Anda di halaman 1dari 7

1. Locate different land masses (Continents) of the Earth.


Australia's landmass of 7,617,930 square kilometers (2,941,300 sq mi) is on the Indo-

Australian Plate. Surrounded by the Indian and Pacific oceans, it is separated from Asia by
the Arafura and Timor seas, with the Coral Sea lying off the Queensland coast, and the Tasman
Sea lying between Australia and New Zealand. The world's smallest continent and sixth largest
country by total area, Australia—owing to its size and isolation—is often dubbed the "island
continent", and is sometimes considered the world's largest island. Australia has 34,218
kilometers (21,262 mi) of coastline (excluding all offshore islands), and claims an
extensive Exclusive Economic Zone of 8,148,250 square kilometers (3,146,060 sq mi). This
exclusive economic zone does not include the Australian Antarctic Territory. Apart
from Macquarie Island, Australia lies between latitudes 9° and 44°S, and
longitudes 112° and 154°E.
 Discuss at least 5 land features in each continent.



Australian Alps, an interim Australian bioregion, is the highest mountain range in

Australia. This range is located in southeastern Australia, and it straddles eastern Victoria,
southeastern New South Wales, and the Australian Capital Territory. The Australian Alps
contain Australia's only peaks exceeding 2,000 meters (6,600 ft.) in elevation above sea level.
The Alps are the only bioregion on the Australian mainland in which deep snow falls annually.
The Alps comprise an area of 1,232,981 hectares (3,046,760 acres).


The Great Victoria is the largest desert in Australia and consists of many small sand
hills, grassland plains, areas with a closely packed surface of pebbles (called desert pavement or
gibber plains) and salt lakes. It is over 700 kilometers (430 mi) wide (from west to east) and
covers an area of 348,750 square kilometers (134,650 sq. mi) from the Eastern Gold fields
region of Western Australia to the Gawler Ranges in South Australia.
3. Blue Mountains (New South Wales)


The Blue Mountains is a mountainous region and a mountain range located in New
South Wales, Australia. The region borders on Sydney's metropolitan area, its foothills starting
about 50 kilometers (31 mi) west of the state capital. The public's understanding of the extent
of the Blue Mountains is varied, as it forms only part of an extensive mountainous area
associated with the Great Dividing Range.
4. Strzelecki Desert


The desert covers 80,250 km2 making it the seventh largest desert in Australia. The Dingo Fence,
Birdsville Track, the Strzelecki Track, the Diamantina River, Cooper Creek and the Strzelecki Creek all
pass through the Desert. The desert is characterised by extensive dune fields and is home to three
wilderness areas. It was named after the Polish explorer Paweł Edmund Strzelecki by Charles Sturt. He
was the first non-indigenous explorer in the area, followed closely by the ill-fated Burke and Wills
5. Mount Kosciuszko


Mount Kosciuszko is a mountain located on the Main Range of the Snowy Mountains in
Kosciuszko National Park, part of the Australian Alps National Parks and Reserves, in New South Wales,
Australia and is located west of Crackenback and close to Jindabyne. With a height of 2,228 meters
(7,310 ft) above sea level, it is the highest mountain in Australia. Various measurements of the peak
originally called Kosciuszko showed it to be slightly lower than its neighbour, Mount Townsend.