Anda di halaman 1dari 3

Jinnah-Mountbatten Talks started in November 1947 in Lahore.

The talks were based on

the issue of Kashmir. Muhammad Ali Jinnah represented Pakistan as the Governor
General, whereas Lord Mountbatten represented India as its Governor General.

Karachi Agreement

Karachi Agreement was a cease-fire agreement that took place on the 27th of July, 1949 in
Karachi. The Agreement was signed by Pakistans Minister Mushtaq Ahmed Gurmani, the
President of Azad Kashmir, Sardar Mohammed Ibrahim Khan and the head of All Jammu and
Kashmir Muslim Conference, Choudhry Ghulam Abbas. As a result of the agreement, ceasefire
was done in Kashmir and a cease-fire line was established.

Liaquat-Nehru Pact

On the 8th of April, 1950, a treaty was signed in New Delhi by the Indian Prime Minister,
Jawahar Lal Nehru, and the Pakistani Prime Minister, Liaquat Ali Khan, to guarantee the safe
return of the properties of refugees and the rights of minorities in both countries after the
Partition of India and to avert another war between the two countries.

Bogra - Nehru Negotiations

In June-July 1953, Muhammad Ali Bogra and Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru met in London and
Karachi to settle all outstanding issues between the two countries, including the Kashmir dispute
and promote bilateral relations. However, the talks ended without reaching any final agreement.

Sindh Taas Agreement

On the 19th of September, 1960, the Sindh Taas Agreement was signed between India and
Pakistan in Karachi to settle the water dispute between the two countries. The agreement was
signed between former Pakistani President, General Muhammad Ayub Khan, and Indian Prime
Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru, with the World Bank acting as a mediator. As a result of the pact,
River Ravi, Sutlej and Beas were given to India whereas Pakistan got the right on the waters of
River Indus, Jhelum and Chenab.

The Tashkent Declaration

On 10th of January, 1966, a peace agreement was signed between India and Pakistan after the
Indo-Pakistan War of September 1965, in Tashkent, Uzbekistan (a former Soviet Union state).
The Prime Minister of Soviet Union, Alexei Kosygin, moderated between Indian Prime Minister,
Lal Bahadur Shastri, and Pakistani President, Muhammad Ayub Khan.

The Simla Agreement

The Simla Agreement was signed between India and Pakistan on the 2nd of July, 1972, in
Himachal Pradesh, India. It was signed by Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto, the Prime Minister of Pakistan,
and Indira Gandhi, the Prime Minister of India, after the war between the two countries in the
previous year. The agreement laid down the principles to govern their future relations.
Subsequently, India released more than 90,000 Pakistani military prisoners of war (POWs) and
withdrew its troops from the occupied Pakistani areas.

The Delhi Agreement

The Delhi Agreement was a trilateral agreement and a bilateral treaty signed between India and
Pakistan on April 9, 1973, in New Delhi. The treaty was signed by Aziz Ahmed, the Pakistani
Minister of State for Defense and Foreign Affairs and Swaran Singh, the Indian Minister of
External Affairs. The two sides agreed on the repatriation of prisoners of war and civilian
internees, following the Simla Agreement.

The Non-Nuclear Aggression Agreement

The Non-Nuclear Aggression Agreement was signed between India and Pakistan on the 21st of
September, 1988, in Islamabad. It was a bilateral and nuclear weapons control treaty between the
two states on the reduction (or limitation) of nuclear arms and pledged not to attack or assist
foreign powers to attack on each others nuclear installations and facilities. Pakistan was
represented by Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto while Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi represented

The Lahore Declaration

The Lahore Declaration was a bilateral agreement and governance treaty between India and
Pakistan. The treaty was signed on the 21st of February, 1999, at the conclusion of a historic
summit in Lahore. Under the terms of the treaty, a mutual understanding was reached towards
the development of atomic arsenals and to avoid accidental and unauthorised operational use of
nuclear weapons. Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif of Pakistan and Prime Minister Atal Vajpayee of
India signed the treaty.

Agra Summit

Agra summit was a historic two-day summit meeting between India and Pakistan which lasted
from 14th -16th of July, 2001. It was organised with the aim of resolving long-standing issues
between India and Pakistan, especially after the Kargil War and ease out the tension between the
two countries. The framework for negotiations of the Agra Summit began with talks between
President Pervez Musharraf and Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee. A joint statement was

Zardari-Manmohan Meeting

On the 16th of June, 2009, Pakistani President, Asif Ali Zardari and Indian Prime Minister,
Manmohan Singh, met in Yekaterinburg, Russia during Shanghai Cooperation Organisation

Gilani-Manmohan Meeting

On July16, 2009, one-on-one talks between Pakistani PM, Yousuf Raza Gilani, and Indian PM,
Manmohan Singh, took place in Sharm el-Sheikh, Egypt, to improve the bilateral relations
between the two countries.

President Zardaris visit to India

On the 8th of April, 2012, Zardari paid a private visit to Ajmer Shareef, India. On the trip,
President Zardari held a meeting with Indian Prime Minister, Manmohan Singh, in New Delhi.
During this meeting Indian Prime Minister, Singh, accepted President Zardaris invitation to visit
Pakistan. Bilateral issues were also discussed during the meeting.