Anda di halaman 1dari 2

What is WCO?

The World Customs Organization (WCO), established in 1952 under the name of Customs
Cooperation Council (CEC), is an independent intergovernmental body whose mission is to
improve the efficiency and effectiveness of customs administrations.
Today, the WCO represents 180 customs administrations from around the world, which
together process approximately 98% of world trade. As a global Customs expertise center,
the WCO is the only international organization with competence in customs matters and can
rightly be called the voice of the international customs community.
The governing body of the WCO, the Council, relies on the competencies of a Secretariat
and various technical committees to carry out its mission. The Secretariat is composed of
more than 100 international staff, technical experts and administrative staff of different
As a forum for dialogue and exchange of experiences among delegates from national
Customs administrations, the WCO offers its Members a wide range of Conventions and
other international instruments, as well as technical assistance and training services. The
Secretariat also actively supports its Members in their efforts to modernize and strengthen
their capacities in their national Customs administrations.
In addition to the essential role played by the WCO in the growth of legitimate international
trade, its efforts to combat fraudulent activities are also recognized internationally. The
alliance approach promoted by the WCO is one of the keys to the relationship between
customs administrations and their partners. By promoting an honest, transparent and
predictable customs environment, the WCO directly contributes to the economic and social
well-being of its Members.
Finally, in an international context characterized by instability and the ever-present terrorist
threat, the mission of the WCO, aimed at strengthening the protection of society and the
national territory, secures and facilitates international trade, makes full sense.

Strategic Objectives of the WCO

Strategic Objective 1 - To promote the security and facilitation of international trade,
including the simplification and harmonization of customs procedures = Set of measures on
Economic Competitiveness
Strategic Objective 2 - Promote Fair, Efficient and Efficient Income Collection = Income
Collection Package
Strategic objective 3 - Protect society, public health and safety = Enforcement and anti-
fraud package
Strategic Objective 4 - Consolidate Capacity Building = Strategic Development Package
Strategic objective 5 - Promote the exchange of information among all stakeholders
Strategic objective 6 - Enhance the performance and visibility of Customs
Strategic objective 7 - Conduct research and analysis 180 Members of the WCO The 180
Members of the WCO, (three quarters of which are from developing countries) together
process more than 98% of world trade.
They are divided into 6 regions:
South America, North America, Central America and the Caribbean
Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia,
Costa Rica, Cuba, Curaçao, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras,
Jamaica, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the Dominican Republic, Saint Lucia, Trinidad and
Tobago, Uruguay *, Venezuela.
Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan *, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and
Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France,
Georgia, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania,
Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal,
Romania, Serbia, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Turkey, Ukraine,
European Union **, Uzbekistan.
Eastern and Southern Africa

Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Comoros, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar,

Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Swaziland, South
Africa, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Djibouti, Zambia, Zimbabwe .

West and Central Africa

Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Congo (Republic of), Ivory Coast, Chad,
Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria *, Central
African Republic, Democratic Republic The Congo, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra
Leone, Togo.

North Africa, Near and Middle East

Saudi Arabia, Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, United Arab Emirates, Iraq, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya,
Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Syrian Arab Republic, Sudan,
Tunisia, Yemen.

Far East, South and South East Asia, Australasia and Pacific Islands

Afghanistan, Islamic Republic of, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam,

Cambodia, China, Fiji, Hong Kong China, India, Indonesia, Iran, Macao, China, Malaysia,
Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines,
Samoa, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Myanmar Union, Vanuatu,