Anda di halaman 1dari 10

Eastern Visayas

Eastern Visayas is one of the 17 regions of the

Philippines, designated as Region VIII. It is
composed of two main islands, Leyte and Samar,
connected by the San Juanico Bridge, as well as
Biliran Island, and consists of six provinces and
seven cities,[2] namely, Biliran, Eastern Samar,
Leyte, Northern Samar, Samar, Southern Leyte, the
cities of Ormoc City, Baybay City, Maasin City,
Calbayog City, Catbalogan City, Borongan City and
the highly-urbanized city of Tacloban, the regional
center. These provinces and cities occupy the
easternmost islands of Visayas. It is one of only two
regions having no land border with another region,
MIMAROPA being the other.
 Eastern Visayas directly faces the Pacific Ocean. The
land area of the region is 2,156,285 hectares. As of
2010, it has a population of 4,101,322 people
 Eastern Visayas lies on the east central part of the
Philippines archipelago. It is composed of two main
islands, Leyte and Samar, which formed the eastern
most coast of the archipelago. It is bounded by
Philippine sea on the east and north with San Bernardo
Strait separating Samar island from Southeastern Luzon:
Camotes sea and Visayas sea on the west: Bohol sea on
the south with Surigao Strait separating Leyte island
from northwestern Mindanao. It has a total land area of
2,156,285 hectares or 7.2% of the country’s total land
area.[3] 52% of its total land area are classified as
forestland and 48% as alienable and disposable land.
 Naval
 Biliran  Borongan
 Eastern Samar  Tacloban
 Layte  Catarman
 Northern Samar  Maasin City
 Southern Leyte  Catbalogan
 Samar

Folktales and Waray Poems
Bowaon and Totoon
(Falsehood and Truth)
 An Balud translated by Lilia Tolentino, SPC
 Aningal Tikang Huron by Iluminado Lucente
 Echoes from Farm translated by the staff of Layte-
Samar Studies
 Mga Bukod ha Mayo (An Excerpt) by Eduardo
 Flowers of May
 The Least Miracle by Carlos A. Angeles