Anda di halaman 1dari 2


Abuse and
Red Rock School District
September 2012
For More Information:
Michelle Sears-Ward, Superintendent
123 Sunshine Lane, Bay City, Michigan 48706
989.345.2323 Fax 989.345.3431
Speaking with Students
* Speak on the childs level
* Listen intently
* Use Minimal Prompting
* Be responsive to the childs
* Tell them the truth
* Thank them for conding in you
Failure to Report and False
Michigan:MICH. COMP. LAWS 722.633(1),
(2); a mandatory reporter who fails to do so can
be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable up to 93
days in jail and/or a ne of not more than $500. If
a false report is made the person can be charged
with up to 93 days in jail and/or a ne of up to
$1,000. If the report made would have
constituted a felony for the crime the false
reporter can be charged with a felony up to
imprisonment of not more than 4 years.
Colorado:COLO. REV. STAT. ANN.
193-304(4); a mandatory reporter will be
charged with a Class 3 misdemeanor which is
punishable by law. This is the same for failure to
report or false reporting.
Virginia:VA. CODE ANN. 63.2-1509(D);VA.
CODE ANN. 63.2-1513(a)Any person required
to report that fails to do so within 72 hours will
be ned not more than $500 for the rst offense
and not more than $1,000 for an subsequent
failures. False reporting can be charged under a
Class 1 misdemeanor or up to a Class 6 felony.
Florida:FLA. STAT. 39.205(1)-(2);FLA. STAT.
39.205(6); 39.206(1)Failure to report can lead to
up to a 1 year imprisonment and ned up to
$1,000. If a person makes a false report that can
be imprisoned up to 5 years and ned up to
$5,000. Along with this the Department of Child
and Family Services can impose a ne up to
Mission Statement
At Red Rock, we will prepare our
students to become independent
learners with the desires, the skills, and
the abilities necessary for lifelong
learning. This will require creating a
learning environment which is centered
around students, directed by teachers,
and supported by home and community.
Denition of Terms
Child Abuse: the physical or mental injury,
sexual abuse or exploitation, or negligent
treatment of a child
Physical Injury: includes but is not limited to
lacerations, fractured bones, burns, internal
injuries, severe bruising or serious bodily
Mental Injury: harm to a childs psychological
or intellectual functioning
Sexual Abuse: the employment, use,
persuasion, inducement, enticement, or
coercion of a child to engage in, or assist
another person to engage in, sexually
explicit conduct or the rape, molestation,
prostitution, or other form of sexual
exploitation of children, or incest with
Good Faith: honesty and best efforts
Child Abuse Reporting and the Federal Law
42 USC 13031
A person who, while engaged in a professional capacity or activity described in subsection (b)
of this section on Federal land or in a federally operated (or contracted) facility, learns of facts
that give reason to suspect that a child has suffered an incident of child abuse, shall as soon as
possible make a report of the suspected abuse to the agency designated under subsection (d)
of this section.

What should I do if I suspect child
Refer to your states procedures and/or
school boards procedures for reporting.
Remember, reports must be made in a timely
manner to avoid nes or disciplinary actions.
Will I be penalized for suspect abuse,
even if I do not have any concrete
So long as you have made the report in
good faith all states provide teachers with
Do I have to be convinced or convince
my superiors?
No you do not need to be convinced or
convince your superiors, you are obligated to
report if you have a reasonable suspicion of
Who is responsible?

All teachers are mandatory reporters of
suspected child abuse and neglect. Along with
teachers, doctors and healthcare providers,
social workers, childcare providers and law
enforcement are required to report abuse.
Reporting in Review:
* Report if you have reasonable suspicion to local agency regardless if others do not
believe this is the case
* Teachers are mandatory reporters
* Do so in a timely manner