.


Terkait dengan The Jetsetters

Buku Audio Terkait


Ulasan

Pendapat orang tentang The Jetsetters

3.5
388 peringkat / 13 Ulasan
Apa pendapat Anda?
Penilaian: 0 dari 5 bintang

Ulasan pembaca

  • (3/5)
    Light reading. Ideal for vacation. Maybe it will turn up as a nice tv series.
  • (2/5)
    The narration was good but the story was sadly disappointing. It felt like the characters didn't learn anything or develop and the ending was way too abrupt.
  • (3/5)
    This was a really messed up family that started from a bad marriage but spiraled due to substance abuse. The rest of the journey is each person trying to reclaim that youthful part of their life when they felt safest and happiest.
  • (4/5)
    The author’s descriptions of a cruise are hilariously on point. The narrator doesn’t know how to pronounce words, which is very distracting.
  • (5/5)
    Narration is fantastic. Funny story, sweet, sad, believable, surprising. Great (flawed and like able) characters, with different ages and personalities. European cities! Hilarious description of a cruise. Loved it! Easy to read - but still lots that could be discussed in a book club.
  • (3/5)
    I found it hard to like the characters enough. I finished the book, but it will be quickly forgotten.
  • (4/5)
    The narration of this book was great! I loved how she brought the characters to life. The story was good and kept my interest throughout. I gave it four stars because I like to save 5 for books that are above and beyond, stay with me, and evokes emotions.
  • (3/5)
    It was interesting to see all the sides of the family dynamic, or rather the lack of a dynamic. Many fun parts, some surprises and an ok ending.
  • (4/5)
    I enjoyed it, it was a quick listen, it paired well with the Floating Feldmans, offering a more positive view of cruises.
  • (5/5)
    a a a a way a a a ad d
  • (3/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    I enjoyed the premise of the story. It was entertaining and enjoyable but I wish there had been more meat to the storyline. I never fell in love with any character.

    1 person found this helpful

  • (1/5)

    2 people found this helpful

    Boring. Took me forever to finish it. I read it because it was One of Reese Witherspoon's picks.

    I was excited to read it because it was supposed to talk a lot about traveling, places they went and things they ate. There wasn't much. Absolutely nothing happens. It's full of cliché family drama. The characters are bland and forgettable. There was nothing I enjoyed.

    2 people found this helpful

  • (4/5)
    I may have enjoyed this more if my download worked better. Several times the recording would stop and abruptly end. It was very frustrating.