Anda di halaman 1dari 100

1908-2008

In Memory Of

Neoma Michalski Joseph Seidl


(1931-2007) (1951-2007)
Neoma was proud of her heritage which Joe was a spirited member of the Seidl Family.
developed into a search of family genealogy. He was a trustee on Luxemburg's Village Board
She was an enthusiastic person willing to share her since 2002 and worked with the students of
knowledge of history, a person of strong faith, Luxemburg High School. Joe was a cheerful,
a warm smile and sincere heart. energetic person always willing to help others.

Neoma and Joe were diligent volunteer workers for the betterment of the community.
Neoma was on the Historical Committee and Joe worked with
Community Problem Solvers for the Centennial Celebration in 2008.

This book was compiled by Carol Simonar.


Edited by Ervin Stahl, Tom Seidl, Pam Adams, Stephanie Gau, and Sue Heim
Luxemburg's Main Street

VILLAGE OFFICIALS
Back row: John J Peot, Ralph Colle, Frank Hoppe,
Peter Mornard, Louis Rueckl, Dr. Laurent.
Front row: Julius Cahn, Clem Depas, Charles Peters,
Hector Bencher, Bill Martin, Harold Peters,
and Clem Rass.

Luxemburg Community
Fire Dept. Officials
Kneeling: Clarence Seidl, Eli Cravillion,
Fred Wunsch, Chief J.J. Peot, Harold Kozlik.
Standing: Ben Koss, Jim Nejedlo, Jake Shefchik,
Frank Kozlik, Frank Wodsedalek, Barney Moede.
Standing on t ruck fender: Joe Baierl and Len Seidl.

-
2
Miesler Garage
Baseball Team Right to left:Bil l Miesler, Harry Dennison (mechanic)
Back row: Louis Liebl, Charlie Seidl, Joe Loberger, Other man in unknown
Camille Stage. Row 2: Indian Charlie, John L. Miller,
George Seidl, Ole Evenson, Frank Garot.
Front row: George Loberger, Art Bazlen,
Glen Mohr (Bat Boy), Ed Dulik, Gene Kiley.

St. Mary's Church, with


Pulpit on the left.

Ralph Kline American


Legion Post 262-1965
Bob Dau l, Jerry Simonar, Ken Jandrain, Don Kollross

They's Orchard
Jean Bourguignon, Stella Cravillion, Irene Dalebroux,
St. John Church Rose Lohrey, Jule Dalebroux.

3
Building Railroad Tracks

Depot

Luxemburg H.S. Wrestlers


Left to Right: Nelson Frisque, Ed Vanness, Gaylord Ropson,
Donald Dax, Ervin DePeau, Ed Suess, Arnie Baierl,
Railroad Trolly Roland Baierl, Sam Halloin, Aaron LaCourt,
John Brechner, L.J. Vandrisse, and Henry Legois Coach George V. Gregor.

School Board
Girl's Basketball Cheerleaders Back: Ray Liebl, Emmett Dewane Front: Elroy Hoppe,
Ralph Kline, Gus Yanda, and Harold Kollross George V. Gregor, Len Seidl, and Art Peot

4
Singing Quartet
Mike Dorner, Ray Liebl, Len Seidl, Jim Miller

Postmaster
Austin Allard and Jane Paider

Laura Peters, Marvin Bins,


and Joe Vandervest

Telephone Operaters
Back row: Mabel Arendt, Marie Hoffman,
Laura Novak, Center row: Laura Theys, Ethel Liebl,
Jennie Baye, and Harold Behnke

Ed Kohlbeck & Leo Salmon

Little George's Big Tavern-1946


George Yanda sitting in the middle,
Clarence kneeling with Gus in back.

s
McMahon's Employees Luxemburg Band
Back row: Julius Bertrand, Joseph Linzmeier,
Back row: Jerry Cravillion, Harold Peters,
James Santroch, Ben Stahl, Ed Linzmeier,
Bob Heim, Tom Rueck l, Don Sladky.
Ole Evenson, Frank Santroch, Bill Srnka, John Fameree.
Front row: Julian Romuald, Dorothy Harding,
Middle row: Charles Seidl, John Kinnard, Frank Salmon,
Ray Liebl, Marilyn Rank, and Lyle Zellner
Jim Cherney. Sitting : Otto Kaye, and Alvin Arpin

Kewaunee County Fair

Stella Arpin Julius Cahn


• • • • ~)>.i Horse Pulling
~ ,·. ' 1..

. ·~
-~".' '
l' ·~ '""'
'.
,.. ~... t
~ :.~.-~~
, .j • ,t

Demolition
Sulky Race
Race

Exhibits

6
Simonar Wreckers
1938-1950 models
Snowmobiles-1960's

Filz Store-South Luxemburg

Hoppe Band
Front: Frank Wawirka, Wm. Hoppe, Frank Hoppe,
Esther (Hoppe) Metzner, A.M. Hoppe
Row 2: Walter Friex, Gertrude (Hoppe) Yauger, Hi lda (Hoppe)
Kaye, Charles Seidl Row 3: Valera Evenson,
Flora (Hoppe) Ledvina, Wm . Jonet, Frieda (Hoppe) Heavers,
Otto Kaye Row 4: Emil Hoppe and Paul Hoppe

Luxemburg Guard
Vivian Vand risse in doorway
County Police Officer Wisconsin House of beauty shop
Ed Goetsch Blah Barbiaux

7
George and Blanche Deprey
Farmers Trading Co. Employees
Front: J.J. Peot, Clara Peot, Ed Dalebroux
Row 2: Florence Dalebroux, Millie Cisler, Ethel Seidl,
and Sophie Weinfurter. Row 3: Ernie Thibaudeau,
Alex Dalebroux, Mary Jane Pavlik,
Verna Heim, and Josie Nell is.

Marvin Bins
Fra nk and Sylvia Sladky

Bob Daul

La ura Hinnendael, John Duchateau-1920


8
HISTORY OF LUXEMBURG VI LLAGE

The Village of Luxemburg is situated in Luxemburg Township, Kewaunee County. A small,


quiet, friendly town, 17 miles from Green Bay, 10 miles from Algoma and Kewaunee, with a
mixture of ethnic backgrounds.
The families who first settled here were Arendt and Colle, on the north end of town; the
Kaut, and Merens families on the south side. They came from the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. A
year or two later the Daul, Peot, and Wahl families of Germany arrived . The Ney family cam e
from the same town as the Coll e family.
In 1854 Nicholas and Elizabeth Merens left their homeland in Maeschdorf, Luxembourg and
sailed to America. They landed in the harbor of New York City and proceeded by rail to Green
Bay with the few belongings they owned and $90. They bought land from the government for the
sum of $7.00. In the summer of 1855 a two-room log cabin was built, which served as their
home for nineteen years. Peter Merens was the first of six chi ldren and the first white child born
in Luxemburg.
Pierre and Catherine Colle came from Molstroff, Luxembourg on the ship Antarctic in 1855.
They carved a farm out of the wilderness. Their son Desire was ob li ged to operate the farm when
his father's health failed. Desire worked on the railroad when it was built through the area.
Johann and Katherine Kaut, of the Duchy of Luxembourg, purchased 120 acres of land in
Section 21. It took two days to go from Green Bay to Luxemburg. The farm and house on the
hill overlooking Luxemburg were passed on to their son Nick and wife Katherine Stahl. (The
house still stands today)
When Michael and Anna Marie (Dieskies) Arendt moved to the area in 1856 they found
Luxemburg "a wild-looking country", without roads and few settlers.
In 1892 the railroad passed through Luxemburg, connecting Sturgeon Bay and Green Bay in
the summer of 1893. Edward Decker conceived the idea of connecting the two cities with a rail
line. It was through his efforts the Ahnapee & Western Railway Co. was formed. The line passed
through wooded areas and "swampers" cleared the brush and felled trees. Any laborer handy
with pick and shovel was able to secure work si nce it was all hand-done. Hand laborers received
from $1.00 to $1.25 for a ten-hour day. A farmer with team and scraper received $3.00 per day.
It was difficult work but it progressed on schedule. The first full car of freight came over the line
to Ahnapee in September of 1892. It was a day of excitement when the first run was made to
Stu rgeon Bay. People watched with awe as smoke and steam bel lowed from the train as it made
its first stop at Forestville. Children especially lived in anticipation of their first ride on the
coaches. Fa re was three cents a mile.
The railroad had its share of problems. During 1893 some of the train's ca rs were derail ed
in the village and a crew had to come out to fix the problem. In 1912 a number of passengers
received slight injuries when a passenger train coming from Sturgeon Bay collided with the
Kewaunee train at Casco Junction, throwing the Sturgeon Bay train off t he track. In January of
1927 there was a train derailment of 21 cars, delaying the passenger tra in for over an hour.
There was also a cattle problem, many farm animals were killed when they wandered onto the
tracks. A few cars were known to do the same. The depot and freight house were built in 1892.
Mr. Patterson was the first railroad agent, with Edward Peat taking over the position from 1916 to
1918.
In 1911 the Kewaunee branch of Green Bay & Western Railroad constructed a new turntable
at Casco Junction to handle the new Mogul locomotive. Later the Casco station and equipment
were abandoned and the Green Bay & Western decided to connect at Luxemburg.
An addition to the railroad depot was started in Octob er of 1913 because the platform was
crowded when the train arrived and often blocked with freight. Three years later a cement
platform was erected and a refrigerator compartment added. Ole Evenson took over as station
agent and continued until April 1922. Frank Legois was station agent for a brief time until
Leonard Leischow came in 1923 until 1941. Emi l Legois retired as railroad section foreman after
34 years of service.
In later years the station was remodeled with a room for the ticket office and waiting
9
passengers and another for freight. A well was drilled in 1929 by GB&W RR, between the stock
yards and railroad tracks, to accommodate livestock shippers. The stock-yard s were owned by the
railroad company. In 1958 the depot was closed and six years later dismantled. The three la st
depot agents were John Kinnard, Curtis Johnson and Ken Junio.
The first business was erected close to the railroad tracks in 1892 by Hector Bencher, called
the ''Wisconsin House". The village expanded rapidly with the establishment of Jule Petry's
lumber yard and shingle mill in 1902. Homes and stores were built, the grain elevator was
erected, and the bank received its charter in 1903, giving the town a firm foundation for progress.
Dr. Feli x Moraux was the first physician. Victor Kaye had charge of th e Carg ill elevator. Joe
Rothe decided to open a furniture store, Fred Radue gave haircuts and shaves in a sma ll bui lding
in the rear of the Wisconsin House, and Vojta Nuhlicek opened the first harness shop. A cider
press was operated in back of Casper Loberger's store to quench one's thirst. In rapid order
came other projects, John Linzmeier's butcher shop, John Dupont's jewelry store and Desire
Coll e's tavern.
In 1902, telephone service arrived. The flour mill and American House then made their
appearance. In 1903 Johann Schwab, a shoe-maker from Austria, started a shoe repa ir bu siness
in the Transit House, and the Kieweg-Peters store was erected. That same year Nick Kaut plotted
out the west side of Main Street into lots. Desire Colle, owner of the opposite side, followed suit a
year later. This also was the year that brought a change in postal service. Until then Luxemburg
received its mail at the Linzmeier Store in South Luxemburg, but the railroad being built below-
the-hill was the deciding factor to move the office nearer to the railroad station.
Our first schoo l district was formed in 1906 and occupi ed a room of the Felix VanDrisse
bui lding on Main Street with F. J. Ke lliher wi elding the birch rod. As Luxemburg grew the need for
fire protection, street improvements, and other public services, set the stag e for incorporation.
That was effected in 1908, when a slate of officers included: Peter Boncher, President; Hector
Boncher, Supervisor; Fred Lohf, Assessor; August Salmon, Treasurer; A. J. Villers, Clerk; George
M. Elfner, Constable; John Radue, Marshall; Dan Daul, Lawrence Rueckl, Lou is Liebl, James
Santroch, Peter Merens and Oliver Debauch e Trustees; were elected . Charles L. Peters filled the
office of president in 1912, after Charles Sell resigned . The presidents salar·y in 1910 was $50 a
year, trustees were paid $1.00 per meeting with 50 cents for special meeting s. (Luxemburg had
a Literary-Art Society in 1910, with officers: John Merens, President; Glen Mohr, Vice President;
Selma Toebe, Secreta ry ; John Salmon, Treasurer and Edward Arendt, Marshal.)
Luxemburg News made its bow to the public in 1908, but not at regular intervals. Mr. G. I.
McDonald, came over from Algoma and got out an issue whenever the fancy struck him. Th e
foundation was laid for the village hall by J. B. Hendricks. At this time the hill was cut down and
used to raise Main Street at the bottom of the hill. Eve rything worth less was gathered up on
clean-up day, dumped into the street and covered with ground. During (1910-1913} Scarlet Fever
was reported, resulting in quarantine. There were also cases of the disease in 1917. Spring of
1916, the village officials looked for a system to drain the baseball grounds which flooded in
spring and during heavy rains. From 1917 to 1919 some of the business establishments installed
gas lighting systems for better vision . In January 1918, business places were asked to close for
ten weeks on Monday's to conserve fuel to help the war effort.
An amendment prohibiting the manufacture, sa le, and transpo rt of intoxicating beverag es
became effective one year after ratification, prompted by an announcement made by Presid ent
Wilson. "The nation goes dry next July. " On July 4, 1919 Luxemburg bade farewell to John
Barleycorn (liquor). Taverns were only allowed to sell soft drinks. In March of 1920 Wisconsin
legalized 2.5% beer. During the summer the streets in the village were oiled to keep the dust at
a minimum.
Work was started on the electric power line from Green Bay to Sturgeon Bay in 1920 with
electricity being turned on Apri l 5, 1921. Street lights were in sta lled on poles along the side of
Main Street. Ten years later suspen sion center lighting was installed. In 1924 Wisconsin Public
Service installed a substation at Daul's farm south of Luxemburg. A new fire siren was installed
that same year. The previous year a fire, originating in a large barn owned by Peter Merens,
threatened the village. Destroyed were Frank Christoff's horse barn, G. H. Moede's garage, and

10
Steve Libal's warehouse was damaged to the extent of $2,000. The Luxemburg Furniture store
and Miesler garage were also ignited by sparks. The village board sold its 1926 Harley Davidson
Motorcycle, which was purchased two years prior for use by the police department. There was no
one left in the departmen t who could ride it.
An ordinance was passed requiring all peddlers to secure a li cense at a cost of $10.00 per
day. At the October meeting of the village board it was voted to place 660' of 18" galvanized pipe
underground, beginning in front of the Luxembu rg Milling office to Luxem burg Manufacturing Co.
In 1932 sidewalk was laid to south Luxemburg. During 1936 work progressed for a park on lots
purchased by the village. The property was used as a dumping ground and was in need of
landscaping.
President Peters told the trustees at the January meeting of 1938; "Let's make it our aim to
spend the people's money j udiciously and for improvements of a permanent nature. Seeing that
the taxpayers get a dollar's worth for every dollar spent. He asked that honesty of opinion, a
square deal for everyon e, no favoritism, or partiality be the thought of every official. Be frank in
expressing our opinions, and allow those that differ with you a like opportunity. Let nothing but
th e most urgent business keep you away from regular or special meeting s. Your promptness and
courteousness will help us conduct our meetings in an efficien t busin ess like way."
In January of 1938 the doors of Carl Andre's home were snowed shut. "Carl tried all of the
doors Tuesday morning, but they were held fast by drifts. He got to work at the bank on time by
crawling out through a window. The storm started out of the Northwest Monday and abated early
Wednesday morning." (From Luxemburg News Article of 1938)
During 1939 horseshoe courts and an outside basketball court were constructed in the park.
A few cases of Smallpox were diagnosed.
In August one of the most picturesque hoboes to visit Luxemburg in years was here over
the weekend. "Plymouth Rock Whitey", as he calls himself, canvassed stores selli ng Mexican
jumping beans. The Luxembu rg Village Jail, which hasn't had an occupant since goodness knows
when, has been "condemned" as unsuitable and termed "obsolete" by Miss Blanch Murphy, state
inspector who sa id it shou ld be replaced by a modern structure. Luxemburg folks are scratching
their heads and asking themselves just what the jail is unsuitable for seeing as it isn't being used.
Once in a blue moon police chief Bill Martin allows some transient to sleep there overnight. The
villagers don't want the expense of putting up a new building. (Luxemburg News article)
William Martin served as police chief in 1941. He also was a painter, mason and a carpenter
who built homes in Luxemburg. Tuberculosis was on the increase in 1941, there were 800 deaths
the prev ious year. The old stockyard, located near the Green Bay & Western Railroad tracks,
was dismantled. Citizens of Luxemburg voted for sewer and water in July of 1943; approved 217,
opposed 19 . The laying of pipes for water and sewer will reach to th e vil lage limits near the
Joseph Baierl residence. Market prices for October 1946: Barley, per cwt. $3.40; Spring wheat,
$1.90; Winter wheat $2.00; Oats, per bu. $2.35; Rye, per bu. $2.25; Eggs, 43 cents; Springers,
25 cents; Hens 18 cents.
During 1947 work on the village pumping station began. It was estimated that about
$60,000 would be needed to build the station and disposal plant. South Luxemburg requested
sewer service for 14 homes, 2 taverns, St. Mary's School and a cheese factory in August of 1948.
Lighting at the athletic field was funded by the Town & Country Club and American Legion, Post
262. Algeron Deprez, Village Police Officer, resigned as other duties took up most of his time.
Peter Colle was appointed treasurer of the village, succeeding Dr. E. P. Happel, a position he
held for 20 years. Doctor Emmett Dewane served one term as President. Rich Cmeyla becam e
President in 1953, serving until 1970. That same year Ray Liebl was clerk, serving 14 years.
Connie Th iry served as clerk from 1967-1968. Three trustees were elected in 1967: Harold
Lemens, Jack Arpin and Paul Mahlik, with Harold Theys as marshal. During the early 1960's
Luxemburg residents received Salk polio shots after an outbreak of the disease.
The first woman to be elected in village government was Carol Seidl, trustee, serving two
terms, 1967 to 1970. Bernadine Mathu was Deputy Clerk, from 1968 to 2000, being appointed to
position of clerk-treasurer in 1979. Ruth Arpin served on the vi llage board for three years.
January of 1970 Marion Koehler was appointed village treasurer to take over for the balance

11
of a two-year term due to the resignation of Peter Colle, who recalled that total collections were
$12,000 in 1943. Harold Lemens, trustee, filed for the office of President (1970). During the
next year t he old village hall was leveled to make way for the new fire department building. Ray
Bredael was recognized for his diligence in caring for American Legion Memorial Field. He was
employed by the village for 36 years and took great pride in keeping it clean. Ray also coached
Little League to a championship in 1986.
July 2, 1975 th e village board opened bids on property for the water tower. William Belter
and Mrs. Edward Kratz, owners of the two lots east of the village hall, gave the property to the
village. Low rent housing was made available to the residents with the construction of a bu ilding
on Colle St. A second building was erected in 1981 on the comer of Second St. and Center Dr.
From 1975 until she retired, Bernadine managed the Luxemburg Housing for the elderly. The
waste water treatment system was put into operation in 1979. It was designed to serve a
population of 2,000 people, plus an industrial equ ivalent of 4,000. Unique features of the aerated
lagoon treatment system are stainless steel non -clog diffusers, and submerged rock filters for
algae removal.
From 1971 to 1994 Lary J. Swoboda of Luxemburg served 23 years in the Wisconsin State
Assembly on the Democratic Ticket, (the longest serving State Representative from Kewaunee
County since statehood). He earned his BS degree in 1963, MS Degree in 1968, and Doctorate
degree in 1999.
1981- Luxemburg boasts of three opera singers; Brad Liebl, Terry Seidl and Jean Seidl.
Brad and Terry graduated from St. Norbert College, Jean is a graduate of University of Wisconsin,
Milwaukee. Both Terry and Jean have performed in Germany. Lloyd Wink defeated Harold
Lemens for the office of President in 1986. "Welcome to Luxemburg" signs were erected on
Highway 54.
In May 1990, the old high school was remodeled into new village government offices with
11,000 square feet avai lab le space. The new water tower was built with a capacity of 250,000
gallons. Luxemburg village started the first annual rummage sale during the month of May. A
new municipal garage was built with recycling bins located on the east side of the property.
During 1992 new sirens were erected for tornado warnings, one on Church Road and one at the
Municipal Office. That same year the board approved two duplexes in the "Countryside Estates"
Subdivision. Luxemburg building permits neared $3,000,000 in 1994. Sunset Estates, a two-
story, eight-unit apartment complex was erected on Pine Street. Spartan Acres/Heights is a
subdivision on the north end of town with private homes and apartment houses. The year 2000
brought more expansion with a housing development near NorthBrook Golf Course, called
NorthBrook Meadows. In 1995 Lloyd Vincent died after servi ng on the village board for 14 years.
Also in 1995 a Tax Increment Finance District (TIF) was esta blished. Ed Tlachac retired in July
1997, after 18 years on the job.
"Voie de la Liberte"-marker was placed in St. Mary's Cemetery from the people of
Luxembourg in 1994. It reminds people of the path of hardship and the triumphant success of
soldiers of the 3rd U.S. Army, from Normandy, June 6th, to liberation of France, Belgium, and
Luxembourg. 1182 milestones mark "Liberty Road ". United States has three markers, Iowa,
Wisconsin and Minnesota
Lew Duchateau was elected Village President in 1998, serving through April of 2003. Lyle
Jandrin became President in May. Diane Jorgensen filled the position of Clerk-Treasurer in
Septem ber 2000. Ken LeFevre is Luxemburg Village Chief of Police since 1980, with one part-
time assistant. The wastewater treatment plant was upgraded and connected to Green Bay
Metropo litan Distri ct in 1999. In 2000 playground equipment was installed in the new park on
the south end of town, sponsored by the village and Luxemb urg Jaycees.
The year 20 04 there was a record of 31 new home bui lding permits and three duplexes. In
December 2005, 40 acres of land was purchased from Norman Zellner, adding to our industrial
park. The 2007 population is 2281. In 1911 the population was 402.
"Sometime in fall the farmers would have a cattle drive from their farms, down Main Street
in Luxemburg, driving their cattle to the railroad depot to be put in cattle cars bound for the
slaughter house. The cattle would walk down the street-under the watchful eyes of men either
12
walking, in trucks and sometimes on horseback. All of us kids had to run on the porch because
there might be bulls in the bunch of cattle and we might be hurt!" (From Sara Hinnendael Rasmussen's
Memories are Made of This)
In the good old days the fire whistle blew at 9 p.m. every night for kids to be off the street.

Peter P, Daniel, Michael and John Arendt

Nick Kaut

Charles and Mary (Arendt) Colle Anna (Haen) and Peter Merens
1893

13
BUSINESS HISTORY
*=no longer in business

ABC DENTAL CLINIC - *LUXEMBURG MOTEL


Dr. William Iwen came to Luxemburg in 1976 and purchased the former Luxemburg Motel
and converted it into a dental clinic. We chose Luxemburg to start our dental practice because it
was a vibrant growing community and close to home. Dr. !wen attended the University of
Wisconsin and Marquette Dental Schools. Daughter-in - law Carmen Iwen joined the practice June
18, 1997 and Dr. Brian W. !wen, son of Dr. William lwen, joining the firm in 1998. We are a full
service dental clinic serving the needs of fam ilies from Luxemburg and surrounding communities.
(Story submitted by !wen family)
The building was constructed by Cletus Seidl for the owners Bob and Georgia "Babe"
Maleski in 1966. They ran the business for the next ten years. The unofficial name of the Motel
was King Soccer, named after their French Poodle.

A - Z PROPERTY MAINTENANCE
The business began ten years ago with Andy Zimmerman as owner. The office is located
at 1722 Pine Tree Lane, Luxemburg. They offer landscape planning, all types of lawn
maintenance, cleaning of gutters, snow removal and concrete curb work. (Information from
Zimmerman family)

ABTS LAW OFFICE - *SELLS CHEVROLET


The office opened in 1992 with Denis Abts, owner, located at 416 Oak Street. The firm
offers real estate services, business law, probate, estate planning, w ills, trusts and elder law.
Denn is formerly worked at Dalebroux Law office in Casco. The building once housed Chevrolet
dealership. (Information from Abts Law Office)

AL'S BARBER SHOP - *JIM'S PLUMBING - *JACQUES CASH MARKET


Casper Loberger sold pumps, cisterns and windmills here in 1912 and owned a cider press.
Victor Cravillion had a clothing repair shop in part of the structure, clean ing, pressing and
repairing clothi ng. In 1920 the Variety Store was owned by Cha rles Hoebreckx. He sold the
business to Felix VanDrisse, who in turn sold it to Clem Depas.
In 1931 Ed Jacques, Sr. purchased
E EL,~~ ~ the grocery store from Clem. Alvah and
Stell a Arpin bought the store in 1951 and
:-' ~ continued running the business until Jim
.\ Tlachac purchased the build ing in 1963,
known as Jim's Plumbing and Heating,
with living quarters on the south side and
upstairs. Previously Jim had been
employed by Blah Barbiaux Appliance and
Thomas Plumbing & Heating of Green
Bay. In 1970 Alan Tlachac opened a
barbershop. His first customer was his
father Ed Tlachac. During 1978 the
original front was replaced with smaller
windows. In 2005 a handicap ramp was
added, and a new barber pole to signify
the business. (Submitted by Al Tlachac)
Jacques Cash Way Store
14
,.

ALGOMA WIRELESS - * PLAIN JANE'S FLOWER SHOP - * SCHWAB SHOE STORE


Algoma Wireless leased the building in June, 2006 at 715 Main Street. They are a wireless
authorized agent with service plans and service for our customers. The brands carried are:
Motorola, Samsung, Kyocera, LG, Blackberry, and palm phones. Their hours are: Mon - Thur 10
to 5; Fri 10 to 7; Sat 10 to 4, and Sunday 10 to 2. (Information form Algoma Wireless)
Schwab Shoe Store
John Schwab was born in Malacky Austria/Hungary. His
father was a self-employed weaver and John tried tailoring
briefly but it didn't "catch on". He served a four year
apprenticeship in various shoe shops in Vienna and
continued this line of work until called to serve a
compulsory three-year term in the army under Franz-
Joseph, Emperor of Austria, where he was a sharpshooter.
His travels enabled him to pick up three languages. After
returning to civilian life, Mr. Schwab set up a shoe making
business in Vienna.
John Schwab arrived in America in 1903, when
Luxemburg was in its infancy, boasting 25 buildings. During
his first years he did any kind of work he could find. John
was employed as a farm hand, section hand, hauled mail
from the post office to the depot and did cleaning, pressing
and shoe repair. He opened a shoe store on Main Street in
the old Transit House building. During 1911 he received
his citizenship papers, also that year he moved his shoe
repair equi pment to the Wisconsin House. In 1913 he bui lt
the present structure. John was a skilled craftsman, having
John Schwab, Sr. specialized in hand made shoes.
During 1915 - Village Marshall, William Mies/er, entertained two "Chimney Sweeps" in the
village lockup Monday evening. They arrived in town during morning and proceeded to solicit
work. While at work at Schwab shoe store they managed to get their hands on a fine pair of
shoes and departed without even extending their thanks to the owner. Later the shoes were sold
to William Moede for 75 cents at the N. J. Spitzer place. Arousing Nick's suspicions, he called Mr.
Schwab to identify the shoes, who in turn called the Village Marshall. (From Luxemburg News article)
Son John, Jr., learned the trade from his father. They built special orthopedic shoes for
handicapped children at Robinsonville Chapel. John Sr., was Luxemburg's first "Man of the Year"
in 1962, he lived to be 99 years old.
In 1920 an addition was built for repairing shoes. John Jr. served on the Kewaunee
County Fair Board and as supervisor of the Kewaune County Board. His wife, June, helped in the
store as did his sisters, Martha and Olga. The business closed in May of 1996.
Plain Jane Flowe rs
Jane Weier opened the shop in 1997, se lling flowers and gifts, with delivery to hom es or
places of business.(Algoma Wireless rents the building at the present time.)

AMERICAN FAMILY INSURANCE


In 1971 he was ready to exit the US Army and hi s Uncle Goldie Derenne mentioned in
letters he had written to him that he was thinking of retiring. February of 1972 he began
representing American Family from his parents ' farm home near Denmark. October of 1973
Cindy and Dave were married and they moved to Dyckesville to begin taking over for Goldie. A
coup le of yea rs later Gol die retired and Dave was abl e to take over his agency. They ran the
business from thier home until 2001 when they moved to Luxemburg to be more centrally
located. They offer all lines of personal insurance, Auto, Home, Health, Farm owners, Business
Insurance and Life. He is also a registered representative with American Family Securities.
(Submitted by Dave & Cindy Derenne)
15
*AMERICAN HOUSE
Built by Nick Kaut in 1902; the saloon had many proprietors, some of whom owned the
business and others leased. During the early years Schafkoph tournaments were held. W. A.
Cowell was an attorney with his office on the second floor. George Rueck!, Sr. ran the bar with
his son George Jr., until 1916 when it was sold to Schwedler Brothers. During the time George
ran the tavern there was a fire. Someone had overturned a three gallon can of gas the day
before, which leaked thru an opening in the trap door to the basement. George went into the
room to get a lantern and while striking a match the formed gas exploded blowing out several
windows. Patrons Julius Retzlaff and T. Klemesh helped put out the fire which kept the building
from total destruction. There was also smoke coming from the basement liquor room but a
bucket brigade quickly quenched the fire .
December of 1909 Reinhold Okrush sold the saloon/hotel to Julius Retzlaff for $6,000 .
October of 1923 Louis Saams moved into the American House, leasing it from Mr. Okrush. John
Kaye rented the business until his lease ran out in 1927. Saams again ran the tavern/hotel in
1927 and did extensive remodeling. Alfred Rueck! became the owner in 1932. During 1944 Mr.
And Mrs. William Drossart of Casco leased the establishment from Alfred Rueck!. Other
proprietors were: Lawrence Rankin, Richard Barley, Hilary Boncher, Roger Janda, Curt and
Delores Carlson, Ed amd Louella LeCloux (1962-1965), Ambrose VanLaanen (he ran "Sonny's
Bar" until 1970), John Blahnik, and Evelyn
Guerts.
Donald and Jean Kollross purchased the
American House from Evelyn Guerts in July of
1981 and operated as "Doc and Jeans's".
Improvements were made to the interior and
parking lot. Randy and Debbie Heurkens
purchased the business and operated it until
2005 as D & B's Pub. Dean Rhodes operated the
bar until 2007 as the Rhode House. The building
awaits a new owner.

ANIMAL HOUSE PET CLINIC Located at 121 Commerce Drive. (No further informa tion
available.)

AUDE JEWELERS
Located at 213 Main Street; Don and Jan Aude opened the jewelry store after purchasing
the building and business from Nils and Pearl Gerondale in 1970. Don graduated from the
Chicago Institute of Watchmaking School and Browne's Institute of Engraving and Designing. He
operated his own jewelry store from 1953 to 1956 and then ran the jewelry department at
Katches' in Algoma. In 1957 Don and Jan operated a resort and he did trade work for other
jewelry stores until moving to Luxemburg in 1970 . Jan took care of sales and the book work,
while daughter Sheila did repair work and engraving. It was at this time the store was expanded
to 20 more feet of floor space, with a new entrance on Main Street.
Lynn Seidl and Betty Jadin purchased Aude Jewel ers in 1992. Lynn's daughter, Sarah,
graduated from NWTC program in jewelry repair and fabrication in 2004. She is very talented
and has added many new ideas. Sarah is the in-house goldsmith at Aude's, where she does ring
sizing, retipping, resetting diamonds and other stones. She can help customers design a piece of
jewelry to reset stones that have been in the family for generations. (Information from Lynn Seidl)

AUGIE'S BAR & GRILL - *GUS' HIDEWAY BAR - *LITTLE GEORGE'S BIG TAVERN
The first business conducted at 206 Willow Street began in 1908 as a soft drink bottling
16
plant, owned by Frank Garot. It was a thriving business in 1911, operating overtime to fill orders
for soft drinks and Weiss Beer. Jake Spitzer was hired and a truck was purchased to deliver the
products. In 1910 a fire that was started in dry sawdust caused damage to the buildin g. It was
extinguished by a volunteer pail brigade before the fire department arrived.
During 1919 a "simplex" bottle soaking machine was in stalled in his factory . Frank owned
severa l race horses and attended races al l over the state. In 1920 he sold the business to Joseph
Weinfurter and his brother-in-law, Charles Linzmeier. During the period from 1920 to 1935 the
building was remodeled into a tavern with living quarters upstairs. In 1927 John Kaye ran the
tavern under the name of "Stock Yard Inn", and ran a sale stable for horses. John Delwiche
rented the business in 1935. The next individuals running the tavern were, Joseph Hoslet, then
Anton Grasse!. For the next three years the building was not occupied. In 1940 George Yanda
bought the tavern and called it, "Little George's Big Tavern", succeeded by his son Leonard "Gus"
and wife, Mert, who operated the "Hideaway Bar" for 25 years . It was Gus's custom to buy the
house a drink when the train came throu h town. Some people knew when the tra in was due and
would head over to the bar in time for their free
drink.
Jim Wells purchased the bar from Gus and
Mert in 1972 and ran it for two years. After being
vacant for a time, Lee, "Augie", and Lois Derenne
purchased the tavern now known as Augie's Bar
and Grill on June 21, 1976.
Over the years extensive remodeling has
been done. An outdoor volley ball court was also
added. We will be starting our 32nd year in
business this year. Our menu has been expanded
to include homemade fresh pizza, made to your
liking. (Submitted by Augie Derenne)

Gus Yanda

* BADGER STATE CHEESE - * SOUTH LUXEMBURG CREAMERY


Anton Gassel constructed the Luxemburg Creamery. It was a one story building owned by
Ni e Peet and later sold to stockhold ers. Charles Linzmeier was the first cheese maker. In 1909
Anton Grasse!, Jr was emp loyed at the creamery as ass istant cheese maker. The first officers
were: George Dorner, President; Nicolas Gengler, Vice-President; John Daul, Secretary; Peter
Seidl, Sr., Treasurer; Board of Directors-Fred Jahnke, Louis Rueckl, Anton Kollross, Frank Miesler
and Nick Spitzer . Joseph Friex of Walhain ran a milk route in the area of South Luxemburg.
During 1911 Henry Grab was plant butter maker and moved his family into the new home next to
the creamery. The creamery had three vats and another one ordered to keep up production.
Henry's sons, John, Rudolph, and Robert were employed in the factory until 1915. During 1912
the Factory operated with Anton Kollross as President, and a 20x50' addition was constructed on
the west side of the building. The plant increased business steadily with 20,000 pounds of milk
being received in t he plant daily, which emp loyed four men in 1915. Wil liam Bennin was the next
cheese maker and Fred Senderling followed in th e same occupation. Barney Haen purchased a
Ford truck in 1920 to haul milk on a route for the creamery . During 1922 Louis Liebl was in
charge of the cheese operation. John Laurent was cheese maker the year before John Koss
purchased the creamery and adjoining residence in 1935. The name was changed to Badger
State Cheese with 46 stockholders. It was equipped to take 40,000 pounds of milk daily.

17
After John's death the business was conducted
by his son Don and the operation moved to
Forestville in 1966, with the refrigeration unit
left in South Luxembu rg. During 1976 the plant
wa s closed. In 1929 Peter Seidl had served for
20 y ea rs as treasurer. Frank Ricki was clerk at
the crea mery for 10 years. Otto Bredael was
emp loyed here during 1949. In later years
Leonard Seidl owned th e building and it was
eventua lly torn down.

South Luxemburg Cream e ry


BANK OF LUXEMBURG
The first stockholder meeting was held October 16, 1902 in the corn er room of the
Boncher Building (Wisconsin House). In 1903 th e bank was incorporated and located in a building
on the south side of the Wisconsin House. Edward Decker, Sr., Nathan Decker, Edward Decker,
Jr., Victor Bonjean, Jul es Petry, Joseph Roth , Albert Liebl, August Spitzer, Oliver DeBauche and
August J. Salmon petitioned the state for a charter on August 27, 1903, receiving the charter on
October 6, 1903. October 16, 1903 the bank opened with Edward Decker, Jr. as President.
The original investors were: Ed ward Decker, Sr., his son Edward, Jr., Nathan Decker,
Hector Bench er, Oliver Debauch, Albert Liebl, A. J. Salmon, August Spitzer, Joseph Roth, Jules
Petry and Vi ctor Bonjean. By 1904 transactions assumed such proportions that the modest
facilities proved inadequate. The bank moved directly across the street, next to the Vandrisse
building. In 1907 the Deckers controlling interest was passed onto L. Albert Karel as President
and Director. Th e assets of t he bank were $56,869. The present site of th e bank was purcha sed
in 1916 from Desire and Mary Colle. A brick stru cture was erected on th e corner of Main and Elm
Streets . By May of 1917 the vau lt door arrived, along with new furn iture and fixtures and the
bank was ready to do business.
During 1912 Art C. Bazlen and Ed Trudel were t he cashiers. Charlie Peters joined the staff
in 1909 and was elected vice president in 1921, after having served the bank as a director for
many years . At this time the bank was advertized as "The Farmer's Bank" a friend of the farmer.
From 1919 to 1923 Lorna Peters was a bookkeeper at the bank. Stella Arpin became the first
stenograph er in 1932, followed by Loran Karel and Vida Peters. Camille Stage worked as cashier
in the bank from 1920 to 1931. Carl W. Andre became cash ier in 1944. John Evers painted and
decor ated the interior during 1946. Richard Cmey la started January of 1948, retiring in 1998.
The bank observed its 50th anniversary in 1953. Many outstanding lea ders served the
bank d uring its 50 years of progress. The directors of that period were: Al bert Karel, Clem Rass,
Victor McCormick, Lawrence Rueckl, Joseph Ml eziva and Leo Seidl. In 1958 a complete
remodel ing was initiated w ith new win dows, lights, ceil ing, and teller windows.
Richard Seid l was elected president in 1962. A new front was const ructed in 1967 and
three years later drive-in banking and new bookkeeping rooms were added. Duane W. Pike
became president in 1977 after Richard Seidl retired, serving the bank for 50 years. Clem Rass
also served 50 years, starti ng in 1913, t he last years as President. Past directors : L. Albert Karel,
Charles L. Peters, August Spitzer, Oliver DeBauch, Gust Moecl€, Lawrence Rueckl, Michael Arendt,
Henry Jadin, Hector Ben cher, Joseph Meziva, Arnold Prahl, Joseph Jan et, Loui s Ledvina, Victor
McCormick, Clem Barbi aux, Leo Seidl, Georg e Paider, Irvin Vincent and Willard Marchant. Walter
Hendricks retired Febru ary 28, 1985. He was Vice-President and Cashi er since March of 1962, 23
years of service.
Luxemburg Bancshares, Inc., was formed in 1982 as the parent company of the bank.
The bank demolished the Krueger building for parking space in 1985, and John Slatky was
promoted t o vice-president/cashier. The bank was aga in remodeled in 1985. Director George
Paider assumed the position of President and in 1987, the Dyckesville office was purchased from
University Bank, increasing the assets to $46,051,000. Elaine Wery was promoted to office
18
manager at the Dyckesv ille branch and Rhonda Brusky was promoted to operation
supervisor/ass istant cashier. A second office was opened in Green Bay in 1989. A 1993 addition
doubled the size of the Dyckesville site.
During 1990 Irvin Vincent assumed the position of President. That same year there was a
twenty-to-one stock split. In 1994 John Slatky was elected President. Two years la ter the
Financial Resource Cen ter, now known as the Raymond James Division , was established . 1995-
Randy Gomol l was in charge of financial planning with Tim Treml as agricultura l loan officer.
During 1997 Thomas L. Lepinski, CPA, was assistant Vice President of Ope rations and Finance . A
branch office was opened in the IGA store in 1996, followed by the erection of a bank building in
Casco (1999), with Michelle Kinnard as manager. In 2003, another branch office opened in
Denny's Supervalu, Algoma, and one in Forestville.
The Bank of Luxemburg currently operates eight banking offices in Kewaunee, Brown and
_J.---- Doo r County. At the present time (2007), a
new bank bu ilding is under construction
containing 30,000 square foot office space,
which will consist of three stories in the heart
of downtown Luxemburg.
John Slatky is the President/CEO of the
Bank of Luxemburg and the bank holding
company, Luxemburg Bancshares, Inc. Dave
Luebbers is the Executive Vice President of
the Bank. Present directors are: Thomas J.
Rueck!, Chairman; Ronald Ledvina, Vice
Chairman; Donald Pritzl, Ray Balza, Lois
Hoida, Stephen Seidl, Peter Thillman, John
Slatky and Dave Luebbers. At the present
time the assets are $202,076,000.(Submitted
by Jeff Myster; V. President of Marketing, Bank of
Luxemburg)
Bank Directors and Employees - 1959
Fron t: Leo Seidl, Victo r McCormick, L. Albert Karel, Law rence Rueckl,
Arnold Prahl, Back: Richard Seidl, Bonnie Domer, Joan Behnke,
Richard Cmeyla, MaryAnn Baierl, Clem Rass

BARBER SHOPS (also see Al's Barber Shop)


In 1914 Joseph Rueckl took charge of the barber shop vacated by Otto Boness, who moved
to a location alongside the Wisconsin House. John Salmon took over the barber shop when
Joseph left. During fall of 1917, Ed Retzlaff was
employed in the Boness Barber Shop in the
Wisconsin House, with Rudolph Novak bejng
employed in 1918 . 1919-the price of a shave was
increased from 15 to 20 cents, a hai rcut cost was
40 cents . For three months in fa ll of 1920, Frank
Wawirka leased the Boness barber shop Boness
moved to the former Linzmeier lunch room
advertising the shop and a pool room. (Otto was
the proprietor of Parkview Kennels and raised pure bred
dogs - 1923. In a fi re June 22, 1923 Otto lost buggies,
race carts, harness and eleven valuable dogs. He also
conducted a riding academy at Peot's woods.) Henry
Kempfert and Chester Bentzler worked for Otto
Bonness in the 1922- 23 e ra. Curly Cravillion cutting Algie Deprey's hair
Curly Cravillion was an apprentice for two years with Otto Boness before buying the house
and shop in 1928. Some of Curly's regular visitors were Fred Schuch, Bert Retzlaff, Joe Baierl and

19
Jule Charlier, who stopped every day for the latest gossip. Eugene "Curly" died in 1968 and Ron
Moder of Milwaukee co nducted the business for a short t ime.
Ed Retzlaff later worked in a barber shop on the north side of Hafeman's Saloon and
bowling alleys in 1918, turning it over to John Sa lmon. The barber shop was a drop-off point for
dry cleaning. When the building was sold to Colle brothers John Salmon moved to Casco.
Pete Colle worked for Otto Boness, tonsorial artist, before going off to war in WWI. He
resumed his position when he got out of service and took over the shop after Otto retired. Grant
Birmingham was employed at the barber shop in 1928-29, and Andrew Bragg er was a barber in
1930's. During WW II Pete co llected snapshots of all 1950/1960'S Kewaunee County men in the
armed forces with a display on the wall of hi s shop . Jake Brust operated the barber shop in the.
Today it is the site of Hair Tenders.

BATTENS TRUE-VALUE
The Batten family came from Rockford, IL, where he had a refrigeration business and
leased the old Krueger Bui lding from the Bank of Luxemburg. Al and Ade line were fu lfi lling a
dream of moving back to Wisconsin. Ground was broken in 1977 for the new store on Hwy 54,
called Tru e Value Hardware, with Al, Adeline and Ken Batten, owners. Hardware and equi pment
for the farm and home are sold. An addition in August of 1991 expanded the business, with a
part leased to Haen's Floral and Gift shop, now Flower's 'n Gifts by Judy. During spring planting
t ime a temporary green house is erected to sell plants . (Submitted by Batten Hardware)

BAYLAKE BANK
Bayla ke Bank, a lead ing community bank w ith financial centers throughout Northeastern
and Central Wisconsin, has been proud to offer service to the Luxemburg community since 2002
through its financial center at 211 East Commerce Road. The facility features a full-service lobby,
customer service areas, safe deposit service, len ding services, and a 24-hour drive-up ATM . The
location is open 8 : 00 - 5:00, Monday through Friday and 9:00 - Noon on Saturday (d rive-up
only). Becky Massart is the Financial Center's Supervisor.
The Luxemburg Financial Center also features an area where the Algoma Public Library
provides a station for the community. A computer is available on-site for selecting and ordering
library books, videos, ta pes, on the Owlsnet/Nicolet Library automati on system. Volunteers pick
up and deliver the materials on a weekly basis. (Submitted by Bay Lake Bank)

BAY TITLE COMPANY - * DALEBROUX TITLE COMPANY


The business was started in 2001, by Ericka Dalebroux and run as Dalebroux Title Co. In
March of 2005 Bay Title purchased the business, with Jack LeRoy as manager, plus three
employees. They do land record searches, closing papers on homes, mortgage closings, and
loan closings. Their busin ess is located at 178 Center Drive. (Information from Jack LeRoy)

BEAUTY SALONS (also see Hair T end e rs, Colly's Be auty Salon and Rose Beauty
Sa lon )
Laura (Jeanqu art) Perry opened a beauty shop in the American House and two years later
moved into the building formerly occupied by the Luxemburg News. During 1942 she moved to
Stu rgeon Bay and John Duchateau leased the building where his daughter Marie operated a
beauty shop for many years before moving to a smaller building on Peter Street. She ran this
shop for two years before she passed away . The building at 718 Main Street was sold to Harley
Greatens by Felix Vandrisse. Marianne Greatens opened a beauty shop on November 17, 1970 to
1974. The next owners were Ron and Kathy Kollross, selling to David Olson, who remodeled t he

20
bui ldin g turning it into apartments. John Kleiman of Kewaunee purchased the site from David
and continued ope rating it as an apartment complex.
Felix Vandeve ld owned the tavern at 525 Main Street and his daughter Vivian ran a beauty
shop in a small addition on the north side of the building in the 1940's. When Vivian married
Elmer Vandrisse they purchased a house and moved the beauty shop there.
Althea Krueger opened a shop in her home on Maple Street about 1952 and operated it
until she retired and moved to Mishicot. In 1975 Marjorie Kitzinger opened a shop in her home
on Colle Street for ten years. In 1976 Betz Reynen became owner and opera tor of the former
Du chateau shop on Peter Street, ca lling it Hair Tenders. Sh e died in 1980 turn ing the shop over
to her employees Terry Alsteen, Kay Hannaman, Terry Peot and Nan cy Mathias.

BELLIN HEALTH FAMILY MEDICAL CENTER


Located at 140 School Creek Trail. Bellin Health opened its door December 2005 with Dr.
Robert And erso n, MD, fami ly medicine, a 1995 graduate of Med ica l College of Wisconsin in
Milwaukee. He completed his residency in Family Practice at St. Catherine's Family Practice in
Kenosha and Racine . Dr . Anderson was born and raised in Algoma.
Cheryl Rentmeester, FNP, is a family nurse practitioner. She has a special interest in
women's health, pediatrics, health prevention and adult medicine. Cheryl has previous nursing
experience working in surgery and the emergen cy department. She also worked as a Fami ly
Nurse Practitioner at a Green Bay cl inic provid ing primary care to the uninsured. Credentia ls:
Earned bach elor's degree in nursing from the University of Wi sconsin in Green Bay. She
completed her master's degree as a Family Nurse Practitioner from Concordia University in
Mequon, WI. Cheryl is a Luxemburg resident and enjoys serving the members of her commun ity.
(Submitted by Bellin Health)

BOB'S 54 TOTAL AUTO


Located at 113 Center Drive, owned by Bob Berger. I bega n working in Luxembu rg in
1987, having previously worked for VanBoxtel Ford. The building was formerly owned by Bill and
"Chico" Hermans. Service to my customers includes, tune ups, grease, oil, filter and checking the
exhaust systems. (Information from Bob Berger)

* BREDAEL'S UPTOWN BAR


Joseph Fil z bu ilt and ran the store a few years. Ted Diestelhorst took over management of
the business until 1911, with Mary Liebl as clerk and Florence Mohr as milliner. In 1920 Georg e
Dax purchased the store from John Daul and ran it for three years, selling to Gerhardt Falck who
stayed for ten years. During this time Miss Frances Zellner was employed as a clerk. The store
changed hands again with Walter Mankosky as owner, selling to Frank Blah nik, who did extensive
remodeling. George Conard was the next owner; he ran a furniture store and undertaking
business.
The front section was turned into a tavern. During 1937 George applied for a liquor
license and Raymond Seidl leased the tavern for a short time. Frank Bredael, cheese maker at
the Luxemburg Creamery, purchased the tavern two years later and ran it with his sons, Wilfred
and Bob, with the help of their sister, Lorra ine.
They recalled an incident in the early days when t wo ho ld -up men pu lled a gun on Frank
and took t wo ni ckel slot machines. The robbers beat a hasty retreat when a window screen was
tossed on their car from an upstairs window . Otto Bredael, Frank's son, was awaken by th e
noise, saw the men and threw the first object he could fi nd to frighten them .
Kermiss day at Bredael's was the first Sunday in November. They served booyah, chicken,
and Belgian pies. The building was torn down in 1995 to make way for Lee's Sports Shop (From
Marvin Bins article-"Someone said I should mention one interested spectator, obviously a tear in

21
his eye, was Ken Sconzert, a long-time buddy of Bobby Bredael. Yes, we did get Kenny to pose
with a can of 'soda' just before the last of the building went down."

BUMP-N-UGLYS - *H OME BASE - *AMERICAN LEGION POST 262


The building was erected by the American Legion in 1954 on Elm Street. The legion ran
the club house for several years. Ron Renard purchased the bui lding in 1983 and operated
"Home Base" for a year. In 1984 it was operated by the Jim VandenHouten and Dale Alsteen
families. During 1989 John and Laura Frederick, Joe and Mary Wojkiewicz owned the business,
with a teen center in the lower level. The next ow ners were Bill and Sal ly Laundre. There have
been oth er owners before Doug Wood and Larry Hurley purchased the establi shment.
Doug Wood of Green Bay and Larry Hurley of Luxemburg purchased the property in
October of 2003 and began remodeling inside and out, with a volleyba ll court and paving the
parking lot.
We are the night spot that offers the best in live bands and Karaoke, provid ing a clean and
fun atmosph ere for parties, pool, darts, voll eyball and relaxation. While there is no kitchen, we
do offer sn acks, such as pi zzas, soft pretzels, and more. On the day we open ed, we started a
memoirs book. Entries are made whenever someth ing worth remembering happens. One of the
best was when Sarah Fiala parked Kevin Thiry's t ruck on the 8-foot pile of snow in front of the
bar. The prank took a serious turn when it proved nearly impossible to remove. Kevin nearly had
to wait until spring to get his truck back.
Luxemburg is a great place to operate a business. With its small town values and its
proximity to other communities it provides the opportunity to attract peopl e from all over the
cou ntry, as well as from Green Bay and lower Door County. (Updated information Submitted by Bump- n-
Uglys)

BURDICK'S BAR & RESTAURANT


Albert Lohf was one of the first own ers to operate the sa loon. Hector and Alex Smeester
became the next owners in 1912. They ran th e business as t he "White Fron t Saloon". The antics
of a pa ir of squirrels and a fox roaming about were a source of pleasure to visitors. The animals
had been captured by William Martin. George and Lou is Bredael became the next proprietors.
Three years later George remodeled the saloon and purchased a small white building, which stood
south of his property that was used for casket storag e, moving it to the south side of his saloon
with the intention to use it as a butcher shop. He also drove a truck delivering meat through out
the county.
In 1922 George met with a painfu l accident when he caug ht his fing ers in the meat
grinder. He la ter leased the meat market to Ca m ille Boulang er and the tavern to a Mr. Kirchoff.
Jule Malcore purchased the soft drink pa rlor from George and ran it for a year before moving back
to his farm. H. Toebe, an experienced sausage maker, leased the market on January 23, 1925.
John and Alvina Delwiche rented the tavern until
Rube Geronda le bought it in July of 1938. During
this time Rube built a new fron t on the tavern.
There wa s a radio shop on t he south side wh ere
Hugo Zeitler so ld and repaired Philco Radios .
Lesli e Arpin took over after Hugo left. Rube found
greener pastures and turned the tavern over to
Felix Vanderveld, calli ng it "The Dollar Bar". Felix
served deliciou s chicken booyah to his hungry
patrons. His daughter, Vivian, opened a beauty
shop on the north side after Lloyd Barbiau x moved
to Cal ifornia. Lloyd had sold men's clothin g at this
location for a few y ea rs. Smeester's Saloon, 1912
During 1945, Elmer and Ed Janet were the next owners, with Herman Toebe running a
meat market on the south side. Elmer left the business three years later, and Ed sold the tavern
22
to Ray Brusky, who owned it for six months before turning it over to Ray and Edna Kubale of
Reedsville in 1950. Kubale was cited for his efforts in apprehending the man who broke into his
tavern the night of July 8th, 1971. His bravery and struggle with the intruder helped Kewaunee
County law enforcement officers solve a number of similar incidents in the area. In 1951 the
smal l building on the north side was rented to Dr. Klobocar and Dr. Majeski. The south side of
the building housed Homer DeBaker's Electric shop. After Homer moved to Green Bay Ray
remodeled the electric shop into a restaurant where young people could eat without being in the
tavern.
During the next 25 years Ray and Edna ran the tavern and restaurant with the north
addition rented to Richard Hannaman for a meat market in 1958. After a few years the market
was leased to Linus Hermans, who later moved the business down the street. Ray sold the tavern
to Len and Pat Burdick in 1974. The building was brought up to date with the north addition
becoming a part of the main building increa sing the food serving area. November of 1992 Len
had a drawing for a real live "Tom Turkey".
In 1977 Len and Pat turned the 2-stall garage, attached to the back of the building, into
the kitchen and remodeled the south dining room giving it more dining area. They sold the
tavern in February of 1999 to their son and daughter-in-law, Todd and Brenda. Both Pat and Len
continued working for the next five years until Len passed away.
In August 2005 the building was completely renovated. The wall to the south, that was
once the outside wall of the bu ildin g that held caskets, was removed and the inside of the building
was completely opened up. The front of the building was redone. At this time Pat continues
working with us, along with our ch ildren, Luke and Samantha and other hired help. (Submitted by
Todd and Brenda Burdick)

BURKE'S LAW OFFICE - * CURLY'S BARBER SHOP


Doug Messmann and Thomas Burke opened a law office at 119 Center Drive, August 1,
1991.
Doug had practiced law since 1977, after graduating from the University of Wisconsin Law
School. Thomas Burke was a partner in the law firm of Miller, Blazkovec, Evans and Burke.
Today Thomas Burke is sole owner of the office on Main Street.
Burke Law Offices, at 625 Main Street, commenced business December of 1992. Attorney
Thomas Burke opened the office for general practice of law after doing sign ificant remodeling of
the building. The original building was constructed in 1890. It was converted from use as a
barber shop, which Curly Cravillion had operated for many years.
Mr. Burke pursues his solo practice in Luxemburg, where he concentrates in general
practice with an emphasis on business, tort and employment litigation. He maintains regular
hours throughout the week, serving many Kewaunee County residents and those of surrounding
counties. Mr. Burke is also a Kewaunee County Circuit Court Commissioner, who has been in
continuous legal practice for 35 years. (Submitted by Burke Law Office)

CARE-A LOT DAY CARE CENTER


Located at 506 Marks Lane and operated by Kathleen J. Dequaine. I have always lived in
Luxemburg. For me, Luxemburg is a great area; I wouldn't want to be anywhere else. I offer
full-time or part-time child care all year around. (Submitted by K. Dequaine)

* CARLSON H EATING - * WAGNER HEATING - * LIBAL SHEET METAL


In 1923 Steve Libal became the owner of three lots he purchased from Peter Merens. The
lots are located northeast of the depot where the Merens barn stood, which was destroyed by fire
several months ago. Steve Libal built a house and tin shop in 1911, and a warehouse in back of
his home. Ed Goetsch, Henry Karnopp and Clarence Kaye were some of his employees. Libal
Sheet Metal worked on the elevator owned by Luxemburg Milling Co., replacing 4800 square feet
23
of roofing and 6900 square feet of co rrugated siding. Gerhardt Libal eventual ly took over the
busi ness from his father Steve.
Earl F. Wagn er and S. B. Mattheis of Two Rivers purchased the business in 1953 . Aher
several years the business was sold to Bi ll Carlson, who operated under the name of Carlson
Heating, until he moved to Phillips, WI. The building is now a private home.

* CHARLI ER JEWELRY STORE


In 1909 Wi lliam Sin kler of Beloit rented pa rt of the Fameree-Vand risse buil di ng and
opened a jewelry store. Next was Steve Tesar of Sawyer who opened a store i n a room he rented
from Elfner's saloon in 1915. He on ly stayed a few months. In 1922 Elmer Fiedler was the
jeweler.
Jule Charlier came to Luxemburg in 1923 from Denmark where he learned the trade at his
brothers shop. He occupied the building that Elmer Fiedler had recently vacated, next to
Barbiaux's Hotel. Elmer was the jeweler from 1920 t o 1923, sel ling his stock to Jule, who stayed
for 50 years.

COLLY 'S CUTS AND STYLES


Welcome to Colly's Cuts and Styles, established here in Luxemburg on December 11,
2000. Being a local m yself, I accepted the opportunity t o open a loca l busin ess at 509 Colle St.
located in Qua li T Screening's building.
From the start I have offered all hair services, specia lizing in chemical treatmen ts, such as
permanent waves, straightening unruly curls, and coloring hair. We also have years of
experience with haircuts for all ages. Our oldest client is now 95 years old, yet never once
colored her hair. Our youngest client was 2 months old. We offer hometown prices givi ng our
clients a hairstyle that fits their lifestyle. (Submitted by Colly Rentmeester)

COMPASS DEVELOPMENT ASSISTED LIVING


Compass Development's mission is to allow our residents and those we serve to become
more independent, maximize their potential and ascertain a higher quality of life through enriched
experi- ences and proper flexible programming. Our homes are fami ly-like and have all the
amenities. In creating such an environment, the individ uals wi ll feel t hat this is thei r hom e. With
t hat in mi nd, yo u can be assured that t he individ uals will fee l respected and cared about.
Establi shed in 1997 by Kevin LaPointe, we provide residential services in ad ult fam ily
homes (four- bed homes) in the Brown and Kewaunee County Area. Compass Development
serves individuals with developmental disabilities, mental illness and brain injuri es. By utilizing
our experience, resources, creativity and knowledge in a consistent, non-enabling and flexible
manner, it allows those we serve to succeed. We work diligently and cooperatively with all those
involved in the individua l's life. This includes guardi an, family members, socia l wo rkers and
medical profess iona ls. We wil l do whateve r it takes to al low those we serve the opportu nity to
succeed and live more independently. (Submitted by Kevin LaPointe)

CORPORATE APPAREL
Corporate Apparel Unlimited began in 2002 and is located in t he former Luxemburg Clin ic
Building. The co mpany markets everyth ing from teamwear to work apparel and "co rporate
casua ls" - in cluding screenprint and emb roidery services. With a sta ff of 15, we market th rough
12 Web sites to client s across the U.S. - hospitals, soccer teams, schools, corporations and more.
We also have a retail showroom at 210 Main Street.
Our team of customer service representatives has a story to tell about their latest clients
from "the Bronx" or "deep in Mississippi", or the "Texas Panhandle", whose accent they could

24
hardly understand. When remarking on their accent, the client would say "Me? an accent?
Heavens no." (Information from Corporate Apparel)

CURVES
The Luxemburg Curves was started in 2001 by three ladies from the Green Bay area. We
are a health fitness club designed for women and a complete 30-minute weight resistance,
cardiovascular tra ining, and stretch ing workout .
In July of 2007 the business was purchased by Lucy (Nimmer) Hilgendorf and her neph ew,
Jim Nimmer. We are open M/W/F: 6a.m. - lp.m.; T/ Th: 8a.m. - noon; and evening M/T/W/Th:
3p.m. - 7p.m. In August we moved to ou r new location at 502 Ralph St. This site gives us more
space with additional features. (Submitted by Lucy Nimmer-Hilgendorf)

D & S MACHINE
David Dax started our machine shop in his parent's garage in 1985, while he worked full
time. In 1986 we (David and Jean) incorporated the business. The business was moved to larger
facilities in Pilsen. While David worked in Green Bay, I would deliver parts and pick up steel.
Our sons were very much involved in the business.
During 1989 we bought the property on Fourth Street from Paul Jacques. Several addi -
tions were added to the building. In 1992-93 Tom Peat's property was purchased, torn down and
a larger building erected for D&S Machine Service's welding shop. Additions were also made to
this building . 1998-1999; We purchased additional property from Paul Jacques, along with the
Mini warehouses. This building is used for a loading dock and storage. December 2002 we sold
the business to Russ and Den ise Nowak, who have added more space. (Information from David & Jean
Dax)
* Jacques Mini Storage
The business was started by Paul Jacques and provided storage space for customers.
There were twelve units, with twelve more added a few years later. D & S Machine purchased the
building and demolished it for their expansion. (Information from Paul Jacques)

DALEBROUX LAW OFFICE, LLC


Gary J. Dalebroux and Dennis Mleziva opened their offi ce May of 1975 in the old clinic
building, movin g to Casco Bank bui lding in 1977. They both attended the University of
Wisconsin's Law School in Madison. Dennis J. Abts joined the organization in 1982 after attending
University of Wisconsin, and being admitted to the bar in August of 1982. In 1991 Dennis left the
firm to run for circuit court judge.
A new building was built at 151 Commerce Drive in 1999. Troy Dalebroux started his own
firm in 2004. The staff is made up of Mary Peat and Lisa Ledvina. Beside the law practice the
bui lding houses B & M Logistics, Inc, owned by Bart and Mary Ellen Besaw. (Submitted by Dalebroux
Law Office)

DART'S AUTOMOTIVE
Dart's Automotive is located at 112 Pra irie Lane, Luxemburg. The business was started by
Art and his son Kevin. Art retired in 1997, and Kevin is now in charge of the operation.
Dart's Automotive was established in 1983 as a repair facility for cars and light duty
trucks. The repair shop at that time was located one mile east of Lu xemburg. After a short
period of time we found this location had no room to expand. In the fall of 1984 we purchased
land on Prairie Lane with room for future expansion.
By January of 1985 we were in our new facility, 30'x 67', with an in-ground hoist, and
new, modern equipment. The business grew very fast and we soon found that the space was not

25
big enough. During 1988 we added 1,200 square feet to the existing building. This worked out
well with five working bays . We had five full-time technicians, so each person had their own work
station.
In 1989 we found a large demand for servicing steering, suspension, brakes and tires.
This type of servicing required large and different equipment to do the services correctly .
Another building was erected which was able to accommodate six vehicles with ease . It has four
above ground lifts and a computerized alignment rack and machine. This structure is managed
by Randy Dart, a specialist in this type of service. In 1993 we added 1600 square feet to this
building for storage of parts and tire inventory. We soon found the demand for servicing medium
duty trucks, large tra iler service and repair. There are two bays, 50 feet deep and 14 feet high .
Today we have 8,000 square feet of room to accommodate any vehicle from compact cars
to heavy duty trucks and trailers. Dart's Automotive has five full-time technicians, office
management and three part-time employees. Our employees are ASE Certified Technicians who
receive updates of all the new technology available throughout the year. We are an AAA auto
repair and towing facility. Dart's Automotive also provides the latest computerized equipment to
diagnose and repair all makes and models quickly and accurately . We install nothing but original
equipment parts or parts that exceed original equipment part specifications. This insures the
safety and longevity of our repairs for our va lued customers.
All of us take great pride in ourselves offering a clean, safe and up-to-date operation,
where our customers are the final inspectors. ( Submitted by Kevin Dart )

DEB'S DAYCARE - *TEACH & CARE


The 40'x70' building houses the Day Care Center, Luxemburg's newest business in 1989.
It included a baby room, large open with defined areas with a fenced-in playground in back. The
center was open 6 to 6 each day except Saturday and Sunday, with Debbie Simonar, owner,
Kristin Hanmann, director, and teachers, Sue LeRoy, Linda Joniaux, Judy Simonar, Maries
Christoph, Dolly Voelker and cooks, Ethel Seidl and Alice Tebon. The building was added to in
1999, with a capacity of 100 children. The new manager, Debbi Kellner of Green Bay, runs the
center at 415 Robin Lane . She has 21 years of experience in the childcare field. Children from
four weeks to age twelve are accepted with a five-day work schedu le, 6:00 am to 6:00 pm .
(Information from Debbie Kellner)

DENTISTS (also see ABC Dental Clinic)


Dr. George Anderson of Sturgeon Bay opened a dental parlor at the Wisconsin House in
1909. Dr. E. P. Happel was the first resident dentist in 1913, purchasing the equipment of Dr.
Anderson. His first office was above the Hannon Drug Store and he stayed for 31 years. Dr.
Happel was also active in civic and community affairs.
Dr. Emmet Dewa.ne began his practice in November of 1935. Emmet served his country in
WWII in the Navy and returned to Luxemburg, purchasing Alice Stage's home in September of
1940 and opened his office on the north side of the building. He served the Luxemburg area for
45 years.
Dr. Robert C. Barbiaux opened his practice in 1981 until 1984. Dr. Robert Snyder began
his practice in Luxemburg during 1984 until 2000, when he moved his office to Green Bay. Today
the office is vacant.

DON'S BAKERY
Don and Betty Ledvina purchased the land from Sy Nellis. On April 12, 1961 the doors
opened for business at 118 Main St. Specializing in bread, Belgian pies, and cakes for every
occasion, kolaches, poppyseed - filled doughnuts, fruit pies, bagels, hamburger and wiener buns.
The giant oven can bake a batch of bread conta ining 13 to 50 loaves. Don had worked at Red

26
Owl wholesale bakery in Green Bay for 5 years before starting his own business. Betty worked
for Flegel's Red Owl Store. In 1997 they built an addition, doubling the floor space and a second
oven. In a typical week they sell 500 dozen buns, 100 dozen cookies and 1500 dozen loaves of
bread. The bakery opens at 4:30 a.m., except Sunday and Monday.
As business continued to grow part-time employees were hired to help with baking duties
and sales . When the children, Tom, Barb and Tim, were growing up they also had duties in the
business, along with going to school.
In 1989 Tim, the youngest of the family, graduated from Lakeshore Technical School of
Retail Baking and joined the bakery as a full-time employee. During 2004 Tim purchased the
bakery and now has a large number of wholesale business accounts including supermarkets,
restau rants, and nursing homes. Our employees now number 15 people, including Mom and Dad
who stil l help out. (Submitted by Ledvina Family)

ELLISVILLE-LUXEMBURG COOPERATIVE - * PROGRESSIVE FARMERS CO-OP


In 1932, a group of men from the Ellisville area got together and formed a company called
"Progressive Farmers". It was later named the Ellisville-Luxemburg Cooperative because another
Cooperative in DePere was using the Progressive Farmer name.
The company began as a small fuel depot at the west end of Cedar Street , alongside the
railroad tracks. Back then gasoline and fuel oil were transported by rail. At that time it only
served its owner-members. The price for gasoline was about 15 cents per gallon and fuel oil was
9 cents a gallon. All of the fuel back then had to be picked up by the customer in barrels or cans.
The Co-op was only open on Saturdays.
In 1960 the Co-op moved its operation to its present location at 41 3 Cedar Street. Fu ll
service gas pumps were installed and the business began to sell to the general public, along with
its member-owners. They expanded their hours to Monday, Wednesday and Saturday, and since
1981 the Co-op has been open six days a week. In 1986 the Co-op purchased the assets of
Greatens Oil Co. and started bulk delivery of gas, diesel fuel and fuel oil.
Presently there is a full-service gasoline and fuel retail operation, feed and hardware store.
They continue delivery of gasoline, fuel oil, diesel fuel, as well as L.P. gas. The customer list has
grown to over 1,000 customers, located in Brown, Kewaunee, Manitowoc and Door Counties. All
net profits of the business are allocated back to the patrons on an annual basis in the form of
dividends.
In 2007 the Co-op is celebrating its 75th anniversary of being in business. Presently they
sell Cenex brand gasoline, diesel fuel and Land O'Lakes brand feeds.
Prevous history of managers: Alvin Dahlke, 1935-1977; Leonard Fager, 1977- 1981;
Roger Beirl, 1981-1 983; Lyl e Jandrin 1983 to present time. (Information from Ellisville-Luxemburg Co-op)

EYE AND VISION CLINIC


About 1923 the first optometrist was a Dr. John W. Arney, located in a building on the
north side of Wisconsin House. He came one or two days a week from Green Bay.
Dr. Jon L. Caldwell and Dr. David R. Dufeck opened an office in Luxemburg in the clinic
building on Main Street in 1981. Dr. Caldwell is a graduate of Illinois College of Optometry and
Carro ll College. He has traveled to Mexico and the Dominican Replublic to provide voluntary eye
care to those regions.
Dr. Dufeck is a native of Denmark, WI. He graduated from Illinois College of Optometry
and did undergraduate work at the University of Wisconsin and post-doctora l study at
Northeastern Univ. Both doctors are primary eye care speciali sts in personal vision diagnosis,
detection and treatment. A new building was erected on School Creek Trail in 2004. (Submitted by
Eye & Vision Clinic)

27
FAMILY CHIROPRACTIC
Dr. Jacobson runs the clinic. - No further information available.
* FARMERS SUPPLY COMPANY
It was located next to the Transit House House on Main Street . The bui lding was bu ilt by
Desire Colle, sold to John Ashenbrenner, then to Herman Kratz in 1914. Farm ers Supply Co.
bega n in January of 1938, with Mike Kollross and Wi lfred Downer leasing the brick bu ilding,
owned by Mr. Kratz . The firm handled Case products from Racine. By 1940 they were no longer
in business . That year Fred Schuch started building farm wagons at the si te. It stood empty for
years and at t imes was used as a warehouse .
In January of 1979 heavy snow caused the collapse of the roof. The building had housed
horses of visitors to the community in the early years. It wa s also used as a welding shop by
John Rodrian. At the time of its collapse Len Burdick used it for storage.

FILTRATI ON SERVICES
Fi ltration Services is a distributor of commercia l and industrial filtration products. Products
range from HVAC to industrial paint and process fi ltration.
Our office and warehouse are located at 116 Frontier Road, Luxemburg. We have a large
inventory of products to help meet our customer's needs as well as the ability to convert bulk
medias and sta ndard stock to special sizes. We have sales and customer service departments, as
well as our own delivery and service technicians to help meet the needs of our customers.
Our government division works with Federal Prison Industries, which is part of the
Department of Justice. Th is program allows access to the federal ma rket place, as well as
provides job training for inma tes in federa l prisons around the cou ntry.
The company wa s established in 2002 by Jeff Cravillion and a group of investors. Our goa l
is to provide quality prod ucts and services to our customers, as well as a positive and productive
work environment for all of our employees. (Submitted by Jeff Cravillion)

FLOW ERS & GI FTS BY JUDY - * FLOWERS & GIFTS BY VICKEY - * BAUMGARTNER
FLORAL
We have a fu ll service flower shop, doing daily deliveries throughout Kewaunee, Brow n
and Door Counties, offering everything for weddings, anniversaries, birthdays, funerals, etc.
The business began as JoAnn's Floral, own ed by JoAnn Halbrook. She leased part of t he
Bio Chemica l Products building in 1977 and in 1979 moved to 108 Colle St reet. During 1981
JoAnn sold the busin ess to Lin da Baumgartner, who operated th e store with em ployees, Jane
Weier, Vickey Haen, Wendy Baumgartner and Garnet Pagel, located at 518 Oak Street. In 1985
Fran and Vickey Haen, bought the business, under the name of Haen's Flora l and Gift Boutique.
Through the years there were rumors of a ghost living upstairs in the house, because sou nds
would come from upstairs when working late at night. (Not a proven fact).
During 1990 she changed the name to Flowers 'n Gifts by Vickey. A few years later the
shop was relocated to Batten's building on Highway 54. In 1999 Vickey decided on a career
change and sold the shop to Judy Reckelberg, an employee at the time. Judy ran it until 2005, at
which time cancer took its toll and she co uld no longer manage the flower shop she loved so
dearly. I and my husband Tim Liebeck bought t he business and are t he present owners . The
name of the business ha s been kept in memory of my sister.
Lookin g back throug h the years from 1988 to the present, I have in so me way al ways
been a part of the shop. I had wo rked for the Green Bay School System, but he lped out on busy
holidays. When my sister was very ill it seemed to come fu ll circle back to me. My satisfaction
comes from being a part of people's personal lives by planning happy family events or helping a
family with fina l tri bu te to a loved one. (Submit ted by Debby Liebeck)

28
FOREST CONSTRUCTION
Farm Building Supply originated in 1958 when Glen Nimmer started the business
constructing various types of pole buildings. Many young men got their first taste of physical
labor and local farmers supplemented their incom e working on the crew.
In 1977 the ow nership cha nged with the business being renamed Forest Construction .
Stock-ho lders were Bill Nimmer, Jan Arts, Gary Nimmer, Bob Nimmer and John Nimmer. Glen
retired in 1979. The company expanded i nto larger farm bui ldings, all steel structures and
conventional frame buildings for commercial use; including offices, shops, small churches, and
mini storage. The area coverage went from a 50-mile radius of Luxemburg to statewide and the
U. P. of Michigan. During 1982 Bill and Jan left the business.
Sales in 1958 were about $45,000 with three employees. Current annual sales range from
six to seven million, with 32 employees. Today the stockholders also include Greg Nimmer.
(Information from Forest Construction)

FRIENDLY DOLLAR
The store opened its doors October 15, 2007 at 512 Ralph Street. It is owned by Jim
Nimmer, Carol Nimmer, and Phil Wech. Jim is the general manager. The business offers a wide
variety of merchandise, household supplies, cards, grocery items, toys, novelty, and cosmetic
item s.

FRED & MAMIE'S


The bui lding was erected in 2005 and beg un by Sharon and Wayne DePeau in 2006. We
provide assistance and healthcare for the elderly with 19 single and one double room, private
baths, group dining room and a chapel with a beautifu l landsca ped courtyard . The activities we
provide are; bingo, exercise, field trips, going to musica ls and plays at Luxemburg High School,
going to the meal site, and the availa bil ity of many games for the residents . Fred & Mamie's is
located at 143 School Creek Trail, Luxemburg. (Information from Fred & Mamies)

* FRITZ SEIDL SERVICE STATION


It is not known who built the building but it was
located on Merens family land. During 1935 Edw in
Meren s ran the service station . There is no trace left of
the structure which was located across from the
Luxemburg Motor Company.
I n the spring of 1938 Fritz Seidl ran the station
with a full line of Standard Oil products, gas, lubricants,
and Atlas tires, until 1953. Charles, "Fritz", had
previously operated a Shell Station, located on the corner
of Maple and Main Street. The Seidl family later moved
to Green Bay.

G & K CAR WASH


Gary and Kim Simonar own the business built in 1995, and opened for business January 5,
1996. A second bay was added in 1999 . There have been many interesting stories where
people have had problems getting their car washed. We offer touch-free-wash with Blue coral
rinse, heated drying t ime of 90 seconds, two bays with 7' cei ling height.

29
GENERAL TELEPHONE COMPANY - * COMMONWEALTH TELEPHONE COMPANY
The first telephone company was known as Farmers Telepho ne Exchange with August
Spitzer, President, Kate Drury, Secretary and Ed Bohma n as manager in 1909. Sam Walters
became manager in 1912 when the firm became known as the Luxemburg Telephone Co. At one
time the telephone company occupied the upper floor in the building owned by Otto Bonnes (later
Curly Cravillion Barber Shop). Sam Wa lters and Walt er Bragger installed phones in the area
during 1914. In 1917 the old bank building was sold and the telephone company moved in. Sam
Walters ran the company until 1920 when he sold to Gus H. Moede. Octobe r of 1927 under-
ground cables were laid by the telephone company in trenches dug along Main Street from the
exchange office to south Luxemburg and on some of t he side streets. Mr. & Mrs. Moede were
owner, operator and cash ier of Consolidated Telephone Co. in 1928. The name was cha nged to
Commonwealth Telephone Co. two years later and the Moedes left in October of 1934. At this
time Lola Charles was chief operator with Elsie Hartinger, assistant operator. During January of
1947 Luxemburg experienced a sleet storm which laid down rows of telephone lines in many
sectio ns of the county.

Laura Novak Jennie Baye

Hildegarde Arendt Mabel Arendt

30
When the com pany changed hands again, it became affiliated with General Telephone Co.
of Plymouth, WI, with Mrs. Reba Armstrong as manager of all operations. Mabel Arendt was
manager of the Luxemburg office. Other operators through the years were: Audrey Arendt, Clara
Arendt, Delores Arendt, Hildegard Arendt, Jennie Baye, Carol Charlier, Hilda Dorner, Elsie
Fameree, Marie Gillis, Sharon Gillis, Marie Hoffman, Joanne Kollross, Ethel Liebl, Arlene Martin,
Donna Martin, Jean Martin, Leona Miesler, Minnie Moede, Vivian Navarre, Laura Novak, Millie
Rueckl, and Laura Theys. Harold Behnke was the maintenance man for the phone company for
over 35 years. The phone company built its own bu ild ing on Elm Street when it converted to
direct dial in 1963, and operators were no longer needed.
Laura Theys can remember sleeping over for two nights when a snow storm raged for
three days. She started working at the telephone office in 1946, when she was 18 years old, and
worked until the office closed in 1963.
Marie DeJardin (Hoffman) remembers when there was a fire they had to sound the alarm,
which was located in the office. The fire chief would then call to find out where the fire was and
all the volunteer firemen hurried to the fire station. There were many party-line cal ls to find out
where the fire was located.
Centu ry Telephone company purchased the firm in 1999 and continues to give Luxemburg
phone service.

GLEN RUECKL HOME BUILDING CENTER


Our history began in 1969, when Norbert Rueckl formed Rueckl Constru ction in
Luxemburg. The firm began with a small retail lumberyard and an office run out of Norbert and
Lucy Rueckl's home on his father's farmland. The property was later converted into village lots
where spec homes were constructed and sold individually. The first homes were located on Colle,
Hickory, and Sun Terrace Streets.
After Norbert's retirement in 1978, his son Glen and wife Karen purchased Rueckl
Construction and the existing lumberyard, renaming the business Glen Rueckl Home Building.
The office was moved from the home of Norbert and Lucy into a sma ll building on Ash Street,
east of the residence.
In 1996 the business had expanded to a level that required a larger, more modern office
facility . The new office building with spacious showroom was built at 940 Main Street. Glen's
son, Jason, who had been working for the business part-time from age 15, went on to NWTC for
Civil engineering, and became a ful l-time employee for our firm in 1993.
In 2007, Glen and Karen co ntinue their business in home building and construction with
Jason and his wife, Terry, in the office. (Submitted by Rueck! Family)

HAIR TENDERS, THE


The salon opened for business in January of 1985 at 617 Main Street. It began as a
partnership between Terri Peot and Kay Hanamann. The location was formerly a barber shop for
many years and after it closed Henry & Julie Deprey, owners of Luxemburg Bowl next door,
purcha sed the building. The shop was renovated and re-opened as "The Hair Tenders".
After five years the partnership was dissolved when Kay moved to Florida. I have had
several employees throughout the years, Kathy Beyer, Tina Degrave, Deb Obry, Lisa Sisel, Jenny
Frisque, Michel le Voelker and Cheryl Bellin who joined the Hair Tenders as a rental partner in
2000. I have enjoyed working with all of them.
The salon provides full service family hair care and a wide variety of r etai l styling produ cts.
I would like to take this oppo rtun ity to thank all of the loyal, dedicated customers who patronize
the Hair Tenders. They have made the salon a success for the past 22 years. A sma ll town rea lly
is the best place to live and work! (Submitted by Terry Peot)

31
HARBOR CREDIT UNION - *PACKAGING CREDIT UNION
The year was 1952, a time for growth, but also a time for uncertainty, as the United
States was brought into the Korean War. While on a coffee break, a few employees at Green Bay
Box, Paper & Pulp talked about starting a cred it union to pool their savings and create a fund to
help fellow employees. March 11, 1952, the Wisconsin Credit Union League approved the Articles
of Incorporation and Bylaws.
A Kewaunee County charter was granted in 1985, with the office in Luxemburg beginning
operation in March. The name was changed from Packaging Credit Union to Harbor Credit Union
in 1988. A new building was erected in 1991, located at 106 Main Street. The staff includes
Molly Ryan, Kathy Johnson, Wava Berg, Jodi Peters and Katie Dembinski. (Submitted by Harbor Credit
Union)

HARMANN STUDIOS
First photographers in village were John F. Jacobson in 1910, Jon Kleiman in 1911, and
Charli e Bower in 1912 . Mi lt Rueckl operated the Modern Art Studio during the 1940's.
Clif and Wayne Harmann opened their doors for business in the south side of the clinic
building in 1963, with the help of Clif's wife June who worked in the front office. Molly Brust was
hired to manage the office, taking care of appointments, class pictures, family portraits, chi ldren's
pictures, wedd ing, and graduation pictures.
Mol ly worked for Harmanns for about ten years , late r sharing the duties with Jody
La ndwehr. May 28, 1990, Joanne Jauquet joined the staff as manager. In 1991 the studio leased
the old Sell Garage building on Main Street, moving to a new location on Center Street in 2004.
Wayne's son, John, joined for firm in 1997. Harmann's has been the Green Bay Packers official
photographer since 1980. (Submitted by Harm ann Studio)

*HERMANS GROCERY STORE - *RED OWL STORE


At one time it was the home of John
Balza, who lived here and sold cigars, befo re
Gregory Bodart purchased the house in 1933.
Anton and Mabel Flegal operated a Red Owl
Store in the 1950's, selling to a Mr. Crabb
who ran the business until Linus and Beatrice
Hermans purchased the establ ishment in t he
late 1960's. After the death of Linus,
Beatrice and her two daughters ran the store.
The store closed and the building burned
after being vacant a few years. The site is
now the home of Kirchman Chiropractic.

1970 s

*HINNENDAEL CHERRY ORCHARD


The orchard was planted by Frank Hinnendael about 1930 in three sections, with 900 trees
in all. The orchard was sold to John and Betty Christofferson who continued to ru n the orchard
for a few years before building a home on the property.
"As I remember it was about 1926 when the land was purchased. The plan was to develop
the orchard and then when Papa would retire from the mail route, they would have a good
income and be able to enjoy the 'fruits' of their labors. Sad to say, Papa died very young (57
years old) and Mamma gave up on life in general after that.
Anyway, before the trees could be planted, the land had to be worked over. My memories

32
of those early years are not too pleasant-picking stones, throwing them on a stone boat. If you
ever walk down the hill to the tracks-all those stones were hauled there. Also, I remember the
quack grass!! While the other kids from the village were playing and having fun, the Hinnendael
Kids were working.
Later, when the land was ready, Grandpa DuChateau, Papa, Nick and John Miller, and Pete
Baye planted the trees. They were perfectly lined up-x number of feet apart-Grandpa Duchateau
had a perfect eye for that. Papa didn't have enough money to plant all the land in cherry trees at
one time. So two large areas were left empty- one area north of Bill Martin's house, the other
area was a bit smaller and south of his house. AND, being the good man that Papa was, he didn't
let that land go to waste. One year we had potatoes- the following year we had cucumbers, etc.
Wish Papa had heard of a crop like clover or something like that!!
So, the Hinnendael kids became experts in picking potato bugs-hilling the potatoes and
the cucumbers. The cucumbers had to be picked very early in the morning while the dew was still
on them. Not just one harvest-only certain size small cukes were picked- then the whole area
had to be gone over again and again, sacks and sacks of cucumbers. Wh en the potatoes were
harvested, Papa would turn them over with a plow and then the back-breaking work would start!!
Though we did have help-Nick, John Miller, Jim Miller, (Emma liked that!!), Pete Ba ye and all us
kids with Mamma, would fill the pails, dump them into sacks. The men would put them up on the
trailer, haul them to be sold or stored in our basement until the price would go up to $1. 00 a
hundred pounds. A penny a pound!! Makes me tired to write of all this backbreaking work.
Of course, Mamma had a very large vegetable garden along with many types of berry
bushes, currants, blackberries, gooseberries, and grapes. It may have been depression time, but
we never went hungry.
I guess now is a good time to mention Papa's 'cultured hogs'. Papa would buy little pigs, I
think 3 or 4 of them, raise them until they would be big pigs, have them butchered at Barbiaux 's
Butcher Shop-have pork sausage made-bacon smoked. Mamma would can a lot of meat-and
make MUSTARD HAM!!! That was quite a process ....
So, time went by and Papa and Grandpa DuChateau planted those two areas in Cherry
trees (did I mention we also had quite a few apple and plum trees too?) The trees grew- we built
up quite a large mailing list of customers- but, before all that came about cherries were growing.
So, we had to pick cherries-WITH THE STEMS ON-crates and crates of them, in the morning.
Then at noon when Papa came home from the route he would load up the car and the trailer and
go to Green Bay to sell the cherries door to door and to take orders for the next day!! He was
very successful in selling. He went up and down the streets of Northeast Green Bay-French town.
The 'biggie' was when he sold many crates to St. Vincent Hospital. Then came the time that we
would hire pickers from the village to pick for ten cents a 10-pound pail (the little black pails).
The kids, middle age and older people would come out to pick. They earned a little money, and
of course our harvest was done by them. The cherries were taken up to the Fruit Growers Co-op
at Sturgeon Bay. Papa was paid accordingly through the year based on the amount he brought
in, the percentage of tare and the market price. This must bring memories to Frankie and Hank,
also Johnny, because the boys would drive the cherries up to Sturgeon Bay- in some instances
with no brakes!!
So, between customers to pick their own, we had big signs put up along the road just out
of Green Bay, radio commercials-newspaper ads-customer mailing list-and the pickers hired to
pick for the co-op, we would clear the orchard.
You'd think that would be it for the year? ? NO!! Papa and Mamma could not stand to see
anything go to waste. So, after the 'harvest', the Hinnendael kids had to strip the tops of the
trees!! Of course, those cherries were delicious, but very hard to get to and it was slow picking!!
Those were the cherries Mamma canned and Papa made into WINE. ... he called it Cherry Highball,
it was delicious. Part of the process was that Papa would put the pits in a cheesecloth bag and let
it soak in the juice while it fermented. The only wine I have ever tasted that comes close to
Papa's Cherry Highball is the Danish cherry wine-KIJAFA.
One nice memory of all that picking, Clem DePas would always come to help out-you could
hear him all over the orchard singing 'le Marseillaise' with his big bass voice.
33
To get back to the wine. On occasion the wine would turn bad!! It was not fit for human
consumption ... but, never fear, it was not just tossed out-Papa would use it for anti freeze in the
car!! That reminds me, you know how kids will get into mischief when the adults are away? One
time Johnny and Butch Sell decided to drink some cherry wine, but took it out of the jug that
went 'bad'- and Butch became deathly sick.
Grandpa OuChateau was a bootlegger!! Oh, yes! He had a big stiff in the basement of the
house and made a lot of bootleg whiskey during Prohibition. Uncle Manuel from Berwyn used to
take it to Chicago to sell. Grandpa also stored some of his moonshine in our attic at home ....
Grandpa was ra ided a couple of times by Revenue Agen ts!! Some jealous neighbor must have
informed on him.
When the revenue men would come to Luxemburg, the word was passed very quickly from
tavern to tavern. George Leischow mentioned recently that his gang would call the taverns and
tell them that the Revenuers were in town, all the taverns would lock up ....
One important item that was always made in fall was the hard apple cider. Papa would
take the windfalls, bring them up to South Luxemburg, I think to Nick Spitzer, who had a cider
press. Papa would have a big, big barrel of cider made. This was delicious! Papa never put a
spigot on the barrel, so when Mamma wanted some cider or if company came, I was the only one
(excepting Papa) who would siphon the cider out of the barrel". (Story from Sarah Hinnendael
Rasmussen)

J. C.'S RESTAURANT - * ME AND BROTHERS T


Located at 112 Main Street, it was built i n October of 1990 by Ross Tlachac and operated
as a pizza and sub-sandwich shop, known as "Me & Brothers T".
We bought the business from Ross Tlachac in July of 2000. Our kids were interested in
the restaurant business and we liked t he location . It is a fa mily restaurant with full liq uor li cense
and open every day of the week. (Submitted by Jahnke family)

J. D.'S SERVICE - *GEORGE 'S CITY SERVICE


The building was bui lt in 1932 by Ed Metzler and
leased to Edward Jacques, who event ua lly became the
owner. Over the years various operators ran the
station, Melbourn Zuege, Tony Flegel (1934), Charles
" Fritz" Seid l, Bi ll Leischow, Rube Gerondale in 1947,
Leon "Red" Gil li s, (1947- 1949 ); Mike and Ralph Kline,
Hank Feller, Art Dart, George L. Seid l, Wally Hanamann,
Cy Jahnke and Mark Hanmann. Jeff Detjen, as J. D.'s
Service, opened for business on March 17,1984. During
the 1970's George Seidl sold snowmobiles . For many
years Georg e Pav lik ran the gas t ruck delivering to the
homes in the area.
There were times when the air at George's Service Station permeated of cabbage, as in
1976 when 150 gallon s of "sauerkra ut" were made by Orvi lle Hermans, Al Jorgenson, John Paider,
"Bruder" Hanmann, Blah Barbiaux, George Seid l, Dale Derenne, Dave Hoffman, Mark Hanmann
and Greg Lefevre. When Dale Derenne got his turn at the "stomper", he said it was a Belgian
pounding t he heck out of a "Kraut".

J . RUECKL BUILDERS AND SUPPLY, INC.


John previously worked for VanDrisse Oi l an d Lux Mfg Co. The business was formed by
John and Margaret Rueckl in 1971, on land leased from Lloyd and Marina Haen, specializing in
agricultural buildings and materials. In 1980 3.5 acres of land was purchased in the Luxemburg
I ndustrial Park, mostly swamp wi th cattails, and after many loads of fill we finally had a building
34
site. In 1983 a 50' x 176' building was erected at 175 Center Drive. During 2000 the
construction part of the business ended with sales of agricultural materials continuing . (Submitted
by John & Margaret Rueck!)

J. RUECKL STORAGE & WAREHOUSING


In 1990 we constructed a building at 175 Center Drive for personal and business storage.
During 1993 a 44' x 102' addition was erected for more storage units. In 1994 and 1995
additions were built, for business rentals, which houses Stahl Electri c, Lemens Water Care,
Superior Homes and J. Rueckl Builders. 1997 and 1998 additions were erected to the present
buildings.
During 2001 we purchased land from the village for a 31' x 135' unit with an addition in
2005 for a warehouse and new office building. I n all we have 4 business rentals on site and 13
business storage rentals with off-site office, the balance of storage units are now used for
personal storage. (Submitted by John & Margaret Rueckl)

* JACQUES APPLIANCE STORE


The building was built in 1970's. Ed Jacques, Jr. ran an appliance store for a few years.
The building was sold to Jim Tlachac and rented by a flower shop, and then Harbor Credit Union
and Quali T rented the building. A~er Quali T moved to a larger store, Bill Koffman bought the
building and rented to Dairy Depot. The building is now vacant.

* JANDRIN SMALL ENGINE SERVICE


Harry Jandrin acquired the land from George Rueckl, converting it into a repair shop, at
424 Cedar Street, which he ran until retiring.

* RUECKL BEER DISTRIBUTOR - * DAUL BEER DISTRIBUTOR


Dan Dau l first ran a beer distributing agency for Hagemeister Brewing Company in back of
John Aschenbrenner's tavern in 1912 (Transit House) . He also sold Kurth's Beer in 1912 and had a
wagon to deliver beer to saloons. Dan had an accident while delivering beer; the horses ran away
colliding with an iron hitching post and a telephone pole, wrecking the delivery wagon. The team
came to a stop on Main Street.
Dan purchased land on the west sid e of the village near the fairgrounds where he ran his
beer distributing depot in the 1940's. George Rueckl purchased the beer distributing agency and
later sold the business to Baumeister of Kewaunee.

KEVIN'S WOODWORKING - * SAS AUTO


Kevin's Woodworking began operations in 2000 and is owned by Kevin Lau ndrie.
Origina lly Kevin ran the business out of his home and built cabinets in his garage. As the
business began to grow so did the need for space . He moved the business to Rosiere, where he
shared space, employees and equipment with an other cabinet maker. In 2004 Kevin moved the
business back to Luxemburg, renting space from SAS Business Center. Kevin specializes in
custom kitchen cabinets and design. In addition, he builds a variety of other cabinetry, which
includes mantels, bookcases, desks, bathroom vanities, ch ina cabinets, bedroom furn iture,
entertainment centers and bars. (Submitted by K. Laundrie)

35
KEWAUNEE CO- OP - * NORTHBROOK LUMBER AND FEED - * LUXEMBURG
MANFACTURING COMPANY
The lumber business in the village dates back to 1902 when Jules Petry conducted the first
lumber yard and shingle mill. Sometime in 1904 the Santroch brothers, James, Frank and Anton,
bought the lumber yard. A warehouse was bu ilt in 1917, 40'x130', two stories, for storing sash
doors, blinds, windows, etc. In 1919 they sold the business to Luxembu rg Manufacturing Co.
The company was incorporated in 1920 by a committee of A.M. Hoppe, President, Hector
Boncher, Lawrence Rueckl, Joe Hoslet and Albert Liebl, for $75,000, headed by August Spitzer.
The first manager was John Fischer, with Felix Bonjean as bookkeeper. The second year Fischer
resi gned and Bert Paider was selected as manager. The firm operated a planning mill and cheese
box factory, giving employment to village people. The officers in 1922 were; Joe Aschenbrenner,
President; Jacob Stahl, Vice-President; Frank Ricki, Secretary/Manager; Peter Seidl, Treasu rer;
Barney Haen, and George Weinfurter, Directors.
An agreement was reached with Sylvan Vandrisse for the acquisition of his lumber yard
across the street. He wa s retained as an employee of the firm. Under the management of Bert
Paider the com pany prospered, coming through the depression in good shape. Bolts and heading
were stacked up in the "swamp", (baseball field).
Stockholders of the Luxembu rg Grain Company and Luxemburg Manufacturing Company
merged with Felix VanDrisse in charge of the elevator operations. Under this setup they
purchased and sold coal to people in the area. In those years the company purchased grain on
the open market and shipped it to Milwaukee where barl ey was in demand bringing high prices.
They also purchased alfalfa seed from farmers and resold it to seed houses in Milwaukee, Madi so n
and Chi cago. The Gra in Company Office, owned by Jerry Libal, was moved to Casco where it
became the home of William Drossart.
They expanded the elevator operations by contracting with Schroeder of Kewaunee to put
in a hammer mill, lags and bins, and expand the building upward. For t he first time the company
was ab le to grind the customers grain an d hay.
Norman Depas was probabl y the best k nown employee since he delivered most of the
building materia l. He spent his entire working years with the company.
After Bert Paider retired, Gle nn Nimmer was manager. He inaugurated a pole barn
division whereby a strong storage building could be erected with poles, lumber and sheet metal.
After Glenn left John Rueck! and Kenneth Paider were appointed as co-managers. John and Jerry
Marcelle left to start their own pole building business and th e directors selected Roger TeKulve as
manager.
A group of investors headed by Attorney Robert Petitjean, obtained control of the stock
and operated under the nam e NorthBrook Lumber and Feed. In 1979 th e Northbrook Feed
Division was sold to the Kewaunee Cooperative, which continued the milling operations and
moved its main offices to the site. The co-op was governed by the board of directors, with John
Siegmund, President, and Al Wolf, Manager. The NorthBrook Lumber division was relocated to
Bellevue as a separate company.
A new office and small fertilizer plant were built in Luxemburg in 1991 and 1993. During
1998 - 2002 the Kewaunee mi ll and fertilizer pl ants were closed with the operati ons consolidated
into t he Luxemb urg loca t ion. Because rai l servi ce was discontinued from Luxem burg to
Kewaunee a new grain and fertilizer facility was constructed at 715 Frontier Road in Luxemb urg's
Industrial Park. Ken Kinstetter served as Board President prior to th is project.
The co-op is presently governed by an elected board of directors, Leon Struck, President.
Ken Healey has served as General Manager since 1981. ( Information from Kewaunee coop)

KEWAUNEE COUNTY FAIR


The fair actu ally started in Kewaunee in 1860, on the site of the present Riverview
Cemetery and was held in Kewaunee until 1902, when the associat ion sponsoring them
disbanded.

36
The 1860 fair had D. D. Garland as secretary of the Agricultural Society and the exhibit
was held in the dance hall of the Steamboat House in Kewaunee. The weather was cold and
inclement and the attendance was disappointing; the exhibits, however, were very cred itable.
(From newspaper article- 1886 fair) -"14th annual event- Dates were Wednesday, October
4-6 with a total of 600 entries. An estimated 6,000 attended. One of the attractions was the
appearance of Congressman T. R. Hudd. A guest on Wednesday was Jermiah M. Rush, governor.
Races were an important feature of the fair. Highlighting the racing card was the 'green' race,
confined to horses owned in Kewaunee County. George Grimmer's horse won. Total receipts of
the fair were in the neighborhood of $1,400. The success of the fair was credited to President
Haney and Secretary Watta. There was a display of farm machinery, fruit and vegetables. A
bicycle race took place on the last day ... A traction engine attracted considerable attention on the
grounds. It was propelled by steam and was greatly admired. Concerts given by the Hamptown
Students were excellent."
(From Milwaukee Sentinal newspaper article of 1902) "Wednesday was opening day with
a 'huge floral parade'. The Algoma Cadet band, resplendent in its new uniforms, led the line of
march. Then came the county officials, city fathers, beautifully decorated buggies and phaetons,
Sazma's Band, civic societies, the Luxemburg Village Band, and citizens afoot and in carriages.
The parade wended its way up the hill to Court House Square, where the big attraction of the day
was the dedication and laying of the corner stone for Kewaunee County's new $40, ODO court
house.
The opening session of the fair, Jahr-Markt and Carnival was attended by about 2,000
people. Everybody had a good time spending their nickels and dimes to see Rader's Trained
dogs, the Japanese wire performer who made a slide of death, the Wild Men from Borneo and
Lunette the Flying Lady. They rode the huge Ferris wheel and saw the startling electrical
illusions, including the Eruption of Mt. Pelee. And when Prof. Higler went up in his balloon and
was shot from a cannon at an altitude of 1, 000 feet, the crowd gasped and voted the show a
great success.
Thursday was Algoma Day at the fair. Algoma closed up shop for the day and more than
500 of its citizens, wearing identifying yellow badges, followed their horses to Kewaunee.
The final day of the 1902 County Fair was a humdinger. About 300 people came up from
Manitowoc and an equal number from Green Bay. The first thrill of the day came early; a team of
horses in the parking lot took one look at the Ferris wheel and decided to go home. Nobody was
hurt in the runaway. An audience of over 4,000 heard the Honorable Gustave Kuesterman of
Green Bay deliver an inspiring talk in the German language and then the Honorable J. J. Vlach of
Milwaukee, a famous Bohemian orator, held forth in Bohemian ... "
From 1903 to 1918 no co unty fair was held, although for some years a joint Door-
Kewaunee County exposition was held in Sturgeon Bay. August Spitzer, Frank Garot, Mike
Arendt, Arnold Bazlen, Reinhold Okrush, and John Daul each contributed $100 as working capital
and the Kewaunee County Fair was a going institution. In 1918 August Spitzer was the presiding
officer with the exception of one year since the first fair was held. No money was available to
conduct the fair that year. Seventeen acres of land had been rented from Mrs. Kollross and a few
acres from another individual, making 20 acres in all. The land was later paid for out of the stock
sa les. It was Julius's problem to get the money, and as usual he did. He sold ads for the
premium book and did a successful job. It was August Spitzer who took the lead in clearing the
land and building the race track. Records show that at the 1918 fair about 15,000 persons
packed the grounds. Admission prices were 50 cents for adults, 25 cents for children, with a 25 -
cent charge for teams and automobiles. Exhibits were kept in tents the first three years.
The 1918 fair paid out less than $300 in premi ums and the exhibits were gathered largely
by August Spitzer who went out the morning of the fair and gathered up anything he could
possibly show. Four tents housed the exhibits. For entertainment there was the hayrack stunt
which consisted of a rack with springs that threw the performers. People talked about that act for
years after.
For the first fair Camille Stage, secretary, had made arrangements for a merry-go-round
to move from the Brown County Fair grounds to Luxemburg. The fair was to open Tuesday and
37
on Saturday they telephoned that they were booked somewhere else. Ju liu s remembered of a
merry -g o-round being stored at Sturgeon Bay. He found a Clarence Nelson, who traveled for
Barkhausen Oil Co. of Green Bay, and who had a part ownership in this merry-go-round with
another man. Nelson wasn't home, so he contacted the other man and asked him to show at
Luxemburg . He was at odds with his pa rtner and said, "Before I touch it I will throw it in the
lake." Julius sai d, "Well before you throw it in the lake how much do you wa nt for your share?"
He said, "I'll ta ke a hundred dollars for my share." Julius answered, "Come on down to the bank
and get your hundred."
Julius went to Henry Fetzer who was president of the Bank of Sturgeon Bay and explained
the situation. He stated that the fair had no money, but that the credi t status of the fair could be
gotten from the Bank of Luxemburg. Henry Fetzer said, "anyon e who can do business like that
needs no verification of his credit status".
This was not the end of the merry-go-round deal. Sunday noon Nelson telephoned that
the deal was off because the wife of his partner did not agree to the sale. August and Julius
drove to Sturg eon Bay and picked up Nelson and threatened that if the merry-go-rou nd was not
at Luxem burg he wou ld not sell a drop of oil in Kewaun ee County. So he we nt to see his partner,
who was in a show house and wouldn't come out. He was practically dragged out, and after long
deliberation, cashed the check and assigned his half-interest over to the fair. The next day, Labor
Day, the merry-go-round still had to be loaded. Just as they were worrying about how to load it,
a Mr. Hock, was called over and the situation was explained. He promised to have it here by
Labor Day. Ja ck and Mike Merens hauled it over on a hayrack, piece by piece. Mr. Nelson came
down and helped set up the merry-go-round. The rides were 5 cents and $200 was taken in for
the two days.
October of 1920 the fair association received a $7,500 appropriation from the county
board and decided to erect a cattle barn, horse barn, farm produce building, secretary's office and
an extension of 100 feet on the grandstand, a bandstand, and roof over hog pens. At this time
Camill e Stage was fair secretary and August Spitzer, president. During 1921 $1400 was
appropriated for horse races and hiring Hoppe's band. In 1924 the old grandstand was removed
and a new, modern one built. The following year the fa irgrounds where wired for electricity.
Sund ay was ski pped as a fair day, as it was considered church day. However, in the late
1920's cle rgymen sa nctioned the Sunday fair and since then it has always been incl uded .
August Spitzer and Ted Diestlehorst bought ten thorou ghbred horses at Lexington,
Kentucky's annu al sale in 1921. The Trotting Association of Wisconsin sponsored racing during
the summer months on what was considered the fastest and best track in the state. Bob Searles,
Sr., George Payne and Fred Hefferman took care of the horses and their training.
During 1921 Julius Ca hn and August Spitzer resigned as secretary and president. Dr.
Happel was elected secretary and Charles Sell, president. A campa ign was started to t urn the fair
grounds over to the county in early 1922. Hector Boncher, chairman of the county board,
approached Julius Cahn in regard to taking management of the fair. He agreed to this if it would
be taken over by the county. The proposition was finally turned down by the county board. They
expressed themselves as far more favorable to make an an nual donation of $1500, than to
assum e own ership. So Julius went back to work for the fa ir as did August Spitzer and they both
have been resigning annually ever since. John Duchateau, Sr. was named to the board of
directors after the second fair and later elected president. He held this position until his death in
1964, succeeded by his son John, Jr.
Du ring the depression Julius mad e trips to Florida where he booked acts independ ently
and affected con siderable savings for th e fair. He became tagged with the label of "The
Ambassador from Luxemburg". He would always ask the natives of Florida, "Do you know the
Packers? Do you know where they live?" The reply would be, "Yes, in Green Bay". Then Mr.
Cahn would answer "Green Bay is a suburb of Luxemburg." He never made a trip to Florida
without Wisconsin cheese .
Julius Cahn was born in German y and sai led to America at age 22 (Milwaukee) where he
had a half-brother and learned to be an optometrist. He came to Luxemburg around 1907 and
stayed at Nick Spitzer's home. In 1914 he entered the real estate business in Luxembu rg, which

38
he followed until 1918, when he became associ ated with the fair.
Julius was a great believer in advertising. It was that factor which carried us through the
depression and enabled the fair to make money when most fairs lost. His advertising budget
always exceeded $600. He felt that the function of the fair is to serve the people of the territory
by giving t he youth and adults an opportunity to display the products of farm, home and garden.
It's an educational, as well as a recreational institution that demands unselfish services and
loyalty.
Camille Stage was fair secretary in 1920 with August Spitzer as president. In 1927 the
fair had motorcycle and automobile races in July. It took 200 pounds of dynamite to blast stumps
for a new road in the fair grounds, June 1930. Tragedy struck the fairgrounds when a fire
destroyed the horse stable in 1931. Nine valuable race horses were killed along with sulkies,
harnesses and other equipment. The first statewide horse pulling contest was held at the fair in
1931. The contests have been one of the few grandstand programs that have never lost money.
1935-A 100-foot well was drilled through solid rock. In 1937 floors were laid in exhibiti on
buildings and under the grandstand. A new fence was built around the race track. The
bandstand was rebuilt in 1939.
Mrs. Anna Grassel offered to sell the knitting mill property in 1940, which included two
lots. Cahn felt getting WPA labor for dismantling the brick building and building a 50'x80' exhibit
hall would be a profitable undertaking, with all materials used from the old building. Purchase
was a unanimous decision. Later the WPA offer was not available and the property was put up for
sale in 1946. Poultry was banned from the 1946 county fairs because of Newcastle Disease, a
very contagiou s and infectious disease. August Spitzer resigned as president and John Mueller as
vice-president. Dr. V. J. Laurent was elected president and John T. Smithwick, vice-president.
Elroy Hoppe and George Gregor were the new directors. Also in 1946 mobile starting gates were
introduced. Duri ng 1948 a new steel fence was erected around the new parking lot.
In 1949 Julius Cahn resigned as secretary and Elroy Hoppe took over the position, John
Duchateau, Sr., was president and George V. Gregor, director. Ted Mack's Original Amateur Hour
stage show made an appearance. It consisted of a group of talented performers who were
recently chosen winners by popu lar votes. The next few years (1950's) a steam eng ine rodeo
was held in the fair grounds. In 1953 the old wood picket fence, since 1928, was replaced by a
new brick structure. The dates of the 1960 fair were moved up to July. Attendance increased
and it was easier to get good entertainment. A 60'x20' exhibition building was erected in 1955 at
a cost of $19,000. That year the fair was cancelled because of Polio. New rest rooms were built
six years later.
County fa irs get to be a family affair. Elroy Hoppe was the third generation of his family to
be connected with the fair, hi s grandfather, A. M. Hoppe was one of the original directors, passing
down to Emil, Elroy and his son Alan (fourth generation). John L. Miller family was another, with
John as an original director and vice-president for many years. His daughter Stella Arpin worked
for the fair for 43 years. Stella said "We were brought up with the fair, and I for one would feel
very bad if I couldn't work for the fair anymore." Stella's mother, Katherine (Kaut) Miller,
devoted 31 years of service as superintendent of the culinary department. Two other veteran
supervisors in the exhibition department were Louise Seidl and Anna Happel; both served the fair
for over 40 years. In 1962 a race track for midget and stock car races was constructed. July of
1972 saddle horse races were held. In the early 1920's Jeanette Peters was in charge of the
floral and fine arts departments. Stella Arpin was superintendent of food and nutrition and typed
up the judges' sheets for 49 years. Laura Peters served in several capacities but most of her
work was connected with duties in the office for 51 years . Hildegarde Arendt was a clerk for 40
years, the last ten years as superintendent of the sewing and fine arts department. John
Duchateau, Jr. succeeded George Gregor as president. In 1976 the Elm trees were cut down
because of Dutch Elm Disea se. At the 1978 fair Myron Floren and Dick Dale, of the Lawrence
Welk Show, were the main attraction.
Two livestock .exhibition buildings were erected in 1980; the larger one housed the dairy
cattle with a mi lkin g parlor. The smaller structure will contain beef cattle, swine and sheep. Paul
Wolske retired in 1983 as County Agent after 10 years of service. August of 1986 a storm hit

39
destroying the fine arts building. 1992-Ray Michalski was the new president, succeeding the late
John Duchateau, Jr. A new 40'x80' pavilion was built. Off road races were held in August from
1993 to 1995. The past ten years our fair has sponsored "Fairest of the Fair". Young girls
between the ages of 18 and 21 are eligible to compete for the title. She represents Kewaunee
County in her travels around the state .
A new grandstand was constructed in 1994 with seating capacity for 3,500. A year later a
new building for ticket sa les and a concession stand with rest rooms was erected. 1995 saw
harness racing at the fair returned a~er a 20-year lapse. Al Hoppe stated, "It was a part of the
fair from the first one in 1918. Harness racing, a fast, but graceful sport, involves horses running
a mile race on a half-mile dirt track. Horses, usually standard breeds, trot while drivers ride
behind in sulkies, two-wheeled carts." Hoppe stated, "It was a real classy event". A lot of people
came as groups and then would place friendly wagers on their own. Three horsemen in particular
are etched in the memory of those who were involved with the sport at the fair during the late
1960's and early ?O's. Brothers, Phil, Russ and Jack Depas, all now deceased, trained horses and
maintained the track at the fairgounds for years, and could be seen at the track almost daily
training horses in preparation for the races. (Taken in part from Luxemburg News article)
In 1997 a new horse barn was built on the west end of the fairgrounds . Since 1983 there
have been improvements to buildings and grounds.
2007-a new entrance on Th ird Street was erected with a plaque commemorating the work
Julius Cahn did for the fair association. Bayshore Cabinets built a memorial to the past fair board
members.
I ndia ns at the Fai r
Chief Simon Kahquados brought 30 of his Potawatomi Indians to the Kewaunee County fair
grounds in September of 1925. There were about 330 Potawattomies in existence. They
origina lly held lands in Door, Kewaunee and Manitowoc Counties.
Chief Kahquados, or Rising Sun, was said to be the last hereditary chief of the tribe . The
son of Chief Keetoos was born May 30, 1851 in Carlton Township . During his visits to Kewaunee
County, in later life, he recalled that the Potowattomies were driven from their lands by a sheriff
with an armed mob behind him. The lands deeded to the Indians by a French trader, who
married a Potawattomie maiden, were sold because the Indians neglected to pay their taxes. A
land company sold the title to settlers who could not gain possession, so when the young braves
were on a hunting expedition at Wolf Rive r, the sheriff with armed deputies deported the vi llage
forcefully so that the land company could give clear title to the settlers who had pa id for the land .
The regalia of the Potawatomie braves, their method of living in early days, and their
ceremonials were demonstrated at the Kewaunee County Fair in 1925. The attendance that year
set a record . (From Record-Herald Newspaper, Dec 5, 1930 articl e)

*KEWAUNEE I MPLEME NT COMPANY


Jerry Wierer, Sr., of Kewaunee came to Luxemburg in 1955 to conduct a business, known
as Kewaunee Implement Co ., selling John Deer equipment. Land was purchased from Nick Miller
and a new building was constructed on Hwy 54, in 1959. Employees were, Jerry, his son Jerry,
Jr, John Wierer, Marge Wierer and Francis Mincheski . The business closed in 1990 and a variety
of renters have occupied the building since then.
Today the building is known as Luxemburg Professional Building, housing Dr. Martin
Jacobson, Chiropractor and Ron Stodola Accounting.

KIRCHMAN CH IRO PRACTIC


During 1987, Dr. Lance Kirchman, D.C., an Algoma native, graduated from Palmer College
of Chiropractic and opened an office at 713 Main Street, the former Zemlika building. A new
office building, comp lete with a workout center in the basement, was constructed in 1997, where
Herman's Grocery store once stood.

40
Along with Dr. Kirchman, Michelle Metzler, certified massage therapist (CMT) worked in the
office until 2000 when Brooke Nimmer (CMT) took over her practice , called "Touch of Therapy".
Both therapists completed their training at Blue Sky Educational Foundation-School of Massage in
Grafton .
In 2004, Luxemburg native, Dr. Bill Bredael BS, D.C. graduated from Palmer College of
Chiropractic and joined the firm as an associate. Sue Kirchman, Lance's wife, is the office
manager and the firm also emp loys two chiropractic assistants, Apri l LeGrave and Sonja Malcore.
(Submitted by Kirchman Chiropractic office)
Back in 1915 there was A . R. Naidl who had a chiropractor office in Stage Hotel.

KOHLBECK STORAGE - *KOHLBECK MEAT MARKET


George Koh lbeck started the butcher shop at the South Luxemburg location in 1895. He
was a lad of 12 when his parents decided that the military life was not for their son. Upon arriva l
in New York they came to Green Bay because a ha lf-brother had previously settled there. He first
worked on farms and at age 20 began working in a Kewaunee brewery, and a butcher shop,
where he learned the business from a Mr. Saboth.
George purchased a half-acre of land from Jacob Spitzer, the equipment of his former
employer, and began the bus iness, which he conducted for many years. Since there was no
refrigeration in 1895 the ice he needed was brought from Scarboro Mill pond. He bought 40 acres
of land in 1905 from Jacob Spitzer and dug a pond which was spring fed. The water was ideal for
clear pure ice, and supplied the meat market with more than he needed . Being a generous man
he supplied the neighboring hotel and tave rn s with ice.
Improvements were made in 1922, the sausage kitchen was enlarged and a second fi re -
proof smoke house was constructed. The ice box was made with a heavy wooden door and space
on top for ice to keep the meat cold. The extra ice was stored in straw in the barn.
On Sundays George would go to Spitzer's
saloon after church with a pan of hot sausage and a
loaf of rye bread, selling them for five cents and an
extra nickel bought a tall beer. George retired and
handed the everyday working chores of the butcher
shop to his son, Edward, in 1945. George liked
working on his 41 -acre farm . "I'd sooner be on the
farm 1 then I can do what I want." he said. "When I
get a little tired I sit down a little." The
complications of prices and what-not in the shop
these days kind of get to him-and there are other
problems too, which do not brighten the picture from
his point of view.
George Kohlbeck
"At that time a fellow butcher worked the way he wanted-there were no laws and cows were
cheap" (From Lux. News article)
Edward ran the business until 1966 when ill health caused his retirement at which time the
store was closed. The building was turned into apartments. Ed's nephew, Guy Wilcox, bought
the property and replaced the structure in 2003 with two storage units.

*KOLLER'S KORNER - *COMMODORE BAR


The earliest record of occupation on this corner was of Michael Ley, who came to the area
in 1851 and had been engaged in blacksmithing i n DePere, Appleton and Fond du Lac before
coming to Luxemburg, where he was employed by A. Gosin for three years. Michel built a
blacksmith and residence in 1895 on the co rn er of Highway 54 and Main Street, where he shoed
many horses and fixed a multitude of wagons before the shop burned . Miller Brothers bought the
land about 1904.
41
In 1931 An t hony Dhuey bui lt a service station on the corn er of Main Street and Hwy 54,
selling Conoco products, tires and batteries. Joining him in business was John Hallet, h~wev~r,
the partner-ship did not work out and John moved to Door County. Dhuey sold the business in
1937 to Alvin H. Krause and George Joniaux of Casco. ~
This partnership did not survive as George moved to -
Green Bay a few months later.
John and Alvina Delwiche purchased the
estab lishment and ran it for the next 34 years. During
1943 living quarters were added. John died in 1952 and
Alvina continued to run the tavern until she retired .
1972 to 1975 the owners we re Julius and Joanne Lipsky.
Jack and Kurt Koller purchased the tavern and ran it for
a few years. The building was torn down and Main
Street Station now occupies the lot.

Com modore Bar


KOSTICHKA LAWN SERVICE
Mike & Kim Kostichka, located at 524 Marks Lane, opened for business in 1999. We chose
Luxemburg because it is centrally located between Algoma, Kewaunee and Green Bay. Our
services include; landsca ping, retain ing walls, lawn cutting, black edging and paver edg ing,
trimming shrubs and new law n in stallation. (Submitted by Kostichka family)

* KRUEGER FORD GARAGE - * LUXEMBURG GARAGE - * MIESLER LIVERY STABLE


William "Bi ll" Miesler learned t he blacksmith trade in the Bon cher shop, town of Humboldt.
He was later employed as a blacksmith at Casco. In 1905 he cam e to Luxemburg where he
owned a livery stable and blacksmith shop. "Bill" built
a warehouse 18'x20' on railroad property between the
Cargil Elevator and Boncher's hay shed in 1913. May
of 1919 an employee, John Schneider, was kicked by
a ho rse, wh ich resu lted in hi s death. Meisl er's
Garag e became known as The Luxemburg Garage in
1921 with Bill Miesler, Henry Dworak, Edward Gayner,
Joe and Wencil Gotstein operating the business. The
structure was dismantled in 1928 and replaced with a
brick bu ilding, housing the garag e, la rge show room
and stock room. That firm was incorporated with Bill
Miesler, John J. Peot and Louis Sell as owners. The
business sold John Deere Threshing Machines,
cultivators, corn planters, and McCorm ick Binders.
After the death of Bill Mi esler the busi ness continued with Pete r Alsteen, John J. Peot and Louis
Sell as owners. Several years later Peter Alsteen purcha sed the interest of the other two and
continued with Emma as president, Peter as manager/treasurer, and Herbert Heim, secretary.
In 1945 the firm was sold to Ben Krueger and Mr. Blazei of Manitowoc, who left three
years later. After Ben's death the bui lding was leased to Orvi lle & Rose Gillis, who ran the
business unti l Al Batten leased it in 1973 from the Ban k of Luxemburg. In 1981 Libert's leased
the bui lding operating a parts store for vehicles. The bui lding was razed in 1983 and used as a
parking lot for the Bank of Luxemburg.

LAWYERS (Also see Burke's La w Office & Dalebroux Law Offices)


During 1955 Robert Petitjean held office hours a few days a week in the Wisconsin House.
In 1958 Harold Fager of Kewaunee and Alvin Kloet from Kenosha, opened an office in the village
on the corner of Main and Ralph Streets. After two years Kloet moved to Sheboygan and Harold
42
Fager ran for District Attorney of Kewaunee County, eventually moving to Madison. Mark
Converse opened an office in the front part of Stella Cravillion's house, now operated by Burke's
Law Office.

LEE'S SPORTS
Lee Simonar attended Colorado Schoo l of Trades for gunsmith in 1984-85 after graduating
from Luxemburg High School. The first shop was in the back room of Simonar Sports. As
business grew more room was needed. When the business next door was for sa le, Bredael's
Uptown Bar, owned by Bob and Lorrain e Bredael, Lee purchased the property. In 1994 the
building was torn down and a new sporting goods store erected, which opened November 2,
1995.
The shop sells guns, scopes, ammunition, reloading supplies, clothing, hunting and fishing
li censes, Browning safes, and Lee also repairs guns. Back in 1938 346 deer tags were sold in
Luxemburg area, 100 more than 1937 (From Luxemburg News) . During 2006 Lee sold 2,300 fishing
and hunting licenses.

* LEEROY'S BAR - *SMEESTER'S BAR - * SPITZER SALOON/HOTEL


Nick Spitzer Sr. built a hotel -boarding house, dance hall, livery stable and saloon.
(Abstract goes back to 1848) He conducted the only hotel in Luxemburg for years and it was his
custom to meet all trains. Nick advertized the hotel had steam heat and a bus to and from all
trains. After 20 years Nick so ld the business to Peter Thill and moved to Oconto Falls.
"During 1916 a large number of Luxemburg residents were attracted to Thi/l's Hall to
witness "The Life of our Savior." The electric current needed to operate the picture machine was
furnished by an apparatus stationed on a sleigh in front of the hall. After six reels had been
shown the sleigh suddenly slipped down the incline, some 20 feet. This caused the wires leading
into the hall to pull over the picture machine, causing the lights to go out. Th e noise caused by
snapping wires prompted someone to yell "FIRE", and a panic followed. Practically every window
in the place was broken and several persons were badly injured trying to escape the building."
(Luxemburg News article)
Four years later ( 1919) Peter and Elizabeth Col le purchased the saloon. He had a crew of
men tear down the section between the saloon and dance hall. During April of 1928 Peter sold
the tavern to Joseph Hoffm an.
June 23, 1939 Two burglars had nothing to
show but a bad case of jitters in their attempt to rob ...
the Joe Hoffman Tavern, unless the last shot from
Joe's trusty gun went where he thought it did. The
two men drove a black sedan with no license plate
visible, backed the car up to the front door of the
tavern at 3 a.m. and broke in the front door. Mrs.
Hoffman was awakened by the noise and called Joe.
He went to the front window on the second floor Spitzer Hotel, saloon, dance hall, and livery stable
and caught the burglars in the act of taking a quarter slot machine. Joe blazed away with a
double barrel shotgun. Th e second shot jammed and while he was sliding in more ammo the two
burglars jumped into their car, after firing a few shots at the window. The car sped north through
the village leaving the slot machine behind. (From Luxemburg News Article)
George Rueckl, Jr. leased the establishment in 1943 for the next five years. Alex
Smeester bought the tavern in 1948. He remodeled the building by making apartments on the
second floor and added a bedroom to the west on the first floor. Patrons could get fried bra ins on
Saturday nights. During 1970 the dance hall was razed to make way for the Bob Daul home. In
1971 the tavern was sold to the Baeten Family. They stayed about two years, selling to LeeRoy
Ullman . After his deat h daug hter LouAnn continu ed runn ing the bar until a few years ago. The
structure is now an apartment building.
43
LEMENS HARDWARE - * WISCONSIN HOUSE
George Lemens worked for Luxemburg Manufacturing Co. , Sturgeon Bay Ship Yards,
Schreiber Cheese in Green Bay, and for the Farmer's Trading Co . In 1950 he purchased land
from Luxem bu rg Manufacturing Co . and built Lemens Hardware Store, a 30x80 ' structure. In
1963 land was purchased from Art Adams and Gerhardt Libal, with an add ition of 60' in 1968.
Georg e sold the store to sons, Harold and Leo nard in 1970. During 1977 the Ga mble Fra nchise
was replaced by Hardware Hank. Harold and Berdina purchased Leonard's half of the store in
1991. They sell hardware, appliances, lawn and garden equipment and also service them . A
rental department of lawn and garden equip ment was begun in 2006. (Submitted by Berdina & Harold
Lemens)
* Wisconsin House
It was the first business place built after the
I
" rai lroad went th rough in 1892, by Jules Petry and
Peter Boncher, called the Railroad House, which
~ ~~ was operated as a sa loo n and store. In 1905 Mr.
Petry disposed of hi s business and moved. There
_;. Wtscot-ts1N Houa
- Jos.~i11t,ta nor. Ei w ere ot her managers, Joseph Li nzmeyer, Oliver
: ..,.. ~ "'"'
'"""""8:i:=
=o:--= Debauche and Hector Boncher. Cami lle Stag e
H Ii _., - ran the saloon/store during 1909 to 1916 . His
r n
mother, Victoria, purchased t he buil ding from
Joseph Linzmeier. The establishment was ca lled
"Luxemburg Buffet". Cami lle installed a 16' bar
of oak wood with a 4'x4' plate glass mirro r
behind the bar, an ice box and new Sublima
Piano. In 1912 a barn was built in back of the
sa loon for 25 teams of horses, to be housed fo r patrons. That sam e year burglars entered and
carried out the cash register conta ining $22.00. During 1913 a telephone booth was install ed in
the building .
In 1917 Felix Bonjean was the next owner until Camille Barbiaux "Tiger", purchased the
establishmen t a few years later fo r $12,000. Barbiaux made improvements with a great work
force; " Tiger" Barbiaux, head contractor; Joe Romuald, head carpenter; John Kelnhofer, mason;
Blah Barbiaux, concrete mixer; John Duchateau, inspector; John Nellis, refreshment committee;
Gus Moede, director of tool procurement; John Schwab, Sr., shovel borrower; Dr. Happel, chief
co nsultant and advisor; "Beige" VanDrisse, who had the gang insured and was standing by in
case of accident . Materials used on the job; 1 barrel of concrete, 112 yard of gravel, 1 barrel of
water, 60' of lumber, 112 lb. nail s, 2 wheelbarrows, 1 case of beer, 1 qt whiskey, and 2 cuts
chewing tobacco. Cami ll e Barbiaux ran the establ ish ment for 25 years.
June of 1927 a fire threatened to destroy the building . After the flames were
extinguish ed the damage amounted to more th an $3,000. Mr. Ba rbiaux later sold the ta vern to
Fred Dollar in 1945·, who in tu rn sold to Leon Liba l, succeeded by Art Adams. The tavern was
rented by Harold and Bernice Beilke and called the "S portsman Bar". Harold Lem ens purchased
the building and added a hallway to his hardware store, using the old Wisconsin House for display
of appliances. On the north side of the tavern there was a jewelry store run by Jule Charlier for
over 53 years.
The ba r at Northbrook Golf Course, lower level, was donated by Harold from t he tavern,
when the cl ub house was bui lt in 1972.

LEMENS WATERCARE
Lemens WaterCa re, Inc, retailer of water conditioners, was started in Casco in 1963 by
Robert "Red " Weidner. Leonard and Janice Lemens purchased the business November 7, 1986,
relocating to our home in Luxemburg. In December of 1991 we moved to Barbiaux Appliance
building . At that time large filtratio n systems and water softener salt were added to the
inventory, along with point of use small fi lter systems. In 1992 bottled water and water coolers
44
were added . Reverse Osmosis drinking water systems were anot her addition. That same yea r,
home delivery of water sonener salt and bottled water were made available. September 1994
James Simonar was hired as a full time employee. Two years later in March Lemens WaterCare
LLC moved to W119 Center Drive, its present location. From 1986, through the present, we have
seen phenomenal growth serving Kewaunee, Brown, and Door County areas.
January 1st, 2003 th e business was sold to James and Beth Simonar, reta ining the nam e of
Lemens WaterCare. Current employees are: James Simonar, Jenny Dart, Office Manager, Len
Lemens, Bernard LeRoy and Aaron Heim. Past employees : Jani ce Lemens, Richard Cmeyla and
Jack Davies. (Submitted by Lem ens WaterCare, Inc.)

LEON 'S AUTO SALES


Leon began his auto body repai r shop in Kewaunee in 1972 as Leon's Auto Body. When the
opportunity to open a car lot in Luxemburg presented itself a few years later, he decided to do so
because Luxemburg is a rapidly growing community. I n Luxemburg he currently has a car lot,
with a sa lesman there several even ings a week and Saturdays. The main busin ess is located in
rural Kewaunee on County C, where he has a car lot and auto body repa ir and mechanica l shop .
Through hard work his business has grown and continues to do so . He wants to thank all of his
faithful customers over the past years, incl uding all of th e new customers he has acquired in
Luxemburg. (Submitt ed by Leon Nim mer)

* LINZMEIER ASSISTED LIVING HOME - * INLAND KNITTING MILL


The building was erect ed about 1908 by Herma n Bach. He began the busin ess by making
variou s knitted articles with two employees. Other employees were: Lizzi e Liebl, Jule Moreau,
Louis Bellin, Louis Balza, Ali ceDebauch, Lizzie Col le, Rose Baierl, Mary Harding er, Eva Klein, Ann
Vandross, with Peter Boucher as manager.
It was sold to Anton Grasse!, used as a warehouse, and sold six years later to the
Kewaunee County Agricultural Assoc. In 1946 Michael Pankratz sold his tavern, known as "The
Elders" and purchased the knitting mill and two extra lots. Michael proceeded to remodel the
bu ilding into apartments. Joseph E. Linzm eier bought the property and converted it into a
conva lescent home. Aner Joe died, his wife Esther ran the home until their son, Luke and wife
Germaine, took over the business. Th ere were facilities for eight patients. A ra mp was added for
handicapped patients in 1988. Twelve more rooms were constructed in 1990, with a modern
dining room, and an up-to-date kitchen. In March of 2005 the doors were closed of the original
home, and the new facility down the street was sold. (Updated informat ion from Luke Linzmeier)

* LORDS & LADIES


Chuck and Audrey Thiry operated a clot hing store on Maple Street from September of
1984 until 1990, in the former Blah Barbiaux App liance Store Building. Chuck previously worked
at H. C. Prange Co. in Green Bay for six years. The employees were Donna Tlachac and Betty
Jadin. (Information from Audrey Thiry)

LUXEMBURG BOWL - * BREDAEL BOWLING ALLEYS


George Elfner, who came here from Canada in 1895, owned the bu siness from 1908-1914.
He ordered new pi ns and ba lls for both three-pin and ten-pin games. Julius Retzlaff bought the
property selling it to William Hafeman in 1916, who conducted the business until 1920 when he
sold to Peter and Ray Colle. Ray took care of the tavern and Pete had charge of the barber shop.
They had four and five- man teams and four three-man bowl ing teams. In 1928 Harvey Bredael
first rented t he business and later bo ught it, making improvements by building on to the west

45
side, laying a concrete floor, remod eling the front and barber shop . Harvey tore down the old
building housing the bowling all eys and constructed a new addition with four alleys in 1940.
Lloyd was the next generation of Bredaels to own the business for the next 28 years.
Lloyd's daughter and son-in-law, Henry and Julie Deprey, a third generation of the family, took
over the bowling alleys and tavern about ten years ago. The bar was remodeled into an oval with
more space added on the north side.

*LUXEMBURG CLEANERS & TAILORS


The land was purchased from the government in 1885 by Johann Kaut and passed on to
his son Nicholas in 1876. Peter Boncher, Alois Rueckl, Frank Treml, John J. Seidl and August
Martin bought the land in 1904 and sold it to Joseph Roth. During 1919 Dr. Victor Laurent,
Veterinary, built an office and barn for use in his business. Besides being a veterinary he raised
mink. October 1957 Mr. A. P. Montie of Green Bay opened a dry cleaning establishment,
purchasing the bui lding from Dr. Laurent. Bob and Natalie Montie ran the bu siness from 1959 to
1993. Living quarters were added to the back of the building. Barbara Murphey and Andrew
Nimmer purchased the business in 1993 and ran the establishment for a few years before closing
the doors. The lot was purchased by Fran and Jane Kahr. (Informat ion from Natalie Montie)

* LUXEMBURG GARAGE AND IRON WORKS - * LIEBL- RETZLAFF MACHINE SHOP


Joseph Gotstein operated a foundry/machine shop, selling to Peter Liebl and Melchoir Peot.
Julius Retzlaff joined the firm, along with George Liebl who purchased part-interest. Retzlaff and
Liebl were experienced machinists.
Julius had a patent for a pea-saving machine, which was manufactured here in 1914. Iron
and brass castings were made and in 1917 Brisco Cars were sold .
Peter Liebl made grates for sewers and was a dealer in thresher supplies, oi l, grease,
rubber and leather gandy belting. Peter was outgoing and innovative. He taught his sons the
tool and die business, and felt he was king of his own dynasty. Son Leonard remembers "I was
seven years old and my job was grinding plowshares and shredder knives when I was ten. Pa
replaced rusted flues with fireboxes for steam engines and I had to crawl in the fireboxes because
of the very sma ll space. With a special tool I had to roll the ends of the flues to sea l against the
firewalls." Peter and Mel choir moved to Milwaukee about 1923.
The business changed hands November 1919 when Edward Srnka became owner and ran
it as the Luxemburg Garage and Iron Works. The building was sold and dismantled in 1921 by
August Spitzer and Ted Diestelhorst, who erected a modern garage and repair shop, known today
as the Luxemburg Motor Company.

* LUXEMBURG GAS & APPLIANCE - * BARBIAUX MEAT MARKET


John Peot first owned the property, operating as a meat market. He sold the building to
Peter Joerger in 1912. George Kohlbeck became the owner of Joerger Meat market in 1925,
leasing t he building to his son-in-law, Elmer Barbiaux, who ran the market for 14 years.
Improvements were made in 1929, including a new front and a cooling system. Elmer ran the
shop until his death in 1939. During 1946 Mrs. Dorothy Barbiaux made improvements to the
building by making the length of the building longer, with the ground floor used as a show room
and workshop for Charles and Anthony who ran Luxemburg Gas & Appliance for several years.

46
The upper floor was living quarters. Today it is
ri ~II s ;.i~I?. the home of Anthony "Toy" Barbiaux.
Elmer used to butcher in a shed in back of the
:;;;;;g· ;ma~.c~
~'~~
shop, where they had an ice house with large
:t cakes of ice that Loberger's would cut in the bay
and were covered with sawdust. (From Sara
Hinnendae/ Rasmussen)

Elmer Barbiaux

LUXEMBURG HIGH SCHOOL


This building was first a grade school. The second f loor was added in 1915, with Georg e
Zellner as principal and teacher, with a class of nine students. A year later, Bernard Madden was
principal with Frank Woodworth and Ruth Yates as teachers. In 1917 Sophia Eiseman had charge
of intermediate grades and Margaret Cadigan the primary room. School was closed for two weeks
in January of 1918 to conserve coal. From 1917 to 1937 Charles F. Teske was principal with
George V. Gregor taking over in the fall of 1937 to 1966. He retired after teaching for 47 years,
29 as principal. George was agricu lture instructor, general science, biology, physics and
geometry teacher.
For the 1918 school term it was decided to have a four-year high school instead of two
years . The course of study included history, civics, algebra, arithmetic, geometry, physiology,
physics, grammar, botany, penmanship, bookkeeping and manual training. Nine students made
up the first class, Lambert Bodart, Michael Bencher, Melvin Dishmaker, Elsie Hardinger, Rose
Liebl, Stella Mill er, Sylvester Peot, Vida Peters, and Lawrence Radue. In 1919 the first annual
prom was held at the Unique Theatre. The 1921 girls basketba ll team included Gertrude Hoppe,
Lorna Liebl, Adella Santroch, Melinda Spitzer, Margie Searl, Valerie Evenson, Evelyn Evenson, and
Doris Portier. A barracks was placed on the east side of the school in August of 1924 for use by
the intermediate grades in the village.
A new gymnasium was built during 1936, along with a new heating plant, toilets, lockers
and a stage. Louis Welk was director of music at Luxemburg High School in 1938. He played in
the Navy Band during his service years. Louis started an adult music group with rehearsals every
week at 7:30 in the evening. The instruments in the band included , viol ins, cornet, French horns,
clarin ets, flute, saxophon e, trombone, drums, bass, and piano. Enrollment in 1942 was 136
pupils.
Fall of 1945 brought Anton Anderson of Bonduel as coach, general science, geography,
and biology teacher. September 1945-enrollment was 170 students, with a freshman class of 50
expected . The teaching staff that year included: George V. Gregor, Principal and agriculture
teacher; Eunice Hannon, social sciences and French; Amydee Carr, music; Vivian Heidman,
comm ercial; Ruth Streblow, English and mathem atics; Jaunita Current, English and library; Anton
Anderson, science and athletics; Marie Jacobson, grade school. (From Luxemburg News Article)
Luxemburg High School was one of the first schools in the area to introduce the training of
on-the-farm veterans. This work started March of 1946 on a part-time basis under the direction
of George Gregor, with four veterans, Sylvester Reuter, Donald Bell in, Leo Dorner and John
Mornard. During the late 1940's the high school showed popular movies in the gym, adults $0.35,
ch ildren $0.15.
Championships in the early years in football were won in 1944/45 - 46/47 and 1950-51,
most of them under the direction of Anton Anderson, assisted by Frank Chalupa. Basketball as a
sport was inaugurated in 1919 with the first squad composed of Hector Sancher, Joseph Stage,
LeRoy Miller, Roy Hrabik, Quentin Arpin, Harvey Schakett, Leroy Miller, Frank Mazanetz and
Andrew Suehs. They were called the " Braves". There we re champ ionship seasons in 1925/26 -

47
1927/28. During the 1932 season they piled up 206 points. The girls basketball team members
in 1938-39 were: Verna Moreau, Julie DuBois, Mary Barbiaux, Cleo Lau rent, Marion Nellis, Gloria
DeBaker, Molly Colle, Dolores LaCourt, Marie R§'ISS, Rose Suess, Lucille Moreau and Blossom
Williams. Under George Gregor's direction wrestling was introduced in 1925 and developed
further under the leadership of Frank Chalupa. During George's time as coach he produced three
state champions, as well as a number who placed second and third. After the wrestling program
was turned over to Frank, he accumulated 200 victories. A WWII army barracks was purcha sed
to provide three more classrooms on the west side of the gym in 1949. Even tually the high
school was using both floors of the old village hall, part of the Legion Hall and two rooms in the
clinic building as well. As the years marched along more courses and activities were added,
forensics, drama, baseball, volleyball, softball and track started in 1953 with use of the race track
on the fair grounds in the first competition.
The music teacher in 1964 was Zsi Hyung Sa from Korea. He taught his students to play a
Korean musical instrument, an Azaing. He also played and taught piano. Born in Manchuria in
1928, he came to America in 1956 as a graduate of Seoul National University.
In the 1950's there was talk of conso lidation of Luxemburg and Casco High Schoo ls, which
finally was achieved in 1968 with the build ing of the senior high school at Luxemburg, for a price
of $725,000. The land was purchased from Milton Arendt for $26 ,000. With th e enlarged
enrollment the school was placed in the Packerland Conference. The enrollment that year was
366 students with 20 teachers. Roger Lee, who came to Luxemburg in 1960 to 1974, was in
charge of the agricultural classes. C. A. Popke was named administrator in 1966. During 1968
additional classrooms were built. Three shop classrooms, a library, five academic classrooms,
with the existing library to be converted into two additional classrooms which provided room for
600 students in the senior high. An enrollment of 520 is expected in fall. With the hiring of
William Ehren, mens golf began and it didn 't take long for the girls to follow suit. In 1974 th e
new scoreboard on the field was donated by George V. Gregor and the athletic field was named
after him.
In 1975 Miss Eunice Hannon retired from teach ing after 39 years. Her dedication to the
teaching profession was emphasized by the fact she never took a day of sick leave. She was
noted for her capacity to instill high ideals in her students and for giving unselfishly of herself to
the school and the community. Miss Hannon was inflicted with polio at age 16. She graduated
from East High School in Green Bay and after correspondence courses-about 60 credits worth-
she met the "challenge of the bills" at Madison and graduated in 1935. Her starting salary was
$800 a year, noting that nothing was truer than the old saying "nothing is flatter than a teacher's
purse in August. " Eunice taught U. S. History, world history, citizenship, geography, French and
had charge of the three-act play and initiation program. In 1947 she started the first annual
"Memories in Blue". She was hired by Mr. Gregor on August 1, 1937. He was criticized for hiring
a handicapped person, who in their words, "would be missing half the time". In 1948 when cars
first came out with automatic transmissions she bought one and drove to work everyday. (From
Luxemburg News article)
1977 brought a new administrator, Ray Thilllman from Superior, replacing Chester
Meissner who served for ten years. Four new classrooms were added in 1979 for art classes,
marketing and science. In 1980 Bert Theys passed away, he had been employed as custodian for
most of his life, and drove school bus for many years. A change in principals brought Wayne
Carroll to Luxemburg High Schoo l 1982 - 1985, replacing Anthony Polich who retired. That same
year a fire was discovered by janitor Cliff Shilbauer. It was believed to have started in an air
compressor in the janitor's room.
1985 the new principal was David Tymus, a graduate of the University of Wisconsin,
Madison. Anton Anderson died in 1987 after teaching at Luxemburg High School for 22 years,
and 15 yea rs at the Junior High. He coached football for 22 years, in addition to baseball,
basketba ll, track, and wrestling at the Junior High School. August 1989 Steve Okoniewski was
named principal, and the school purchased eight acres from the village for a bus garage. An
addition for band, chorus, library and the auditorium was done in 1990. The Ciha property was

48
purchased for Special Education Office in 1992. Natalie Montie covered the Luxemburg -Casco
School Board and village board meetings for the newspaper for 22 years .
1995 - Purchase of 51.19 acres of land from Pete r Arendt, at a cost of $8,500 per acre .
The next year twelve acres were sold to Oconto Properties . The 1996 addition, included
classrooms for technical education, a cafeteria, agriculture, metals, wrest ling room and a bus
garage was built. The athletic complex was constructed in 1998/99 for football, track, baseball,
softball, and tennis. June 30, 1999 Ray Thillman retired as adm inistrator, replaced by Patrick
Saunders.
Teachers with more than 25 years dedication to Luxemburg High School : Mark Annoye, Michael Baehman,
Richard Barberg, David Baumgartner, Frank Dakins, David Ehren, Sandra Ehren, William Ehren, Emil Kuhn, Max Falkowski,
Russell Fameree, Joe Fierst, Beverly Hunsberger, Nancy Frank, Randy Jilot, Glenn Koehler, Mike Lover, Debra Marcelle,
Jim Marcks, Donald Robertson, Michael Schanhofer, Donald Schlmmels, Pat Staege, Barry Truskowski, Col leen Tymus,
Dwight Will, Fred Yagodinski, and Diane Zastrow.
The dance team began in 1994, as an inspiration of three high school girls Katie Th illman,
Tiffany Wohleil and Stephanie Paque, and grew into a successful dance program. It has become a
yearly tradition to perfo rm for UWGB Basketball half-time events, as well as participate in our
basket-ball tournament half-time programs . Members have had the unforgettabl e experience to
perform for Macy's Thanksgivi ng Day Parade.
Jim Marcks impacted the community in many ways, helping farmers, 4H, county fair and
photographer. Charlotte Jerabek and Lynn Vandervest were dedicated office employees for over
30 years
Outstand ing Student Accomplishments:
Music - There have been many great variety shows and musica ls, Guys & Dolls, Camelot,
Hello Dolly, South Pacific, Fame and Fiddler on the Roof, to mention a few, with grea t direction
from Jeff Hunter, Theresa Seidl and Dean Lu stbi
Sports - Baseball -Fred Yagodinski was the coa ch from 1968 to 1984 and again in 1988 -
2002, with Rex Warnke t aking over in 1985 to 1987. In 2002 Terry Jorgensen became LC's
coach. 1990-the Spartans appeared in the WIAA State Tournament defeating Cumberland in the
Semi-final and lost 1 to O to Edgerton in the Championship game.
Boys Basketba ll - From 1980 1996 the boys record was 199 wins and 138 losses. Three
conference titles were won i n 1982/83, 1987/88 and 1990/91. Pat Staege was the varsity coach,
handing the reins over to Randy Warnke in 1996. Today the varsity coach is Don Schoen.
Girls Basketball - The bulb that blossomed into the Luxemburg-Casco Girls Basketball
program was planted in 1971/72 by Coach Linda Moudry when she created a new varsity sport for
girls. During her seven-year tenure the teams reached sectional finals twice. Mike Schanhofer
served as caretaker of the program for the next 26 years. Duri ng this flourishing era the
Spartans won 13 conference t itles, 10 regional championships and 5 sectional crowns. WIAA
State championships were won in 1988, 1994 and 2004. Currently the LC program is under th e
direction of Brett Killion, who was named to the position in 2005.
Girls-Boys Cross Country: The Girls were State Champions five times.
Football - In 1987 the team was in the first playoff appearance. They secured six
conference championships. The footbal l team is coached by Pete Kline and Steve Okoniewski
Golf - Boys -The prog ram began in 1969 under the direction of Bill Ehren until his
retirement in 2007. Conference champ ionships were won six times from 1976 to 2007. Th e Girls
go lf program began in 1972 with Linda Moudry as coach until 1974. Nancy Woefel coached from
197 5 to 1976 with Bill Ehren taking over from 1977 to 2007. The girls had no conference
affiliation until 2007.
Soccer - Teams started in the 2000/01 school year. Both boys and girls played as a club
team for two seasons. They became WIAA sanctioned in 2002/03 season. The boys won their
first WIAA Tournament game in 2006. The girls won their first WIAA Tournament game the first
season beating Two Rivers 1-0 in double over-time. The head coach is Jenny Bandow with Blair
Bandow, assistant.
Track and Field - Boys - Began back in the 1950's. There have been six Conference
Cha mpionships. Head Coach David Mayer, assisted by David Loritz.
Girls - Coach Lee Sch miling, and Ron Larson. They were Packerland Conference
49
Champions in 1986. In all there have been eleven championships from 1986 to 2004.
Volleyball - Coaches Mike Schanhofer, Colleen (Flavion) Tymus, Dawn Hanson, and
currently Tracy Cherney . Regio nal Champions in 1983, 1986, and 2000 and six Conference
Championships.
Wrestling - Began in 1925 under the direction of George V. Gregor. Three individua l state
champion-sh ips t itles were won between 1983 and 1986 . Individua l Spartan s wrestlers have
been Packerland Conference Cha mpions the last consecutive 21 years. Since 1991, the Spartans
have been crowned Division Two State Champions four times. Fol lowing th e 1999 championship,
Emi l Kuhn concluded his 27-year wrestling coaching career and handed the reins over to Robert
Berceau with five more championships.
State Coaches Association Hall of Fame: George Gregor, Wrestling, inducted February
1977; Frank Chalupa, Wrestli ng, 1977; Anton Anderson, Footba ll, March 1980; Marvin Bins,
Publisist, November 1990; Russell Fameree, Cross Country, 1993; Fred Yagodinski, Baseball,
February 1996; Michael Schanhofer, Girls Basketball, October 2002.

LUXEMBURG IMPLEMENT COMPANY


The oldest known records of t he property da te
back to 1855 when Johann Kaut owned the land. In
1904 the Luxemburg Implement Company was
incorporated by Oliver Debouch, Dan Daul, August
Spitzer, John Mohr and A. Peterson. In May of 1909
ownership was transferred to Nick Spitzer, Michael
Ley, and Joseph Gotstein. George Rueck!, Sr. and his
sons purchased the business in 1916. In Fall of 1927
Louis Liebl purchased the interest owned by George
Rueck!, Jr. About 1929 George Seid l moved his family
from Green Bay to Luxemburg and at that time he
and his son, Leo joined the firm. In the mid-forties, George, Jr. and Leonard Seidl joined their
father, George Sr., and brother Leo in the business. In the early fifties, George Sr. retired. Leo's
two sons, Tom and Larry, who grew up in the business, purchased it from their parents in 1972.
Together with their father, they ran the business for many yea rs. On November 15, 1999, at the
age of 89, Leo passed away. He spent more than 68 years build ing the business. Two years
later, on November 15, 2001, Larry passed away, at the age of 61, after 46 years in the
implement business.
The original bui lding was bui lt sometime before 1904. An addition was added to the north
side in 1912, and in 1946 a brick an d glass front was added. In 1955-The First Street warehouse
was bu ilt. During 1976 a new sho p was added on the west side of the main building and in 1990,
a wareho use was built on the property purchased from the Fred Schuch estate.
Since 1904, there were many different products sold at Luxembu rg Implement Co. They
began wit h horse drawn equipment, along with horses and other farm animals, which were kept
in a barn next to th e main building. After horses, came the t ractor era, the brands included :
Mugel, Titan, McCormick Deering, Farmall, International, Same, Leland and Valmet. Th roug h the
years our firm also sold International trucks, including fire trucks, and school buses, International
refrigerators, freezers, and McCormick milk machines and m ilk coolers, OK Choppers, feed
cutters, and blowers . Plymou t h and DeSoto automobi les were sold for many yea rs.
Today, Luxemburg I mp lement Company produ ct lines include, Cub Cadet, Hustler, Stein er,
and Troybilt lawn and garden eq uipment, Kawasaki ATV's and utility vehi cles, Bob Cat skid
loaders, Stihl power equipment, MacDon Hay equipment, Brillion tillage tools, Mill er Pro, and H &
S Equipment, Loadmaster trai lers, Great Plains planters and dri ll s, and many others. These
products are supported by an experienced parts and service department.
The Luxemburg Implement company is currently owned by Tom, and sons, Brian and
Bruce. Our staff includes: Chad Seidl, Mark Ullman, Mike Kugel, Mike Dart, Brent Seidl, and Tyler
Seid l.
50
In the fall of 2005, the Luxemburg Chamber of Commerce honored Luxemburg Implement
Co. for 100 years of service in the community. This longevity can only happen for two reasons,
having great employees and great customers. We appreciate th e many peop le who have worked
for, and patronized our business. Your commitment and trust are the reasons for the past 100
years. (Submitted by Tom Seidl)

LUXEMBURG INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL


The first school in t he vi ll age was held in the front part of the Fameree building and known
as District 8. The district was created out of districts 3, 5 and 7 in 1906. The first teacher was
Charles F. Teske. The school had only seven grades. A new building was erected of two rooms in
1908 on Maple Street, with Ed Kelliher, teacher. There was a need for a sidewalk on Maple Street
because the grade school children trampled through mud up to their ankles going to and from
school. A second floor was added in 1915 for
high school classes. The first principal was Martin
Bacon in 1911 with Charles Teske taking over the
position until 1913 when Thomas Klemich became
principal of the grade school and Leone Fax as
teacher of lower grades. November of 1912 local
schools were closed for two weeks because of
diphtheria and scarlet fever.
Win ifred Welnick taught local grades for 21
years, she resigned in 1943 with Marcella Hruska
filling the vacancy. About 1946 the grade school
children were sent to U.S. Grant School outside of
the village. The first school board consisted of
Charles L. Peters, Clerk, who filled that office
from 1907 to 1919. Dr. Felix Moreaux was
treasurer from 1907 to 1911, again in 1914 to
1910 1931. John L. Miller was director, 1907 to 1924.
A new school, located on North Main Street next to the high school, was built in 1976.

LUXEMBURG MEDICAL CLINIC


Luxemburg's first resident doctor was Dr. Felix Moreaux, who practiced here from 1898-
1930. He built a home at 425 Main Street whe re he had an office. Dr. Jessie L. Bender served
the community for a short time around 1912-1914. He had an office above Hannon Drug Store
and at A. J. Salmon residence before building a home/office at 1013 Main Street. Dr. Bender
bought a driving horse from Frank Miesler for $185 to use in making his house calls. In 1919,
Dr. M. M. DeColbert, a physician and surgeon came to the area and held office in the Okrush
Hotel. He moved his office above the Hannon Drug Store and later departed to Ellisville where he
practiced for a short time . In 1924 Dr. L. J. Halloin, a native of Lincoln, began his practice at 206
Oak St.
Sam Ha/loin can remember - "There was
always a team hitched to the buggy or cutter. Often
the buggy would approach the back door, its
occupant sound asleep. My Mother, or one of the
older children, would wake him and one of the boys
would rub down and feed the horses, hitching up
another team in case dad was called out again.
When dad had his own gall bladder removed by Dr.
Bellin, he insisted on a local anesthetic and rigged up
a mirror so he would watch the surgery". (Green Bay
Press-Gazette paper, Sept 12, 1982)

51
Doctor Richard Jandrain, from the Walhain area, had an office above Jacques Cash Market
in 1933. He bought the form er Hector Sanch er residence on Main Street and remodeled th e
home so he had an office for patients.
In the late 1940's Dr. Brus ky and Dr. Klobukar practiced medicine in offices on the second
floor of th e America n House. Dr. Brusky leh and Dr. Klobukar rented space next to Kubale's
tavern. He became pa rtners with Dr. Henry Majeski in 1951. Elana Arendt was hired as
reception ist. Doctor Klobukar left t he next year. Aher Dr. Jandrain died Dr. Majeski was alone in
practice for eig ht years. During the 50's he made more hou se than office calls for polio patients.
A new clinic was bui lt in 1957 on Main Street. Two years later Dr. Henry Rahr joined the
clin ic. During Dr. Majeski 's 41 years of tenure he served three generations of fa milies. In 1980
Bernie Kaimen, physicians assistant, began work at the clinic. Joe Majeski became manager of
the clinic in 1985-1990 . Dodo Liebl was honored for 34 years of service to the clinic in 1985. In
1991 Dr. Mark Kroll joined the staff at the clinic. Jean Keim, nurse practitioner, began two years
later.
The clinic was purcha sed by St. Vincent's Hospital during 1995 and Elana (Arendt) Deprey
retired after 45 years as reception ist. Augu st 15, 1996 Dr. Erich Quidzinski of Mt. Prospect, I L
joined the staff. In 2000 a new medica l clinic was built on School Creek Trail. The new facility
has 12 examining room s, two procedure rooms, X-ray room, lab and work areas, a conference
room, doctors' dictation area and outpatient physical therapy services. The new clinic welcomed
Dr. Kristen Powell, a graduate of the University of Wisconsin Dept. of Fami ly Medicine.
Dr. Henry Majeski
Dr. Majeski spent over four decades caring for others as a physician and su r·geon in the
co mmu-nity and surrounding area. Aher losing a leg in a farm accident at age 18, he decided to
become a doctor. Truly caring about others, that's what distinguished him as a physician, father
and a sincere man. He worked long hours, seven days a week, driving daily to the hospitals to
see and treat his patients. Can you imagine going to three hospitals, visiting patients, climbing
sta irs, writing orders, sliding down ban ist ers, (this was faster and easier than walking), until the
Sisters asked him to stop th e foolishness. He retired in October of 1993 beca use of illness.
Dr. Henry Rahr
Dr. Rahr dedicated 44 y ea rs of his life to the Luxemburg commu nity. Henry attended St.
Norbert College, and University of Wisconsin, Madison. He arrived in Madison with $50 in his
pocket and a challenge from his mother that he wouldn't stay. As they sa y " t he rest is history".
Aher an internship of one year in Duluth, MN, he joined the practice of Dr. Henry Majeski. They
made many house calls, delivered hundreds of babies, bandaged many wounds, and made many
night trips to and from their home to the clinic or hospita l.
There have been many dedicated office personne l, Marge Abts, Linda Hoffman, Linda
Marquardt, Shirley Vandrisse and Lois Koss, Ell en Baierl, and Jean Hoppe. (Submitted by Luxem burg
Clinic)

LUXEMBURG MILLING COMPANY - * BOUCHER-KAUT MILLING COMPANY


The origina l building, which housed the equipme nt necessary to grind flour and serve as a
ro ll ing mill, dates back to 1903 when Dan Rhode and Joseph Burmesiter put up the bui lding at a
cost of $725. October of 1909 Richard Linke arrived from Chicago and started his duties as mi ll er
at the Milling Co. It was known as the Bouche- Kaut Milling Co. A group of men, Peter Boucher,
Nick Kaut, John J. Seidl, August Martin, Joseph Baierl and Frank Treml, pooled their resources
form ing a stock com pany. In July of 1912 fire destroyed the mill and by September 12th it was
rebuilt. George Duva ll was president at this time. J. W. Mohr supervised the work of installing
machinery while the mill wa s under construction. He remain ed with t he firm until 1917 when the
Millin g Company bought the Cargi ll elevator and did the same duties at the milling company.
August Salmon was the grain buyer for five years . Louis Rueck! purchased Frank Treml's shares in
1920 and cont rolling interest in 1924. Later he and his sons, La wrence, Michael, Louis, Jr., and
Edward purchased th e company. After the death of Lou is, Sr., his son Law rence ran the mill for
many years. Aher Lawren ce died, his son Arthur ran the firm. A new office was built i n 1934 on
52
the west side.
Throughout the wa r years dress print cotton flour bags were sold for 10 and 20 cents per
bag. During 1947 the grain elevator on Main Street was moved to its new location on Cedar
Street . September of 1953 John Christofferson purchased the business from Art Rueckl.
Fire struck a second time in 1972, and completely gutted the brick build ing, w hich had been
leased to Richard Charles. A huge grain elevator connected t o the mill was saved. A group of
five men, Dr. Majeski, Clem Barbiaux, Len Sei d l, John Christofferso n and Dr. Schibyle, formed a
corporation and continued operation under the same name with John Christofferso n, manager,
1951to1963. Pravin and Sudhi r Patel of Nairbi, Kenya, East Afri ca purchased the company in
1975. The cousins were originally from India and had a vast backg round in agricultural business
operati ons . The business was sold to Walter and Rita Christoff family in Decem ber of 1982.
Walter had been employed here for 18 years before purchasing the firm. A son, Bob, worked at
the business when it was purchased. Another son, Dennis, joined when Walter died in 1987. We
sell feed, seed, fertil izer and chemicals. (Updated by Christoff family)

LUXEMBURG MOTOR COMPANY- *FARMERS TRADING CO.- *LUXEMBURG WELD


AND REPAIR
In 1855 the land was owned by Johann Kaut, who sold the property to Joseph Gotstein
and Joseph Roth in Jun e of 1901. The two men operated a foundry and machine shop, which was
sold to Peter Leibl and Melchoi r Peot. Edward Srnka bought th e com pany, operating as
Luxemburg Garage & Iron Works . The building was sold and dismantled in 1921.
The Luxem burg Motor company was
organi zed with August Spitzer as President
and Ted Diestelhorst as secretary in Apri l

.
of 1921.
During 1928 Anton Grassel and
t I
George Rueckl, Jr. , joined into a
partnership. Th ey sold Nash, Chevrolet,
'
Oldsmobile and Buick cars and fa rm
IJJ
;J]\
machinery out of a build ing in the corner of
Ash and First Street. The building was r emodeled in April of 1930. The wall of the Motor
Company, that served as a partition for t he office, waiting room and display room was removed to
make way for the new show room when Grassel & Com pany merged with Luxemburg Motor
Co mpany. Febru ary of 1934 the stock holders included, A. Spitzer, T. Diestelhorst, and W. Belter,
along with George Rueckl, Jr. and son, who oper ated the car dealership until 1950 when Wi ll iam
Belter sold his interest to Ray Daul and son Harold. They sold Pontiac cars.
On December 31, 1960, Wilfred and Virgil Massart bought the business from Ray Dau l.
They sol d and serviced farm equipment. The brands sold at that time were Massey Ferguson and
New Idea. In 1961, Wi lfred added Gehl equi pment to the dealership lin e, and five yea rs later
Hesston equ ipmen t was inclu ded. At this same time Wilfred 's son, Dennis, started working in the
business. During 1970 Wilfred purchased the lot across the street for equipment display from
t he Merens family and the lot on Ash Street from Joe Baierl .
Dennis and Bonni e Massart pu rchased half of the busin ess from his Dad in 1974. Wilfred
and Virgil's son, Alan, as well as Dennis and Bonnie's sons, Dean and Dennis, Jr., grew up at the
business where they worked and lea rned the trade. In 1983 Dean started working full -time alter
attending Diesel School. On December 29, 1986, Dennis, Sr., and Wilfred bought the Farmer's
Tr ad ing Co. building next door for lawn and ga rden equi pm ent, an d additional storage and
parki ng. Dennis Jr. attended Technica l school and began working full- time in 1987.
Wilfred retired in March 1998, at 79 years of age. On Jun e 26, 1999, Dennis Sr. passed
away unexpectedly in a farm accident. At that time, Dean took over as President, and Dennis Jr.
as Vice-President. Ownership has been t ra nsferred to them. Together, this third generation has
continued to operate and grow, with the part-time help of their mother, Bonnie.
In 2000, an addition was built onto the main structure for additional office space and
53
increases the parts storage area. As of January 2001 the Luxemburg Welding buildings were
purchased plus land on Ash Street. That building was updated to allow for work on larger pieces
of equipment. In 2006, Gladys Ciha, who worked for the Massarts for 31 years, retired. In 2006
land was purchased on t he west end of Ash Street for equipment storage and display.
Today, their market niche and primary focus continues to be farm equ ipment. We have
added additional brands in recent years, but still carry the Massey Ferguson brand. New Id ea and
Hesston equipment is now sold under the AGCO - MASSEY brand. Other brands so ld are Gehl,
Krause, Kuhn, Remlinger, Rhino, Simplicity, Sukup, Sunflower, White Planter and X-Treme
Attachment. The business is moving more into the compact tractors, construction equipment,
and yard and garden implements as they continue to expand. The key elements of equipment
sales, parts and service still remain t he same even though the business of farming and the
equ ipment used have changed. Our goals are to provide great equipment and outstanding
customer service with an experienced and knowledgeable group of employees. (Updated information
from Luxemburg Motor Co.)
* Farmers Trading Company
Anton Grasse! erected t he bui lding in 1915, a two story 44'x66 ' structure, selling to Equity
Milk Exchange in 1921 and run as a co-op store with Hugo Zei tl er as manager. The next year
Hugo returned to farming and turned over the manager position to Urban H. Vandewall, who
occupied the living quarters above the store. In 1924 the Co-op store formed a new organization,
Farmers Trading Co., with the following stockholders as incorporators: Joseph Mleziva, President;
Gustave Graunek, Joseph Dalebroux, Fred Ullman, Jr., and Edward Kratz. Two yea rs later the
corporation purchased the building with Ed Jacques serving as manager. During 1926 Ed
resigned and Mabel Luedtke became the next manager, succeeded by N. C. Schraa, (who lived
above the store) . Followed by George Hebelacker, Peter J. Morna rd and Ed Dalebroux in 1936,
who stayed for th e next 31 years. During 1944 an addition to the store on the north side was
used for office space. 1949- the store front was remodeled .
Ernest Thibaud eau, a 20-year emp loyee, took over the managem ent post in 1967 for a
few years, succeed ed by Don Haumschild, Larry Feurste in, John Paid er and Mike Vanstraten. In
1967 Albert C. Mueller retired as president after serving for 30 years. Harold Reckelberg was
elected to replace h im on the board of directors.
An auction was held in 1986 when the business closed its doors. The Luxemburg Motor
Co. purchased the building for storage.
* Luxemburg W e ld and Repair
Peter Liebl and Melchoir Peot began a blacksmith shop on Main Street. During 1920 Peter
Lieb l bu ilt a new welding/foundry shop, 40'x40', on Ash Street and later moved to Milwaukee.
The property was so ld to Joe Baierl about 1924.
During 1950 a portion was rented to Fred Schuch, doing electric welding. Joe Baierl and
Fred formed a partnership which lasted for three years. After the partnership was dissolved Joe
continued the business until he retired. Kerry VandeHey operated the shop until it was purchased
by the Luxembu rg Motor Company in 1990.

LUXEMBURG NEWS
February 26, 1909 the first regular edition of the News was printed with Friday as
publication date. In 1908 a G. I. McDonald of Algoma came at irregu lar intervals to print an
issue, and later so ld his interest to John Fameree, who put out a regul ar Friday ed ition. August
Sa lmon assumed the editor position for a short time with John Boncher as assistant and H. E.
Rothe, manager. Ben Fagg was the editor in 1910. John Fameree continued as manager until
Albert Karel of Kewaunee purchased the newspaper. Albert's son , John, managed the paper until
1912 when the News was moved into the Vandrisse building on Main Street. Otto Kaye took over
as editor until 1917 when he enlisted in the army. Frank Salmon was editor unt il 1917 when G. I.
McDonald took over again
Earl Balza began his career at the news office as a bright-eyed boy in grade school,
helping in the office after school and progressed to manager. He was a master printer and a very
54
conscientious worker. The "News" won second at the state contest for best front page make-up
for towns under 750 population in 1925. When the news paper was offered for sale in November,
Earl was given first chance to purchase it, but declined and moved to Green Bay. C. F. Temby
purchased the business November of 1937, with his wife, Mabel as editorial writer.
In January of 1938 a linograph type machine was ordered. It replaced the old cylinder
press driven by a gasoline engi ne. When the engine went out the press had to be turned by
hand. In 1939 a Stonem etz cylinder press was installed. The news moved into new quarters
west of Ullsperger's Electric Shop on Elm Street. During 1977 the newspaper went from
letterpress printing to offset and was printed at the Door County Advocate office in Sturgeon Bay.
Natalie Montie served as reporter of village board and school board proceedings for several
years, succeeded by Kenneth Paider. Irene Schultz served the News for 38 years.
Olga Schwab started with the Luxemburg News in 1936 and stayed 45 years. At a time
when the news was a hand -set paper each word was put together with individual letters, which
were stored in their own specia l box in a typecase. When a linotype machine was bought, about
1941, it had a keyboard much like a typewriter, with Olga setting the type. The type was made
out of hot lead called "hot type", which it was, and sometimes the lead pot would spurt out metal
and the operator would receive a most uncomfortable burn. In 1981 Olga retired with Jeanne
Bruenning taking over the duties as office manager. Sherri Romdenne followed until November of
1988 when Vicki Anderson assumed manager position of Luxemburg News office.
Marv Bins wrote for the News while he was working at the Luxemburg Post Office and
expanded his contribution to the paper after retirement by writing a weekly column of news
events in the area until he died in fall of 1996. Jim Marcks contributed articles and photographs
to the News.
Fay and Mabel Temby so ld the Kewaunee Enterprise and Luxemburg News to Frank Wood
(Brown County Publishing) in 1986. Patti Rasmussen was named editor of the three Kewaunee
County newspapers, including the Luxemburg News in spring of 1999 . Kevin Boneske was the
Luxemburg beat reporter until 2007. Current Luxemburg reporter, Ramelle Bintz, started in
spring of 2007. Mr. Wood sold all of his publications to Gannett Corp ., owner of the Green Bay
Press Gazette. On March 7, 2007, the Luxemburg News, Kewaunee Enterprise and Algoma
Record-Herald were combined into one newspaper-Kewaunee County News. Edith Honnel,
receptionist for eight years, retired in 2007. Lisa Hulien took over the position. Matt Erickson is
in charge of sa les. (Information from Luxemburg News)

LUXEMBURG PET CLI N I C - * PERRY'S N I FTY 5 4 DINER - *JIM'S 5 4 CAFE


This establishment began as Bert's Drive-In, owned by Albert Kline 1960- 1969. Ron and
Lois Vandertie operated the restaurant for a few years. It was purchased by Myra and Jim
Tlachac and opened for business July 12, 1982, with the help of their children, Dan, Ann and
David, waiting tables and washing dishes. The restaurant was sold to Perry Andropolis in 1995.
He ran a 1950's style restaurant (Elvis era). Luxemburg Pet Clinic bought the building.
The Pet clinic, located at 607 Center Drive, began in 1995 when it was purchased by Dr.
William Koffman and his wife, Barb. The clin ic was originally located at 424 Peter Street where
they provided quality veterinary care for their customer's pets. The move to the existing location
was about three years later when they purchased the Diner.
On July 1, 2005 the Koffman's sold the clini c to Dr. John Barnstorff. Dr. Jordan Kobilca
and Dr. James Johnson joined the staff and will continue to give the same quality medical
services for your pets including; preventive care, surgica l, medical, and X- rays, in a friendly,
caring atmosphere. (Submitted by Debbie Nelis)

LUX EMBURG PET GROOM I NG - *ZEMI LKA DRUG STORE


Paula Simonar began grooming dogs out of her home in 1993. The business expanded
when her basement got too crowded . She rented part of the building on Peter Street from the

55
Koffmans until the building was sold, compelling Paula to find another location. The shop is
located at 713 Main St.
* Ze mlika's Drug Store
The first known druggist was Hector Francar who rented from John Famaree and began
the dispensing of his product, he formerly had a store in Kewaunee. Frank Hannon, pharmacist
from Green Bay was Luxemb urg's druggist for 13 years, having begun in 1909. He sold patient
medicine and several years later added a soda founta in . His wife did millinery work for ladies of
the Luxemburg area. In 1922 the business was sold to J. Minor Bergen, also a licensed
pharmacist from Iola, Wisconsin. The Bergen family remained here for twelve years and during
that time had booths i nstalled for serving cold drinks.
Gordon Zem lika, a licensed pharmacist from Merrill purchased the building from Mrs.
Celina Looze in December of 1939, retiring 31 years later. In December of 1942 a fire started in
a small closet under the stairway off the kitchen, which burned through the ceiling of the closet
and inside the walls to the roof. A cistern at the opera house was frozen shut and another
hydrant had to be found. The fire was contained with major damag e to the structure.
George N. Rueckl purchased the property in 1965, operating it as a variety store. The
store changed hands again when Roger Beirl and his wife, Rose, purchased the building in
October of 1979. Bill and Sally Laudre operated a sandwich shop in 1984 and moved across the
street to 714 Main Street a year later. Lance Kirchman rented the build ing from Jeff Cravillion,
using it as a chiropractor office for ten years. It is now owned by Cindy Lucia. Today it houses
Luxembu rg Pet Grooming. (Information from Paula Simonar)

LUXEMBURG PHARMACY
On July 1, 2003, an old service, yet a new business, was born in Luxemburg. The Vil lage
of Luxemburg already had a strong group of health care providers, but the services of a pharmacy
had been missing from the health care picture. The pharmacy began with Jennifer Johnson and
Christine Seidl. The desire of these two pharmacists was to get away from the "fast food" type
service of the larger chain pharmacies and to contribute to the health asset of this community.
With the help of its small, but strong support staff, they hope to continue to provide service for
many years. (Information from Luxemburg Pharmacy, LLC)

* LUXEMBURG PLUMBING & HEATING


William "Bi ll " Hermans began in the plumbing field when he worked for Blah Barbiaux. He
started his own business in January 1963 from his home on Oak Street. His sons Larry and
Wayne worked for him. A building was erected on Center Drive, Highway 54, in December of
1979. Wayne took over the business when his Dad became ill . The building today houses Bob's
Berger's auto body shop. Bill was known for his good booyah and was called upon to make it for
special occasions.

LUXEMBURG PRIMARY SCHOOL


The Primary School opened in the year 2001. It is one of four buildings in the Luxemburg -
Casco District. Our school was built on 21 acres and has 93,154 square feet of space. The schoo l
was dedicated on September 13, 2001.
The population of students at the time of our open ing was approximately 389, but has
since grown to 426, housing Early Childhood, Kindergarten through grade two students. Our
school motto is: "Learning Together is our Primary Mission." Our staff is dedicated in serving our
students and strives to work in conjunction with the PTA and parents to develop our students in
becoming life-long learners. We provide many creative learning opportunities outside the regular
classroom in the area of Music, PE, Art, IMC, Computer, Reading and Guidance programs.
Some of the areas in which we have begun to develop our own history are: implementing
a Spanish program at the Kindergarten through grade two level, starting a full day Kindergarten
56
program, providing an annual Christmas program to our students with 100% staff involvement
and ending each year with a special student and staff assembly. We have developed a Parent
Volunteer Recognition program for the many moms and dads that assist in the classroom
regularly. (Submitted by James Kiefer, Principal)

LUX EMBURG PRINTING


January of 1994 Al and Sheila Hoppe purchased the printing firm from Larry Hermans who
ran the business for several years. They do most of the printing at the Maple Street building.
For all your printing needs see Al or Sheila.

LU X EMBURG RESCUE SQUAD


The need to provide trained ambulance care was recognized by members of the
Luxemburg Fire Department in 1976. They began intensive training to become Emergency
Medical Technicians, EMT's as known today by most people. At that time, training was about 80
hours of both hands on and book training.
The first EMT's were Ralph Kline, Edward G. Jacques, Jr., and Allen Tlachac . For the first
year these three people took turns staying in the village to be able to respond with the Fire
Department van to any emergency. Patients were given initial care with transportation done by
ambu lance from Green Bay.
In 1977 - 1978 new members were from within and outside of the Fire Department.
Namely: Norbert Rueck!, Al Tlachac, Dennis Thiry, John Paider, William "Puffin" Seidl, Leon "Red"
Gi llis, Ralph Kline, Ed Jacques Jr., Dave Paque, Dennis Nellis, Ann Paider, Pat Simonar, Lee
Zingler, Lee Peat, Dave Olson, Linda Olson, Ellen Baierl, Mary Jacques, Roger TeKulve, Doris
TeKulve, Emil Kuhn, Steve Vincent, and Joan Walczyk.
With the number of EMT's growing, it was felt that the practice of waiting for an
ambu lance from Green Bay to come to the area of our call was wasting time. In 1977 a meeting
with town officials from Red River, Lincoln, Montpelier, Casco, Luxemburg, and the Villages of
Luxemburg and Casco, agreed to buy a 1974 ambu lance from Izzy's Ambulance Service.
Although we now had our own ambulance we still did not transport all the way to the hospital. It
was felt we did not want to leave our coverage area for a long period of time, so we would begin
transport and meet an ambulan ce from Green Bay and transfer the patient to their unit. This
practice proved to be quite awkward at times. In snowstorms or thick fog it was dangerous. Rain
also was a problem. Needless to say family members of patients were sometimes upset that we
were stopping on the side of the road and transferring the patient to another ambulance. After
some discussion with town and village officials, it was decided to transport patients all the way to
the hospital of their choice.
It was apparent at this time that we needed another vehicle to cover the area when one
unit was transporting a patient. During 1978 a new ambulance was purchased. Since that time a
new vehicle has been purchased every five years.
The level of training remained for Basic EMT's until 1983, when new members became part
of a pilot program at the Wisconsin State EMS. This project was ca lled "Intermediate" training.
Our Rescue unit was one of 12 services state wide to take this advanced course. Training
included IV starting, drug overdose medication, diabetic drugs, allergy medication, and drawing
blood samples. This course doubled the amount of schooling for the basic EMT. Beside classroom
training, there were many hours of hands-on training at St. Vincent's Hospital Emergency Room.
In 1985 our EMT's started traini ng in another pilot program, cardi ac defibrillation. Cardiac
monitors were purchased for both amb ulances. The program taught EMT's to shock the heart
when it was in a fatal rhythm . This training has saved lives on many occasions.
Since the rescue squad began we have housed the ambulances in the Luxemburg Fire
Station. As our service expanded and the Fire Dept grew, it was becoming apparent we needed
to find housing for the Rescue Squad. In 2002 it was decided that a new building would be built,
keeping the future in mind, with adequate living accommodations. There are mens and ladies'
57
sleeping quarters, showers, kitchen facilities, a large meeting room , an office for both squad
secretary and squad director, along with an equipment room.
There are many EMT's who have served and are still serving on the Rescue Squad since
the original group started in 1977; Dean Baumgartner, Dennis Bongle, Heidi Bouvette, Brenda
Burdick, Michelle Buresh, Tim Burhans, Cole Cravillion, Corey Delwich e, Juli e Deprey, Craig
Dequaine, Aaron Dufeck, Mark Gilliam, Steve Gilray, Mike Glish, John Hesler, Russ LaPlante, Kim
McClure, Scott Minger, Kim Nimmer, Dan Op ichka, Bob Penniman, Carol Penniman, Troy
Peterson, Tim Phleiger, Sue Raduenz, Bruce Seidl, Jodi Seidl, Lori Seiler, Laura Sinkula, Ted
Stodola, Candy TeKulve, Janelle TeKulve, David Tlachac, Jamie Tlachac, Tim Treml, Amy Vincent,
Dan Vincent , Guy Wilcox, Chris Worachek.
The Luxemburg Rescue Squad has always been a leader in caring for our people. We have
very dedicated EMT's, the best equipment and training. Thi s could not happen if it were not for
the backing of so many people and organizations. (I nformation from Al Tlachac)

LUXEMBURG VOLUNTEER FIRE DEPARTMENT


The Fire Department was formed in 1911, with the first meeting July 15th. The fire house
was on the street level, with the village hall on the second floor. Th e building was demolished in
1971 to make way for the new fire station. (Richard Cmeyla salvaged the railing from second floor
meeting room -statement from 1971 Luxemburg news article) The jail cells were in the back end
of the building where the fire trucks were kept. The department started with a hand pumper
purchased from Algoma at the price of $155.
"Thirteen years ago-July 29, 1933-the village of Luxemburg through action of the village
board, transferred to Algoma ownership of 'one hand pumper, consideration gratis-co-previous
ownership.' At that time the piece of equipment was painted a bright red and was then placed on
the Dug-Out grounds where it has remained forgotten by all Algomans. So it appears that the
'jacking up' which the village of Luxemburg has handed its sister community, Algoma, through
the village president, Charles L. Peters is not undue. 'We still have a 'sentimental interest' in the
'old hand pump'," President Peters wrote to Mayor J. Malcom Empey 13 years after the equipment
had been turned over to Algoma, "and not having called this to your attention we are sure you
will want to restore this equipment to its original condition by an application of a coat of paint and
whatever repairs are necessary. The pumper originally came from Algoma and at the suggestion
of Fire Chief Peot it was agreed that the hand pumper be offered to the City of Algoma from
11
whence it originally came after Luxemburg no longer had use for the vehicle. (Information from
Luxemburg News)
In addition to the Fairbanks- Morse gas engine, which performed very well at ma ny fires,
the board purchased a motorized fire truck in 1927. (A special election was held to authorize the
village to purchase its first motorized fire truck and construct addition al cisterns for much needed
fire protection in the village. By a vote of 61 to 50, the board was authorized and immediately
did seek bids for this purchase. The board settled on a purchase with W. E. Bishop of Green Bay,
through the Luxemburg Motor Company, for a Studebaker chassis with fire equipment supplied by
Peter Persch Sons Co. of Kenosha. The truck was delivered on June 23rd of that year.)
Later that year a fire threatened to destroy the Wisconsin House, owned by Camille
Barbiaux. Within a few minutes the new truck was put into action and was credited in saving the
structure. In 1931, during the Firemen's 4th annual picnic at Firemen's Park, dedication of th e
new community fire truck took place. In a speech given by Vil lage President Charles L. Peters, he
stated, "Today we are assembled here to dedicate a new member to the family of firefighters, but
this time the honor is divided among the towns of Red River, Luxemburg, Casco, Montpelier, and
the Village and therefore we designate this as the Commun ity Fire Truck". Today this truck is sti ll
owned by the Luxemburg Fire Department and is proudly displayed during parades throughout
the summer months.
April of 1977 a Fire Association was formed between the Village of Luxemburg, Towns of
Casco, Lincoln, Luxemburg, Montpelier, and Red River forming the Luxemburg Community Fire
Department.

58
Other trucks purchased over the years: a 1948 International, 1955 International, 1961
Chevrolet Rescue Unit along with other apparatu s.
Today the Fire Department has the following apparatus: 1979, 1991, and 1996 tankers;
1984 Wildland Fire Truck; 1987 Equipment Van; 1993 Engine; a 2000 75' Aerial; and 16' Rescue
Boat.
In 2001 a state grant was obtained for the purchase of the 1984 Military 4x4 truck. After
many hours of work it was converted into a Wildland Firefighting Truck, which is a useful tool in
brush fires, or any fire off- road. It has a 215 gallon tank with a 250 GPM pump, can use foam,
carries wild-land fire fighting tools and is equipped with a winch and light package. During 2004,
using State Forest Fire Protection Grants, two dry hydrants were installed at ponds in the rural
areas of the fire district. These ponds are an asset when fighting rural fires, reducing travel time
when shuttling water.
The department currently has mutual aid agreements with all surrounding fire depart-
ments, and has automati c mutual aid agreements with Casco and Denmark Fire Departments on
structure fires within certain areas of the fire district.
The aerial truck has a Compressed Air Foam system (CAFS), one of the first in this part of
the state. A system of mixing water, air, and foam in the pump, is invaluable for quick knock-
down reducing fire and water damage.
Our equipment includes Thermal Imaging Camera, updated Jaws-of-Life, Cold Water
Rescue Suits, and has a High Angle Rescue Team. With the help of $160,000 in Federal Grants in
2004-2006, donations, and taxpayer revenue, new Self-Contained Breathing Apparatus(SCBA),
Rapid Intervention Team (RIT) Rescue Packs, computer equipment, compressors, digital
cameras, helmets, new turnout gear, washer extractor, rad ios, and fill stations have been
purchased . Firefighters would like to thank all who assisted in making these purchases possible.
The present Fire Department building was constructed in 1971. Records show Department
Chiefs throughout the years were; Nie Drexler, John Ba lza, Frank Hoppe, Hector Bencher, John
Peot, John Gillis, John DuChateau, Ed Tlachac, and Lew DuChateau current Chief since 2002.
John "Jack" Peat was a fireman for 57 years, 44 years as Fire Chief. Jack was also one of the
organizers of the Volunteer Firemen's Safety League and served as president and later as
treasurer and di rector. Ed Jacques retired in 1970 after 35 years of being a fireman. Peter Colle
served as secretary-treasurer for many years. Clem Rass served in that same position for 42
years.
In October of 1991, the department suffered it's only recorded "Line of Duty Death", when
Chief John DuChateau suffered a heart attack at a structure fire. Earlier that year he had been
awarded the Wisconsin State Fire Association Fire Fighter of the Year. He was appointed Fire
Chief in 1977.
The Fire Department consists of the following members: Chief, Lew DuChateau; 1st Asst
Cliief, Dennis Th iry; 2nd Asst Chief, Lyle Zellner; Captain, Al Tlachac; Captain, Kevin Dart;
Lieutenant, Dan Gilson; Lieutenant, John Bins; Firefighters: Richard Charles, Roger TeKulve, John
Paider, Cory TeKulve, Bruce Seidl, Dick Salentine, Ronald Tlachac, Dan Delfosse, Ross Tlachac,
Paul Ravet, Keith Tebon, Dan Thiry, Greg VandenHouten, Todd Burdick, Bruce Charles, Jerry
Harmann, Cory Delwiche, Jamie Tlachac, Mike Koss, Steve Roberts, Jeremy Deprey, John Hesler,
Mike Beyer, Tim Engebose, Nate VandenPlas. These individuals give back to the community,
leaving their families and jobs during ever increasing training, meetings, and incident calls.
(Submitted by Fire Dept) "Thank You from the Luxemburg Comm unity!!!"
"Papa was a volunteer fireman. He used to enjoy gong to the meetings because they usually had
raw-chipped beef sandwiches. Papa loved them. Mamma didn't think they were h ealthy because the meat
wasn't cooked, so we never had them at home. Papa's fireman's coat, hat and boots were always hanging by
the back door so he could get into them in a hurry when the fire whistle blew!! The Firemen had a picnic
every summer. There was always a big parade-one year Papa made a Roman chariot-put on a sheet toga-
hitched up his horse and was in the parade. They always had a water fight with the fire hoses at that
picnic. 11 (From Sarah Hinnendael Rasmussen)

59
Dec 1970

M & J TRUCKING
Th e business began in 1996 with Mark Jacques as owner, selling to his brother Paul . Our
main truck route is hauling Sargento cheese to Florida . (Information from Paul Jacques)

MAIN STREET STATION


Main Street Station came into existence in 1991, when Koller's Korner Bar was purchased
by Fran & Jane Kah r . (Formerly the Commodore Bar) We fly the Mobil flag which has been in the
fa m ily sin ce 1945. Fuel, groceries, househol d supplies, liquor and beer, along with many other
misce llaneous items are sold at the store . Monica Michalec has been m anag er of our mini -marts
for th e past 16 years . (Submitted by Fran & Jane Ka hr)

* MATHU'S 163 CLUB - * LUCKY 13 CLUB - * GUILETTE'S RODEO BAR


In 1917 Reinhold Okrush purchased a strip of land from Peter Merens and moved the Pa rk
Hall from the village park . Th e hall was converted into a dan ce hal l and show house, under the
name of "The Opera House". During 1920 Frank Wawirka and Anton Grassel, Jr. leased the
• · ·"' •V ,._ building. A year later 0. M. Evenson,
purchased the equipment and ran the theater.
During 1924 Reinhold added a residence and
ice cream parlor on th e south side. Vaudevil le
acts and movies were shown in the theater,
which had a capacity of 152 - admission was
10 cents for adults, 5 cents for children. In
1930 the American Legion Post leased the
building to run silent movies, and continued
until attendance fell off due to the advent of
" ta l kies". The Leg ion members felt they cou ld
......J not afford to finance new "ta lki e" equipm ent.
The Am eri can Legion and Auxi liary continu ed
using the building for meetings and social
The Opera House, 1924 gatherings until t hey built their own clubhouse.
About 1933, under the management of Eugene Herring, it was decided to show ta lking
movies and other feature films. Anton Grassel, Sr. bought the "Luxem burg Opera House" in
1940. Leon Libal ran the establishment for five years befo re Willard Guillette and his wife
Marjorie operated the busin ess as the "Rodeo Bar", selling to Frank Helbing of Racine. Arno
Stuebs took over the tavern in 1960 and operated it for two years under the name "Lucky 13
club". He did extens ive remodeling to t he interior. After Arno passed away Gerald and Bernadine
Mathu acquired the property. January of 1966 the club burned to the ground and their son
Thomas, age 6, perished in the fire.

" The Opera House in Luxemburg was really a big, empty hall with a stage on one end.
There was no school gym or auditorium. So any village activities and school sports, plays, band
60
concerts, dances, movies, whatever, were all held in the Opera House. Movies were shown once
a week-silent, black and white, with a piano player playing music to fit the action. There was a
girl from Kewaunee who used to ride the train to Luxemburg to play the piano for the movies at
the Opera House. Half of the hall had long wooden benches for the kids, and a few rows of
folding chairs for the adults". (from Sarah Hinnendael Rasmussen)

MCMAHON' S - * LUXEMBURG FURNITURE STORE - * KIEWEG-PETERS STORE -


* HOPPES STORE
Ed and Murclle McMahon came to Luxemburg in 1935 from Milwaukee and purchased the
furniture store/funeral home from Joseph Buchanan, located at 530 Main Street. The history of
the building dates back to Herman Nimmer, local carpenter and furniture maker, who built the
funeral home building in 1896, borrowing $75 as working capital to start the business from
Joseph Dequaine. Oliver DeBauche was the first funeral director and made caskets, which were
wooden boxes with another one inside. His wife trimmed the interior with fabric for a personal
touch. In 1907 Oliver purchased Herman Nimmer's building and the two men ran the business
with Herman building furniture and caskets, while Oliver took care of selling them. On the way to
Champion to deliver a casket Mrs. DeBauche was thrown from the wagon when the tongue of the
buggy came loose striking the legs of the team, causing them to run away. During 1912 Oliver
became a licensed embalmer. Nick Drexler joined him in the business as carver of tombstones.
In 1916 Nick went into business for himself as Luxemburg Marble and Granite Works. He
was injured when moving one of his tombstones tipped and he was hit in the face. A year later
he sold the firm to Manthey and Sons.

Murcile McMahon Ed McMahon

Durin g 1917 Oliver so ld his horse drawn hearse to a party in Suring and purchased an
auto hearse at Oshkosh. He continued as undertaker and furniture store manager until Anton
Swoboda purchased the establishment. Oliver also offered ambulance service to the community.
November of 1919 there was a fire at the Marble & Granite Works, which was extinguished but
t here was damage to the hearse and a few vaults. In 1928 Allen and Joseph Buchanan bought
the buil ding and ran the business for six years. Clem DePas, who had been the manager for
years, left the compa ny. That same year, while heating a car during the winter, the radiator
exploded and set the building on fire. Employees were able to extinguish the blaze with a
minimal amount of damage.
After Ed and Murcile purchased the business it was remodeled with furniture being sold out
of a small addition to their home. When a funeral occurred, the McMahon's would move all the
furniture from thei r living room into the garage and the visitation would be in their personal
61
quarters. The ba lcony, which served for display and storage, was removed and a mortuary and
slumber room added.
Murcil e was tra in ed to be a business ed ucati on teach er and taught for a number of years
before she married Edward "Mac" McMahon in 1929. Ed died at age 42, in 1941, and Murcile
carried on alone. Few women were running businesses at this time. To make matters worse, she
was not licensed for embalming and funeral directing. Paul J. Jansky of Manitowoc accepted a
position as embalmer and funeral director for Murcile. During 1943 William Weier was employed
in that position. She took classes to get the necessary qualifications and became a licensed
embalmer and director in 1944.
In 1947 Murcile purchased the defun ct Kieweg-Peters bui lding from the Farmer's Trading
Co. The store was remodeled with display windows at street level for customers to view. Utilizing
the "model room" concept, the furniture was set in room groupings as they would appear in the
home. August 1948 was the formal opening of the new furniture store. Realizing that she had
to tap into the Green Bay market to be competitive she explored ways to promote the furniture
business by turning to radio and television to advertise, along with bi llboards. Her slogan was
"Known for Service".
Som e of her long -time employers were, Bill Luedtke and Harold Peters, who worked there
in 1948 as Murcile's top salesman. As a young man Harold worked in the Kieweg-Peters store
and was part janitor. He would sleep at the store in winter so he could fire the furnace early in
the morning.
During the 1950's graduating senior girls were given a mini cedar chest. Murcile once
placed a rug next to the gas pumps at Kline's Service Station to demonstrate the durability of
rugs she sold. On her 15th annive rsary she moved the furniture display out of the front area for a
dance floor. Anyone who became 15 that year was invited. In 1960 she wrapped the store in
aluminum foil.
When the Hoppe Store across the street became vacant in 1970 Murcile bought it to
display bedroom furniture . June of 1972, the store was bought by employees, Tom Rueckl, Gerald
Cravillion and Robert Heim. Murcile owned the business for the past 36 years. (Tom was the
great-grandson of Oliver Debauche, a licensed funera l director.) They ran the businesses with the
help of their long -ti me employees; Harold Peters, Ray Liebl, Marilyn Rank, Dennis Cravillion, Mary
Neinas, and their sons Jeff Rueckl, Mark Heim and Jon Cravillion.
In 1994 Kathleen Peters started at McMahons, becoming a licensed funeral
director/embalmer in 1997, working with Tom Rueck!. January of 2005 the funeral home and
furniture store were sold to the sons, Jeff Rueck!, Mark Heim and Jon Cravillion, who continue to
run both businesses, servicing what they sell. (Submitted by McMahons)

*Kieweg Peters Store


The grand opening took place on
September 4, 1903 with Stahl's Band playing
the old familiar tunes, free beer, lunch and a
carload of watermelons thrown in for good
measure. But while the public ex pr·essed
appreci ation and welcomed the newcom ers
with open arms, some of the old business
interests did not look with favor upon the
strangers with whom they were to share their
trade. However, they soon learned that
"com petition is the life of trade" and in a few
years this enviousness was all forgotten. Charlie Peters worked in t he store sin ce April of 1903
when it was built on lots acquired from Desire Co lle. During 1919 Harold Peters and Viola
Kuester were employed . At age 17 Harold joined the U.S. Navy and served in WWI, returning to
the store until it went out of business.
About 1920 the name was changed to "The New Store" with Anton and John Kieweg,
Charles Peters, A. W. Arpin, and Mrs. John Dishmaker being employed. The building was
62
remodeled and Harold Peters managed the grocery department with Clayton Kay in charge of
clothing and hardware.
Frank Decelle was tre local Maytag salesman at the store in 1934. In 1939 the store quit
business after 36 years. Other salespeople who were with the company; Jack Dock, Alex Villers,
Libbie Pocan, Ed Dulik, Sibylia Peot, Clayton Kaye, Edward Nejedlo, John Treml, Mary Treml,
Margaret Arendt, Alvah Arpin, Enid Peters, Emily Maufort, Esther Diehl, Gusta Dishmaker, Celia
Arpin, Ralph Laurent, Anton Colle, Mayme Ruttner, Gene Kiley, Adell Busch, Emma Bonjean, Jack
Peot, Carl Duesrchmidt, Jim Seiner, Clem Barbiaux, Charles Wery, Rose Daul, Sara Gosin, Viola
Kuester and others. (Article Nov. 1, 1944 Lux. News)
* Hoppe's Store - * Se ll a nd Liebl Ge neral Store
A Mr. Paterson owned and operated the store in 1893 selling to Louis Liebl and Charles
Sell, who operated the general store for several years. Frebert Toebe ran the store next and
traded the business for the Hoppe farm near Rio Creek.
Albert M. Hoppe bought the business in 1912, with Frank, Paul and daughter, Esther
helping. A new front and addition to the store was completed in 1916. During 1922 A. M. Hoppe
~ - and sons was incor·porated, ca lling it "The
~ Quality Store". Emil Hoppe joined the
""""'
....... organization in 1919 and remained active until
disposal of the property in 1960.
The third generation working in the
business were Marvin and Elroy, who managed
the store in 1946. In 1948 a warehouse in back
of the store was destroyed contain ing roofing
material, ladders, and equ ipment. The bu ilding
and stock were sold to Nicolet Enterprises in
1960. M·urcil e McMahon purchased the building
in 1970 to expand her business.
Hoppe's Store

* MIKE'S SERVICE
The best recollection we have is t hat Dad rented a Phillips 66 gas station in Green Bay
from Mr. Dale Andrews. It was located on Pine Street across from the YMCA; now part of Port
Plaza Parking Ramp . Dad came to Luxemburg in late 1954 or early 1955 where he rented the gas
station on the corner of Main and Maple Streets from Rube Geronda le, before building the service
station at the corner of Hwy 54 and Main Street. He opened for business in late 1955. Ralph
joined him in the busin ess six months later. It remained Mike's Service Station (Kline Brothers,
Inc.), selling Phillips 66 products until November 1998. Dad and Uncle Ralph retired selling the
property to Ross Tlachac. The building was torn down in 1990. (Submitted by Mike Kline, Jr.)

MJC S UPPLY, IN C
The company was formed on May 1, 2004 by Mike Gotstein, Joe Seidl and Chris Gotstein.
The former N.E.W. Lifetime Glove Company of Green Bay was purcha sed by MJC. We relocated to
the Luxemburg Industrial Park on 309 Frontier Road in late November of 2004, after construction
of a new warehouse. MJ C Supply is the sole U.S. distributor of the Lifetime Glove brand of non-
steri le latex and nitrile gloves. We stock latex, nitrile and vinyl gloves, food service gloves and
are venturing into other types of products for the food service industry and dental profession as
well. Our clients are primarily in the dental profession, but also extend into all professions that
need gloves. Joe is the president and in charge of answering the phone, taking orders and
shipping. Mike ta kes care of the book work and some local deliveries. Chris is in charge of web
site services. (Submitted by Joe Seidl)

63
*MR. BILL'S PUB 'N SUB - *OUTSIDERS INN - *GRASSEL'S TAVERN
Bill Laundre and wife Sally operated the sub-sandwich shop at 713 Main Street in 1983
and moved across the street a year later. During 1989 a fire gutted the structure and the
building was demolished in 1990. Today a used car lot occupies the space.
Peter Bouche built the tavern in 1893. It was operated in 1912 by John Fameree and
Sylvan Vandrisee, who sold the business to Frank Christoph. Alex Smeester leased the saloon
January 1927.
A few months la ter Louis Saams came from the American House to operate this tavern.
He planned on serving quick lunches for his
patrons. The next owner was James Janda,
in fall of 1928, where you could get free fish
fry on Friday. James was a musician and
played in a local band. At times the
Bohemian Brass Band provided
entertainment. Eighteen years later Anton
Grassel, Jr. and his wife, Jennie, purchased
the saloon and ran the business until 1952,
when ill hea lth forced his retirement. Harley
and Marianne Greatens bought the building
from Felix Vandrisse, which had been leased
to Ron and Katie Kollross for a few years.
The next operator was Kathy Cisler Deprey
before Bill and Sally Laundre's purchased it.
Grassel's Bar

N.E.W. PLASTICS - *BIO CHEMICAL CORPORATION


The firm began in July 1968 by Irvin Vincent, who previously worked for U.S. Plywood in
Algoma. A friend, Frank Kowa leski, of Bio Industries, suggested to "Irv" that he produce the
plastic bottles for the detergent his company made. Irvin knew nothing about plastic, but he did
know something about business operations. It sounded good to Vincent even though he had no
idea how plastic bottles were made.
A 5, 700 square foot factory was built next to Bio Industries
and a bottle making machine was ordered. NEW Plastics began
producing bottles with three employees, including Irv's wife Nancy.
After a few weeks a second client was picked up.
By 1973 the company had expanded to a work force of 70
people with two additions to the original structure. By 1981, after
thirteen years and five plant expansions later, NEW Plastics had 95
employees, 45, 000 square feet of factory and warehouse space
(with plans to add another 7, 000 square feet) and a small fleet of
trucks. The company produces plastic containers of all shapes, sizes
and colors, as well as assorted plastic goods which range from
plastic floats for liquid manure spreaders to 16,000 seats for the
Hollywood Sportatorium in Florida. The factory's mainstay is the
production of plastic milk bottles. They crank out about 48, 000 of
them a day, 24 hours a day.
If Irvin Vincent leaves a mark on the plastics business, it
won't be because he built a successful small manufacturing company from nothing, it will be
because he began producing new plastic products from old plastic bottles. "It can't be done,"
people told him over and over. Big plastic companies told him. Government officials and
politicians told him.
But Vincent just didn't listen. He just keeps sitting out there in Luxemburg producing new
plastic from old. This quixotic notion of Vincent 's that plastic could be recycled started about six
64
years ago. The thought of "hundreds of millions of pounds of plastic containers filling the
country's landfill sites offended Vincen t 's ecological sensibilit ies and his cost accounting
sensibilities. "Some people refer to us as cheap bastards," he said. Plastic bottles were taking
over the milk and fruit juice industry. Millions of bottles were being made and thrown away
everyday. It didn't make sense or cents to Vincent.
"Irv" began wondering if the plastic could be recycled. The big plastics companies
explained to him that it was cheaper to buy new plastic than to recycle old plastic. Landfill
operators, who Vincent thought would be on his side, explained that it would be impossible to
separate plastic from other garbage. He approached politicians if it wouldn't be worth
government money to find out if we could stop wasting a product which is made from valuable
petroleum. "Can't be done", they said.
Through the help of churches, Boy Scout and Girl Scout troops he began collecting old
plastic milk bottles because they were easy to identify and because he knew there were a lot of
them around. In 1979 he bought 275,000 pounds of old milk bottles. The next year he bought
515,000 pounds. He claims that it's a simple process to chop up the old bottles. After that it just
has to be melted. This is not to say that Vincent's experiments with recycling plastic have
followed an unobstructed course. He's invested a few hundred t housand dollars in his cause and
really doesn't have any profits to show for it yet. His problem has been to come up with a use for
it. Not all plastic can be used for all plastic products. Plastic from milk bottles might make good
milk bottles, but they are contaminated. They also have paper labels which would be too
expensive to remove. Vincent grinds up the bottles, labels and all.
That's were Vincent's experiments have come in. They haven't really been experiments in
recycling. They've been experiments in developing new products ...
The future for recycled plastic may not come this year or the next. But Vincent is
committed to help make it com e true. (Copied in part from News-Chroni cle article, Feb 21, 1981)
The NEW Plastics has been genero us in th eir donations to t he fire depa rtment. The
firemen were able to pu rchase new uniforms in 1982.
November 1, 1983 Randy Dalebroux was promoted to production manager. He began in
1971. Randy drives t he semi-truck for lar ge fires. Other drivers, Bob Lohrey, James Thiry,
Ronnie Zellner, Clarence Stach, Jr., Jerry Shefchik and Danny Rank are also qualified to drive the
rig. Doris Berger was cited for her years of service, she started in 1971, serving as an assistant
supervisor since 1982.
* Bio Ch emical Corp.
Fra nk Kowaleski started Bio Chemical Corp in the Industrial Park during 1950 . They
prod uced germicides, household and commercial detergents, rug and floo r cleaners, the "Dairy
Star" detergent which has been found effective in mi lk sto ne removal, and "Hazel's Grease Off", a
household detergent. Th e NEW Plastics purchased the site when more room was needed.
1990 the business expanded with a plant in Coleman, Wisconsin. It allowed NEW Plastics
to keep up with a growing and expanding market in blow-molding and recycling. During 1991 a
fence for the horse shows on the fairgrounds was made from 4 1/2 tons, mostly recycled plastic
milk bottles and high density polyethylene plastic. In 1998 Betty Cravillion and Marian Gaedtke,
retired with 27 and 22 years respectively.
1999-The company sent a shipm ent to Singapore. When th e dea l was completed 245,000
milk bottles were manufactured into various shapes of plastic lumber or posts to be used for
landsca ping and golf course accessories.
Irvin Vincent passed away Septe mber 6, 2003. Today t he company is ru n wi th Steven
Krueger as President, Lynie Vincent as Vice President and Secretary, Nancy Vin cent as Treasurer.

NWTC
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College is a publicly supported, high technology college
working closely w ith businesses and residents of Northeast Wisconsin to provide the education
that resi dents and employers need.

65
In 1968 t he city schools and surrounding areas becam e a single district in the Wisconsin
Techn ical College System. Classes began to extend beyond major cities to rural areas of the
district. Coordinators were hired to work out of their homes, setting up classes that would be of
interest to their communities and renti ng classroom space nearby. Th e first recorded coordinator
for Luxemburg wa s Mr. A. W. Po li ch. In 1998 the NWTC distri ct was divided into regional areas ,
each being served by a centra l facility. The East Regiona l Learning Center was establi sh ed in
Luxemburg in December of 2003 to serve Kewaunee County residents and surrounding areas.
The Regional Center is located on Hwy 54 in Luxemburg, equipped and staffed to provide credit
and non-credit opportunities. A wide range of programs, courses and services are offered.
Dorothy Heim served as coordinator for 15 years. (Submitted by NWTC)

NORTHBROOK COUNTRY CLUB


Northbrook Country Club was the brain child of three area businessmen in the late 1960's,
Tom Rueckl, Sr., Dave Deprey, and "Whitey" Math eys. Soon after plan s began Len Seidl joined
the group and offered his real estate expertise.
A grant was app lied for with the Farmer's Home Administration for com munities under
5,000 people to d evelop recreational property out of farm land. Ledgeview, as it was first called,
was incorporated May 2, 1968. The 160 acre farm of Clifford Fenendael was purchased and
ground broke June 26, 1969. Because of technical difficulties the grant was rescinded and the
named changed to NorthBrook. The original $100 subscriptions were increased to 500 shares.
Most of the original stock holders ( 114) contributed the additional amount. Volunteer work
groups formed to clear and prepare the land. Stock was bartered to purchase necessary
equipment and services. Bridges were built from gra nd sta nd timbers, which was destroyed by a
windstorm a few mont hs before. The original design by Eddie Lang ert, Oneida Golf Pro, was
upgraded .
NorthBrook opened on July 4, 1970, wit h the current two-story club house built in 1972.
The Golf Pro Shop is located on the lower level. Construction of the course was supervised by
Fritz Schaller. His son, Tom served as greens superintendent from the course's beginning to the
present and will retire in 2008. Arlene Denny was in charge of accounting duties. When she
became ill Marion Koehler came to help out, a job that lasted 24 years. The first golf pro was Bob
Conrad, fol lowed by Herbert "Skip" Holm of Minnesota. Northbrook lends its faci lit ies to the youth
of the area in t he summer by giving golf lessons on Fridays (for a slight fee) with parents helping.
Elroy Hoppe was elected president, replacing Len Seid l. A new bridge was built over School Creek
in 1990 and the front entrance remodeled.
Past club Presid ents include, Len Seidl, Elroy Hoppe, Ray Michalski, John Christofferson,
Duane Pike, Jon as Barbiaux, Fran Kahr, Len Lemens, Gary Salmon, Erwin Depas, Ed Dorner, John
Falk and Melanie Wiszbiskie. After a number of short-term managers, Don Zellner was hired in
1973 and worked until 1980. Alan Hoppe took over on April 1,1980 and serves in that capacity at
the present time. Al Hoppe makes a mean "Texas" style ch il i. He won the Ch ili cook-off held in
Green Bay in 1984.
Golf Pros included Bob Conrad, Skip Holms, Jim McNicole, Jack Bauerle, Dave Peot, Jeff
Proper, Dave Span gler, Fred Nadeau, and presently, Matt Nadeau . In addition to member and
public play, the golf course holds a number of charity and corporate golf outings annually .
The head chef is Bi ll Knappm iller, since 1980. The current office manager is Karen
Mleziva . Joyce Pritz! supervises the golf bar and gri ll, a position she has held since 1984.
Previously Esther Smithwick worked in the lower level bar taki ng care of custo mers. Currently
about 350 stockholders own the corporation. (Submitted by NorthBrook)

OAK CREEK ASSISTED LIVING


Located at 409 Third Street , owned by Pam Bauer. Luke Linzmeier built this assisted living
facility in 1996. I purchased the business July 1, 2006. I d ecided to buy this CBRF (Commu nity
Based Residential Facil ity) in Luxem burg because it's a small town with good values and friendly

66
people. Here at Oak Creek we care for residents that are ambulatory, semi-ambulatory, or non-
ambu latory. We also take care of residents that have advanced age , irreversible dementia, and
Alzheimer's. After purchasing the home, new furniture was purchased, carpet installed, an
aqua rium and an aviary added in the great room. Our residents are also in the process of
growing a garden. Every day we have a variety of functions going on, bingo, crafts, dice games,
exercise activities, religious events, loca l entertainment, and neighboring groups that come to
participate in fun activities.
The home has 20 beds and each room is equipped with a bathroom to fit special needs.
We serve home-cooked meals from scratch with special attention for dietary needs. The public is
more than welcome to stop by to partake in game playing or just to say "Hi"! (Submitted by Pam
Bauer)

ORGANIZATIONS

Am erican Legion
Engraved in the hearts and memory of all
America is the heroism of our servicemen and
women. Our freedom shall be an eternal monument
to their memory. Ralph Kline American Legion Post
262 , is named after Ralph Kline who gave his life for
his country in WWI. Private Kline was a member of
Co. F, 168th Infantry, who was killed in Argonne forest
near the village of Laud res, St. George, France. Club house 1954
The post received its charter Apri l 27, 1920. Harold Peters was a charter member, along
with Louis Bredael, Ben Drier, Peter J. Co lle, Ralph Co lle, Fra nk Hoppe, Paul Hoppe, Otto Kaye,
Walter Lenz, Charles B. Linzmeier, John Salmon, Lester Schneider, Walter Siegmund, Frank
Wawrika, and Hugo Zeitler. Peter J. Colle, Commander of the Legion in 1929, presented the
Legion with a Bronze Gavel Bell to be used at meetings.
In 1930 the Legion purchased movie equipment at the Opera House and leased the
building showing silent movies until they gave way to the "talkies". They installed 250 plush red
seats from a Sheboygan theater. The members of the organization decided it would be too costly
to buy the new equipment for talking movies.
The legion sponsored checker tournaments in the 1930's and in 1943 softball tournaments
were started by Marvin Bins. Charlie Barbiaux was the officia l score keeper. In 1954 a new
building was bu il t on Elm Street. Throughout the years the post has helped veterans and fami lies
when the need arose. Aid was given to two young men who went through heart operations, Mark
Thibaudeau and Danny Liebl.
On Memorial Day the legionnaires put flags on every veteran's grave in the Luxemburg
area and fire a volley of ammunition in honor of our deceased veterans. The first commander was
Frank Hoppe in 1921. Earl Peet served as head of the Firing Squad for 53 years. The present
Commander is Frank Heida.
The American Legion Auxiliary, Unit 262 was organized in 1927. They help by giving
monetary aid to the veterans, making quilts, lap robes, bibs, send ing Veterans valentines and
Christmas cards to veterans in hospitals. Fund-raising events are sponsored to pay for Badger
Girl and scholarships. The first pres ident was Laura Peters. Today's President is Levey
Lensmire. The charter members were: Kate Arpin, Stella Arpin, Gladys Bergen, Blanche
Buchanan, Helen Colle, Flora Hoppe, Ruth Hoppe, Hilda Kaye, Laura Peters, and Rose Prokash.
The building was sold to Ron Renard, who remodeled the interior and called it "Home
Base" in 1983. Today it is called Bump- n-Ugly's.

67
Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts
Girl Scouts/Brownies- Juliette Gordon Low is the found er of Girl Scouts of USA, born
October 3 1, 1860. She spent several years searching for somethin g usefu l to do with her life.
Her search ended i n 1911 , when she met Sir Robert Baden-Powell, found er of the Boy Scouts an d
Gi rl Guides, and becam e interested in the new youth movement. On March 12, 1912, Juliette
gath ered 18 girls to reg ister the first troop of America n Girl Guide. Th e nam e was changed to Girl
Scouts the followi ng yea r .
It was in 1948 that Girl Scouts was introduced to t he Lu xemburg area . Si nce then t here
have been som e cha nges . When it was first in t roduced there was on ly one lea der, today th ere
are nine leaders. Over the years the one t hing that has never changed is the motto : Where girls
grow strong; this is where girls can build new friendships outside of school.
Throughout the years the Girl Scouts have always done many things for the community,
such as vi siting nursing homes and hospita ls, col lecting food for the needy, sendi ng cards to
soldiers, painti ng business windows and much m ore . In recent years t hey have started entering
ex hibits at t he county fair . They also do many hands- on- lea rning event s, such as visiti ng zoos,
museums, wea th er stations, farms, veterinary clini cs, fire and poli ce stat ions. They have had th e
op portunity to learn self- defense . Scouting teaches young people crafts, gam es, sewi ng, tie-
dying T-sh irts, and painti ng. They do a ca mp-out every yea r where girls learn about nat ure and
have a good time with other scouts. Perhaps the biggest change in Girl Scouts over t he years is
the uniforms.
Girls start out in Daisys in Kindergaten on to Brownies, which includes first, second, and
third grade girls graduating into Junior Girl Scouts at fourth, fifth and sixth grades . They can
graduate into Cad ets and t hen Senior Girl Scouts.
Boy Scouts/ Cub Scouts - Bay -La kes Council is comprised of seven districts, 22
co unt ies, and over 200 co mmunities in northeast Wi sconsin . Cub Scou tin g- Boys in grad es 1
through 5 are given a st rong foundation on wh ich to bui ld healthy relationships and futu re
dreams. Through t he positive example of pa re nts and adult leaders, they lea rn respect for God,
Count ry and each oth er. The scouting 's 12 co re va lues are: Citizenship, Compassion,
Coo perati on , Cou rage, Faith, Healt h and Fitness, Honesty, Perseverance, Positive Attitude,
Resourcefuln ess, Respect and Responsi bil ity.
There have been many fathers who have become scout leaders in the Luxemburg area
when their sons were in scout ing.
As boys complete fifth gra de, earn t he Arrow of Light, or t urn 11 years of age, they are
ready to continue on t hei r j ourn ey of character development and self discovery . They participate
in outdoor acti viti es such as camping, swimming, mountain biking, raftin g, and more. Over the
years t he scouts have helped th e commun ity by; cl eaning up after the t ractor pu ll at the fa ir,
picking up litter on the st reets in spring, col lecti ng food for the needy, placing fl ags on Main
Street for Memoria l Day, and checking coats at t he Chamber Ch ristm as party.

* Hoppe Band
It was around 1912 that Albert Hoppe's family located in Luxemburg. In 191 5 the
Kewaun ee Enterprise had this to say about the fam ily band:
" One of the features of t his year's county fair was the Hoppe Band, in existence for the
past three years. It consists of ten members, all of the same family. The father, A. M. Hoppe, is
leader and has good ca use t o be proud of his eight children who comprise the band. They are
Emil, William, Frank, Paul, Frieda, Esther, Hilda, Gertrude and a son -in-law, Otto Kaye. We doubt
if t her e is a family an ywhere within Wisconsin or even in the nation that can boast of a band of
nine members. They gave a good account of themselves at the fair and people who were
privileged to hear them were loud in their praises for the good music rendered and for their new
white linen uniforms. The band was cal!ed out for school and church picnics, fairs, bazaars,
concerts and family gatherings. The Hoppe band played for the Kewaunee county Fair for 15
consecutive years. In one year Mr. Hoppe spent over a thousand dollars for band instruments
that he m ight organize the family into a musical unit. At 15 he designed and made his first flute.
Later he saw one in a store at Algoma, but the price was $8 .00 and his m ot her wouldn't let him
68
buy it. He was so disappointed that his father told him secretly to cut an extra cord of bolts, say
nothing about it and use the money to gratify his wish. There was only one condition attached.
He must practice out in the barn so that mother wouldn't learn of their deception. Well, mother
did find out- they always do-but time and pride for her son overcame any other feelings she may
have harbored. As a young man Albert taught music and directed the Hoppe Band, he also
played in other musical organizations".

* Lu xemburg Band 1920's


The band performed at different functions in Luxemburg area. It is not known what
happened to the band. Director P. T. Wheelock graduated from Mozart Conservatory of Music in
Phi ladelphia and played in the Vienna Symphony orchestra.
The members of the Luxemburg Band under the direction of P. T. Wheelock, after devoting
many hours to sound practice, rendered a pleasing concert before a local audience at the Unique
Theatre, Wednesday night, May 10, 1922.
All the numbers rendered were very appropriate for the occasion; one must give Mr.
Wh eelock credit for the assorted variety of selections, consisting of marches, waltzes, overtures,
solos, quartet and a very humorous combination of music touched up with a "Spice of Live"
embodied in the Rural Celebration.
The audience seemed very pleased with the quartet "Gathering Flowers in May" sung by
the Misses Hilda and Frieda Hoppe, Mrs. Frank Hoppe and Mrs. Otto Kaye; the suitable title and
the clear warble of the home talent songsters was welcomed with great applause. Eternal
Sousa's "Stars and Stripes" seemed to be the most familiar and most popular march. Mr.
Wheelock directed the local band thru this number, one could mentally visualize the boys of 1917
marching down the main thoroughfares under the protection of the "Stars and Stripes". Mrs.
Frank Hoppe, one of the most popular local songsters, glided thru the liquid notes of an eternal
solo entitled, "For All Eternity" to the enjoyment of all present.
The "Slim Trombone" made one start for Mr. Hoppe, Sr., put the "p" into "Pep" of t he
selection, with his sharp and shrill thrills of sound, which echoed and re-echoed within the four
walls of the building. The "Tram" impressively told a "bone" of a tale.
The optimistic number was "The Rural Celebration." One sat up and took notice at once,
because of its coincidence with the local county fair. The usual "dawn-breakers, " crowing
roosters, noisy children and fire crackers considered the best advertisers for the occasion met the
eyes and ears of the audience, others of all ages, sizes dimensions and nationalities followed.
The Punkville Band furnished the tunes and rhythm for the specialized hall-scrapers, sweepers
and dust-eaters, wire wigglers and "hum-bug" performers. The results of the races were
announced by the fog-horn of the optimistic manager, who tried to look important. When the
moon shone brightly, the band bellowed "It's time to go", however politely with gems from "Home
Sweet Home." ( From Luxemburg newspaper article May of 1922.)

Lu xe mburg-Casco Community Band


The band was organized in October 1980, as a Northeast Wisconsin Technical College class
for two years. Participants came from Luxemburg, Casco, Green Bay, Algoma and Kewaunee
areas. The first performance was at Luxemburg, St. Mary's Christian Mother's Christmas party in
1982. We have performed at St. Paul's Lutheran School and Church in Montpelier, Kewaunee
Hea lth Care Center, Luxemburg Nursing Homes, Kewa unee Cou nty Dairy Promotion Open Farms,
Pops concerts at the L-C High School in conjunction with the L-C School Bands, Dyckesvil le Lions
Picnic, The International Papermakers Union Conventions, Dana Farm Rededication ceremony,
concerts at Northbrook and at Green Bay Wildlife Sanctuary. Summer parades include the
Kewaunee County Fair, Algoma Shanty Days, Kewaunee Trout Festival and Casco Lions Parad e.

Luxe mburg Chamber of Commerce


It was known as the Town and Country Club when first organized April 26, 1925, with
Charlie Peters as President, Julius Cahn, Secretary and J. Minor Bergen, Treasurer. In 1942 they
arranged for a uniform set of business hours for all business places, agreeing to open on Friday
69
night and cl ose ea rlier on Saturday. The name was changed to Chamber of Commerce with
meetings hel d at various business places.
The purpose of the organization is to energize the local economy of the Luxemburg area .
To encourage and develop positive relationships with the families in th e community; We have
unique activities avai lable, Santa's visit and Easter Hunt. As a Chamber we encourage peopl e to
do business locall y. Opportunities are provided for the pub lic to attend, such as the Dairy Da sh,
SK Run/wa lk event, the Annual Golf Outing, and the Kewaunee County Fair Parade. The
Luxemburg Chamber awards scholarships to seniors in the school distri ct .
The Chamber has helped the community grow by bringing new industry to the area. They
assisted active organizations during the war years. Recreation programs were set up for children,
toys were collected for the Armed Forces and paper drives organized. I n 1949 a tennis court was
constructed and Christmas street decorations purchased . The boo kmobile was brought into
Luxemburg for a few years and the Red Cross Bloodmobile program was sponso red.
The first recipient of the Man of the Year awa rd was John Schwab, Sr., in 1963. In 1971
they also gave out an award for outstanding service to the community, Norman Vandrisse
received the honor. (Information from Luxemburg Chamber of Commerce Secretary , Jean Dax )

* Luxemburg Guard
We don't know the date of in ceptio n. In 1909 the Guard observed Labor Day in
Luxemburg. Immediately a~er church the Guard will march to the cliff where the rifle range has
been established and will spend the day target practicing and picnicking. At 10 a.m. an industrial
parade was headed by the Algoma Band and the Luxemburg Guard, followed by a sham battle
and at night a military ball was held in the Park Hall. Captain Nick Drexler and his aide are to be
congratulated.
During 1910 a m eeting was held for the purpose as to whether the Luxemburg Guards
would re-organize. A large crowd gathered at the park hall eager to continue. Nie Drexler to
again be captain . Several new members plan on joining the organization . (From Luxemburg News
articles)
In May of 1912 Captain Drexler had 14 members and expected to have 6 more by the end
of next w eek.

Luxemburg Jaycees
The Jaycee's charter was formed in spring of 1972, enabling men age 18 to 36 to serve
their community. The Jaycettes charter was begun in fall of 1972. You had to be married to a JC
member to becom e a Jaycette. They worked alongside the men for betterment of Luxemburg.
The group collected and disposed of Christm as trees after the ho lidays. In spring sand was
don ated for sand boxes and were filled upon req uest, money was donated to Cystic Fibrosis
organization; clothes w ere bought for underprivil eged school child ren in the district by holding
rummage sa les and cake walks to raise the mon ey. In 1999 th e Jaycees installed playground
equi pment in the Soccer Park on the south end of Luxembu rg. At the present ti m e there is no
Jaycee organization. (Information from Maynard and Vernie I hlenfeld).

Luxemburg Lions Club


The Luxemburg Lion s Club started on Apri l 5, 1985, with Casco Lion s as our sponsor at
that time. There were 46 cha rter members with Walter Christoff as the first president.
The Lions Club is th e largest organization in the world. We have 1.4 million members in
192 countries. Donation s have been made to the Cerebral Palsy Associ ation, Drug and Domestic
Abuse, Luxemburg Fire and Rescue, to purcha se hosp ital equ ipment, for local hardship cases, and
local scholarships.
The purpose of the Lions Club is to serve the people and the community in which they
belong . We sponsor an event called "Ladies Night Out." Fund raisers include a cal endar raffle, an
auct ion at the Luxemburg Sportsman 's Club and Brat Fry's at Stodola's IGA.
Most of our mon ey goes to the needy in our school district-eye glasses for children in
school who cannot afford th em-The Lions Camp near Waupaca where physica lly challenged
70
children can attend for a week. We hold several eye screenings throughout our area each year.
There is hospital equipment that we loan to anyone, tem porarily, who need help. At the present
time we are improv-ing the playground equipment at the park .
Currently we have 30 members in the Luxemburg Lions Club, and continue to seek new
members. Our meeting is held the 4 th Monday of the month at Burdick's Bar. (Submitted by Russell
Rodraln, Secretary Luxemburg Lions Club)

* Stahl Band
Alois Stahl was born in the village of Hammern, Bohemia on June 28, 1845 to Matthias and
Anna Marie Stahl. At the age of seven he began his musical studies under professor Fleishman
and the Johan Strauss family.
After this period of musical training he served his mandatory service in the 8th Regiment of
Dragoons in Austria, where he played in the Queen's band. When his mandatory time was served
he returned to Hammern, organized a band, and for three years played at local and state
functions.
It was after this time that the decision was made to come to America, settling in
Luxemburg, WI. Alois reorganized the band with all the men that played with the band in
Hammern. They performed in the Luxemburg area, surrounding counties and various parts of
Wisconsin, playing for weddings, social functions, and funerals.
Band members for over 38 years were his three sons, Jacob, Rudolph, and Bernard. Other
members were George Rueckl, Sr., George Rueckl, Jr., Lou is Rueckl, Alfred Rueckl, Frank Ricki,
Wolfgang Oberhofer, Jacob Lieb l, Rev. John Videnka, Charles Seid l, Albert Nulichek, Joseph Liebl,
Charles Baierl, and son-in-laws, Ole Evenson and John Kinnard, along with his two grandsons, Ed
and Joe Linzmeyer.
Alois also was a teacher, giving music lessons to people in the area . As the leader of the
Casco band and the instructor for the Algoma band, he was known as Professor Stahl. He
composed music, some of which was said to have been sold to John Phillip Sousa. A few of his
compositions are: The Luxemburg City March, Bishops March, Beautiful Lake Michigan March, The
Free and Easy March, and the Violin Polka. His musical talent has been passed down thru several
generations.
Alois died March 16, 1908 and is buried with his clarinet in St. Mary's Cemetery,
Lu xem burg. (Story by Ervin Stahl)

Stahl Band
Back row: Frank Ricki, Louis Rueckl, George Rueck!,
Jr., Jacob Liebl
Front row: Wolfgang Oberhofer, George Rueckl Sr.,
Rev. John Videnka, Alois Stahl, and ??

71
OTTO' S MEATS - * DAUL MEAT CUTTING
Bob Dau l built the building in 1953, insta lled a cooler and began butchering and custom
cutting of m eat for customers. He previously was a dairy inspector. His wife Myra, and their two
so ns, Gary and Ron helped out while going to high school, and later worked full time until the
death of Ron.
We purchased the business from Bob Daul in 1980, located on Adams Street. During 1985
a new building was erected across the road. More room was needed to produce a variety of new
products and the facility was in line with state regulations. We process beef, pork, calves,
buffalo, lamb, emu, and do all our own home smoked meats and sausages. Most recently we
became certified to sell organic meats . That means everything is the natural way with no
chemi ca ls in the meat and produced with sea sa lt, chemical free seasonings , with no foreign
ingredients used.
The company employs ten people, with some part-time help. My wife, Carol, also helps
out. ( Submitted by Otto)

PACKERLAND WHEY PRODUCTS INC.


The plant was bu ilt in 1973, a 80'x120' building on Th ird Street in Luxemburg. The
owners included: East Krok Cheese Factory, Krohn Dairy Products, Ellisvil le Co-op Dairy, Thiry
Daems Cheese Factory, Potts Blue Star Cheese Factory, Eil ers Cheese Factory of Denmark, WI,
an d Maurer Cheese of DePere. The first president was Leo Krohn; with Gerald Nellis, Vice-
Presi dent; Richard Lensmire, Secretary; Jerry Potts, Treasurer; Carl Maurer, Daniel Ratajczak and
Arno ld VanGothem, directo rs. Harry Bohm was hired as plant manager in January 1974.
The plant removes 80% of the water from whey . The raw wh ey comes in from the seven
cheese plants in three 4,500 gallon tankers. From there it goes to a 5,000 gallon storage tank,
on through a plate heater of 145 degrees F., from which it is pumped into one of two stai nless silo
tan ks, each holding 126,000 pounds of whey. It is then pumped to a plate heater exchange
where it is heated to 160 degrees. From here t he product is moved into a feed or bala nce tank,
whence it is pumped into the first hot well and then into the seco nd hot well, each holding 2,000
ga llons of product. Next it goes into the first effect where heat is maintained at 160 degrees for
half a minute, after which it passes into the second effect, subjected to 140 degrees; then into
the third effect at 105 degrees. The product, now condensed whey, is a heavy liquid t hat is put
through a heat exchanger at 140 degrees to keep the liquid from becoming more solid than liquid
and to prevent the lactose from crysta lizing. The condensed whey is transferred i nto tankers to
await shipm ent.
September of 1979, Dr. Fred Juengst, Jr., director of research for Calor Agricultural
Research, Inc., annou nced that key staff and labo ratory facilities involved in Lacto -Whey research
will be moved from Okemos, Michigan to Luxemburg by mid-September. A new laboratory and
research installation will be added to the $2.5 million Lacto-Whey expansion project now under
construction at Packer-l and Whey products. Calor developed technology which converts whey, a
surplus by-product of cheese production, into a 44% protein supplement which ca n be substituted
for expensive soybean m eal in rations of dairy and beef anima ls. When compl eted, the plan t will
have the capacity to convert two million pounds of whey into 100 tons of valu able livestock
protein each day.
Since 1979, the plant has been manufacturing Lacto-Whey and utilizing the by- product,
lactose crystals, in 55 gallon barrels called Hi-Energy. The pricing of the liquid animal feed was
com pa red to the soybean market. In the late 8Q's the soybean market was high with sales of 90
semi-loads per month. The majority of the Lacto-Whey was sh ipped in 50,000 pound semi -
ta nkers to dairi es in Florida and feed lots in Iowa. There w ere also Wisconsi n dairies in Kewaunee,
Manitowoc and Brown Counties utilizing t his product in th eir dairy rations. Packerland Whey
Products of Wisconsin sales force co nsisted of Norm Kl arkowski, Bil l Trindal, Gary LeRoy, Joe
Lemens, Gary Kolstad, Tom Moeller and Dick Dombeck, along with George Haas in Florida and
Dave Brody in Iowa.

72
From 1979 to 1997 the board members for Packerland Whey Products, Inc., were: Jerry
Nellis, President; Howard Renard, Vice President; Jerry Potts, Treasurer; Dr. Fred Juengst,
Secretary; Chuck Krohn and Dan Ratajczak, Sr., board members. (Dan Sr. Was replaced by Dan
and Angie Ratajczak in 1991) In 1998, Weyauwega Milk Products Inc./Simons Specialty Cheese
purchased Krohn Dairy (now Trega Foods) and replaced Ch uck Kroh n on the board initially by
Richard Wagne r and then Dan LaMarche .
The plant added waste water treatment in 1987, with an addition completed in 1990. This
addition gave the plant the ability of no longer having to send their wash water to the village
sewer, but direct discharge to a drainage ditch. With the high volume of barrels Dr. Fred Juengst
also added a third product from Hi-Energy, a dryer product Glucogen.
In 2000, long t ime director of research/plant manager, Dr. Fred Juengst retired. Th iry
Deams Cheese Factory, Inc. and Trega Foods purchased ownership shares from Jerry Nellis, Jerry
Potts and Howard Renard. The two plants had 50/50 ownership up until December 2004 and
Thiry Daems Cheese Factory, Inc., became sole owner of Packerland Whey Products, Inc.
In 2005-2006 Packerland Whey aggressively researched the manufacturing of ethanol
from whey perm eates. The plant is projecting start up in mid-June of 2007. The majority of the
processing is already in place and used for Lacto-Whey production. The initial volume of ethanol
figured is projected to be 1.2 million gallons per year. The plant has the ability of manufacturing
ethanol and Lacto-Whey and plans on keeping both customer bases fulfilled. (Submitted by Packerland
Whey)

PERFORMANCE PARTS - * LIBERT MOTOR SUPPLY


The business began in 1981 when the company leased the old Ben Krueger building. The
former tenants, Batten 's Hardware, built a new store. Libert Motors, with Jim and Mike Li bert as
partners, leased the building until the Bank of Luxemburg purchased it for parking space . A new
store was built alongside Batten's Hardware. Today the business is known as Performance Parts.

PREMIER TRAVEL AGENCY - * ROSY'S COZY CORNER


Premier Travel opened for business on June 1, 2000 at 407 Center Drive in Luxemburg.
Ann Kulhanek is the owner/manager of the travel agency that specializes in vacation travel, with
an empha sis on Honeymoon and Destination Weddings. We are specialists in Hawaii, Alaska, the
Caribbean, Mexico, Tahiti, New Zealand and have a Master Cruise Counselor on staff. We
currently have two emp loyees.
The building wa s built by Dr Dow. He and Dr. Fletcher operated a veterinary clinic for a
few years before selling to Dale and Lavonne Nimmer, who remodeled the building and called it
the "Hard Rock Cafe" in the late 1960's. The next proprietor, Audrey and Gordon Rozinsky,
named the restaurant "Rosy's Cozy Corner". Jim and Myra Tlachac purchased the building and
converted it into a convenience store and gas station. Ross Tlachac bought the site and resold to
Casco FS Company. They sold the property to Ann Kulhanek. (Submitted by Ann Kulhanek)

QUALi T SCREENING, INC. - * BAY RIDGE SPECIALTIES


Quali T Screening, Inc. originated in the home of Marlene Doell in 1990. After long days of
silk screen printing and sell in g at the kitchen tabl e she decided there was a large demand for the
embroidery and screen print business in Luxemburg and opened a store at 108 Coll e Street. She
rented a building from Jim and Myra Tlachac and later from Bill and Barb Koffman.
Susan (Doell) Heim, daughter of Marlene, purchased the business setting high goals as she
envisioned the business would mushroom moving all production equ ipment "in-house" to 513
Center Drive, along with expanding their "Luxemburg-Casco Spartan" apparel line. They brought
the business to the next level and advanced i nto selling on the internet offering on their website,
www.shopQualiT.com, everything from screen printed: tees for walks and teams, embroidered:
jackets, caps, golf towels for corporations throughout the United States and Canada, along with
73
selling creative ideas and products in the promotional industry. At Quali T, they don't just meet
their customers' needs they exceed them by constantly striving for excellence in everything they
do, per Sue Heim, Manger. They guarantee all their work and ensure that the ordering is hassle-
free.
She also stated that Qua li T takes pride as they go to local events and see the fans
weari ng thei r t rendy Spartan Spirit Apparel. (Submitted by Sue Heim)

* Bay Ridge Specialties


Frank Kowalski of Bay Settlement established Bay Ridge specialties in 1960. He built a
store at the corner of Colle Street and Highway 54. The employees packaged bulk candy, nuts,
pork hocks, polish sausage into retail packaging. At Christmas time they prepared small bags of
candy for Santa Claus. In the peak season he employed 22 people. His son Donald took over
operations when Frank retired in 1965, and moved the business back to Bay Settlement. The
building was joined to Stodola's IGA store. Quali T purchased the part of the building t hat Bay
Ridge Special t ies occupied.

REAL ESTATE BUSINESS


Ole Everson was a partner with Julius Cahn in selling real estate in the 1920's. August
Spitzer was also a real estate agent. Jim Miller sold real estate in 1960's for Meacham Realty in
Green Bay before going into business for himself. Jim's son- in -law, Tom Baierl, worked for him.

* RED OWL STORE - * CASH WAY MARKET - * LIEBL GENERAL STORE


Louis Liebl built the store in 1903 and operated it until he moved to Sherry to work as a
cheese maker. Charles B. Zellner began his harness sho p here, moving to hi s new building in
1913. The next business to occupy the establishment was the Unique Theatre run by Frank
Wawrika. Frank was an accomp lished musician and played with va ri ous popular orchestras. The
Theatre had a balcony and a stage. In 1914 a fire broke out in the engine room threatening to
destroy the building and the post office next door.
After the lease ran out in 1917 the building was converted into a lunch room with Mr and
Mrs. Leonard LaPlant leasing the lunch room from Louis Liebl. The next proprietor was Mrs.
Barbara Linzmeier, who managed the business and hired Philomene Kohlbeck as waitress. After
two years Barbara departed and Anton Worachek of Slovan became the owner of the ice cream
parlor. The Post Office on the south side 11,9.!lrlf KVOOL
0
of the building relocated across the street ' f l• ,
and a feed store opened during 1929, run 5S' 39
by Dick Rueckl. The Gamble Store
opened in the main part, operated by
Herbert Cepek, succeeded by Elmer
Mornard. September, 1935 the Cash
Way Store opened its door with Anton
Flegel as manager and his wife Mabel,
clerk. The Red Owl Stores later bought
out the Cash Way line and ran the store
under the same manager, eventually
moving next door to larger quarters. The
building was vacant except for an
apartment upstairs occupied by Ethel and
brother John Liebl. The structure burnt
in 1980's. Mabel and Tony Flegel

74
RETZLAFF WELL DRILLING
The Retzlaff Well Drilling Compan y was st arted by Julius Retzlaff and Joseph Seidl when
th ey purchased a drilling rig from Henry Harting er
and Albert Lohf in 1922. Julius built another
machine in Kollross's blacksmith shop in South
Luxemburg. Joseph Seidl left the business a few
years later. After years of p roviding water for
farmers and villag e peop le Julius retired turning t he
business over to hi s twin sons, Alois and Amos .
Back in 1916 Albert Lohf and Henry Hartinger went
to the farm of Joseph Pauli to resume drilling
operations from the day before and were amazed to
see the well over-flowing. A depth of 30 feet had
been reached when they stopped drilling. There was
sufficient pressu re to force the water t hrough the
Retzlaff first drilling rig residence and barn s of Mr. Pauli.

Alois bought a cable machine in 1947 and Amos purchased the old one in 1952. They
each ran their own rig. Cab le machines can drill about 50-60 wells per year. In 1972 Alois
purcha sed a rotary machine that drilled 20 feet per hour, compared with a cable machine's two
feet per hour. Th e cable ma chine used a temp ered steel bit, whereas a rotary machine requ ires a
ca rbide bit.
Son Jerry joined t he bu siness in 1967. The deepest well ev er dri lled was nea r Bay
Settlement to a depth of 500 feet. After 1980 some wells were drill ed to a depth from 600 to 900
feet. In 1977 a new rig was purchased with an air hammer that drilled through rock at 60 to 80
feet per hour. When my dad passed away in 1986 I was the sole owner.
On July 1, 2006, Da ve Gregorich bought out my rig and today it is called Retzlaff &
Gregorich Well Drilling, LLC. (Submitted by Jerry Retzlaff)

RHYTHM IN MOTION - No information available.

RICE ENGINEERING
The business was started by Dave Rice in 1994 and originally located in Kewaunee, WI. As
the business grew and more employees were hired, it became necessary to relocate to a larger
bu ild ing. After researching the availability of sites in the area, we pu rchased the land at the
corner of Hwy 54 and School Creek Trail in Luxemburg . The visibility from the highway and
closer proximity to Green Bay were major factors in the decision process. October 2001 Rice
Engineering moved into its new space here in Luxemburg.
Startin g out as a on e-man operation specializing in cu rtain wall engineering, Rice has
grown st eadi ly over the years, both in the number of em ployees and the number of services it
offers. The current staff cons ists of 24 full-time eng ineers, registered land surveyors, and
support staff, also four part-tim e sum mer interns from local universities. We are licensed in al l
50 states, Mexico, Guam, and have other licensors pending. Rice Engineering does consulting
engineering for curtain wall and windows, structural engineering, building inspections, bu ilding
design and state su bmittals, transportat ion engineering and mun icipal design, for sunshades,
ca nopies, louvers, and railing s, all types of surveying services, subdivision plats and planning,
flood elevation certificates, storm water a nalysis a nd structura l, building, and construction layout
staking. A building addition, which will roughly double the size of the existing bu il ding is planned
for the sum mer of 2008. (Story by Rice Engineering)

75
* ROBIN 'S NEST - * LOVE IS AGELESS
Brian Daul and Sally Schuyle opened the business in spring of 1995 as an assisted living
home with a Class C license, which means it can take in residents that need a little extra care.
The home has 8 rooms with a twin bed, dresser, night stand , private cable TV, telephone, a nurse
ca ll system and a half bath. There is a room set up for tub baths and a shampoo sink, while
another has a large walk-in shower with special equipment. The business was later sold to Diane
Weyenberg, who operated the home until 2005. At this writing the building is vacant.

ROCKS OF AGES
Sheila Nimmer opened for business September 14, 2007 in the former St. John's Lutheran
Church building. She sells ready-made jewelry, beads and supplies to create your own personal
jewelry. Bead classes are available for levels of beaders. Sheila formerly worked for Aude's
Jewelry in Luxemburg when Don and Jan Aude ran the business. (Story from Shiela Nimmer)

ROCKY'S APPLIANCE - * HANK'S APPLIANCE - * BLAH BARBIAUX APPLIANCE


Clem "Blah" Barbiaux first worked for Kieweg - Peters Store in Luxemburg fixing appliances
and selling them. In 1938 he worked for Maytag Company at Chilton and started in business for
himself in 1939 selling Philco appliances and radios. He purchased a house in 1943. Three years
later a new store and workshop were erected on the southwest side of Blah's house. His motto in
business was "When we sell it, we service it. " Bill Hermans worked for Blah before starting his
own plumbing business.
Hank Kollross began working for the firm January 1, 1947, after a stint in the U.S. Army.
April of 1970 Hank and Joanne Kol lross bought the business and Hank continued to be the
"Maytag Man". In 1984 the business moved to South Luxemburg, to his old homestead wh ich
had been owned by Fritz Linzmeier. "Hank's Appliance" operated out of a remodeled building
which included South End Saloon. Since 1994 the business is run by son-in-law, "Rocky"
Romuald and wife Robin, with son Bob, who joined the business on May of 2005. (Submitted by
Rocky's Appliance)

RON 'S WISCONSIN CHEESE - * NELLIS BEER DISTRIBUTING


The business began in 1912 with John Nellis acting as an agent for Camille Stage, the local
manager for Rahr Brewing Co. After John died his son Sy Nellis moved from Milwaukee to take
over the beer distributing business run by hi s mother. The site located at 206 Main Street was
bought by Norman Vandrisse in 1958 and remodeled.
Ron's Wisconsin cheese beg an in February of 1976, owned by Ron and Marilyn Renard.
Ron was a licensed cheese maker and cheese grader, and wanted to start his own business.
Ron's Cheese was first a retail store with a Laundromat and self-serve carwash. In 1978 Ron
began making cheese spreads; we now make 14 different kinds, with our Spreadable Cream
Cheese with Herbs and Spices being our biggest seller. In 1990 our son Terry graduated from
college with a degree in Business Management and became part owner. We expanded the
wholesale side of the business to include the entire state of Wisconsin.
In 1992 an addition was beg un to enlarge the packaging and retail store. In March of
2000 we incorporated to become Ron 's Wisconsin Cheese, Inc. A fire destroyed the interior of the
store in May 2002, including the Laundrom at and carwash. It took six months to restore the
business to the present condition. During 2002 we bought the former Luxemburg Clinic building
as we needed more storage and parking. In May of 2005, we sold our half of the business to
another son, Tim. Our two sons continue to carry on the business, offering the freshest and
hig hest quality products to our customers. (Submitted by Renard family)

76
ROSE BEAUTY SALON
In 1962 Rose Gillis started a beauty shop in her home at 1330 Main Street. After Rose
retired her daughter Barbara Phillips continues to run the business. (Information from Barb Phillips)

RUECKL TRAILER PARK - * RUECKL HOME BUILDERS


The company began with Norbert Rueckl in 1969. He previously worked for Van's Lumber
and Meacham Rea lty. The property once belonged to the first family (Merens) who arrived in
Luxemburg in 1854.
In 1970 a mobile home trailer park was started. It is now owned and maintained by Ed
Rueck I.

RUECKL SUPERIOR HOMES


The business was started in 1977 when we bui lt homes. In 1995 we started doin g custom
millwork for supp li ers on the who lesa le level. Our territory consists of mainly the Wisconsin area
with some suppliers in the Upper Peninsula. We have four fu ll-time employees. (Submitted by Steve
Rueck!)

ST. JOHN LUTHERAN CHURCH


The church was organ ized in 1874. The first
building was a log structure that was built around
1876 at the site of St. John Cemetery, east of town
on Rockledge Road. It was eventually replaced by
a frame structure. In 1902, a larger building was
constructed and in 1913 a school was added .
The first president was John Bauer, with
Carl Radue as secretary. The Board of Trustees
was, Carl Radue, August Radue, and J. Vorpahl.
The name chosen was The German Evangelical
Lutheran Church. During 1913 an addition was
built for a school. The Ladies Aid society was
organized in 1916. They have made quilts, lap
robes for World Relief Mission for many yea rs.
Ascension Day 1918, lightning struck the steeple and the ch urch burned to the ground.
Divine services were held in the ban k basement until the church was rebuilt in 1921 on St. John
Street. A new pipe organ was install ed on August 24, 1924. The new church entrance was added
in 1973.
Blessed by God, the congregation eventually outgrew the space available at the St. John
Street site, and in 2006 built a new bui lding at 700 Heritage Road.
For many years St. Johns was served by pastors from congregations at Montpelier and
Rankin. St. John became an independent congregation in 1953 and called its own pastor.
The congregation has had two sons of the congregation go on to serve in the ministry.
Rev. Leonard Schneider grew up in Luxemburg and served in congregations in Iowa and
Wisconsin until his death in 1970. Rev. Steven Anderson also grew up in Luxembu rg and served
congregations in Minnesota before accepting a ca ll to Gleason, Wisconsin, where he currently
ministers.
A parsonage was built in 1952, with the first resident pa stor Donald Schulz, installed
February of 1953. Through his efforts membersh ip and church attendance increased.
April 1962 Pastor Theodore Hilgendorf was installed as a faithful servant of the
congregation until his retirement in 1973. Rev. Roland H. Roehrs was the next pastor. Under his
direction a Ladies Guild was organized. He left in December of 1976 and St. John was left without
a pastor for the next one and a half years . The parish was served by Leslie Weerts, a vacancy
77
pastor. In 1978 Rev. Carl Bornmann answered the call. Aher his death, the next pastor wa s
Dav id Wetmore who took over April 1, 200 1. Flora Ledvi na served as Sunday School Teach er for
32 years. (Submitted by St. Johns)

ST. MARY'S CATHOLIC CHURCH


St. Mary's Catholic Church began as a
mission post in 1862. Land was deeded to
th e parish from Nicholas Merens and the
cem etery property was attained from Johann
Kaut and blessed by Rev . Pfaller. The early
parishioners were: Nick Merens, Peter Colle,
Johann and Nick Kaut, Nick Peat, Theodore
and Frank Wunsch, Lawrence Daul, Michael
u and Peter Arendt, Nick Peat, Anton, John,
Frank, August and Jacob Spitzer, Andrew
Schroeder, John and George Salentine,
Andrew Wahl, Michael Haen, Joseph
Hartinger, August Martin and Daniel Daul.
These early pioneers were visited by the
missionary priest, Father Albers. During 1862 Rev . F. X. Pfal ler, pastor of the German
congreg ation of Green Bay attended these people once a month, saying mass in a small school
house. With encou rag ement from Father Pfaller these families erected a log church in 1864.
For some time Luxemburg was attended as a mission from New Franken. The first to
assume charge was Rev. Cam encind, who came in 1869. Other priests to serve St. Mary's were;
Rev. Boden, Rev . Leitner, Rev. Welbes from 1870 to 1875-he bought a be ll for the church at a
cost of $329. Next, Father Guenterscheid stayed for only three months. First resident pastor in
1876 was Rev. Videnka. He arranged for the stations of the cross to be purchased and made
other improvements . In 1881 Rev. Hugo Praessor took charge of the congregation. He
established a parochial school and engaged Miss Weiss as the first teacher and organist. He was
also successful in efforts to erect a new stone chu rch in 1882.
The cornersto ne was laid in 1883 and on January 1, 1884, the first services were held.
The old church was remodel ed for a school , which was given in charge of the Franciscan Sisters of
Milwaukee. They lived in the little house built for Miss Weiss. Rev. John A. Drees was appointed
successor by Right Rev. Bishop Krautbauer. On September 29, 1885, the Feast of the Archangel
Michael, the church was furni shed with two side altars and a communion rail, consecrated by
Bishop Krautbauer. An altar of marble was donated by the congregation. Relics of the Holy
Martyrs St. Celestine and St. Modestus remain in the consecrated altar. The sister house was
built in 1889 under Father Drees administration. In 1892 the parish received two new bells. One
was blessed in honor of the Mother of God and the second in honor of St. Joseph. The next
pastor was Rev. C. Ulrich, who stayed for the next three years and during his time established the
Holy Rosary Society. Rev. Michael Schoell came to St. Mary's August 14, 1896, with a parish of
128 families and a parochial school attendance of 130 students. Rev. Schoell also took care of
Sacred Heart Church near Scarboro. The first class to graduate from St. Mary's School included;
Hilary Peat, Andrew Peat, Laura Joerger, Clothilda Ru eckl and Mary Schroeder. In September of
1899 lightning struck the steepl e and did considerable damage.
The next priest was Rev . C. Krieger, during whose time a new brick school was built and
staffed by the sisters of St. Francis, Milwaukee. Rev. John A. Holzknect came in July of 1902 and
engaged the S.D.S. Sisters of St. Nazianz to teach in the school. He leh in November of that
year. Father C. Ulrich returned to serve until June 15, 1905.
Reverend Henry Hunck was installed as pastor on November 23, 1905. At this time the
congregation became involved in a court procedure con ce rning the school and Sisters of St.
Nazianz no longer taught school. There was no parochial school in 1906-07 . In 1913 a residence
was built to house the Sisters. During this time Father Hunck engaged the Sisters of St. Joseph

78
of Milwaukee and enlarged the present church to cruciform style, at a cost of $6,609.40; at a
time when the total income of the year was less than $1,000. The church was re-con secrated by
His Excellency Bishop Joseph J. Fox on October 16, 1906. During 1911 stai ned glass windows
were installed, donated by parish members. (Bought from Munich Studio of Chicago) . (In part from
Luxemburg News article 1963)
In March of 1925 a new pipe organ was insta lled and dedicated on the first Su nday in
April. 1927-New pews were installed and Rev Hunck left St. Mary's . May 13th of that year
Reverend John Huhn was named pastor, servin g the parish for 30 years. Cyclone Sally, a three-
act comedy put on by the Luxembu rg Drama Club, directed by Re·v. J. Huhn, with proceeds going
toward payment for the sidewalk from t he village to South Luxemburg. A new fence was placed
around the cemetery in 1938. John Huhn was elevated to Monsignor in 1949. During 1951 a six-
room parochial school, with basement, library and office, was erected at a cost of $143, 00 0.
After Monsignor Huhn 's death Reverend William Stenge l was tempo rary admin istrator. Reverend
William Hemauer arrived on March 1, 1958. Since that time two more rooms were added to the
school and the interior of the church redecorated.
About 1967 the 7th and 8th grades were transferred to the Junior High School at Casco .
Rev. Benedict Marx was appointed pastor in 1968. The sisters of St. Francis no longer suppl ied
teachers and lay teach ers were hired.
January of 1971 Raymond Rueck!, the custodian of St. Mary's, died alter 12 years of
service to St. Mary's church and school. George Weinfurter took over t he position until 1977 .
John P. Seidl of South Luxemburg was janitor during the 1940's. One day he overs lept from
tipping too many beers the night before, missed ringing the church bells, and was promptly fired.
Jacob Dorner was another custodian who rang the bells for 5 o'clock mass in the morning, cut t he
grass in summer, shoveled the sidewalk and kept the furnaces going in winter.
The church wa s redecorated in time for Easter se rvices in 1980. Cari ll on bells were
donated by the Simonar Family, along with tapes providing music at noon and before mass. After
12 years at St. Mary 's Reverend Marx retired wit h Reverend Milton Suess, of Pilsen, as the new
pastor.
Martha Schwab served the parish as organist for many years. Dona ld Ledvina and Lynn
Seidl have also faithfu lly served in t hat capacity.
St. Mary's convent was demolished in 1988. It was home to the sisters who taught school
for 75 years. June 6, 1992 Paul Paider was ordained a priest. Other altar boys who became
priests from St. Mary's were, Fr. Robert Colle and Fr. Felix VanDrisse,
In 1993 a new roof was put on th e church. A Historical marker was placed in the
cem etery, Septembe r of 1994. It was sent to Luxembu rg by the people of Luxembourg as a
token of thanks for our American boys who fought for their freedom in WWII. New pews were
installed in 1997 and a new parish ha ll completed in fall of 1998. With the building of the parish
hall, a new digital system of musical recordings was insta lled and it plays recordings of pealing
bell before masses, at noon, and when a parishioner dies.
Principal Linda Gerlach retired alter 24 years as a teacher in 2000. Other parish members
who served as teachers in St. Mary's School: Madonna Thibaudeau, Michelle Kinnard, Sue
Stodola, Marlene Rapson and Roxanne Zellner. Mrs. Thibaudeau also served as school secretary,
a position now fill ed by Lila Daul. Robert Miller has been a Deacon si nce 2005, assistin g Father
Suess.
St. Mary's priest is Father Milton Suess. The secretary at the present time is Linda Tupa
and William Matchefts is the school principa l.

S.A.S. FORKS - * SAS AUTO


Elmer Secker of Kewaunee and Lee Anderson of Luxemburg became co-owners of SAS,
(the former Sell's Chevrolet Garage) in 1977. They specialized in parts and sales of small
American and foreign made cars. In 1980 Elmer became sole owner and moved the sa lvage yard
operation to a new 50'x264' bu ildin g on Highway 54. An addition was completed in 1981. Th e
orga nization is known today as SAS Forks , with part of the structure rented to other businesses.

79
SALENTINE CONSTRUCTION, LLC
Salent ine Construction sta rted busi ness in September of 2006 . Dick Salentine, owner, has
20 years of experi ence from working with his father-in-law, Roger TeKulve of TeKulve
Construction . The company featu res custom homes, remodeli ng, si ding, roofing, deck ing, etc.
(Submitted by LeeAnn Salent ine)

SALMON MEAT PRODUCTS


Salm on Meat Product s, I nc., currently owned by Glen and Gary Salmon, has been a pa rt of
Luxemb urg 's hi sto ry for m any years.
The Salmon roots date back t o th e 1900's wh en George Kohlbeck, grandfather to Leo
Sa lmon, started "Koh lbeck's Meat Market" in South Luxemburg. They bought and slaugh tered
cattle whi le operat ing a reta il meat and sausage store . Ed Kohlbeck, son of George, also assisted
in t he operation of the business. In 1936 Leo Sa lmon, oldest son of Ph ilom ene Kohlbeck,
George 's oldest daughter, j oined the Kohlbeck Meat Market ope rat ion. It was the height of t he
depression and Leo, old est of thirteen children, took the job t o help support t he family. It w as
t here tha t Leo learned m any of the ol d Kohlbeck sausage recipes.
After serving his country in WWII, Leo returned to Luxemburg. I n t he 1950's he left the
meat market t o start a new adventure. Leo and his cousin, Don Barbiaux, started " Salmon and
Barbiaux Highway 29 Sausage Company". The busin ess sl aughtered beef and pork, and
processed a sma ll amount of sausage. Du ring 1966, Leo and Don split the business . Don
Ba rbiaux stayed with th e Highway 29 Sausage Company, Leo and his wife Mari an, started a
business known as " Salmon's Meats", located at 107 Fou rth in
Luxemburg. Koh lbeck's Meat Market had discontinued
operations and it was always Leo's ambition to bring the
business back to Luxemburg. Our firm specializes in smoked
and fresh sausage for wholesa le and retail and sales.
I n 1975 the business was incorporated and Glen and
Ga ry Salmon became partners with their father Leo. The
company th en took on the name known tod ay as, " Salmon 's
Meat Produ cts, Inc. " Th e business provides a retail shop,
along with wholesa le sales to supermarkets and restaurants
throughout Northeastern Wisconsin . The old Koh lbeck ring
bologna and wiener recipes are still used today, with the
additi on of new products developed by Gary and Glen. New
homestyle summ er sausag e, beef sticks, beef j erky, Belgian
tripp, potato sa usage, doubl e smoked ba con, country smoked
ham s and the holi day favo rite, seasoned raw beef. Salmon's
smoked products are sti ll cured t he old fashioned way for 48 ....:::::i
__
hours before the final processing. Leo with Marquette coach, Al McGuire
Wh en form er residents ret urn to Luxemburg, " Salm on's Meat Products" has become a
must stop fo r them. Two of Sa lmon's most nota ble custom ers are former Pa cker Coach Vin ce
Lombardi ( loved the season ed raw beef) , and Marquette leg enda ry basketball coach, Al McGuire.
McGu ire later add ressed a LC High School ath letic banq uet fo r the modest fee of five ri ng s of
Salm on's Ring Bo logna . We thank all our customers, and hope to serve you for another 100
yea rs. (Submited by Salmon Family)

SEIDL CONSTRUCTION
Cletus Seidl started in t he building t rade in 1941 as an app re ntice of Joseph Daul and
Desire Tha yse. In 1950 he and Ali ce purchased a lot from August Spitzer and bu ilt his first home
that he sold to Robert Daul. Seidl Construction built many homes and commercial buildings in
Luxemburg . The Phillips 66 Station, St. Mary's convent addition, Luxemburg Clin ic, Don's Bakery,
Luxem bu rg Motel, a day ca re center and apartment buildings. Sons Jack and Joe Seidl join ed
80
their father in the firm and upon Cletus' retirem ent in 1981, th ey took over the business.
Because of medical problems in 1993, Joe retired from construction work. Today Jack, his wife
Mary Kay and son Steve now make up Seidl Construction, Inc. in custo m hom e bui lding and
remodel ing . Cletus and Alice developed Rock Ledge Subdivision in the 1960's on the Northeast
corner of Main Street. Jack and Mary Kay made an addition to the devel opment in 2001. We are
deeply appreciative of our past and present employees and clients. (Submitted by Seidl family)

SEIDL ELECTRIC - *ULLSPERGER ELECTRIC


Emil Ullsperger was Luxemburg's first electrician in 1929 when he leased th e old post
office quarters from Louis Liebl for his shop. In 1937 he build a new shop at 412 Elm Street. The
business was sold to Frances "Frankie", " Spa rkie" Seidl in 1953. He studied at Coin Electric
School in 1948. Frankie first worked for Bloeborn Electric and DeBaker Electric from 1949 to
1953 . In 1972, son Bill, joined the firm. Franki e died in 1997 after 40 years being an electrician .
During the years he had a few mi shaps, one in particul ar was wh en they were in stalling
eq uipment at Krohn's Cheese Factory and a boi ler exploded, with Fra nkie receiving head and ri b
injuries.
Bill Seidl took over the business in 1983 when his father was no longer able to work
because of a stroke. (Information from Bill Seidl)

* SELLS' CHEVROLET
In 1937 George Anderso n, of Dalebrou x
and Anderson in Casco, pu rchased land across
from the Luxemburg Furniture Company from Sy
Malcore. (Originally the site of a cheese factory
and later a monum ent business where caskets
were stored, operated by Nie Drex ler.) Georg e
operated t he garage until 1941, selling to Louis
Se ll who had been employed at the Meisler Garage
for 21 years.
Long time employee was Elmer Janet. Louis
sold Chevrolet cars and repa ired other brands of
vehicles, along with Sincl air products, including
lubricating, washing and wrecker se rvice. The
building was remodeled in 1959. Son Dona ld took
over the business after his father died in 1969. John Christofferson and Elmer Secker bought the

garage in 1975, under the name of C & S Chevrolet, and in 1977 Elmer Secker sold his interest in
the firm. Rick Anderle became the new owner in June of 1978, called And erle Chevrolet. During
1981 th e business was under new manageme nt with Lee Anderson and Mike Vanermen . The
build ing was leased to Harm ann Studios in 1991 until they moved to a larger build ing on Center
Drive. Today th e bui lding houses Derenne In sura nce and Abts Law Office.

SI MONAR SERVI CE - *KOLLROSS BLACKS MITH SHOP


John, Sr. learned the blacksmith trade in Green Bay at the age of 16. Eight years later he
bought land from Barney Kreilkamp in July 1894, town of Montpelier, Section 6, and built a black-
smith shop at "S harp Corners ", for the sum of $300. He, along with the help of hi s son s, Jack,
Harry and Law rence, built farm wagons, sleighs, made repairs on horse-drawn vehicles, shoed
horses and made some of his own blacksmith tools. The blacksmith shop stil l stands today across
from the Rendezvous. The house was torn down about ten years ago. Jack (John Jr.) served in
WWI and was sent overseas to Archang el, Russia in 1919.
The garage history actually began back when John Peat operated a smithy business east of
the Catholic Church and sold it to Cha rles Koll ross. On Charles' wedd ing night the blacksmith
81
shop and hou se were destroyed by fire. Kollross decided to build his new smithy closer to the
crossroads on the m ain highway into town in 1919. About nine months later he died. The
building was rented to August Charles of Iron Mountain and later to Frank Pies of Suam ico. The
structure had been vacant until John "Jack" Simona r purchased it from Ang eline Kollross in 1932.
He also purchased land from Frances
Linzmeier so he could expand if the need
arose. Sinclair gas and oil products were
sold .
Six years later the old frame
building was replaced wit h a cement block
building and the lumber from the old shop
was used to build Jack and Irene's house.
With the arrival of the automobile black-
smithing became an occupation that was
fading fast. Texaco was th e brand of gas
and oil produ cts sold before the She ll Oil
made its appearance in the late 1940's.
A 1937 Chevro let truck was made in to the first tow truck to pull vehicles out of ditches,
snow banks and when they refused to run. During t he 1950's a larger tow truck was purchased.
A jeep was used as an all around service vehicle. It had no heater and in winter you froze your
feet servi cing custo mers. A few biza rre tow jobs we re performed. A bull was pulled from an 18-
foot well in the middle of a field, and lived. A farme r's cow fell into the water tank and had to be
hoisted out with a wrecker. Removing a tractor from a manu re pit. Pul ling a dead horse out of a
barn. Up-righting a pea combine. We once towed a car for a customer who came the next day
looking for his pet snake .
After the death of "Jack", in 1955 his sons, Jerry and Richard took over the business with
Leroy helping out. When the business expanded into selling snowmobiles, another building was
erected with Leroy running the snowmobile division. The Johnson Ford Garage build ing was
purchased for fixing larger tires.
Today we have a fleet of four vehicles. Two med ium sized wreckers, one Chevrolet fl at
bed and a Holmes 600 Ford wrecker, which can handle 16 tons, 28,000 GVW, an d two on-the-
farm tire trucks.
The business is into the third generation, with the help of Jerry and Richard; sons Jon,
B.J., Gary, Dale, and a son-in-law, Dale Detampel, along with two other employees, Kyle
La crosse and Tom Duescher. 8. J. (Brice) is a certified tire specia list for Firestone and Mich elin
tires . He operates the on-th e-fa rm tire truck, which covers an area in Kewaun ee, Brown, Door,
Manitowoc, Oconto and Outagamie Counties. Jerry's wife, Caro l and daughter Amy do the office
work.
Jon is a certified ASE Master Tech nician, wi t h the latest diagnostic equipment available.
Da le Detampel, an ASE Auto Technici an , handles most of the alignment problems. Gary is the
first tow truck driver called on, with Jon and Dale D. helping out. Dale Simonar and Jerry handle
most of the sa les and paper work that goes with it. We started with Good-yea r tires and now
have ten m ajor brands. Tires are our business ! (Submitted by Jerry Simonar)

SIMONAR SPORTS
Back when the snowmobile was the upcoming fad, the Simonars became interested in one
of the popular brands, Ski-Doo, this was in the summer of 1963 . The first year (August of 1964)
they sold one, which everyon e around had to see and test drive . (A new toy for the guys.) The
next year they had four to sell, along with a few snowmobi le su its that were yellow and hung in
the porch of Irene's house for viewing.

82
./ , When thi ngs got a bit crowded in th e garage
f wi t h the snowmobiles, a new building was erected
r.. . two doors up the street. John Seid l's home and
· I Dominic Lanser's house were purchased and razed
L; for the new build ing and a parking lot.
At this time Leroy became manager of the
snowmob il e division. During 1963-64 snowmobile
:.i--.""'""'.',.,.., maintenance classes were held to help acquaint the
~w:.::.="1'""f new owners wi t h problems that might arise. Bobby
Bredael and Kenny Sconzert helped out with repairs
on a part-time basis. Being in business with only
winter products leaves you cash poor in the
_
,,..__,..._ summer, so in 1972 they acquired the franchise for
__.__~__...........w.= Thompso n boa ts and Spa rtan tra il ers.
1964
During the 1970's Roy Ihlenfeld, an employee drove Ski-Doo and Mato-S ki sleds in races.
In 1979 Roy won second and third place finish with a Mota-S ki at Eagl e River World's
Championship Snowmobile Derby Races. Roy managed the snowmobile races in Luxemburg from
1990 to 1997.
LeRoy received the Dea ler of the Year awa rd in 1976-77, with many more in recent years.
In 1998 he w as named the nation's largest Ski-doo dealer. An addition to the original building
was added in 2000 almost doubling the floor space. A new generation of Simonars has taken the
reins, David, Dean and Paul Simonar now own the business, with LeRoy as advisor. They have
sold 17 ,000 snowmobiles since they started in 1964. They also sell Alumacraft, Mirra and
Thompson boats , Johnson and Ev inrude Motors, Sea - Dao water craft and Bomba rdier all-terrain
vehicles. New in 2007 Bombardie r Company h as come out with the "Spid er", a three-wheel
motor cycle. (Information from Slmonar Sports)

SIMONAR SHELL, LLC


Simonar Shell opened for business September 13, 1999. Dale and Danee' own the service
station at 1625 Main St. which has three double sided gas pumps and two diesel pumps, one with
sate llite for use by bigger trucks. Pay at the pump conven ience with credit card or cash 24-ho urs
a day. The store has freezers and coolers for beer, wine and soda, dairy products, bakery items,
pizza, deli sandwiches, seafood, newspapers, coffee and ca ppuccino. Debbie Kralovetz is the
sto re manager. Six mon ths after the station opened a restaurant, ca ll ed Sugar Maple, run by B.
J. and Shannon Simonar opened its doors. Three years later Jackie Kaminski leased the busin ess,
selling pizzas and Italian food, along with broa sted chicken and soft-serve ice cream. She
operated the business over two years. The next occupant was Sonny's Pizza, who moved to a
new location in 2007. (Approved by Dale Simonar)

SONNY'S PIZZERIA
Began in part of Simonar She ll Station in 2005 and moved to present location on Hwy. 54,
April of 2007.
They sell pizzas and other Italian Food. Ask and they wil l deliver to your home.

SOUTH END PET GROOMING - * THE EMPTY GLASS - * WILLOW BASKET TAVERN
The building was erected about 1930 by Anton Gassner (or Nicholas Peat who ran a
general store). It was sold to August Spitzer five years later. The site was owned successively by
the Baierl Brothers and Mike Burke before Michael Pank ratz purchased the building, remodeling it
into a tavern .

83
July of 1939 an exploding gasoline stove caused a fire which destroyed the tavern owned
by town chairman, Michael Pankratz, known as the "Willow Basket Tavern". The fire started
shortly after 4 o'clock and spread so rapidly that within 20 minutes the building collapsed . The
Harry Ohlrogge home to the south was in danger while the fire was at its peak. Sparks ignited
the roof of the George T. Rank home across the street. A bucket Brigade put it out in a hurry.
The home of Mrs. Henry Bragger across the street was scorched and the fence charred for some
distance along the road. Telephone lines were burned through and power lines down .
In 1940 Michael rebuilt the tavern of concrete blocks and called it "The Elders". The
building was sold to Russell Peterson. It is not known how long he stayed. Paul and Helen Mahlik
ran the tavern from 1948-1952, called Mahlik's Bar. George Deprey took over the sa loon staying
for eight years. The next proprietors were Louie and "Toots" Nowak. After Louis died his wife ran
the tavern for a few years before moving away. Scott May became the owner, with the building
being put up for sale two years later. Lee Simonar purchased the land and remodeled it into two
apartments, sel ling to Jim DeJardin a few years later. David Simonar bought the building in
2005. Sheryl Murphy operates an animal grooming business at 512 Church Road. (Submitted by
Sheryl Murphy)

SOUTHEND SALOON - *LINZMEIER'S SALOON


In 1873 Joseph Filz, of German descent, came to Luxemburg purchasing 80 acres of land .
He first engaged in business as a member of the firm Dendoven, Filz and Ley. During 1882 he
engaged in merchandising by conducting a saloon and cheese factory in South Luxemburg . The
firm carried on until 1885 when Filz bought out his partners. From 1883 to 1895 he was
postmaster of Luxemburg Post Office, which was
located in the Linzmeier Building . Joseph was
elected to the State Legislature from Kewaunee
County about 1895. Lorenz Kohlbeck brought mail
to the Post Office from the train depot in a wagon
pulled by a St. Bernard dog. It was handed out to
settlers on Sundays.
The property was operated by Michael
Freeman for a few years before selling to Charles
Linzmeier. It was converted to a hotel, saloon and
dance hall. After Charles died, Raymond (Steve)
Seidl leased the tavern for a short time. Woody Skilling converted the dance hall into living
quarters in late 1940's. Other operators of the bar were, Helen Albrecht Edmund Ledoux (1965-
1973), Peter Kollross, Dennis Cherney and Tom Karas. Fritz Linzme ier occupied the living
quarters; he was the last surviving member of the Linzmeier family living in the bui lding.
There was a cider press housed in a frame building behind the smoke house on the
Linzmeier farm. It was only used during apple season. People like John Miller, Joseph Baierl and
August Spitzer, who had large orchards at the time, plus other individuals, brought bagged apples
to be "pressed". They unloaded the bags and raised them to the second floor with a rope and
pulley, dumped them into the hopper which ground the apples and poured them into a conveyer
like blanket that was filled and folded from four sides to cover the apples. After several of these
blankets were filled the platform, which was on wheels, was moved to the other end of the
machine and a large press squeezed the juice from the apples that drained into a large tank, with
a hose on the bottom to fill the containers. (Cider press operation described by Hank Kollross).
Charlie Bower lived and worked in a log building close to the road, just to the south of the
tavern, as a photographer. He was a heavy set man with a mustache, well educated, who also
gave piano lessons.
South End Saloon opened for business in July of 1984 and is ru n mostly by Robin with help
of part-time staff. (Information from Robin Romuald)

84
SPARTAN CONSTUCTION
Since 2003, Dan Glander and Randy VandenPlas have joined their well-known tal ents, 20+
years of experience and knowledge, into the fast growing company known as Spartan
Construction. It is located in the former VanDrisse Service station building at 231 Willow Street.
Making our business base in Luxemburg was a hands down idea for that both owners live in the
village and Luxem bu rg is a central location of our customers.
We provide many outstanding lines of agricultural equipment, a full parts line of Patz
equip-ment, Ritchie Waterers, plus many more. We have a fully-trained staff and service school
trained technicians that can assist in all your material handling needs.
In 2004-2005, Spartan Construction, Inc., was the #1 Manure Handling Dealer for Patz
Sales, Inc. in the U.S. and Canada. We have been on the top 25 dealer list for Patz Sales and
Service of equ ipment since we opened our doors in April of 2003.
Spartan Construction provides all types of concrete work, having two fully-equipped
concrete crews. They specialize in new barn construction and barn remodeling. We perform
concrete work for residential flatwork, four-foot frost walls and floating slabs. Skid-steer and
breaker service is available and we also have an on-the-road welding service.
We have two full -time service technicians, three concrete foremen, many full and part time
employees, one full-time and one part-time secretary and others that help on occasion with
trucking and clean up. (Information from Spartan construction)

STAHL'S ELECTRIC
Established in 1978 by owner, Ronald Stahl, who has been a member of the community for
30 years and decided to stay close to his roots. After meeting his wife Lynne they decided it
would be a great place to begin their fami ly. Stahl Electric has grown over the years from a small
business out of his hom e to having an office and storage facility at 119 West Center Drive,
Lu xemburg. We offer a wide variety of services, residential, com mercial and industrial. Stahl
Electric also offers design and building choices for your project, service upgrades, and any
electrical need you may have. (Information from Ronald R. Stahl)

* STANDARD OIL COMPANY


Orville Gillis operated a gas truck for Standard Oil from 1955 to 1980. He delivered gas to
farmers in the Luxemburg area. Orville sold his route to Tilot Oil Compa ny of Green Bay. He
then leased the Krueger bui lding and went into the hardware business for a few years before
retiring. (Information from Barb Phillips)

STODOLA IGA - * FRAN 'S IGA STORE


The store was originally built on the corner
of Colle and Ra lph Streets by Fran Metzler in 1965.
Fran operated the store with his wife Pat until
1970, when he asked Ted Stodola, who worked for
him at the time, if he would be interested in
buying the business. On April 6, 1971, Ted and
his brother, Dick, aged 21 and 24 respectively,
became the new owners/operators of Stodola's
IGA.
In 1974 the Bay Ridge building on Highway
54 was purchased, a bakery and Ben Frankl in
store were added onto the original 4500 square foot store, expanding the grocery store to 12,000
square feet. In 1995 it was decided that a bigger store would more adequately serve the
community. A new 20,000 square foot building was constructed at 602 Center Drive and opened
for business April 17, 1996.
85
Through the years all of Ted and Dick's children have worked as checkers or carry-outs.
Many of t heir long time employees are still with t hem as departm ent heads. At presen t, t here are
about 55 employees.
Ted and Dick agree that the most memorable weekend was when they moved to the new
store. "We only had 2 1/z days to get everything packed at the old store and move to the new
one. We put out an appeal to the community for help and were amazed at the response. They
came early Sunday morning with pick- up trucks one man came with a semi truck - by 7: 30
Sund ay night everything was moved and in place. We knew we lived in a great community and
ha d many loyal custom ers." (Submitted by Stodola fami ly)

SUBWAY
The business was started by Bruce and Amy Gajewski in October of 2003. We have been
affili ated with Subway for over 19 years and thought that Luxemburg would be a great location
for a st ore. Luxemburg is a commun ity similar to Wrightstown where the Gajewski's were located
in 20 00 .
Luxemburg has welcomed them with open arms, which has made it easy for them to fit
into this commun ity . They employ 12 people and offer Subs, wraps, salads, pizza, soda and
chips. (Submitted by Gajewski family}

SUNNY SIDE OF THE STREET


Debbie Adams began the tanning and gift shop in March of 2004, at 212 Main street. May
12, 2007, she sold the business to David and Linda Jadin. Plain Jane Floral will be selling flowers
in the store. (Information from Debbie Adams)

TEKULVE CONSTRUCTI ON
Roger TeKu lve came to Luxemburg in 1968 to manage the Luxemburg Manufacturing Co.
He moved from Richardson Brothers of Menominee, MI with his wife Doris and three children,
Jodi, Cory and LeeAnn. After two years he left the Manufacturing Company to go into business
for himself, which was in April of 1970. Roger repaired screens, did remodeling, installed siding
and also did upholstery with the hel p of his wife. In 1981 our son Cory joined the business. The
company expanded wit h roofing , bui lding of new homes and restoring homes. During 1986 our
son-in -law, Dick Sa lent ine, also joi ned t he construction business . In 1994 our grand son, Brent
TeKul ve, helped in summer and after schoo l. Ni ck Sa lentine, another grandson, joined the firm in
2002.
January 2007, Cory left the company and Dick went into business for himself, see
Salentine Construction. Presently Roger is still working. While in business Roger and his wife,
Doris, were on the Luxemburg Rescue Squad for 17 years. Roger, Cory, and Dick are presently
volunteers for the Luxemburg Fire Depa rtment. Daug hter Jodi also serves on the rescue squad.
(Submitt ed by TeKulve fa mily)

THEYS ORCHARDS - * MILLER ORCHARD


Planted in 1928 by John Miller, the eight-acre apple orchard was sold to Bert Theys in
1941, along with orchard spraying equipment, plus an add itional eight acres. The origina l orcha rd
was replanted about 1945 . As the villa ge contin ued to grow the orchard was sold off in lots for
homes on First, Second and Third Streets. For m any it wa s a feeling of nostalg ia, as it brough t
back m emories of th e apples "snitched" when they were youngsters. Bert purchased 40 acres on
Highway 54 from Andrew Loberger in 1945 and two years later planted apple trees. The trees are
still bearing apples. Grandson, Jim, Jr., and wife Judy live at the site and continue to sell the
produce along with apples from the South Luxemburg orchard.

86
The orchard in South Luxemburg was begun by August Spitzer in 1928 where he had
apples, plums, and raised canta loupe. The property was purch ased by Jim and Jean Theys in
August of 1957 from Art and Marie Kosnar (August Spitzer's nephew). A cold storage unit was
installed in 1964 to hold 1500 bushe ls of apples. In late summer a crew takes down the apple
crates from their storage in the barn to get ready for the harvest. (Information from Jim & Jean Theys)

TRACKSIDE STEAK HOUS E - * VILLAGE INN - * THE TRANSIT HOUSE


Desire Coll e built the tavern in 1894 near the railroad tracks, known as "The Transit
House." He also built an ice house, beer warehouse and a barn for horses and wagons used to
haul the beer and ice.
In 1910 Stannie Hendricks ran the saloon , followed by William Hendricks. John
Aschenbrenner purchased the tavern in 1911 to 1914 when Herman Kratz of Montpelier bought it.
John Schwab had rented part of the building for his shoe repair business. The estab lishment was
known as "Herman's Place".
Herman was the first fire cracker casualty of the year. He was a jovial fellow and always
ready to pull a dandy one on any of his pals. One of his pranks backfired as the blistered digits of
his right hand will bear evidence. Herman was merry-making with some guests in the tavern
when he chanced to be reminded of a monster fire cracker left over from last 4 tti of July, which he
had cached on the back bar. Herman lit the infernal thing, but before he could make up his mind
where to toss it the blamed thing went off with a reverberating BOOM!. It is rumored that at the
very next meeting of the village board trustee Kratz will introduce a resolution to ban all fireworks
in the village in the future, with strict penalties attached there to. (From Luxemburg News article 1939)
Herman remodeled the tavern adding a marble floor. He used to advertise free lunches for
Saturday nights, serving Hungarian Goulash, making for a popular outing. Herman 's daughter,
Sylvia and her husband, Frank Sladky took over the business about 1946. From 1967 to 1969
Ken and Karen Tebon operated the tavern. John Gronnert leased the tavern for a few years.
Next Don and Rose Slatky operated the bar as the "Vi llage Inn". Dan and Joan Walczyk owned
the business, called "Wa lczyk's Village Inn," for six years before sel ling to Len Burdick with Lee
Shilbauer running the tavern. Kelly Vandenbush and Bob Seidl were the next proprietors. Then
Ed and Marge Tlachac bought the tavern and ran the establishment for eighteen years. During
this time the elderly had their dinners there every Wednesday noon and after played cards or just
visited with friends. Marge Tlachac was cited for 17 years as cook for the meal site. The
tavern/restaurant was sold to Steve and Cindy DuPont. Since October 15, 2007 the Trackside
Steak House is under the management of Sonya Campbell and Dwayne Mertens.

Left to Right: Joe Aschenbrenn er, unknown, Grandpa Hartinger,


Joe Baierl, Englebert Behring, unknown, Peter Joerger, Herman
Duescher, and Herman Kratz tending bar.

87
T RUE HEALTH FITNESS
True Health fitness, LLC was started by Ron and Kim McClure, opening their doors to the
public February 20, 2007. The doors are open 24 hours a day, 36 5 days a year to members,
offering card io and strength exercises, al ong with weight loss plans for both men and women.
They chose Luxemburg beca use it is a growing area and a regional hub for t raffic t o and from
Green Bay. Kim is al so an EMT for Luxemburg Rescue. Their future goa ls and plans are to move
to a larger facility so they ca n offer more cl asses; along with goals t hat include a basket ball court,
pool, and yo ut h cl ub. The business is located on Center Drive. (Submitted by Kim McClure)

U .S. POST OFFICE


The first Post Office began January 15, 1883 to 1910 as a 4th class post office in
Linzmeier's buildin g, South Luxem burg . The name was cha nged from Luxembourg t o Lu xemburg
on October 2, 1924 .
November 30, 1904 post offices in the small co mmunities of Darbell ay, Duval, Dyckesvi lle,
Ellisvi le, Neuren, Pi lsen, Thiry Daems, Ton et and Walh ain were discontinued and absorbed by th e
Luxemburg office. Early post ma st ers in the Linzmeier bu ilding were : Peter Haubrich (Han brich)
1880; Joseph Filz 1883; Hector Boncher, (Joseph Fi lz again); Michael Ley, 1896; Al bert Liebl,
1903(27 years); Marie Weinfurter, 1914; John Duchateau, 1935 (33 years); Jerry Liba l, 1943;
Austin Allard, 1945(31 years); Don ald Walters, 1976; Jane Paider, 1977; Gary Ri chtig, 1982;
Eugene Loberger, 1982; Ken Liebert 1991; and Judith Karas, 2005.
The first mail carriers were John L. Miller and Nick Miller, on Routes 1 and 2. I n 1926 t he
post office leased the former home of Desire Colle on Main Street . The structure's front porch
was rem oved an d new steps with a rai ling we re put in place . During 1935 Charles R. Seid l and
Ni ck Mill er retired a~e r 30 yea rs of carryin g t he m ail. Walter Salmon was also a ma il carrier and
used his Indi an Motorcycle on the mail route .
April 1957 rural ma il was restored on Satu rda ys, with the win dow open from 8 to 12, and
the four rural routes consolida ted into t hree. In 1962 gro und was broken for a new office, 48' x
52', located on t he corner of Main and Peter Streets. The office was officia lly open ed August 1,
1962.
Throughout the years many changes have taken place. The U. S. Post Office grew from
fourth class to a second class post office. When the rural mail was delivered by horse and buggy
the office em ployed six carriers. Charles R. Seidl used an automobile to deliver ma il for t he first
time on May 7, 1914. Marie Liebl worked as clerk, resigning in 1943 to j oi n t he WAVES . Laura
Peters took ove r t he position on November 1, 1943, fo r the next 27 yea rs.
There were times wh en people liked to play tri cks on their mai l ca rrier, putting a live cat or
a dea d sucker in t he mail box . Mail carriers over the years were: Roy Chapelle, Joseph Wei nfu ter,
Peter Alsteen, Jose ph Hoslet, Fra nk Hinnendael, John Duchateau, Jerry Libal, Herbert Heim, Bill
Drossart, Marvin Bins, Joe Vandervest, Alfred Dau l, Lloyd Bredael, Clarence Blahnik, Jerry
Ledvina, (he was known as t he " Yul Brynner" of Luxemburg) Ben Estel, Ron Stah l, Tom Baierl,
Mark Zellner, Chris Bouche, Joseph Duchateau, Jr., Vernon Metzler, Greg Mleziva, Mary Seiner,
Mary Ellen Fameree. Subs: Lorie Berceau, Charmaine Zellner, Melissa Walecka and Amy Lutzke.
Today there are six routes. People who worked in sales and counter service: Elaine Paider, Joan
Derenne, Bea Lutzke and Debbie Th iry. Our present postmistress is Judy Karas . (Submitt ed by u.s.
Post Office)
A vehicle Papa had for going on the m ail route was his "caboose". He designed a little
house made of heavy canvas, with a sliding window in front for the reins, another on each side to
reach the mailboxes, a little stove, all of t his was on a platform secured to runners. He used this
"caboose" to deliver mail in the winter. He also had a cutter for wintertime. If the roads were
not plowed it often took Papa until after 9 p.m. to deliver mail in winter, whereas, in summer he
was back by noon. (From Sara Hinnendael Rasmussen)

88
Left to Right: Charlie Seidl, Peter Alsteen, Walter Salmon,
Albert Liebl, Mary Weinfurter, Nick Miller, John Miller, and
Joseph Weinfurter.
f:r)~~ -"~M' ~
··. ,. ~ ~- ~

1906 sled used to deliver mail in winter


VANDRISSEINSURANCE
It's Ju ly of 1938, the cou ntry was in the last days of the Great Depression and one room
schools are the norm. Elmer VanDrisse was teaching grades 1 through 8 in Hawthorne in
Scarboro. He was approached that summer to sell insurance to supplement his income. He
became an agent for Homestead Mutual and began selling farm, fire and windstorm policies.
Later that year he co ntracted w ith Kossuth Town Mutual. After three more years teaching and
over two years of defen se work at t he ship yards, Elmer devoted his fu ll atten tion to insuran ce
sa les.
In 1943 Elmer and Vivi an purchased a home on the corner of Highway 54 and County "A"
from Anna Arendt. They had an insurance office and a beauty shop as well as their livi ng
quarters in the home. Over the next few years, he purchased a number of small agencies in the
Luxemburg area and needed more space. In 1959 Vivian closed the beauty shop and started
worki ng for the insurance agency full time , retiring in 1977 .
Elmer's son John join ed the agency in the fall of 1965, following his discharge from t he
army. In 1970 the agency was incorporated as VanDrisse In surance Agency, Inc. During 1972
the agency purchased the Bank of Luxemburg Agency. Son Bob, joined the firm in 1974,
following graduation from the University of Wisconsin, Green Bay.
As of 1980 Bob purchased Elmer's interest in the agency. (Elmer is semi - retired.) He
continues to help by serving as presi dent and was on the board of Kossuth Town Mutua l until
1985.
In Jun e of 1988 grandson, Gary VanDrisse, joi ned the agency followi ng his graduation
from the University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point . During 1992 the agency purchased Matz ke
Insurance and opened a sales office on Green Bay's w est side. John retired in 2004, selling his
interest to Gary. John continues on the Board of Directors of Maple Valley Mutual.
The agency has grown in to a full service insurance agen cy doing business throughout
Northeastern Wisconsin . The main office is located in the same build ing which Elmer & Vivian
purchased in 1946 . Tod ay the agency has eight employees a nd specia lizes in Auto, Home, Farm
and Busi ness, as well as Life, Hea lth, Disability and Long Term Ca re. (Submitted by v anDrisse Insurance
Agency)

VAN DRISSE OIL COMPANY


Norman VanDrisse began working as a commission agent for Wadhams Oi l Company out
of Casco in 1941, succeeding Joh n Hal let. He later built a bulk plant in Luxemburg working as a
jobber for Mobile Oi l Compa ny. The purchase of the bulk plant at New Franken i n 1955 was
incorporated into the Luxemb urg operation. During 1968 Norm an bought the Rahr Beer d epot on
Main Street and converted it into a car wash and Laundromat. After purchasing land from Henry
Kollross on Highway 54, in 1970, he built a service and sa les building used for snowmobile and
boat-motor outlet. The building was sold to Elmer Secker in 1977.

89
Fran Kahr started working for Norman over 40
years ago, at the service station on 231 Willow Street,
cha ng ing tires and other service work, and later he
worked for the oil company when it moved back to its
original home on Willow Street. Over the years, Fran
and Jane Kahr took over the business. We expanded
the company by opening the first mini-mart in New
Franken, November 21, 1987. In 1991 a second mini-
mart was built in Luxemburg, called Main Street
Station. The two businesss were merged into Street
Stations, Inc. Both stations sell Mobil products,
groceries, house-hold supplies, liquor, beer and other
miscellaneous items.
Kyle began working in the business since he was a teenager. He took over t he business in
2002, and is in charge of the fuel distribution, ma king it a three-generation busin ess. In 2006
VanDrisse Oil Company expanded taking on a new chall enge by add ing a race parts division,
which sells race gas and circle track race parts, with Kyle and Rachelle Junio as managers of t he
new race business. (Submitted by Kahr Family)

VAN ESS CONCRETE FLATWORK


The business is owned and operated by Jerry VanEss. We offer flatwork concrete for new
construction, driveway replacement and any kind of flatwork sta mped concrete . My son, Mi chae l,
is part of th e business. Our location is 514 Marcks Court. (Information from Jerry VanEss)

VENTURE ONE STOP / MCDONALD' S EXPRESS - * FS FAST STOP


Opened in 1999 at the corner of Center Drive and County AB as FS Fast Stop. A few years
later the own ership changed and the busin ess is now called Venture One Stop, with a fast food
restaurant, McDonald 's Express, and in 2006, a Dollar Store was added.

VETERINARY CLINCS
Dr. Christiansen was the first known vet in th e area with an office in the Wisconsi n House
in 1909. Dr. Jorgensen filled t he vacancy for the next few years. Dr. Victor Laurent came to
Luxemburg in 1913 and served the area for 40 years. He built an office and barn in 1919 to house
the anima ls. Dr. Laurent also raised mink.
Dr. Ramond Dow had a clinic on Highway 54 and found it was more convenient for him to
run the business from his house. The building on the highway was remodeled into a restaurant.

WEIDNER DRIVING SCHOOL, LLC.


Mike Engles started the business in 2005 when the L-C High School stopped offering
driving as a class. In 2006 I took over the business from Mike, because of medical reasons he
could no longer do the work.
I located in Luxemburg so I could be close to the high school. The students walk from
school to take the 30 hours of classroom training required. Alter this training is com plete, they
must compl ete six hours of driving and six hours of observation with the instructor. I usually do
one lesson per month for six months. That is the time fram e they need to hold their tempo rary
permit before getting a license.
I like working with teenagers ... they always have a story to tell!! A funny thing is they all
think t hey KNOW how to drive until t hey actually get behind the wheel. Then they admit it's
harder than it looks. Weidner Drivi ng School is located at 195 Center Drive, Luxemburg .
(Submitted by Patrick M. Weidner)
90
WERNER FINANCIAL GROUP
John C. Werner started the Werner Fi nancial Group in 1978, moving to their current
location at 195 Center Drive, Luxemburg in 1990. John, along with David Tassou l and Suzanne
Schroeder-Johnson represent American General Life Insurance Company and offer securities
through American General Securities Incorporated. We also handle life, health and medical
supplements through other companies. Susan Theys has been the office manager si nce 1994.
( I nformation from John C. Werner)

*ZEITLER REPAIR SHOP


1930-Hugo Zeitler opened a radio repair shop on the south side of the Bredael Building,
formerly occupied by Jule Malcore (now Burdick's) In 1928 Hugo was granted a patent for lifting
comb frames in beehives .
In 1940 Leslie Arpin was a repairman at the radio shop , he opened a general electric
appliance shop in the building vacated by Hugo Zeitler. Jack Arpin repaired small appliances for a
few years in the l 950's.

*ZELLNER HARNESS SHOP


The first harness maker was Vojta (Albert) Nuhlicek. After he died Charlie B. Zellner
began his harness shop in the Lieb l Building. In 1911 he bought a lot from Wm. Miesler where he
built his shop, with living quarters above, at the corner of Main and Oak Street. He worked over
40 years at making horse harness, repairing them, and repairing shoes . Charlie still worked a full
day at the age of 77. When he died in 1964 and the land was sold to Sells Garage for a car lot.
The building was vacant for a few years before being torn down by the Bank of Luxemburg for
use as a parking lot.

********************************************************************
References used:
-Luxemburg Book
-Luxemburg News
-Bernadette Kolbeck (information about Peter Liebl)
-Bea Detrie (information about Curly Cravillion)
-C.R. and Pat Kannewurf (information about first postmaster)

91
INDEX

In Memory of Curves 25
Neoma Mi chalski D & S Machine 25
Joseph Seidl Jacques Mini Storage
Pictu re Gallery 2 Dalcbroux Law Office r_ )
Histor y of Luxemb urg Village 9 Dart's Automotive r_)
Bu siness History 14 Deb's Day Care 26
ABC Dental Clinic 14 Teach & Care
Luxemburg Motel Dentists 26
A-Z Property Maintenance 14 Don 's Bakery 26
Abts Law Office 14 Ellisville-Luxemburg Coop 27
Sells' Chevro let Progress ive Farmers
Al's Barber Shop 14 Eye & Vision Cli ni c 27
Jim's Plumbi ng Family Chiropractic 27
Jacques Cash Way Farmers Supply Co. 28
Algoma Wireless 15 Filtration Concepts 28
Plain Jane's Flower Shop Filtration Services 28
Schwab Shoe Store Flowers & G i ~s by Judy 28
American Fa mi ly Insurance 15 Flowers & Gifts by Vicky
American House 16 Baumga11ner Floral
Animal House Pct Clinic 16 Forest Construction 29
Audc Jewelers 16 Friendly Dollar 29
Augie's Bar & Grill 16 Fred & Mamie 's 29
Gus's Hidcway Bar Fritz Seidl Service Station 29
Little George's Big Tavern G&K Car Wash 29
Badger State Cheese 17 General Telephone Co. 30
So. Luxemburg Creamery Commonwealth Telephone Co.
Bank of Luxemburg 18 Glen Rucckl Home Building Center 31
Barber Shops 19 Hair Tenders 31
Battens True Value 20 Harbor Credi t Un ion 32
BayLake Bank 20 Packaging Credit Union
Bay Title 20 Harmann Studios 32
Dalebroux Title Co. Herman 's Grocery Store 32
Beauty Salons 20 Red Owl Store
Bel lin Hea lth Family Medical Center 21 Hinnendael Cherry Orchard 32
Bob's 54 Total Auto 21 J.C's Restau rant 34
Bredael's Uptown Bar 21 Mc and Brothers T
Bump-n-Uglys 22 J.D's Service 34
Home Base, American Legion Post 262 George's Ciry Service
Burdick's Bar & Restaurant 22 J. Rueck! Builders and Supply, Inc 34
Burke's Law Office 23 J. Rueck I Storage & Warehousing 35
Curly's Barber Shop Jacques Appliance Store (to Lux Pet Ci) 35
Care-A-Lot Day Care Center 23 Jandrin Small Engine Service 35
Carlson Heating 23 Rueck Beer Distr,
Wagner Heating Daul Beer Distr.
Libal Sheet Metal Kevin 's Woodworking 35
Charlier Jewelry Store 24 SAS Auto
Col ly's Cuts and Styles 24 Kewaunee Co-op 36
Compass Development Asst'd Living 24 NorthBrook Feed
Corporate Apparel 24 Lux Mfg co .
Kewaunee County Fair 36 Luxemburg Rescue Squad 57
Kewaunee Implement Co . 31 Luxemburg Volunteer Fire Dept 58
Kirchman Chiropractic 40 M & J T rucking 60
Kohlbeck Storage 41 Main Street Station 60
Kohlbeck Meat Market Mathu 's 163 Club 60
Koller's Korner 41 Lucky 13
Commodore Bar Gui lette's Rodeo Bar
Kostichka Lawn Service 42 McMahon's 61
Krueger Ford Garage 42 Kieweg Peters
Luxemburg Garage Hoppe's Store
i'.'liesler Livery Stable Mike's Service 63
Lawyers 43 MJC Supply, Inc 63
Lee's Sports 43 Mr. Bill's Pub 'n Sub 64
Leeroy 's Bar 43 Outsider's lnn
Smeester's Bar Grasse I's Tavern
Spitzer's Sa loon/ Hotel N. E.W. Plastics 64
Le mens Hard ware 44 Bio Chemical Corp.
Wisconsin House NWT C 66
Lcmens WaterCare 45 Northbrook County Club 66
Leon's Auto Sales 45 Oak Creek Assist Living 67
Linzmeier Asst Living 45 Organ izations
Inland Knitting Mill American Legion 67
Lords & Ladies 45 Boy Scouts - Girl Scouts 67
Luxemburg Bow l 46 1-loppe's Band 68
Bredael Bowling Al leys Luxemburg Band 69
Luxemburg Cleaners & Tailors 46 Luxemburg-Casco Commu nity Band 69
Luxemburg Garage and Iron Works 46 Luxemburg Chamber of Commerce 69
Liebl-Retzlaff Machine Shop Luxemburg Guard 70
Luxemburg Gas & Appliance 46 Jaycees 70
Barbiaux Meat Market Luxemburg Lions Club 70
Luxembmg High School 47 Stahl Band 71
Luxemburg Implement Co. 50 Otto's Meats 72
Spitzer & Ley Implement Dau l Meat Cutting
Luxemburg Intermed iate School 50 Packerland Wbey P roducts, Inc. 72
Luxemburg Medical Clinic 51 Performance Parts 73
Luxemburg Milling Co. 52 Libert Motor Supply
Boucher-Kaut Milling Co. Premier Travel Agency 73
Luxemburg Motor Co. 53 Rosy's Cozy Corner
Farmer's Trading Co. Quali T Screening, Inc. 73
Luxemburg Weld & Repair Bay Ridge Specialties 74
Luxemburg News 54 Real Estate Business 74
Luxemburg Pet C linic 55 Red Ow l Store 74
Perry's Diner Cash Way Market
Jim 's 54 Cafe Liebl General Store
Luxemburg Pet Grooming 55 Retzlaff Well Drilling 75
Zernlika's Drug Store Rhythm in Motion 75
Luxemburg Pharmacy 56 Rice Engineering 75
Luxemburg Plumbing & Heating 56 Robins Nest 76
Luxemburg Primary School 56 Love is Ageless
Luxemburg Printing 57 Rock of Ages 76
Rocky's Appliance 76 Weidner Driving School, LLC 90
Hank's Appliance Werner Financial Group 91
Blah Barbi aux Appliance Zeitler Rep air Shop 91
Ron's Wisconsin Cheese 76 Zellner Harness Shop 91
Nellis Beer Distributing
Rose Beauty Salon 77
Rueck! Trailer Park 77
RueckJ Home Builders
Rueck! Superior Homes 77
St. John Lutheran Church 77
St. Mary's Catholic Church 78
S.A.S. Forks 79
SAS Auto
Salentine Construction, LLC 80
Salmon Meat Products 80
Seidl Construction 80
Seidl Electric 81
Ullsperger Electric
Sells' Chevrolet 81
Simonar Service, Lnc 81
Kollross Blacksmith Shop
Simonar Sports 82
Simonar Shell , LLC 83
Sonny's Pizzeria 83
Southend Pet Grooming 83
The Empty Glass
Willow Basket Tavern
SouthEnd Saloon 84
Linzmeier's Saloon
Spartan Construction 85
Stahl's ElectTic 85
Standard Oil Company 85
Stodola IGA 85
Fran 's IGA Store
Subway 86
Sunny Side of the Street 86
TeKulve Construction 86
Theys Orchards 86
Miller Orchard
Trackside Steak House 87
Village Inn
The Transit House
True Health Fitness 88
U.S. Post Office 88
Vandrisse Insurance 89
VanDrisse Oil Co. 89
VanEss Concrete Flatwork 90
Venture One Stop/McDonalds 90
FS Fast Stop
Veterinary Cl ini cs 90
Picture Credits
Joan Behnke - Telephone Operators & Charles Col le Family
John Bins - Red Owl Store, Tony & Mabel Flegel
Belly ChJi stofferson/Neoma Michalsk - Sell & Miesler Garage
Bess Cmeyla, Laura Duchateau, John Duchateau
Bea Detrie - Curly Cravillion Barber Shop
Marianne Greatens - Grassel's Bar
Dorothy Heim - Elmer Barbiaux Meat Market
Alan Hoppe - 1-loppe's Band
Martine Horne - Schwab pictures
Jim Jacque - Jacques Cash Market, Service Station, now .JD's
Eileen Jadin - Farmer's Trading Employees
Jane Kahr - Vandrisse Oil
Gary Legois - Railroad pictures
Luxemburg Bank - pictures
Roger Merens - Merens Family
Marie Miller - Singing Quartet, Miller, Liebl, Dorner, Seidl
Jerry Retzlaff - Retzlaff Well D1illing
Gary Salmon - Salmon-Kohlbeck pictures
Laurie Schauer - Yanda Family
Mark Seidl & Lucy Rueck! - Fritz Seidl Service Station
Tom Seidl - Luxemburg Implement
Carol Simonar - pictures
Ervin Stahl - LC Community Band, Stahl Band
Anita Stodola - IGA Store
Jim & Jean Theys - Theys Orchard
Laura Theys - Telephone Operator
Irvin Vincent Family - 1rv Vincent

*******************

Special Thank You to:


Virginia Johnson, Area Research Center fo r her help in
securing pictures from fi les of Historical Society
and Harold Heiclman Collection.

Luxemburg News Office for their help.

Diane Jorgensen for answering all my questions.

Hi storical Committee, Neoma Michalski , Ervin Stahl,


Tom RueckJ and Carol Simonar.

Everyone who subm itted their business story.


Centennial
Committee

Back row: Larry Swoboda, Tim Ledvina, Tim Treml, David Dax, Ted Stodola,
John Frederick, Tom Seidl, Ervin Stahl. Row 2: Kathy Anderson, Debbie Mercier,
Lorraine Dewane, Renee ·werne1; Natalie Montie, Carol Simonar, Sue Heim, Shiela Hoppe.
Front row: Tom Werner, Len Lemens, .Jean Dax, Vivian Derenne, .Jack Seidl, and
Lyle .Iandrain. Missing ji·om the picture: Scott Bortolini, Al Hoppe, Dan Porath,
Paul Secker, Jerry Simonar, and John Slatky.