Anda di halaman 1dari 24

609

Appendi T-Tes i oni l x tn a s

OWCp in the net: Reviews How educators view OWCp


n

OWCp was selected by Microsoft.com as a model for interactive and collaborative learning. Mark Warchauer Writes about OWCp to the Papyrus News Collaboration on the web to foster genuine communication by Dr. Vance Stevens Developing Cross-Cultural Understanding through Online Forums by Dr. Reima Al-Jarf OWCp project is listed as the third active project among IUP English Departments projects By Dr. Gian Pagnucci

OWCp & Arab Open University By Dr. Khaild Aba ALhassan

Al-Marafah Journal reviewed OWCp 2002 by Abdullah Al-Harbi


OWCp Presentation in TESOL Convention 2003 by Meteab Al-Jamhour OWCp Presentation in TESOL Convention 2004 by Meteab Al-Jamhour

OWCp presentation in Qatar 2003 by Al-Msaudi A review about OWCp by Vance Stevens 2003 After a successful experiment in collaborative writing through OWCp by Mr. Abrahim Al-Orani Abureesh Academic Net by Dr. Ali Abureesch Riaddh Newspaper
Al-Jazeerah Newspaper

n n

Southern Illinois University The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Onderwijs - curriculum en vakoverstijgend English as a Second Language site by Rong-Chang Li Teaching English Writing online Writing Skills by Paul Thompson TESOL ISLAMIA British Council European University Institute

Educational Community-Building with Forums By Greg R. Notess

OWCp was selected by Microsoft.com as a model for interactive and collaborative writing.
I am glad to report to you that our project (OWCp) was selected by Microsoft.com as an educational model that incorporates Online forums for interactive and collaborative learning, and as a model for online community-building. I am glad to see OWCp listed there to be an example for educators who wish to use online forums as a tool for teaching and learning English as a second or a foreign language. http://www.microsoft.com/office/previous/frontpage/columns/edcolumn01.asp

Mark Warschauer Writes about OWCp to the Papyrus News

Mark Warschauer recommends OWCp project as an effective collaborative learning environment. He posted these lines to the Papyrus News in January 24, 2004. "Online Writing Collaboration Project ( OWCp ) is the meeting place on cyberspace for English teachers and learners from all over the globe. OWCp is an International project administrated by professors from different universities in USA, Middle East, Canada, Europe and Far East. The professors listed in the OWCp leaders list are the supervisors who work as one team with OWCp moderators and e-tutors to provide FREE Advanced educational services for students. OWCp moderators are English teachers, Ph.D candidates, master students and advanced level students. Moderators work as one team to make this online interactive collaborative learning community to be the number one meeting place on the net for English teachers and students to construct and share knowledge." http://www.owcp.net/about.htm Papyrus News is an e-mail list established by Mark Warschauer in 1999, and currently edited by Steve McCarty.

Collaboration on the web to foster genuine communication Vance Stevens reviews OWCp Collaborative Learning Sections http://www.mli.ac.ae/vlrc/libraries.htm The Online Writing Collaboration Project (OWCp) by Meteab M. AlZahrani, Indiana University of Pennsylvania English Department was created to be the meeting place on cyberspace for English learners and teachers from all over the globe. OWCp main mission is to connect English learners with

English native speakers to promote English Interactions and to create authentic interactive learning environment with the target culture (American and English Culture). OWCp is based on collaboration theories, and thus it is a two-way interaction, in which EFL learners can share and discuss their writings with classmates & American peers. OWCp members receive comprehensive feedback from qualified online tutors who volunteered to help English learners. All these are free services for students. Here are the major OWCp sections

Developing Cross-Cultural Understanding through Online Forums

By Reima Al-Jarf, King Saud University Dr. Reima Al-Jarf, demonstrates in her presentation how OWCP online forums are used to develop crosscultural understanding, change stereotypes, and raise awareness of current global and cultural issues among international participants. Global Learning Community

The presentation will demonstrate how the Online Writing Collaboration Project (OWCp), a portal for teaching and learning EFL writing online helps develop cross-cultural understanding among Arab and non-Arab students around the world who are members of OWCP. More than 2500 students and 50 instructors from USA, Singapore, China, Egypt, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine and Bulgaria are registered in OWCp. A total of 250 threads and 1351 posts were posted in the OWCP Cross-cultural Communication forums. A participant can post any thread about a global or local issue and participants from around the world may post their reactions. The threads chosen for discussion are based on a movie, a newspaper news story, an issue that was read in a T.V. website like BBC, current world events and issues, or the participants personal contact with people from other cultures. The discussion threads are posted on a voluntary basis and respondents are free to agree or disagree with the issue under discussion. Examples of the cross-cultural themes discussed by the participants are: Saudi Arabia the land of Desert, Headscarves and France, Sayings of Prophet Mohammed, The Media and Culture, Happy Eid, Arabs and Literacy, Political and Social Change for Arabs, Socio-Cultural Awareness, Saudi Women Need More Jobs, Better Rights, Clinton tells Saudi: Dont Fight the Tide of Change, Ethnocentrisms, Proverbs from different cultures, The Way We Talk, Ethnic Food Recipe Sharing, The Thirty Most Influential Characters in History, When the RBG Doesnt Kill Anymore, Egyptian Civilization, Pictures from Bulgaria, Disguised Lampoon of Hitler, American Thanksgiving, American Culture American Dream, 9/11. In addition, OWCP provides Culture through Pictures and Culture Related Media. Read more by clicking on this link: Developing Cross-Cultural Understanding through Online Forums

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

List OWCp as one of their Global Resources

Online Writing Collaboration Project http://www.owcp.net/about.htm The University of North Carolina listed OWCp as the fourth project that increases global understanding and facilitates Cross Cultural Communication.

The Online Writing Collaboration Project (OWCp) is an online meeting place for English teachers and learners from all over the globe. OWCp is an International project administered by professors from different universities in USA, Middle East, Canada, Europe, and Far East. The scholars listed in the OWCp leaders list are the supervisors who work as one team with OWCp moderators and e-tutors to provide FREE advanced educational services for students. The goal of this project is to create the best online learning community for English teachers and students to construct and share knowledge. http://www.unc.edu/world/general.shtml

OWCp project is listed as the third active project among IUP English Departments projects.

http://www.english.iup.edu/special/projects/default.htm These Projects serve a variety of functions. Each project is designed by Faculty members in order to enhance and assist understanding and development of Literature and Composition studies.

Active Projects
n n n n n n

eDRAFT (electronic Discussion, Revision, And Fluid Texts) The Next Step Program Online Writing Collaboration project (OWCp) The Prometheus Project The Southcentral Pennsylvania Writing Project 12 Hours as an English Major

OWCp & Arab Open University

F s " icne" dcn 0M k C icttco

General Director Department of Studies and Information Ministry of Higher Education


A message from OWCp Leader Dr. Khalid Abalhassan, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Eid mubarak and I hope you had a wonderful celebration. I have a piece of good news. Since we started using OWCp at the Arab Open University, students have not been able to use the original technologies offered by the university itself. So, OWCp was the solution.

The new thing though, Mr. Ibraheem Aloraini, my partner from AOU, decided to take our project to the University's Director, Dr. Abdullah Alsalamah. Dr. Alsalamah is an associate professor of Computer Science. Mr. Ibraheem is a specialist in computational linguistics with an MA from UK. Dr. Alsalamah was thrilled to see the project and was absolutely amazed to see the professionality of our work. Ibraheem did a good job presenting the website to him. He used the projector to make the presentation. He only didn't tell me about it until later. I wish he told me before the presentation to make it look better and show the other

information he may have failed to present. Dr. Alsalamah asked that ALL AOU faculty should use LiveTutoring for their classes, not only to teach English, but for other courses. As you know, CLC is perfect for any subject, not just English. I thought you would be happy to know that, so I decided to write to you about it. Now, we are educating other educators at AOU to know about CLC. I will keep you posted about any developments on this. Truly, Khalid Abalhassa

Mr. Ibrahim Aloraini Computational Linguistics After a successful experiment in collaborative writing through OWCP, I am confident that you are now capable of expanding your essay writing experience. I also noticed that you like to write and discuss topics from different prospective and views. Therefore, I have decided to give you a chance to write about the new topics with more freedom.

Southern Illinois University

Improve your Writing


The Center for English as a second language at southern Illinois University listed OWCp along with International Writing Exchange by Ruth Vilmi as two good projects for writing Exchange and ideas discussions. Online Writing Collaboration Project

Onderwijs - curriculum en vakoverstijgend

OWCp; Online Writing Collaboration Project

OWCp is the meeting place on cyberspace for English teachers and learners from all over the globe. OWCp is an International project administrated by professors from different universities in USA, Middle East, Canada, Europe and Far East. The professors listed in the OWCp leaders list are the supervisors who work as one team with OWCp moderators and e-tutors to provide FREE Advanced educational services for students

Abureesh Academic Net OWCp and Abureesh Academic Net are partners, work collaboratively to help

students and other educators make best use of technology

Top 5 Links by Hits:

Top 5 Links by Rating (Score/Votes):

1 Online Writing Collaboration Project (OWCp) Category: Hits: 348 Added: 04/02/2004 2 Umm Al-Qura University Category: Hits: 245 Added: 08/03/2002 3 Makkah E-Learning Category: Hits: 68 Added: 10/19/2003

1 Makkah E-Learning Category: Votes: 3 Rating: 2 Online Writing Collaboration Project (OWCp) Category: Votes: 2 Rating: 3 Umm Al-Qura University Category: Votes: 2 Rating:

English as a Second Language site by Rong-Chang Li

http://www.rong-chang.com/writing.htm Rong-Chang Li Listed OWCp as the first site among all other sites which provide ESL/EFL students with

writing learning materials. Online Writing Collaboration Project is the meeting place on cyberspace for English teachers and learners

TEACHING WRITING
Some of the following sites were recommended by Gerlinde Buchberger in an excellent article in "ELT News" 40 in February 2000. Others are taken from elsewhere. All are of value, I hope Online Writing Collaboration Project (step-by-step approach to writing with plenty of support) http://simonmgill.tripod.com/WRITING.html

Writing Skills by Paul Thompson

http://www.rism.ac.th/class/IS/Pault/ Online Writing Collaboration Project is an excellent site covering all aspects of writing.

TESOL ISLAMIA

TESOLISLAMIA listed OWCp and Arabian ESOL Journal (AEJ) as among other international organizations that provide English learning and teaching services.

http://www.tesolislamia.org/links.html

www.almarefah.com

Al-Marafah is an educational Journal issued monthly by the Ministry of Education in Saudi Arabia. Almarafah in its 86th issue, that was published in August 2002, reviewed English websites on the internet that provide online tutoring, support autonomous learning, and promote interactive learning. The international websites reviewed were mostly online dictionaries, acronyms, and thesauruses finders; 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. Merriam-Webster Online http://www.peakenglish.com Language Learning Net Acronym Finder Thesaurus.com

OWCp was listed as an international project that supports interactive and collaborative learning. The reviewer emphasized the importance of online interaction and communication with online peers and other teachers. Mr. Al-Harbi focused on the online interaction among learners as an effective learning method that improves communicative skills. He also mentioned the good value of the online tutoring writing lessons that focus on the writing process and peer reviews strategies. Mr. Al-Hrabi criticized OWCp as it supports writing skills only. Other websites from Arab World reviewed are; 123http://www.atef.8m.com http://www.es1261.8m.com http://www.b33.50megs.com

OWCp Presentation in TESOL Convention 2003


By

Meteab Al-Zahrani
Indiana University of Pennsylvania & Dr. Shaker Rizk

Suez Canal University, Egypt Dear OWCp members ,

By Meteab Al-Zahrani

It is my pleasure to inform you that OWCp was presented in TESOL conference in Baltimore, MD. It was a co-presentation with Dr. Shaker, a professor from Suez Canal University, Egypt. On my part, I talked about OWCp in general, its importance due the limited resources, huge number of students in the English classrooms, and due to the lack of real interaction and collaboration in EFL classrooms. I also talked about OWCp theoretical background and how OWCp was technically created using the most needed interactive features to serve English learners from all over the globe. I focused on Arab English learners' attitude toward online collaborative writing, and on their reactions toward sharing writing and getting feedback from online peers and classmates. At the end, I had some students writing sample presented using the audio interactive voice.

Dr. Shaker talked about his students experience in the project and the effectiveness of such Collaborative writing projects in improving EFL learners' writing. Dr. Shaker also focused on the importance for more projects of such type to help learners interact in English. On the second day, I attended sessions that focus on similar work we do at OWCp. A few presenters presented their students' experiences using e-mails to exchange writing. Other presenters talked about the chat rooms and how their students engaged in such collaborative group discussions to help each other exchange ideas. I was given the opportunity to talk in these sessions. I shared our experience in OWCp. The presenters and their audience liked the idea of interactive and collaborative writing with peers from different cultural backgrounds. Some asked me to go to the computer lab in the Electronic Village just to show them how OWCp works and how they can join the project with their students. We went to the electronic village computer lab as a group and I was given the opportunity to do a sort of unscheduled and unplanned small workshop within the conference for those interested professors who showed high interests to know more about our experience in OWCp. I took them in a virtual tour in the project, and we met some members online. Now the good news I want to share with you, some of those professors already registered to OWCp. Some will register with their students after they review OWCp. Some professors who showed high interests to join OWCp with their students were:

1. Dr. Christine Meloni, a well known in the field of CMC and teaching English as a second/ foreign language. Dr. Christine was the featured guest speaker in the Three TESOL RIVER

Conference which was held at IUP 1998. She gave the preliminary speech and in that speech she gave a well known statement that became frequently quoted by many researchers in the filed of CMC. She stated that "Technology will not replace teachers; teachers without technology will be replaced with teachers with technology". I have known Dr. Christine Meloni since 1998 and we had sort of collaboration in building and exchanging ideas about projects for students in the Internet. Dr. Christine was a member in my 1998 old project which was called "English in 2000, new avenues in creating virtual collaboration among learners and teachers on the Internet". She praised my work in that project in TESOL Matters. TESOL Matters listed that project as a model a long with another project created in Japan. http://www.tesol.org/pubs/magz/wanw...wanweb9906.html . Dr. Christine has similar project on the Internet but it is not interactive one. You can visit her project by clicking on this link http://home.gwu.edu/~meloni/eslstudyhall/. Dr. Christine has presented many papers in many conferences and this is one of her papers on the net http:// exchanges.state.gov/educatio...ing/mel0501.htm . We will be so glad to have Dr. Christine and her students from Gorge Washington University to join OWCp to create more collaboration among Arab EFL learners and English native speakers. 2. Dr. Jerry Gebhard, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, a well known author who has published several books in the area of teaching methodologies and cross cultural communications.

He is going to review OWCp and will join us this summer for his graduate methodology class to apply online instructions with OWCp members
Dr. Gerhard page in OWCp

http://www.owcp.net/gebhard/info/index.htm

3. Dr. Pamela Mc Pherson, National Center for English language teaching and Research. Dr. Pamela will hopefully join us from Australia with her students. I was pleased when she stated that she wants her students to interact with Arab EFL learners to increase their awareness about Arab World, and the Arab cultures.

4. Dr. Books an American professor who will join us from Japan with her students. She is very excited about sharing writing online and getting feedback from online peers. She said that she is going herself to be an active member since she likes to have friends from different parts of the world. 5. Dr. A Sehilou a professor from Emoria State University, 6. Dr. Alal Radu, a professor from Ivan Franko National University, Ukraine 7. Dr. Halyna Kaluzhna a professor from Ivan Franko National University, Ukraine http://www.msses.ru/win/faculty/alc/iwe/ Those professors liked OWCp interactive features; text based interaction, audio-video conferencing, text and voice chatrooms, and above all the idea of keeping track of each member activities in the project to measure students' progress and to evaluate and assess their' learning. I would finally like to thank all OWCp members and moderators for their great work in helping

to make OWCp the number one Meeting place on Cyberspace for English learners and teachers from all over the globe. Yours, Meteab

OWCp Presentation in TESOL Convention 2004


By Meteab M. Al-Zahrani Indiana University of Pennsylvania

By Meteab Al-Zahrani, Event #: 3139 Title: Creating Online Collaborative Writing Projects Interest Section: CALL Content Area: Writing/composition Caucus Code: NNEST Author Block: Meteab Al-Zahrani, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Indiana, Pennsylvania, United States The presenter demonstrates the Online Writing Collaboration Project as a model that promotes online collaborative writing. Students increased awareness of the English target culture is shared to reveal the benefits gained and the difficulties encountered. OWCp will also be presented as a model that promotes Cross Cultural communication among other nations. the presenter will provide some examples of how International projects like OWCp can increase global understanding.

Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL ( 700 South Washington Street, Suite 2 Alexandria, Virginia 22314 USA

Riyadh Newspaper

Aljazeerah Newspaper, Saudi Arabia

British Council

European University Institute

For Ph.D. theses, the supervisor must request the correction of the final draft in writing. This can be done either once the whole draft is finished or on a chapter-bychapter basis. Corrections are free up to 120,000 items (words) (approximately 300 pages). Where the researcher presents more than this, s/he will be billed. Please remember to send the manuscript to the Language Centre with continuous page numbering and in double-spaced text. It must be sent in hard copy (printed on paper). The time required to have a PhD corrected is four weeks. In order to monitor continuously the researchers' writing ability, even those researchers who have been deemed fluent enough not to be required to follow language courses should submit a sample of their writings to the Language Centre. Supervisors who regard their supervisees' writing ability as insufficient will invite them to have their papers corrected by the Language Centre. Whenever a paper, thesis or other written work has been submitted for language correction, this must be specified on the title page of the relevant work. For further details, please consult: http://www.iue.it/LINGUE/English/Correction.htm If you write in French, note that you have a special support on line under (http://www.iue.it/ ecrire (structure, clarity, grammar , bibliography etc.) If you write in English, you may find useful to have a look on http://www.iue.it/ecrire/ m1_rappactivite.htm (bottom of the page) or http://www.owcp.net/ls/ The Institute is the ideal place to develop linguistic skills, and the HEC Department attaches a particular importance to this goal. http://www.iue.it/HEC/People/Researchers/Guidelines.shtml

632 Appendi U-D r Va St x . nde evensRevi oft O W Cp Sedtons ew he i

Vande Stevens Revi ews & Presents O W Cp

Thi pr ent i s ars w ih a l ats e exi tng lcr i w ih vit poral .. s es aton t t t ook on s i i ares t rual t s . Son e vi rtuallcrari i es
The Library of Congress University of Oxford libraries UAE University New Medical Library Subscription services e.g. ERIC E*Subscribe

O nlne lnks i i
will open in new window

Presentati on lnks i l od_gov. n ht oxlp. n i ht uaeu_nn lht . n erd. n i ht

htp:0 w w .od. t 0w l gov0 htp:0 w w . ey. ad. gui 0 t 0w codl ox. uk0 des htp:0 luaeu. ae0 t 0nn . ad. htp:0 w w . s don 0 odudt 0 t 0w edr . Pr s

OWCp The O nlne W rtng Colacor i Pr edt( W Cp)cy M et M .A l i ii l aton ok O eac Zahr ,I ana ani ndi U ni s t ofPenns vani Fngls D eparn entw as dr ed t ce t n eetng pl on ver iy yl a ih t eat o he i ade dycer pade f Fngls l ner and t s or i h ear s eadher f on al overt gl sr l he oce.O W Cp n ai n n i s on i t donnedtFngls l ner w ih Fngls natve s si s o i h ear s t i h i peaker t pr ot Fngls s o on e ih

I er i and t dr e aut i i er i l ni envionn entw ih t t get nt adtons o eat hentd nt adtve ear ng r t he ar dulur ( n erdan and Fngls Culur .O W Cp i cas on dolacor i t i ,and t e A i ih t e) s ed l aton heores t i i a t o- ay i er i i w hi FFM l ner dan s e and di dus t r hus t s w w nt adton, n dh ear s har s s hei w rtngs w ih dl s at & A n erdan peer .O W Cp n en cer r ve don pr ii t as n es i s s edei ehens ve i f eedcadk f on qualfed onlne t or w ho vol eer t hel Fngls l ner .A l t e r ii i ut s unt ed o p i h ear s l hes ar f ee s vi f s udent .H er ar t n ak O W Cp s i : e r er des or t s e e he or edtons The O nlne Tut i W rtng Mes ons ( t 0w w w . dp. 0s pr de Fr i oral ii s htp:0 ow netl ) ovi ee t oralw rtng l s t pr ot onlne dolacor i w rtng,engagi ut i ii es ons hat on e i l atve ii ng s udent t appl w rtng pr t so y ii odes s r egi i udi ar off s tat es ndl ng t eedcadk tadi and r ng peerr ew s s r egi ,t evi tat es eadhes s udent how t dhoos a s edt w rt t i t s o e uck , ie hes s s at ent ,det n i a pur e,and how t or ze t ri ,i eas t en s er ne pos o gani hei deas ndr e , ns r t s aw ar enes ofaudi s ende,t eadhes s udent t w rtng n odes i tudts udent how t s he ii t dodun entand die ot w rt s w or o t her ier ' k. The For s Sedton ( t 0w w w . dp. 0or s)pr ot i er i un i htp:0 ow netf un on es nt adtve, aut i dolacor i w rtng,n otvat s udent t w rt f eel and hentd, l atve ii i es t s o ie r y don n uni i y,endour datvel ages s udent t s e t rw rtng w ih r audi t s o har hei ii t eal endes f on dif entdulur cadkgr r f er t al ounds t , eadhes devel entofi opn deas t ough hr dons r i f tudtve eedcadk,pr ot drtdalt nki t ough onlne di dus i and on es ii hi ng hr i s s on ii tt ow ds l atve ear ng n al decat ,and dr es pos tve atiudes t ar dolacor i l ni i gener es eat and Fngls w rtng i pari ar i h ii n tdul . The Fl r d Readi Sedton ( t 0w w w . dp. 0 lc0 dr es edtoni ng i htp:0 ow netneti ) eat r ng0 rtng donnedton and i egr es r ng s l w ih t ls eni s l eadi w ii i nt at eadi kil t he i t ng kil t ough enaclng cuiti outl r hr i l-n -oad eader t hel onlne r s hat p i eader t r a t s o ead ext w hie ls eni t i s n ulaneous y,f lt es a cook gr r ng and t l i t ng o t i t l adiiat oup eadi hen i tat gr di dus i ,pr des f ee addes t t l ges N etlcr y on t nii e oup s s ons ovi r s o he ar t -i ar he net pr des A udi cooks onlne r ng ari es f ee Fl r d cooks and , ovi o, i eadi tdl , r edtoni aut i el r d n at i s and pr des Fr Readi s t ar t hel hentd edtoni eral , ovi ee ng ofw e o p t eader . s l ner ce ceterr ear s The Mi Tut i Sedton ( t 0w w w . dp. 0s lve)enacl Fngls l ner ve orng i htp:0 ow netl 0i es i h ear s t engage i an aut i lve audi vi don n uni i w ih natve s o n hentd i o- deo daton t i peaker of s s Fngls dr es audi vi lve w or hops f cot s udent and t i h, eat o- deo i ks or h t s eadher ,and pr des t ovi edhni s dal uppors t t t o eadher and s udent w ho w i h t us onlne s t s s o e i donf endi t s i t rl ng and t er ng ool n hei eani eadhi ng. The Mi Chat( t 0w w w . dp. 0 0 . n pr des cot t - ed and ve htp:0 ow netdhatdhatht ovi h extcas voi dhats s ons w ih natve s de es i t i peaker and ot Fngls s s her i h peaker f on al over sr l t gl he oce,t el at on t onlne di dus i and dl s oon di dus i and o acor e he i s s ons as r s s ons t gener e i hus at deas and have n or l ni opporuniy out i dl s e ear ng t t s de as . Mear f on TV Sedton ( t 0w w w . dp. 0v0 v. n pr des Fngls Mi n r i htp:0 ow nett ddt ht ovi i h ve TV Channel f on U SA and ot Fngls s sr her i h peaki dounti f Fngls l ner ng res or i h ear s t l n Fngls f on TV w ih Cl ed Captoned TV tans i i ,pr des o ear ih r t os i r drptons ovi s alFngls t ough s n plfed f n s ofs pedi i h hr i ii or poken l anguage t ough W ec cas hr ed r os i s a w ay t Fngls l ner dan f l eas l and l n n or adi n udh hat i h ear s olow iy ear e t s enes of s vodacul y f on t ever day new s Thi i eas FFM s udent 'aw ar ar r he y . s ndr es t A n erdan t getdulur and i eas A n erdans aw ar he i ar t e ndr es i enes oft A r d and s he aci

I l i w ord t ough "D i doverI l TV " and ot A r TV s t cr s an d l hr s s an her ac hat oaddas i tn Fngls i h. The D ow nl Sedton ( t 0w w w . dp. 0 nl php)i udes Fngls oad i htp:0 ow netdow oad. ndl ih W rtng Mes ons O nlne Colacor i W rtng Tool ,Fl r d Cooks ii s , i l atve ii s edtoni , Fl r d di i i ,Fngls I on s s t ar Fngls W rtng Sofw ar edtoni dtonares i h di ofw e, i h ii t e, O W Cp H el Fies and W rtng Ten pl es p l , ii at O W Cp Revi Sedton ( t 0w w w . dp. 0evi s php)has a good doledton ew i htp:0 ow netr ew . l i ofFSM0 FFM cook r ew and n ovi r ew s and dr es an opporuniy f evi e evi , eat t t or Fngls s udent t l n how t r ew a cook and pucls i onlne. ih t s o ear o evi ih t i O W Cp Tr l i Page ( t 0w w w . dp. 0r 0 pr des i t tans aton ans aton htp:0 ow nettans ) ovi ns ant r l i ofa w or f on A r d t Fngls and0 f on Fngls t A r d,and pr des k r aci o ih or r i h o aci ovi W ec- ed di i i and W ec- ed tans aton s vi cas dtonares cas r l i er des Pl t e i an O W Cp Mi s i t pr de t us her s nks edton o ovi eadher and s udent ofFngls w ih ups t s ih t t dat lnks t aut i n at i s t i ude onlne k nal ,l s pl , o- e i o hentd eral hat ndl i our s es on ans t eadhi l ni n at i s Fngls s t ar Fngls w rtng pr ng0ear ng eral , i h ofw e, i h ii odes s r egi ,es tat es cooks , and ot n i delaneous t her s l eadhi and l ni n at i s ng ear ng eral . Next up: Library and research skills
(C)opyright 2003 by Vance Stevens, click here for contact info Computing Lecturer, Petroleum Institute, Abu Dhabi, UAE From a presentation given Thursday, May 8, 2003 at the MLI Teacher to Teacher Conference, Abu Dhabi, UAE This site features in an article in the On the Internet column of the Dec 2003 issue of the Online TESL-EJ Last updated November 29, 2003 Click here to restart the presentation

635

Appendi V-St x odkhol Cha l n lenge Awa d N on i ton t t O W Cp f Year 2002 r na i o he or

About OWCp | Courses | Live Tutoring | AESC |CLC | ILC | Forums | Tutorials | Site Map | Help

Appendi W - O W Cp Pr ot Peade D aiogues x on es l

637

The Web

OWCp.net

Dear OWCp Members Important Questions Related links Participants Meteab Al-Jamhoor

Dear OWCp Members,

It is my pleasure to inform you that your Project OWCp & its International Community is viewed by TESOL Organization as a model that connects cultures to promote peace and increase global understanding through dialogue, debate and collaboration. I am invited to speak about OWCp experience in facilitating cross-cultural communication and collaboration among people from different nations. I will address the importance of cultural interaction, the benefits members gain when they share cultural topics as well as the difficulties that may be encountered to communicate and collaborate with members from different cultural backgrounds. I intend to show threads that illustrate how cultural interaction helps to bridge the communication gap, and helps to promote peace. Therefore, I appreciate your support to make this presentation about your project successful by giving suggestions of what threads you think would reflect the cultural interaction and collaboration. If you participate in any discussions with members from other cultures, would you kindly share with us: 1. What are the benefits you gained from cross cultural interaction?
2. 3. 4.

What difficulties have you encountered? Have you observed any cultural conflicts? How do you think projects like OWCp that engage members from different cultures can promote peace and increase global understanding?

5.

What message do you wish to convey to the Culture of Peace Conference audience? Would you write a short message in this thread, and I will make sure it will be posted and/or read to the audience

I have arranged with the TESOL Organization the possibility of providing Webconferencing tools to conduct this presentation Live with OWCp members from USA, Middle East, Europe, and Asia. When we get all these questions answered and discussed, we will select members who are willing to share their experience about online cultural interaction and how it positively or negatively impacted their views and understanding of others.

Related Links
n

Conference Program
Developing Cross-Cultural Understanding through Online Forums by Prof. Reima Al-Jarf
How to promote Online Cross Cultural Interaction Links to discussed Cultural Topics

Creating Online Collaborative Writing Projects TESOL Convention, 2004 Dr. Vance Stevens reviews OWCp
Cultures Through pictures

Participants
n

United Nations Association of the United States of America U.S. Institute of Peace Pennsylvania State University Center for Contemporary Arab Studies Humboldt State University Online Writing Collaboration Project Ohio State University Indiana University of Pennsylvania Dpn dk V ok tkz" vn c" wfs u Truman Colle

To discuss and answer the questions, click on

button

Yours, Meteab Al-Jamhoor

About OWCp | Forums | Courses | Live Tutoring | AESC |CLC | ILC Tutorials | Site Map | Help

OWCp Policy | Disclaimer


OWCp disclaims any and all responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, completeness, legality, reliability, operability, or availability of information or material displayed on this site. Copyright 2001 -2004 OWCp

Home Register Courses Forums Live Tutoring AESC Tutorials Search OWCp

Join your Course Login to your Course Your Course Readings


Courses CLC Course categories
A ppendi X -A ls oft O nlne Cour es x it he i s

Teachers Login 640

Logout Contact Us

Login

Course categories
Indiana University of PA, USA Dr. Michael M. Williamson Courses Dr.Jerry Gebhard Courses Dr.Mbradinova Courses Leah Wilde courses Nashwa Badr Courses Arab Open University KSA Dr. Khalid Abalhassan Courses Mr. Ibrahim Aloraini Courses Arab Academy for Science and Technology Dr. Adel Ibrahim Courses Dr. Khaled Hanafy Courses Dr. Ali Al-Salami Courses Dr. Mohammed Hennawi Courses Dr. Adel Zayed Courses Dr. Meer Hamza Courses Dr. Ismail Elsayed Dr. Menem Addas Courses Imam University, Riyadh, KSA Dr. Khalid Abalhassan Courses Dr. Mohamed Al-Alalam Courses Dr. Mohamed Daoud Courses Umm Al-Qura University, Makkah, KSA Ms. Hind Al-khider Courses Ms. Nada Al-Otaiby Courses Ms. Naseem Al-Otaiby Courses King Abdulaziz University, Jeddah, KSA Dr. Anwer Nakshbandi Courses Dr. Abdulmojeeb Aljohari Courses Dr. Abdullah Alkhateeb Courses Dr. Hashim Al-Habshi Courses Ms.Samar M.S Shoaib Courses Ms. Haneen M.S Shoaib Courses Ms.Sharefa Alomari Courses King Saud University, Riyadh, KSA Dr. Reima Al-Jarf Courses Dr. Saad Al-Kahtani Courses Hankuk University of Foreign Studies, Seoul, Korea Dr. Frank Concilus Capital Normal University, China Ms.Zhao & Anna Wang Courses Girls' College of Education,Makkah Miss.Rehab Courses Ms.Fadwa Farlis Courses Tanta University, Egypt Islamic University of Gaza Dr. Akram Habeeb Courses Dr. Ayman Hallaq College of Business Administration Dr. Wajdi Al-Jedaibi Courses Ms. Abir Kadi Courses Farah Durani Courses Diala Ghorayeb Courses Nedhal Al-Nasser Courses Soad Bouadloui Courses Marietta M. Catacutan Courses Nihad Yamani Courses Hayat Habhab Courses Rania Bahaa El-Din Courses King Khlaid University Dr. Abdulaziz Al-Fageeh Courses Suez Canal University, Egypt Dr. Shaker Rizk Courses Teachers' College, Riyadh, KSA OWCp Courses 0 3 2 3 1 2 0 5 2 0 1 2 1 2 1 1 1 1 0 7 2 2 1 1 1 1 0 1 1 1 1 2 0 0 0 4 1 0 2 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 1 2 0 1 5 2 2 1 1 1 3 2 2 0 2 0 2 2 0 0 Arabic Courses for Speakers of other languages Conversational English American Culture Readings "Spiritual & Motivational" French Language Courses General Courses Electronic Reading Courses 0 1 1 1 7 1

Tfcs dpvstft di"

You are not logged in. (Login)

Contact Us - OWCp
Home Courses Forums Live Tutoring AESC Tutorials Learning Connections

Advanced Educational Services Center (AESC) provides students with advanced Academic services; Proof-readings, Editing, translations, Researchers Support, Thesis, Dissertations, e-books and other resources. AESC Team will take your work to an advanced level. AESC Team are all Ph.D and MA holder who would work with you in an academic professional manner.

OWCp disclaims any and all responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, completeness, legality, reliability, operability, or availability of information or material displayed on this site. OWCp is Copyrighted 2001-2003. All rights are reserved for Meteab M. Al-Jamhour OWCp Director & Developer Ph.D Candidate meteab@owcp.net
Indiana University of Pennsylvania

OWCp Disclaimer