Anda di halaman 1dari 3

QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE:

WORKING WITH VERSIONS IN LIVELINK

Purpose
Use this Quick Reference Guide to add, access, delete, lock/unlock and purge versions in Livelink. Livelink automatically
layers a new version on top of the original when an item is edited saved using the quick edit method or when a new item
version is uploaded. It is good practice to delete the versions that are no longer required and to lock important versions to
permanently protect them from deletion.
Note: refer to the Disposing Information Directive to ensure that you are following Suncor protocol for disposing of items.

Procedure
TO ADD A NEW VERSION OF AN ITEM:
1. Locate the item that you want to add a new version to.
2. Click the Functions Menu

to the right of the item.

3. Select Add Version. The Add: Version screen appears.

[Information Management (IM)]


Last updated: 27/03/2013

Page 1 of 3

QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE:


4. Click

WORKING WITH VERSIONS IN LIVELINK

. The Choose File to Upload dialogue box appears.

5. Locate the item you want to add.


6. Click the item to highlight it.
7. Click

. You are returned to the Add: Version screen.

8. Click

. The new version of the item is added in Livelink.

Note: A best practice, after the new version has been added into Livelink, is to delete the source file to avoid
having duplicate copies of the same file.

ACCESSING AND WORKING WITH OLDER VERSIONS OF AN ITEM:


This procedure describes how to access, delete, lock, unlock and purge versions of an item in Livelink.
1. Locate the item in Livelink.
2. Click the Functions Menu

to the right of the item.

3. Select Properties Versions. The Versions tab on the Document Properties screen appears. All of the items
versions are displayed. The version with the highest version number is the most current.

[Information Management (IM)]


Last updated: 27/03/2013

Page 2 of 3

QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE:


4. Click the Functions Menu

WORKING WITH VERSIONS IN LIVELINK

to the right of the version and select one of the following options

Download- to download a copy of the item version to your computer.


Open- to open a read-only version of the item.
Lock/Unlock- to lock or unlock the version. Locking a version prevents that particular
version of the document from being deleted, as well as the document itself. Locking does
not prevent viewing a copy of the version or editing the document. The best person to
unlock a version is the person who locked it.
Delete- to delete the version. CAUTION: Deleted versions cannot be restored. Only the
most recent version of the document can be restored but all of its history and audit trail will
be gone.

Tip: If you want to delete all versions except the most recent, click
. The most current version
and any locked versions will not be purged. CAUTION: Purged versions cannot be restored.

[Information Management (IM)]


Last updated: 27/03/2013

Page 3 of 3