Anda di halaman 1dari 5

NAME AMANDA FRENCH

Full Address: 1 Kensington Villa


Royal Park
Bristol
BS8 3AJ

Date of Birth: 5 March 1981

Age: 25

Nationality: British

EDUCATION

2002 – 2003 Nottingham University, Legal Practice Course – Merit


Nottingham

1999 – 2002 University of Birmingham, Law LLB – 2:1


Birmingham

1991 – 1999 West Buckland School, A Levels: Biology A


North Devon Geography A
General Studies B
Mathematics C

GSCE’s: 3A*’s, 3A’s, 4B’s and 1C in Art.

Mathematics

Achievements:

• Fortescue Medal – A discretional award for outstanding achievement in


sports, academia and service to the school community.
• Selected and competed at the National Trials for cross-country running,
eventing, tetrathlons. I also travelled to Ireland and competed against
international tetrathlon teams.
• Played for the Devon county hockey team.
• Silver Duke of Edinburgh’s Award
• NCO in Combined Cadet Forces – Army
PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE
September 2004 – present day

Bond Pearce LLP


Trainee Solicitor

Commercial Property – Seat 2, 1st March 2005 – 1st September 2005

I was both involved with senior fee earner’s files and running smaller transactions
with supervision.

• Running a number of lease acquisitions and terminations for a large retail


company as well as other smaller businesses. Undertaking all the initial
searches, drafting and amending the leases and other ancillary documents,
negotiating the terms of the lease, drafting lease reports, orally
communicating the significance of the lease terms to clients and commercial
property agents, completing the transactions and handling all post completion
matters.
• Conducting lease renewals, both as the tenant’s solicitors and landlord’s
solicitors.
• Drafting certificates of title for a large businesses acquisition for a brewery,
and investigating title for wind farms and for a proposed site acquisition for
another large brewery.
• Conducting a number of discrete transactions for a wide variety of clients
from large corporations to charities including obtaining licences for works, a
licence to assign, and a deed of variation.
• Assisting with the interims stages of a complex sale and lease back, involving
option agreements, drafting • .
• Assisting on the sale of a couple of premises for a large DIY chain. Completing
the matter and drafting all ancillary documents to this, including client reports
and completion statements. On another matter handling the initial requisitions
stage, drafting responses to CPSE’s, and managing client expectations when
the deal collapsed for commercial reasons.
• Through out the seat I drafted a number of Transfers, SDLT forms, Land
Registry applications, conducted searches and developed a number of strong
client relations.

Planning – Seat 4, 1st March 2006 – 1 April 2006

I requested that I sit in the planning department to enable me to appreciate the role
and involvement of planning in commercial property transactions. I believe that this
will assist me when I qualify into a commercial property department. In my one
months experience I undertook the following:-

• A number of research projects into recent developments in planning law and


governmental policy.
• Reviewed use classes.
• Assisted on a CPO.

I will be returning to the Commercial Property department, in the retail team for the
remaining 5 months.
Corporate Finance – Seat 3, 1st September 2005 – 1st March 2006

During this role I predominantly assisted senior fee earners with share acquisitions, I
also ran a few smaller share acquisitions with supervision.

• Undertaking due diligence and preparing draft replies to enquiries on a


number of medium to large size share sales.
• Drafting disclosure letters and identifying documents to be included within
disclosure bundles in medium to large size share sales.
• Conducting three share acquisitions for a small property management
company. I drafted the share purchase agreements, made amendments to
the SPA to deal with some outstanding litigation issues and the division of
ground rents, created due diligence reports, drafted all ancillary documents,
conducted simultaneous exchange and completion and handled all post
completion matters. I also identified and rectified a number of errors in
statutory books.
• Conducted client interviews following on from which I created a Newco and a
subsidiary of a company outside of the UK. In another instance following the
client interview I advised on issues of voluntary winding up, directors duties
and consequences of breach of duties for a company limited by guarantee.
• Assisted in the due diligence process for the IPO of medium size recruitment
company and drafted the due diligence report.

General Insurance – Seat 1, 1st September 2004 0 1st March 2005

I assisted senior fee earners and conducted a few small fast track claims with
supervision.

• Presented a training session on future loss calculations to the General


Insurance and Professional Indemnity department.

Other

During the two years I have been asked to assist with and attend a number of
marketing events including co-ordinating a host team for the Brunel 200
celebrations, attending law fairs, attending a number of client entertainment events.

I was elected to represent all solicitors, legal executives, paralegals and trainees
from the Bristol office on the Employee Forum.

I organise the Bond Pearce Bristol office softball team who play in the Solicitors and
Surveyors League, and enjoying playing hockey for the office team.

I have been to several Women in Property functions, and have been an active
member of the TSG committee for two years.
Other Professional Experience

Mar 2004 – Sept 2004 Bond Pearce LLP, Paralegal in the Personal Injury
Bristol department. Running all the •
files, and assisting on a number
of asbestosis matters.

Jun 2003 – Mar 2004 Kurt Geiger, Exeter Assistant manager. Running the
women’s and men’s shoe retail
department, recruiting and
training the employees, meeting
sales targets and reporting to
head office.

Sept 2001 – Jun 2003 Monsoon Accessorize, Sunday Manager. Running the
Sutton Coldfield joint store on Sunday’s, training
employees, meeting sales
targets and reporting to head
office.

INTERESTS
Travelling I have been backpacking in South Africa in August –
September 1999 and in Singapore, Malaysia, and Thailand
in June – July 2000. I have been on Safari in Kenya and
visited Mauritius, Maldives, Dubai, USA and the Caribbean in
recent years. I hope to see far more including South
America and Europe.

Sports I enjoy going to the gym, playing squash, tennis and


hockey. I have obtained my PADI Open Water Certificate
and enjoy scuba diving whenever possible. I also enjoy
snowboarding.
Hobbies Cooking and socialising. I am also currently learning to surf
and still enjoy horse riding whenever possible.