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Digital Marketing 101

Digital Marketing: Digital Marketing is the use of digital technologies to create an integrated, targeted and measurable communication which helps to acquire and retain customers while building deeper relationships with them. It is the practice of promoting products and services using digital distribution channels, reaching targeted consumers, building iterative relationship with those consumers, and having the ability to produce measurable results. Digital Marketing must be targeted, it must be measurable, and it must involve building strong relationships. Terms: Above The Fold: Above the fold refers to banner advertisements which are displayed at the top of a web page. In Internet marketing terms, it refers to information placed at the top of an email or webpage, so that visitors see it first, without scrolling. Acquisition Cost: The price it costs a business to gain a new customer, client, or supplier. Ad Rotation: When a web page shows a different ad at the top of the page each time it is viewed by a new person, or when the web page is refreshed. Ad Tracking: A method used to check how many hits or clicks an ad receives. It is a useful tool for discovering where the most revenue comes from, and how to better personalize ads to reach more customers, and encourage more new customers. Black Hat SEO: This is a popular term for SEO tactics that attempt to gain higher search engine rankings for a particular website through unethical means, such as stuffing keywords, or tricking web spiders in other ways. API (Application Programming Interface): The interface that allows one computer system or application to communicate and exchange data with another. ASP (Active Server Pages): A Microsoft technology that allows scripts to be integrated into web pages, most often to collect information using forms. Webchutney Digital Marketing can involve the following strategies: 1. Digital Display ads: Any paid-for or free space on a website or in an email. The worlds first interned ad was made by HotWired for AT&T.

Or these can be over the page ads

Or Dynamic Ads

Terms used with Digital Display Ads: Impressions: The number of times an internet ad is displayed. Clicks: Number of times users have clicked on an internet ad. Unique user reach: Number of unique users an internet advertising campaign has reached (different from impressions as one unique user may be delivered several ad impressions during a campaign). Click through rate (CTR): Percentage of users who have click on an internet ad. This is the metric commonly used to measure initial effectiveness of creative concepts & ad placements. An average CTR is 0.20% . CPA: Cost per acquisition (acquisition usually a sale, sign up or lead) is calculated by dividing cost of advertising by number of sales/sign ups. It is also a metric for buying online media. CPM: Metric for buying online media, stands for cost per thousand impressions (this cost of course varies between publisher, placement & ad format).

CPC: Metric for judging online media, stands for cost per click. Standard buying metric for search media but not as widely available as CPM is across other publishers & sites however offered sometimes for less targeted activity. Eg. 50 clicks from 10,000 impressions = 50/10,000 = 0.5% CTR. Site Activities: Internet advertising tracking not only allows advertisers to see impressions, clicks & click through rate for creative concepts & ad placements but also activities of their choice past this initial impression & click stage. Ad-server: Technology that facilitates the running of internet advertisements on websites & in turn keeps track of impressions, clicks, click rate & post impression/click activities. 2. Search Engine Optimization and Search Engine marketing: A search engine is basically a tool that finds answers for an users query and gives the best possible answers in a ranked order. Search Engine Marketing (SEM): It is a form of Internet marketing that seeks to promote websites by increasing their visibility in search engine result pages (SERPs) through the use of paid placement, contextual advertising, and paid inclusion.

Search engine optimization (SEO): It the process on improving the pages rank via organic methods namely optimizing keywords to satisfy search engines algorithm. It involves the following steps: 1. Website Evaluation

2. 3. 4. 5.

Keyword Research Optimization Link Building Tracking and Monitoring

The process has two major components: i. On page optimization -site technology & accessibility -site content ii. Off page optimization - link popularity - link reputation On page Optimization:

Several on page elements are taken into account by Spiders (not limited to): _ Page Titles _ Meta Description & Keywords _ Page Copy (Body Content) _ Image Alt Text _ Internal Link Anchor Text _ File names _ Search Friendly Navigation _ Site Map _ Heading Tags

_ A clearly distinguishable site architecture & navigation structure can help with inclusion & improving rankings.

3. E-mail Marketing: It is the promotion of products or services via email. It involves sending mass mailers to a targeted consumer group. Over 85% of all marketers use e-mail marketing. Terms Related with e-mail marketing: Conversion rate - The number or percentage of recipients who respond to your call-toaction in a given email marketing campaign or promotion. This is the measure of your email campaigns success. You may measure conversion in sales, phone calls, appointments etc. Email blacklist - It is common for an ISP to a use a blacklist to determine which emails should be blocked. Blacklists contain lists of domains or IP addresses of known and suspected spammers. Email blocking - Email blocking typically refers to blocking by ISPs or corporate servers. Email blocking occurs when the receiving email server (e.g. Yahoo!, AOL, Hotmail etc) prevents an inbound email from reaching the inbox of the intended recipient. Most of the time the sender of the email receives a bounce message notifying the sender that their email has been blocked. Email lters Filtering is a technique used to block email based on the content in the from: line, subject: line, or body copy of an email. Filtering software searches for key words and other indicators that identify the email as potential spam. This type of blocking occurs on a per email basis. Email newsletter ads or sponsorships - Buying ad space in an email newsletter or sponsoring a specific article or series of articles. Advertisers pay to have their ad (text, HTML or both depending on the (publication) inserted into the body of the email. Email whitelist - A whitelist is the opposite of a blacklist. Instead of listing IP addresses to block, a whitelist includes IP addresses that have been approved to deliver email despite blocking measures. False positive - A false positive occurs when a legitimate permission- based email is incorrectly filtered or blocked as spam. Hard bounce/Soft bounce - A hard bounce is the failed delivery of an email due to a permanent reason like a non-existent address. A soft bounce is the failed delivery of an email due to a temporary issue, like a full mailbox or an unavailable server. House list - A permission-based list that you built yourself. Use it to market, cross sell and up-sell, and to establish a relationship with customers over time. It is one of your most valuable assets because it is 7 times less expensive to market to an existing customer than it is to acquire a new one. Use every opportunity to add to it and use it. Open rate - The percentage of emails opened in any given email marketing campaign, or the percentage opened of the total number of emails sent.

Opt-in (or Subscribe) - To opt-in or subscribe to an email list is to choose to receive email communications by supplying your email address to a particular company, website or individual thereby giving them permission to email you. o Single Opt-In (with a subscriber acknowledgement email) - The most widely accepted and routinely used method of obtaining email addresses and permission. A single opt-in list is created by inviting visitors and customers to subscribe to your email list. When you use a sign-up tag on your website, a message immediately goes out to the subscriber acknowledging the subscription. This message should reiterate what the subscriber has signed up for, and provide an immediate way for the subscriber to edit interests or opt-out. o Conrmed Opt-In (a.k.a. Double Opt-In) - A more stringent method of obtaining permission to send email campaigns. Confirmed opt-in adds an additional step to the opt-in process. It requires the subscriber to respond to a confirmation email, either by clicking on a confirmation link, or by replying to the email to confirm their subscription. Only those subscribers who take this additional step are added to your list. Rental list (or Acquisition list) - A list of prospects or a targeted group of recipients who have opted-in to receive information about certain subjects. Renting a list usually costs between $.10 and $.40 per name. Spam or UCE (Unsolicited Commercial Email) - Email sent to someone who has not opted-in or given permission to the sender. Email lters Filtering is a technique used to block email based on the content in the from: line, subject: line, or body copy of an email. Filtering software searches for key words and other indicators that identify the email as potential spam. This type of blocking occurs on a per email basis. 4. Affiliate Marketing: It is revenue sharing between online advertisers/merchants and online publishers/salespeople, whereby compensation is based on performance measures, typically in the form of sales, clicks, registrations, or a hybrid model. It is a method of producing sales where the seller does not own the product thats being sld. The product is created by someone else and then offers a commission to others to market and sell the product. eg: Amazon Associates

It includes white labeling of a solution or software or product. Affiliate organizations are varied and include individuals, organizations and businesses, networks, management companies, third party vendors, and other affiliates that promote the products and services of their partners. In affiliate marketing you never have to touch a product, carry stock, or

arrange deliveries. And when the customer makes a purchase you get paid. Network marketing is an extension of AM and also involves selling a product for a commission, but in addition it focuses on bringing other resellers into the program as well. The affiliates objective is to sell or get leads for someone elses service or product. As an affiliate you begin by placing ads for your chosen product on your Web site and/or in suitable advertising sites. When a user clicks on the ad, your visitor will go to the Web site where the product is described and they can learn of the potential benefits the product or service will provide for them. The affiliate marketer is performance driven because he or she is paid only when the merchant has achieved the predetermined goal.

5. Social Media Marketing: It is the method of using social media websites like Facebook, twitter, youtube, stumble upon etc. to connect with the target consumer group.

Facebook: Facebook is a social networking site which has over 750 million active users and is available in 70 different languages. 80 % of the worlds population is aware of facebook. It is a great medium to generate awareness of a brand/ product. The fans can be rewarded for liking your Page by offering them something they cant get anywhere else. Coupons and special discount codes are often offered. The following can be used to for a marketing campaign using facebook:

i.

Landing page: The user gets directed to this page either if he searches for the brand/product or gets directed to this page. This page generally prompts the user to like the said page so that he can stay updated and join in discussions, polls and other interactions with the brand on Facebook.

ii. iii. iv. v. vi. vii. viii.

Store locater Registration form for lead generation Microsite with facebook connect for a game or application Videos/photos Pledge Badge Polls, Discussion boards and Wall interactions and content updates. Photo tagging (IKEA facebook showroom)

Twitter:Twitter is a great platform for creating a buzz or brand awareness. Advertisers can create a profile which users can follow using @ProfileName. The # symbol, called a hashtag, is used to mark keywords or topics in a Tweet. It was created organically by Twitter users as a way to categorize messages. It can be used to trend topics. A tweetathon can significantly benefit a time-sensitive social good campaign. Also it can be used as a great online customer service tool.eg. Delta assist

Youtube: Youtube channels are a great way to popularize sponsored content/ viral videos. Tumblr: Its a great blog site with share facilities like twitter. Great to make blog content go viral. Mobile Marketing: It is marketing using mobile phones. It includes any of the following: i. ii. iii. iv. v. vi. SMS campaigns m-coupons Bluetooth campaigns(localized) QR codes(integrated with product/ print / outdoor) leading to WAP site Location based marketing: Includes marketing using apps like foursquare, scngr etc. or uses augmented reality. App based marketing: Includes development of a game/application to engage the brands TG.

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