Anda di halaman 1dari 2

The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) settles disputes between Caribbean

Community (CARICOM) Member States, and also serves as the highest

court of appeals on civil and criminal matters for the national courts of
Barbados, Belize and Guyana. The CCJs seat is in Port of Spain, Trinidad
and Tobago. The Caribbean Court of Justice does not have competence
to hear individual complaints of alleged human rights violations,
except in its capacity as a court of final appeal in civil and criminal
matters, which often involve fundamental rights.

The CARICOM Member States are: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas,

Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat,
Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines,
Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago.

In 2001 the establishing Agreement granted the CCJ original and exclusive
jurisdiction to interpret and apply the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas
Establishing the Caribbean Community. However a person or private
company must have the CCJs permission to bring proceedings before it
and moreover the CCJs original jurisdiction only extends to the application
and interpretation of the Treaty, and not human rights generally. See
Doreen Johnson v CARICAD, finding that the CCJ did not have jurisdiction
to hear an employment discrimination claim (see, in particular, the
Remarks by Chief Justice de la Bastide in Johnson v. CARICAD, AR2 of
2008, Judgment of December 7, 2008).

Jamaica first proposed that the CCJ also substitute for the Judicial
Committee of the Privy Council (JCPC) of the United Kingdom and acquire
appellate jurisdiction as the court of last resort in civil and criminal
matters, and in cases involving fundamental rights (art. 25). To date, only
three Caribbean states (Barbados, Belize and Guyana) have replaced the
JCPC with the CCJ. In this narrow capacity as an appellate court the CCJ
has addressed a number of human rights issues including the death
penalty (Attorney General et al v Jeffrey & Lennox Ricardo Boyce [CCJ
Appeal No. CV 2 of 2005]) and labor rights (King v. Reyes et el [CCJ
Appeal No. CV 3 of 2011]).
The CCJ, in exercising its jurisdiction, may apply rules of international law
(art. 17). The Court operates according to its (Original Jurisdiction) Rules,
(Appellate Jurisdiction) Rules and Code of Judicial Conduct.

There is also a distinct tribunal in the Caribbean called the Eastern

Caribbean Supreme Court, which is the superior court of record with
unlimited jurisdiction to decide civil and criminal cases and hear appeals
from parties to legal proceedings in proceedings of the Organization of
Eastern Caribbean States(OECS) nine members states: Anguilla, Antigua &
Barbuda, British Virgin Islands, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada,
Montserrat, Saint Lucia, St. Christopher (St. Kitts) & Nevis, St. Vincent &
the Grenadines.