Anda di halaman 1dari 2

Chakra Colors – The 7 Chakras and Their Meanings

Chakras are circular (or flower petal shaped) vortexes of energy

lying across seven different points on our spinal column. The seven chakras are connected to
different glands and organs in the body and are responsible for uniform distribution of “Chi”
(also called “Qi” or Praana or life energy) through them. When there is a disruption in this life
energy or a blockage in any one or more Chakras, the individual may suffer from health or
mental issues. Thus, the Chakras form the energy ecosystem of every individual. A deficiency in
this ecosystem can wreak havoc in the different areas of life.

Each Chakra is also associated with specific chakra colors. In this brief guide, we shall study the
different chakra colors as well as the areas of life the different chakras impact.

Different chakra colors and their meanings

1. The Root Chakra – The Sanskrit word for this Chakra is Mooladhara Chakra (mool means
root). The chakra colors associated with the root chakra is Red. The root chakra defines our
relation to Earth. It impacts our vitality, passion and survival instincts. The red chakra
colors are also indicative of our need for logic and order, physical strength and sexuality as
well as the fight or flight response when faced with danger. The sense of smell in the
human body is connected to the Root Chakra. The gland to which the root chakra is
attached is the Gonads.
2. The Sacral Chakra – The Sanskrit word for the sacral chakra is the Swadhisthana chakra.
The chakra colors associated with sacral chakra is orange. Swadishthana chakra relates to
the water element in the human body. The chakra colors orange impact sexuality,
reproductive function, joy, desire and even creativity, compassion for others etc. The sense
of Taste is associated with the Sacral Chakra. Glands and organs impacted by this chakra
include the lymphatic system, female reproductive organs, large intestine, pelvis, bladder
3. The Solar plexus Chakra – The Sanskrit word for this chakra is ManiPura Chakra which
literally translates to “city of jewels”. Thus the solar plexus chakra is the personal power
chakra that is responsible for one’s personal and professional success. The chakra colors
yellow of this energy vortex are associated with fire, energy, charge etc. This element of
fire, when balanced and harmonious allows one to feel more confident, cheerful and
energetic along with a right amount of respect for self and others. Our sense of sight is
associated with the solar plexus chakra. The glands or organs associated with Solar plexus
chakra are Adrenal glands.
4. The Heart Chakra – Anahata Chakra or the heart chakra is associated with the chakra
colors Green. This chakra influences our relationships and has the Air element. A weak
heart chakra is responsible for sabotaging the relationships through distrust, anger and envy
etc. Sense of touch is impacted by the heart chakra and the glands connected to it are
Thymus and lymph.
5. The Throat Chakra – The Vishuddhi chakra refers to our true voice. As the name
suggests, the Throat chakra with its chakra colors Blue is associated with the ability to
communicate, listen etc. The glands to which the Throat chakra is attached are the
esophagus, ears, throat, thyroid, jaws, teeth and neck vertebrae. The ethereal element of the
Throat Chakra, when balanced, allows an individual to have pleasant voice, artistic
abilities, expressive ways and also ability to be in a higher place spiritually. The individuals
with balanced throat chakra are able to meditate well and use their energy efficiently and
6. The Brow/Third Eye Chakra – The Ajna Chakra literally translates to “centre of knowing
or monitoring”. This chakra is associated with chakra colors Indigo and is connected to the
Pineal or pituitary gland. Those with a well balanced brow chakra can have telepathic
abilities, charismatic personality and they often do not have any fear of death. The element
of electricity or telepathy along with the chakra colors of Indigo are associated with our
sense of Thought.
7. The Crown Chakra – This chakra is known as Sahasrara chakra in Sanskrit and is
associated with the chakra colors of violet or purple. The crown chakra is associated with
the pituitary gland, nervous system, and the brain and head region with its element of light.
In its balanced state, this chakra can render individuals the ability to perform miracles,
transcend the laws of nature, and have a heightened awareness of death and immortality.
Once you are aware of the 7 Chakras and their chakra colors, you can consider the methods of
awakening and strengthening them in order to balance all areas of life. Doing so can help you
stay mentally and physically fit, and also improve your financial/professional lives.

Minat Terkait