Anda di halaman 1dari 3

1. Church refers to the people whom God calls to be His own.

In the Church, god

is calling together his people from all the ends of the earth, through faith and
baptism they have become a community of disciples, a people of God, the body
of Christ or the temple of the holy spirit.
2. Apostles Creed-
3. Ekklesia- is used frequently in the Greek Old Testament for the assembly of the
chosen people before God, especially their assembly on Mount Sinai where
Israel received the law and was established by God as his holy people.
4. Synagogue-
5. Kyriakon-
6. Kirche- it means what belongs to the Lord.
7. Catholic-
8. 4 essential attributes of the church
Indefectibility in existing we believed that the Church will never be
destroyed and will continue to exist until the end of the world and she will
remain faithful to her teaching, her constitution and her liturgy. The church
remains and will remain as the Institution of Salvation until the end of the
world. That means the Church will remain to be an eternal and
indestructible kingdom.
Infallibility in teaching the infallibility of the church means that the
church, by the special assistance of the holy spirit cannot commit an error
when it teaches or believes a doctrine of faith or morals.
Objects of infallibility:
a. Primarily, doctrines on Faith and Morals
b. Secondarily, faith and morals not formally revealed
Possessors of Infallibility:
a. Pope
b. Bishop
Authority in Ruling- The authority of the catholic church means that the
pope and the bishops, as the lawful successors of the apostles, have
power from Christ himself to teach, to sanctify and to govern the faithful in
spiritual matters.
a. The power to speak with Christs voice
b. The power to legislate make laws of the church
c. The power to discipline
d. All the faithful should listen and obey them
Visibility on Earth Visibility is that quality of the church on the ground of
which she appears externally and perceptively to the senses.
3 fold visible bond:
a. Profession of the same faith
b. Same sacraments
c. Subordination to the same authority
9. Papal infallibility-
10. Scope of Papal Infallibility
11. Papal Jurisdiction-
12. Petrine Primacy-
13. 6 Proofs for the primacy of Peter:
a. Jesus named Simon as Kephas, which means Immovable Rock
b. Jesus once again renamed Simon as Rock-foundation of His Chuch
c. The keys were given to peter alone
d. Jesus, after His Resurrection and before His ascension to heaven appointed
Peter to be the Chief Shepherd of His flock, the Church
e. After the Ascension of Christ, Peter resumed his leadership among the
f. Peters name always heads list of Apostles
14. Ex cathedra- through his chair
15. EpiscopacyA system of church government in which bishops are the chief
16. Magisterium- the teaching office of the church
17. Impeccability- Impeccability, when speaking of God, means the inability
to sin. Christ was impeccable in that he could not sin, and he did not sin (1 Peter
18. Apostolic Succession- the one true church. Transmission by means of
sacrament of Holy Orders of the mission and power of the Apostles to their
successors, the bishop.
19. Laying on of hands for apostolic-
20. Succession-
21. Churchs Infallibility-
22. 2 objects of Churchs Infallibility:
a. Primarily, doctrines on faith and morals
b. Secondarily, faith and morals not formally revealed
23. 2 possessors of Infallibility:
a. Pope
b. Bishop
24. 4 marks of the true church of Christ unity
a. One
b. Holy
c. Catholic
d. Apostolic
25. Unity-
26. Holiness-
27. Apostolicity-
28. Hierarchy in the Church-
29. 3 Offices of the hierarchy
a. Bishop
b. Priests
c. Deacons
30. 4 fold mission of the church:
31. 3 main scriptural images of the church/ other names or images
a. The church- People of God
b. The Church- Body of Christ
c. The Church- Tempe of the Holy Spirit
32. Episkopoi/Bisiop
33. Presbyteroi/Priest
34. Diakonoi/Deacon
35. Church hierarchy
36. Petros/Petra
37. Cephas
38. Lithos/evna
39. Laity
40. Religious
41. 3 Religious Vows:
42. Poverty-
43. Chastity-
44. Obedience-
45. Prophetic Office
46. Preistly Office
47. Kingly Office
48. Consecrated Life
49. Lay participation in the priestly, prophetic and kingly offices of Christ.
50. The first 5 popes of the church
a. St. Peter
b. St. Linus
c. St. Anacletus (Cletus)
d. St. Clement I
e. St. Evaristus
51. Popes of 21st century
a. Benedict xv1
b. Francis
52. Popes of the 20th Century
a. Benedict XV
b. Pius x1
c. St. John Paul II
d. Pius X11
e. St. John XX111
53. 10 common churches:
a. Paoay Church- Augustinian friars led by Fr. Antonio Estavillo
b. Barasoain Church- Augustinian Missionaries
c. San Agustin Church of Manila- the order of St. Augustine
d. San Sebastian Church of Manila- Augustinian Recollects
e. Dauis Church of Bohol- Jesuits, Fr. Diego de ayala and Joseph Gregorio
f. Quiapo Church- Franciscan friar, Fr. Antonio de Nombella
g. San Jose Church in Ivana Basco Batanes- Santo Domingo de Basco
h. Baguio Cathedral- Franciscan Friars
i. Basilica de Sto. Nio in Cebu- Spanish conquistadors in 1565
j. Our Lady of Manaog Shrine in Pangasinan- Spanish Dominican in Manaoag, Fr. Teodulo Cajigal,