Anda di halaman 1dari 3


19 May
Om Gurubyo Namaha

Drekkana / Dreshkana / Decante

In Vedic Astrology it is referred as Drekkana /Dreshkana (mostly Drekkana) and is 1/3 of a sign
equal to 10 degrees: there are three Drekkana in each sign. Drekkana holds an important position
in divisional charts. Various ancient and classical texts have mentioned different methods of
calculating Drekkana. Generally known Drekkana (D3) are as follows:1. Parashara Drekkana
2. Jagannath Drekkana
3. Somanath Drekkana
4. Privritti-traya Drekkana
Parashara Drekkana: This is the most commonly used Drekkana in Vedic astrology. In fact when
you read about Drekkana anywhere without specific reference then it is understood that it this
Drekkana. Parashara Drekkana is used to know about the sibling of a person and analyzing all
matters related to co-borns
Jagannath Drekkana: This Drekkana reflects karma of previous life of a person. D-60 must be
analysed along with it.
Somnath Drekkana: Somnath Drekkana is used to know about the sexual drive of a person and
describes the attitude of a person towards the sexual matters and his libido. This is generally used
in Prashna Jyothisha
Privritti-traya Drekkana: This chart is used to see the drives and initiatives that the person apply
to achieve his goals. This is generally used in Prashna Jyothisha
Parashara Drekkana
Generally the first Drekkana of any sign is ruled by the owning planet, second Drekkana by the
5th lord and the third Drekkana by the 9th lord. For example, the first Drekkana of Aries is ruled
by Mars, the second Drekkana is owned by Sun and the third Drekkana is owned by Jupiter.
Sage Parashara named three sages as lords of three Drekkana of each sign as follows:For Movable Signs: Aries, Cancer, Libra & Capricorn Narada, Aghastya and Durvaasa
For Fixed Signs: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio & Aquarius Aghastya, Durvaasa and Narada
For Dual Signs: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius & Pisces- Durvaasa, Narada & Aghastya
Significance of Lordship
Narada Muni was known for his Bhakti (Devotion) to the Supreme Lord. Bhakti is the prime
necessity of the soul; therefore Narada might represent the Atma, or the soul. Aghastya Muni is
associated with mind in many places in the Vedas. Durvaasa Muni was famous for his efforts to
control his senses, therefore he represents the Indriyas, or senses. So we might say that the three
Drekkanas of the signs may refer to the soul, the mind and the senses.

Parashara states that the Drekkana Chart should be used to analyze relationship with siblings, or
co-borns. We might conclude that the planets in the Drekkanas ruled by Narada would denote the
spiritual/karmic relations to the natives brothers. Those in the Drekkanas ruled by Aghastya
would signify the mental/psychological effects from brothers, and those in the Drekkanas ruled
by Durvaasa would refer to the sensual/physical comfort or discomfort caused by the brothers
and sisters.
General use of Drekkana
Apart from its use to analyse the information related to the co-borns / siblings, Drekkana is also
used for following purposes

In the context of Lost Horoscopy when the time of birth or time of conception is
unknown, through horary method the lost birth details can be traced. The effects of ten
divisions (Dashavarga) will help to arrive at the natal Ascendant.
Drekkana of your ascendant gives an insight into your personality, behaviour and other
important attributes.
Details of all 36 Drekkana covering 12 signs are available in Chapter 50 of Kalyana
Varmas Saravali
22nd Drekkana is called Khara and its lord is known as Kharesh.22nd Drekkana is
considered one of the first-ranked malefic planet for the native and gives clue to his
The effects / nature of death for each Drekkana for 12 signs are explained in Chapter 47
titled Aphorisms of death in Kalyana Varmas Saravali
Drekkanas have an important role in Prashna astrology, especially Medical Astrology.
The classical work on Prashna astrology Krishneeyam gives details of methods of
using Drekkana significations in horary astrology.

Method of calculating 22nd Drekkana

There are 36 Drekkanas; 3 for each of the 12 Rashis. From the Lagna Drekkana in your
horoscope, count successively till the 22nd Drekkana. For example if your Lagna is in the first
10 degrees you are born in the first Drekkana. From that count the number of Drekkanas for each
Rashi. So, in this case, the 22nd Drekkana will be the 1st Drekkana of the 8th house for your
horoscope; if your birth in the second Drekkana i.e. between 10 and 20 deg. of a sign, the 22nd
Drekkana will fall in the 2nd Drekkana of the 8th sign; if your birth is in the third Drekkana, the
22nd Drekkana will be in the 3rd Drekkana of the 8th sign from your Lagna. The 22nd Drekkana
is also called the Niryaana Drekkana
There are various methods of counting 22nd Drekkana, but a short cut technique is to look for
the lord of 8th house in D-3. That planet would be lord of 22nd Drekkana for your chart.
Notes on 22nd Drekkana
Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra states that in natal astrology, the nature of the 22 nd Drekkana
indicates the source/ manner of death. In general condition when Longevity is not at its end, it is
concerned with bodily discomfort and health matters.
afflicts natives health and yield mental agony, when devoid of benefic aspects. If the Some of
the special effects are as follows:

Occupation of natural malefic in 22nd Drekkana, in Rashi, reduces the potential of the
chart up to a great extent.

Ayudha Drekkana indicates injury with weapons as cause of death / accidents.

Sarpa Drekkana mean danger from poisonous reptiles that could be life threatening.
Dasha/Bhukti of lord of 22nd Drekkana generally concerned planet is also a natural
malefic and posited in malefic Rashi then intensity of evil would definitely be higher than
Whenever lord of Lagna transits the 22nd Drekkana, loss, bodily discomfort, grief and
quarrel will result.
Similarly, transit of lord of 22nd Drekkana in ascendant produces trouble regarding
significance of 1st house.
Like ascendant, obtain 22nd Drekkanas of other planets specially Moon and Sun. Transit
of that planet into respective 22nd Drekkana always mar the significance of planet
Avoid starting any new task when your luminaries are transiting their 22nd Drekkana
or/and Kharesh moving over Sun or Moon.

General points
If the Lagna Drekkana is Pasha Drekkana, then the native may experience bondage/
If the birth is in Chatushpada Drekkana (quadruped Drekkana) or if
the 7th lord is in the Chatushpada Drekkana, then the sexual activity of
the native will resemble that of a quadruped.
This has been explained in detail in various classics including Brihat Parashara Hora
Shastra, Sarvartha Chintamani and Saravali.
Details about Sarpa, Ayudha, Pakshi, Pasha, Nigala and Chatushpada Drekkanas can be
found in Chapter XII, Concerning Eight House in How to Judge a Horoscope
Volume Two by Sri BV Raman

Western Connection
Western astrology uses Decante technically identical to Jagannath Drekkana, in order to assess
natives character. Among Sun, Moon and Ascendant if all three or two fall into Decante of
malefic planets then the native would be evil minded, sinner and wrathful. If trend is mixed then
native will be lazy, back biter and ill-behaved. But if all three (among Sun, Moon and Ascendant)
rises in benefic Decante (and their lord of Decante are also powerful) then native would be
blessed, intelligent, soft spoken and successful.
Authors Note
I generally use Parashara Drekkana only and therefore have not elaborated on the other three
Drekkanas. Those interested in Jagannath Drekkana, Somnath Drekkana and Privritti-traya
Drekkana may do their own research.