Anda di halaman 1dari 3


Howard Marshall
4 Publications

For other people named Howard Marshall, see Howard

Marshall (disambiguation).

Kept by the Power of God, Carlisle: Paternoster

Press, 1995 (originally Epworth, 1969; Bethany,


Ian Howard Marshall (born 12 January 1934)

is a
Scottish academic. He is Professor Emeritus of New Testament Exegesis at the University of Aberdeen, Scotland.
He was formerly the chair of the Tyndale Fellowship for
Biblical and Theological Research; he was also president
of the British New Testament Society and chair of the
Fellowship of European Evangelical Theologians. Marshall identies as an Evangelical Methodist. He is the
author of numerous publications, including 2005 Gold
Medallion Book Award winner New Testament Theology.[2]

Luke: Historian and Theologian, Exeter: Paternoster Press, 1970, 1989.

New Testament Interpretation (editor), Exeter: Paternoster Press, 1977, 1979.
The Gospel of Luke (NIGTC), Exeter: Paternoster
Press, 1978.
I believe in the historical Jesus, London: Hodder &
Stoughton, 1977.
The Epistles of John (NICNT), Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1978.

Academic interests

Acts (TNTC), Leicester: IVP, 1980.

Marshalls main interests in research have been the

Gospel of Luke and the Acts of the Apostles, the Pastoral
Epistles, and aspects of New Testament theology. He
has been particularly concerned with the work of Luke as
both historian and theologian. He contributed to a New
Testament introduction for students and edited a revision
and updating of Moulton and Gedens Concordance to the
Greek New Testament so that it can be used with the current major editions of the Greek New Testament as well
as with older editions.

Last Supper and Lords Supper, Exeter: Paternoster

Press, 1980.
1 and 2 Thessalonians (NCB), Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1983.
Jesus the Saviour: Studies in New Testament Theology, London: SPCK/Downers Grove: IVP, 1990.
1 Peter (IVP Commentary Series), Leicester: IVP,
The Acts of the Apostles (Sheeld NT Guides),
Sheeld Academic Press, 1992.


The Epistle to the Philippians (Epworth Commentaries), London: Epworth Press, 1992.

DD, Asbury University

(with K. P. Donfried) The Theology of the Shorter

Pauline Letters, Cambridge University Press, 1993.

MA, BD, & PhD, University of Aberdeen

I. H. Marshall and D. Peterson (ed.): Witness to the

Gospel: The Theology of the Book of Acts (Grand
Rapids: * Eerdmans, 1998).

BA, Cambridge

(in collaboration with Philip H. Towner) A Critical and Exegetical Commentary on The Pastoral
Epistles (International Critical Commentary), Edinburgh: T&T Clark, 1999.

Personal life

Concordance to the Greek New Testament (sixth fully

revised edition of the work of Moulton and Geden),
London: T&T Clark, 2002.

Having become a widower, Marshall is now married to

Dr. Maureen Wing Sheung Yeung, former president of
Evangel Seminary, Hong Kong. [3]

(with S.Travis and I. Paul) Exploring the New Testament, Vol. 2. London: SPCK, 2002.
Beyond the Bible: Moving from Scripture to Theology
(with essays by Kevin J. Vanhoozer and Stanley E.
Porter) Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2004.
New Testament Theology: Many Witnesses, One
Gospel, Downers Grove/Leicester: Inter-Varsity
Press, 2004.


[1] MARSHALL, Prof. (Ian) Howard, Whos Who 2014, A

& C Black, 2014; online edn, Oxford University Press,
[2] 2005 Christian Book Awards Winners Reference
Works/Commentaries category

External links
The Theology of the Atonement (pdf)


Text and image sources, contributors, and licenses



I. Howard Marshall Source: Contributors: Andycjp, BD2412,

Rjwilmsi, RussBot, Ari89, JordanBarrett, Avalon, Eric278, Bluebot, Ios, Pastorwayne, BrownHairedGirl, CmdrObot, Vanished user 2345,
Paddles, JamesAM, Itsmejudith, Egpetersen, Alastair Haines, Waacstats, Wayne Miller, Sagabot, JohnADM, Udufruduhu, StAnselm, Stanning, Against the current, Bridies, , Borock, Addbot, Chaslibo, Luckas-bot, Yobot, BobKilcoyne, Omnipaedista, Skyerise, More
blessing, RjwilmsiBot, Theopolisme, Tomtompen, Theophilus77, I. h. marshall, VIAFbot, KasparBot, Webverbesserer and Anonymous: 6




Content license

Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0