Anda di halaman 1dari 1

American Flag

The United States Flag, known as Old Glory, is the third oldest of the National Standards of
the world.
Since the first official flag of 1777, it has undergone many changes. It was first decided that
there should be a star and a stripe for each state, making thirteen of both. In 1792 the number
of stars was raised to 50 and in 1818 Congress enacted that the number of stripes be reduced
and restricted to thirteen representing the thirteen original states, while a star should be added
for each state.
Today there are 50 stars representing the 50 states and there are 13 stripes
(seven red alternating with 6 white) representing the 13 original colonies. The red
color symbolizes valor, zeal, bravery and fervency, the white - purity, innocence, cleanliness
of life, and rectitude of conduct, the blue perseverance, loyalty, sincerity, justice and truth.
The stars, symbolize within the union, one star for each state.
The symbolism of the Flag was thus interpreted by Washington: We take the stars from
Heaven, the red from our mother country, separating it by white stripes, thus showing that we
have separated from her, and the white stripes shall go down to posterity representing Liberty.
For over 200 years, the American flag symbolizes the unity and strength of the country. It is
unique in the noble significance of its message to the entire world, a message of national
independence, of individual liberty, of idealism, of patriotism. Its the Flag of free people
welded into a Nation, one and inseparable.