Anda di halaman 1dari 29

Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1 Filed 07/01/19 Page 1 of 8

1 Christian W. Liedtke (Pro Hac Vice Pending)


This attorney has complied with LR IA 11-2
2 ACUMINIS LLP
3 3420 Bristol Street, 6th Floor
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
4 Telephone: (949) 698-7840
cw.liedtke@acuminis.biz
5
David B. Barney (NV 14681)
6 SKLAR WILLIAMS PLLC
7 410 South Rampart Boulevard, Suite 350
Las Vegas, NV 89145
8 Telephone: (702) 360-6000
dbarney@sklar-law.com
9
Attorneys for Plaintiff,
10
SL International Management Company, Inc.
11

12

13 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT


14 DISTRICT OF NEVADA
15

16 SL International Management Company, No. _________________________


Inc.,
17
Plaintiff,
18 COMPLAINT FOR PATENT
v. INFRINGEMENT
19
Derby Spirits, LLC, JURY DEMANDED
20 Sami Omar, and
Jeffrey Tomastik,
21
Defendants.
22

23

24 Plaintiff SL International Management Company, Inc., a Delaware Corporation (“Plaintiff”

25 or “SLIMC”) brings this Complaint for Patent Infringement (the “Complaint”) against Defendants
26
Derby Spirits, LLC, (“Derby”), Sami Omar (“Omar”) and Jeffrey Tomastik (“Tomastik”;
27
collectively, “Defendants”). In support of the Complaint, Plaintiff alleges as follows:
28
1
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1 Filed 07/01/19 Page 2 of 8

2 INTRODUCTION
3
1. This action is brought pursuant to Title 35 of the United States Code, in which
4
Plaintiff SLIMC complains of Defendants’ infringement of a duly and validly issued design patent,
5
United States Design Patent No. D544,361 (the “’361 patent”), which claims the ornamental design
6

7 for a bottle as disclosed and described therein. Plaintiff owns all rights, title and interest to the

8 validly issued ’361 patent.

9 2. The infringing product at issue is a product sold as Ambros Banana Whiskey (the
10
“Infringing Product”). Upon information and belief, the Infringing Product is sold in this District
11
and in several other states through this country. The infringing activities complained of herein are
12
done by Defendants without permission or license from Plaintiff.
13
3. Defendants’ infringing acts as complained of herein have caused and are causing
14

15 Plaintiff irreparable harm and injury. Plaintiff will continue to suffer substantial loss and irreparable

16 harm unless and until Defendants are permanently enjoined from the infringing acts complained of
17 in this Complaint.
18
4. The infringing acts of Defendants complained of herein are, and have been, willful
19
and deliberate.
20
JURISDICTION AND VENUE
21

22 5. This is a civil action for patent infringement arising under the patent laws of the

23 United States of America, 35 U.S.C. § 1, et seq.

24 6. This Court has subject matter jurisdiction over the subject matter of the Complaint
25 pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1338.
26
7. This Court has personal jurisdiction over Derby because: (a) it is a limited liability
27
company registered with the Nevada Secretary of State; (b) has its principal place of business in
28
2
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1 Filed 07/01/19 Page 3 of 8

1 this District and (c) intentionally conducts business in this District. This Court also has personal
2 jurisdiction over Derby based upon Derby’s infringing acts of importing, manufacturing,
3
advertising, displaying, offering for sale and/or selling the Infringing Product.
4
8. This Court has personal jurisdiction over Omar because he: (a) resides in this
5
District and (b) regularly and intentionally conducts business in this District. This Court also has
6

7 personal jurisdiction over Omar based upon his infringing acts of importing, manufacturing,

8 advertising, displaying, offering for sale and/or selling the Infringing Product.

9 9. This Court has personal jurisdiction over Tomastik because he: (a) resides in this
10
District and (b) regularly and intentionally conducts business in this District. This Court also has
11
personal jurisdiction over Tomastik based upon his infringing acts of importing, manufacturing,
12
advertising, displaying, offering for sale and/or selling the Infringing Product.
13
10. Venue is proper in this District pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1391 and 1400(b) because
14

15 each of the Defendants does business in this District, has committed acts of infringement in this

16 District and is subject to personal jurisdiction in this District.


17 PARTIES
18
11. Plaintiff SLIMC is a Delaware Corporation.
19
12. Defendant Derby is a limited liability company registered with the Nevada Secretary
20
of State. Derby has its principal place of business at 7370 Eastgate Road, Suite 155 in Henderson,
21

22 NV.

23 13. Defendant Omar is a resident of Nevada and does business in Nevada.

24 14. Defendant Tomastik is a resident of Nevada and does business in Nevada.


25 BACKGROUND AND THE INFRINGING ACTIVITIES
26
15. On June 12, 2007, the ’361 patent was duly and legally issued by the United States
27
Patent and Trademark Office. A copy of the ’361 patent is attached hereto as Exhibit A.
28
3
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1 Filed 07/01/19 Page 4 of 8

1 16. The ’361 patent has been in force and effect since its issuance and has been assigned
2 to Plaintiff SLIMC.
3
17. At all relevant times, SLIMC has been and still is, the owner of the entire right, title
4
and interest in and to the ’361 patent.
5
18. Defendants are marketing and offering to sell in the United States a product called
6

7 Ambros Banana Whiskey, and that Infringing Product is imported, manufactured, advertised,

8 displayed, offered for sale and/or sold using a bottle design that infringes the ’361 patent. Reprinted

9 below and attached as Exhibit B is a side-by-side comparison of the design claimed in the ’361
10
patent and the bottle design of the Infringing Product.
11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23
19. Upon information and belief, the design for the Infringing Product was derived by
24
one or all of the Defendants with knowledge of Plaintiff’s rights in the ’361 patent.
25
20. On or about May 6, 2019, counsel for Plaintiff sent Derby, Omar and Tomastik a
26

27 letter that stated, among other things, that the bottle used for the Infringing Product is substantially

28 similar and/or practically identical to the design claimed in the ’361 patent (the “Cease and Desist
4
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1 Filed 07/01/19 Page 5 of 8

1 Letter”). A copy of the ’361 patent was enclosed with the Cease and Desist Letter. A copy of the
2 Cease and Desist Letter is attached as Exhibit C.
3
21. On May 13, 2019 counsel for Defendant Derby sent an email to counsel for Plaintiff
4
stating in pertinent part “Our client requested that we investigate the claims set forth in your letter
5
dated May 6, 2019. As such, we are currently evaluating this matter and will respond substantively
6

7 shortly.” A copy of the email in issue is attached as Exhibit D. To date, no such response has been

8 received leaving Plaintiff with no choice but to bring this Complaint.

9 22. Upon information and belief, Defendants all have knowledge of the ’361 patent and
10
have had that knowledge prior to the date of the Complaint.
11
23. Upon information and belief, Defendants are conducting their infringing activities
12
with respect to the Infringing Product with knowledge of the ’361 patent.
13
24. None of the Defendants has a license to the ’361 patent. None of the Defendants
14

15 has permission to utilize the design claimed and disclosed in the ’361 patent for the Infringing

16 Product or for any other purpose.


17 COUNT I
18
(INFRINGEMENT OF THE ’361 PATENT)
19
25. Plaintiff repeats and realleges the allegations in paragraph 1-23 of this Complaint as
20
though fully set forth herein.
21

22 26. The ’361 patent is a duly and legally issued patent.

23 27. The ’361 patent has been in force and effect since its issuance by the United States

24 Patent and Trademark Office on June 12, 2007.


25 28. At all relevant times, SLIMC has been and still is, the owner of the entire right, title
26
and interest in and to the ’361 patent.
27

28
5
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1 Filed 07/01/19 Page 6 of 8

1 29. Defendants have been, are and will be infringing the ’361 patent by importing,
2 making, using, selling, and/or offering to sell the Infringing Product in the United States without
3
permission or license from Plaintiff.
4
PRAYER FOR RELIEF
5
WHEREFORE, Plaintiff prays that judgment be entered by this Court for Plaintiff and
6

7 against Defendants as follows:

8 A. That Defendants have infringed and are infringing the ’361 patent;

9 B. Permanently enjoining and restraining Defendants, their agents, affiliates, subsidiaries,


10
servants, employees, directors, attorneys and those persons in active concert or coordination
11
with or controlled by Defendants from further infringing the ’361 patent;
12
C. That Defendants’ acts of infringement were and are willful;
13
D. That Plaintiff be awarded damages covered by the acts of patent infringement by
14

15 Defendants in an amount not less than a reasonable royalty pursuant to 35 U.S.C. § 284, or

16 in an amount equal to Defendants’ profits pursuant to 35 U.S.C. § 289, whichever is greater,


17 and that such damages be trebled in accordance with the provisions of 35 U.S.C. § 284.
18
E. That Defendants be directed to withdraw from distribution all the Infringing Products,
19
whether in the possession of any or all of the Defendants or their distributors, wholesalers,
20
and/or retailers, and that all Infringing Products or materials be immediately impounded or
21

22 destroyed;

23 F. For monetary damages in an amount according to proof;

24 G. For interest on said damages at the legal rate from and after the date such damages were
25 incurred;
26
H. That this is an exceptional case and for an award of Plaintiff’s attorney fees and costs and
27
I. For such other and further relief as this Court may deem just and proper.
28
6
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1 Filed 07/01/19 Page 7 of 8

1 Dated: July 1, 2019 Respectfully submitted,


2

3 Christian W. Liedtke (Pro Hac Vice Pending)


ACUMINIS LLP
4 3420 Bristol Street, 6th Floor
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
5
Telephone: (949) 698-7840
6 cw.liedtke@acuminis.biz

7 David B. Barney (NV 14681)


SKLAR WILLIAMS PLLC
8 410 South Rampart Boulevard, Suite 350
Las Vegas, NV 89145
9 Telephone: (702) 360-6000

10 Attorneys for Plaintiff SL International


Management Company, Inc.
11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28
7
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1 Filed 07/01/19 Page 8 of 8

1 JURY TRIAL DEMAND

2 SL International Management Company, Inc. respectfully demands a trial by jury on all

3 claims and issues so triable.

4
Dated: July 1, 2019 Respectfully submitted,
5

7 Christian W. Liedtke (Pro Hac Vice Pending)


ACUMINIS LLP
8 3420 Bristol Street, 6th Floor
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
9 Telephone: (949) 698-7840
cw.liedtke@acuminis.biz
10
David B. Barney (NV 14681)
11 SKLAR WILLIAMS PLLC
410 South Rampart Boulevard, Suite 350
12 Las Vegas, NV 89145
Telephone: (702) 360-6000
13

14 Attorneys for Plaintiff SL International


Management Company, Inc.
15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28
8
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-1 Filed 07/01/19 Page 1 of 5

EXHIBIT A
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-1 Filed 07/01/19 Page 2 of 5
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-1 Filed 07/01/19 Page 3 of 5
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-1 Filed 07/01/19 Page 4 of 5
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-1 Filed 07/01/19 Page 5 of 5
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-2 Filed 07/01/19 Page 1 of 3

EXHIBIT B
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-2 Filed 07/01/19 Page 2 of 3
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-2 Filed 07/01/19 Page 3 of 3
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-3 Filed 07/01/19 Page 1 of 3

EXHIBIT C
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-3 Filed 07/01/19 Page 2 of 3

• •

Christian W. Liedtke, P.C.


acu C ounselors at Law
Attorney at La\v

3420 Bri tol Street, 6"' Floor • Costa Mesa, CA 92626


T elephone: +1 (949) 698-7840 • Facsinule: + l (949) 698-7861
E-Mail: C\v.liedtke@acuminis.biz • '"""'v.act1mu1is.biz

\ l ia }->1io rity Mail


Drrl)y Spirits, 1,I .,(
r)r rl)y S1)ir1ts, l,Jl ,C"
Vl r. Sa111i () 111ar
7B70 l·:as tg·a te l{cl, Stti tc l .55
Vl r. Jcfr r1\)lllaStik
I ll' 11<l<' t'S<> 11 :'\\' 8~JO11
l ()(,55 l)ark l~ lll l l)r, Ste 1~30
I lc nclcrso11 , N\ · 8~)0 l 1,I,

Re: l)esigi1 Pate11t I rifrii1gc111c nt


O t1r ref.: STELA-0003

l)e ar Vlessrs. () 111ar a11cl rl,() tllastik.


l)ea r Sir o r \1acla111,
,..fl1is firrr1 re1)rese 11ts SI-1~1(. . , Inc. ("SI ,IM(: ") ancl it~ founder Mr. S te fa 11 Lat1x ,,~.rith r~specl to ce rtai11
i11tc llcct11al J)rOJ)e rt1· 111atte rs.

SL.I ~tl( l1as in\·cslccl co11siclc ral)IC' ti111C', <' 0 <>11, a1Hl <) tl1e r rcsot1 rrcs i11 tl1C" (le\·clo r)111c- 11t o r i1111()\·ati\'<'
l) ra11cl a11cl 111a rkc- ti11~ (' () Il C<' f) t s . rl'c) 1>r<) tC'r t it s i11tc llec tt1cd J)l'C) l)C' rt y a 11cl i11, ·est111c 11t, <)tt r clic11t lt tl ~ <)l)ta i11e<l
l ' .S. D es ig11 l)atc 11t ~ <) . 1) 5 {.-t.,3(i l , a cu f))' o f ,vl1icl1 is e11closccl l1e re,\~tl1.

lt l1 ~1s . co111<"
rece 11u,, (<) o,1r clie 11ts' attc11tio 11 tl1at at least t,l1e l)ottlc .yo tt t1sc i11 C'<) 1111ecrjo 11 ,vitl1 .\'()t t r
t\ 1r1l>rC,:> l~t111a11a \.i\l l1iskc}', is st1bsta11tia lly si111ilar, a11cl i11 [~1ct J)t'actirally icl 11tical, to il 1e (lL·si~11 sl1c)\V11 i11 \. ,t 1r
clie 1: t 's l .J .S. D esig11 Pate 11t No. 1)5..1, t.,361 a 11cl l1e11ce infri11gc <) Lt r clic 11l's ri9.;l1ts pt1rsLta 111 to 35 l ;.S. (". §§ 27 1.
28 1, 28~). ln1 a~cs o f \'C)11r l)<> ttle al<)tt ~sicle dra,vi119.;s o f c) ur cli<'11t 's [)atc 11t arc rc1)ri11t rcl l)c l<),,~:
"

'


Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-3 Filed 07/01/19 Page 3 of 3

......
--
.... .
, .

J .,, - -·~
., ;, ·:. ·.. ...·.,.-I:-r ~. .
,, -~
' ,"' I
,
.,, •.
',

\
\ .~ I \ \
\
\ I \
I \ ....... .,. ~ /
I \\
I \ \ I
\ I \ 1 J
\ I
\ I \ \ I
I
I
\
\ I
\
I
\\ I
I
I I \ I \
I
\
\ I •' \ I \
\ / ,, ,- \ /
'\ 1I /~ \,;I
t~··, _r >J

Ol1r cliC' 11l \1c>})('S \() rcs<)l\T' tl1is issltc a111ical>l)· <) 11 a l)t1si11~· ss tc) l)t1si11ess l)a. is, ,vitl1c) t1t C<> t1rt
i11\·o l\·r 111e11t. 1'o tl1at exlC'tll. <)t tr r lie 11t ,Yc)t1lcl ,v<' lcc) 111(· tl1c <)f) fJ<> 1tt111ity l<) c 11tc r i11t c) cc) 11st111cti\·c clisct1ssi<>11s
,,·itl1 yc)ll tc) cl~t<'r1r1i11e:- ,YI1etl1cr ,vc' ca 11 a~rcc t<) a 11111tt1ally ar<'<' l)lal>lc 1),1tc 11t lirc 11sin~ <) r c) tl1<'r ;1~·1-c'e 111c 11t a 11cl
l1a. 110 i11te11tio11 o r fili11g s1 1it at tl1is ri111c . S l1ot1lcl yot1 l)e c)f tl1c~ o pi11io 11 tl1at yolt clc) 11<>t r<'CJttire a lice 11se fi~o 111
SLI\1C, it "voulcl be l1el1)l11l if y·ot1 coulcl {)lease gi\,e tis so1ne i11sigl1t i11to )'Ot1r r~~1sons.

\!\'e ha,,~ marke(i tl1is 111atter for fo llc),V-llp ()0 11t May 2019 a11d lc)ol<. fo r,varcl lo f(~('e· i,·i11~· )'()tlr
re p o r1se o n or \)e lo r tl1at elate.

I Jast l)ttl r1c)t least [)lease Ln1cl<'rsla11(l tl1at tl1is l1?tt c r is ,vritte11 ,,·itl10 L1t [)rcjltclicc~ l<) o r ,vai\'<'r <> I' a11cl
,\'it l1 l'11ll rese r\·a tio r1 c)r all ri~l1ts a11cl r~111cclies ot1r clie nt 111c1y l1a\·c i11 tl1is 1r1att<:~r.

\'0L1rs since re ly,


------ )

isti,111 \·\ '. I.., iccltk.e, 1> .( .


J\t( () I Tl ('Y at l 1a\\'

2
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-4 Filed 07/01/19 Page 1 of 2

EXHIBIT D
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-4 Filed 07/01/19 Page 2 of 2

Christian W. Liedtke

From: Ajemian, Peter H. <pajemian@bhfs.com>


Sent: Monday, May 13, 2019 6:35 PM
To: Christian W. Liedtke
Subject: Derby Spirits, LLC (Your Ref. No. STELA-0003)
Attachments: 20190509153611.pdf

Dear Mr. Liedtke:

Our firm represents Derby Spirits, LLC in intellectual property matters. Our client requested that we investigate the
claims set forth in your letter dated May 6, 2019 (attached). As such, we are currently evaluating this matter and will
respond substantively shortly. In the meantime, we request that you kindly direct all correspondence to my attention.

Sincerely,

Peter H. Ajemian
Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP
100 North City Parkway, Suite 1600
Las Vegas, NV 89106
702.464.7003 tel
pajemian@bhfs.com

STATEMENT OF CONFIDENTIALITY & DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this email message is attorney privileged
and confidential, intended only for the use of the individual or entity named above. If the reader of this message is not
the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copy of this email is strictly
prohibited. If you have received this email in error, please notify us immediately by calling (303) 223-1300 and delete
the message. Thank you.

1
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-5 Filed 07/01/19 Page 1 of 2
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-5 Filed 07/01/19 Page 2 of 2
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-6 Filed 07/01/19 Page 1 of 2

AO 440 (Rev. 06/12) Summons in a Civil Action

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT


for the
District
__________ of Nevada
District of __________

)
)
)
)
Plaintiff(s) )
)
v. Civil Action No.
)
)
)
)
)
Defendant(s) )

SUMMONS IN A CIVIL ACTION

To: (Defendant’s name and address)

A lawsuit has been filed against you.

Within 21 days after service of this summons on you (not counting the day you received it) — or 60 days if you
are the United States or a United States agency, or an officer or employee of the United States described in Fed. R. Civ.
P. 12 (a)(2) or (3) — you must serve on the plaintiff an answer to the attached complaint or a motion under Rule 12 of
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The answer or motion must be served on the plaintiff or plaintiff’s attorney,
whose name and address are:

If you fail to respond, judgment by default will be entered against you for the relief demanded in the complaint.
You also must file your answer or motion with the court.

CLERK OF COURT

Date:
Signature of Clerk or Deputy Clerk
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-6 Filed 07/01/19 Page 2 of 2

AO 440 (Rev. 06/12) Summons in a Civil Action (Page 2)

Civil Action No.

PROOF OF SERVICE
(This section should not be filed with the court unless required by Fed. R. Civ. P. 4 (l))

This summons for (name of individual and title, if any)


was received by me on (date) .

I personally served the summons on the individual at (place)


on (date) ; or

I left the summons at the individual’s residence or usual place of abode with (name)
, a person of suitable age and discretion who resides there,
on (date) , and mailed a copy to the individual’s last known address; or

I served the summons on (name of individual) , who is


designated by law to accept service of process on behalf of (name of organization)
on (date) ; or

I returned the summons unexecuted because ; or

Other (specify):
.

My fees are $ for travel and $ for services, for a total of $ .

I declare under penalty of perjury that this information is true.

Date:
Server’s signature

Printed name and title

Server’s address

Additional information regarding attempted service, etc:


Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-7 Filed 07/01/19 Page 1 of 2

AO 440 (Rev. 06/12) Summons in a Civil Action

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT


for the
District
__________ of Nevada
District of __________

)
)
)
)
Plaintiff(s) )
)
v. Civil Action No.
)
)
)
)
)
Defendant(s) )

SUMMONS IN A CIVIL ACTION

To: (Defendant’s name and address)

A lawsuit has been filed against you.

Within 21 days after service of this summons on you (not counting the day you received it) — or 60 days if you
are the United States or a United States agency, or an officer or employee of the United States described in Fed. R. Civ.
P. 12 (a)(2) or (3) — you must serve on the plaintiff an answer to the attached complaint or a motion under Rule 12 of
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The answer or motion must be served on the plaintiff or plaintiff’s attorney,
whose name and address are:

If you fail to respond, judgment by default will be entered against you for the relief demanded in the complaint.
You also must file your answer or motion with the court.

CLERK OF COURT

Date:
Signature of Clerk or Deputy Clerk
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-7 Filed 07/01/19 Page 2 of 2

AO 440 (Rev. 06/12) Summons in a Civil Action (Page 2)

Civil Action No.

PROOF OF SERVICE
(This section should not be filed with the court unless required by Fed. R. Civ. P. 4 (l))

This summons for (name of individual and title, if any)


was received by me on (date) .

I personally served the summons on the individual at (place)


on (date) ; or

I left the summons at the individual’s residence or usual place of abode with (name)
, a person of suitable age and discretion who resides there,
on (date) , and mailed a copy to the individual’s last known address; or

I served the summons on (name of individual) , who is


designated by law to accept service of process on behalf of (name of organization)
on (date) ; or

I returned the summons unexecuted because ; or

Other (specify):
.

My fees are $ for travel and $ for services, for a total of $ .

I declare under penalty of perjury that this information is true.

Date:
Server’s signature

Printed name and title

Server’s address

Additional information regarding attempted service, etc:


Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-8 Filed 07/01/19 Page 1 of 2

AO 440 (Rev. 06/12) Summons in a Civil Action

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT


for the
District
__________ of Nevada
District of __________

)
)
)
)
Plaintiff(s) )
)
v. Civil Action No.
)
)
)
)
)
Defendant(s) )

SUMMONS IN A CIVIL ACTION

To: (Defendant’s name and address)

A lawsuit has been filed against you.

Within 21 days after service of this summons on you (not counting the day you received it) — or 60 days if you
are the United States or a United States agency, or an officer or employee of the United States described in Fed. R. Civ.
P. 12 (a)(2) or (3) — you must serve on the plaintiff an answer to the attached complaint or a motion under Rule 12 of
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The answer or motion must be served on the plaintiff or plaintiff’s attorney,
whose name and address are:

If you fail to respond, judgment by default will be entered against you for the relief demanded in the complaint.
You also must file your answer or motion with the court.

CLERK OF COURT

Date:
Signature of Clerk or Deputy Clerk
Case 2:19-cv-01148 Document 1-8 Filed 07/01/19 Page 2 of 2

AO 440 (Rev. 06/12) Summons in a Civil Action (Page 2)

Civil Action No.

PROOF OF SERVICE
(This section should not be filed with the court unless required by Fed. R. Civ. P. 4 (l))

This summons for (name of individual and title, if any)


was received by me on (date) .

I personally served the summons on the individual at (place)


on (date) ; or

I left the summons at the individual’s residence or usual place of abode with (name)
, a person of suitable age and discretion who resides there,
on (date) , and mailed a copy to the individual’s last known address; or

I served the summons on (name of individual) , who is


designated by law to accept service of process on behalf of (name of organization)
on (date) ; or

I returned the summons unexecuted because ; or

Other (specify):
.

My fees are $ for travel and $ for services, for a total of $ .

I declare under penalty of perjury that this information is true.

Date:
Server’s signature

Printed name and title

Server’s address

Additional information regarding attempted service, etc: