Anda di halaman 1dari 3

Q: Which oceans border Canada?

A: Arctic, Atlantic and Pacific.

Q: What is the most eastern part of North America?
A: Cape Spear, In Newfoundland.
Q: Canada and the U.S. Share the longest What?
A: Unprotected Border.
Q: What are the three main types of industries in Canada?
A: Natural resources, manufacturing, services
Q: Where do most Canadian exports go?
A: U.S.A
Q: What does NAFTA stand for?
A: North American Free Trade Agreement
Q: What are the three branches of the federal government?
A: Executive, Legislative and Judicial Branch
Q: Who is our head of state?
A: The Governor General, David Johnston. (The Representative Of The Queen / Crown)
Q: Provide Examples of federal responsibilities.
A: Defense, Criminal Law, Employment insurance, Postal Service, Census, Copyrights, Trade
regulation, External relations, Money / Banking, Transportation, Citizenship, Indian affairs.
Q: How many federal ridings are there?
A: 308
Q: True or False, Canadian Citizens vote for a prime minister?
A: False. Canadians vote for their local MP (member of parliament) who represents one specific
constituency in the house of commons. Generally the leader of the party with the most seats in The
House Of Commons becomes the prime minister.
Q: After an election, which party forms the government?
A: The party with the most elected seats is invited by the governor general to become the party in
Q: How many provinces are there?

A: 10. (Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Manitoba, British Columbia, Prince Edward
Island, Saskatchewan, Alberta, Newfoundland and Labrador.)
Q: How many territories are there?
A: 3. (Northwest Territories, Yukon, Nunavut.)
Q: What are the 5 regions of Canada?
A: Maritimes, Central Region, Prairies, West Coast, Far North.
Q: What is the capital of the Yukon?
A: Whitehorse
Q: What are the names of the great lakes?
A: Ontario, Superior, Huron, Michigan, Erie.
Q: What are the three main groups of Aboriginal Peoples?
A: First Nations, Meti, Inuit
Q: Which Aboriginal Peoples form the smallest group?
A: Inuit.
Q: Which group of aboriginal people has half of their population living on reserves?
A: Metis
Q: Which Aboriginal group speaks Michif?
A: Metis
Q: Who landed in Newfoundland in 1497?
A: Sir John Cabot
Q: What important event took place in 1759 near Quebec?
A: The Battle of Quebec, (Battle of the Plains of Abraham)
Q: What is the significance of the Quebec Act of 1774?
A: It instituted a permanent administration in Canada, replacing thre temporary government created
at the time of the Proclamation of 1763. It gave French Canadians complete religious freedom and
restores the French form of civil law.
Q: What year was the Confederation?
A: 1867

Q: Which provinces were involved in the confederation? Where did it happen?

A: It included Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. It took place in Ottawa.
Q: What Province joined the confederation in 1949?
A: Newfoundland.
Q: Our 800 year old tradition of ordered liberty dates back to what?
A: To the signing of the Magna Carta in 1215.
Q: What are the fundamental rights to being a Canadian Citizen?
A: Democratic Rights, Language Rights, Equality Rights, Legal Rights, Mobility Rights, Freedom of
religion, Freedom of expression, Freedom of assembly and association.
Q: What are the fundamental responsibilities of being Canadian?
A: Respect the rights and freedoms of others, To obey Canadas Laws, To participate in the
democratic process, to respect Canadas two official languages and multicultural heritage.
Q: What are the two official languages of Canada?
A: English and French
Q: Which province is the only official bilingual province?
A: New Brunswick
Q: In Canada, A French speaking person is called a?
A: Franco-Canadian
Q: What has symbolized the state for over 400 years in Canada?
A: The Crown.
Q: What symbol can be found on the gravestones of soldiers buried overseas?
A: Maple Leaf.
Q: In what year did Canada get the current flag?
A: 1965