Chapter 2
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Cost Object
A cost object is something for which we want to compute a cost:
A product
A pair of pants
A product line
Womens boot cut jeans
An organizational unit
The on-line sales unit of a clothing retailer
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Direct Cost
A cost of a resource or activity that is acquired for or used by a single cost object Cost object = A dining room table
Cost of the wood that went into the dining room table
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
Indirect Cost
The cost of a resource that was acquired to be used by more than one cost object The cost of a saw used in a furniture factory to make different products
It is used to make different products such as dining room tables, china cabinets, and dining room chairs
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Direct or Indirect?
A cost classification can vary as the chosen cost object varies
Consider a factory supervisors salary If the cost object is a product the factory supervisors salary is an indirect cost If the factory is the cost object, the factory supervisors salary is a direct cost
A cost object can be any unit of analysis including product, product line, customer, department, division, geographical area, country, or continent
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Flexible Costs
The costs of using flexible resources
Flexible resources are resources whose costs are proportional to the amount of the resources used Wood used to make furniture in a factory Electrical power to operate machinery Fuel used to deliver the furniture to customers
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Capacity-Related Costs
The costs associated with capacity-related resources Capacity-related resources are acquired in advance of the work being done
Most personnel costs Depreciation on machinery and buildings
Capacity-related costs depend upon how much of the resource is acquired, not used May be direct or indirect costs
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Labor Costs
Cause of both confusion and controversy in costing circles
Originally flexible costs, because workers were paid in proportion to how much they produced Scheduling and union considerations have changed most labor costs into capacityrelated costs
Most organizations now treat labor costs as capacity-related rather than flexible
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Generally Accepted Accounting Principles prescribe how to determine costs for external reporting
Focus on process rather than the decision relevance of the resulting cost allocations
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Product Costs
Organizations incur product costs to produce the volume and mix of products made during the period
Materials costs, labor costs, and the cost of equipment, machinery and buildings
GAAP focuses on valuing unsold goods in ending inventory (asset) Any remaining manufacturing costs allocated to cost of goods sold (expense)
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Period Costs
Nonmanufacturing costs such as:
Administrative -Marketing Research & development Selling Costs
Some nonmanufacturing costs, such as selling, clearly do not apply to inventory items since they relate to products that have been sold Other nonmanufacturing costs (e.g., administrative) have such an ambiguous relationship to inventory that GAAP refuses to include these elements of cost in valuing inventory
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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The objective is to determine all the components, both manufacturing and nonmanufacturing, of the costs associated with a cost object
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Manufacturing Costs
Direct manufacturing costs are traced or assigned to the products that created those costs and include the cost of material and the cost of labor that is paid based on the amount of work done Indirect manufacturing costs include costs of equipment, as well as the wages and benefits paid to production supervisors and workers who provide the general capacity to undertake production activities in the factory
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Nonmanufacturing Costs (1 of 2)
Distribution costs involve delivering finished products to customers
Examples are freight and the salaries of shipping and delivery personnel
Selling costs include sales personnel salaries and commissions and other sales office expenses Marketing costs include advertising and promotion expenses
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2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
Nonmanufacturing Costs (2 of 2)
After-sales costs involve dealing with customers after the sale and include warranty repairs and the cost of maintaining help and complaint lines Research and development costs include expenditures for designing and bringing new products to the market General and administrative costs include expenses, such as the chief executive officers salary and legal and accounting office costs, that do not fall into any of the above categories
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Influence of GAAP
GAAP considers all nonmanufacturing costs as period costs used to support the sales of products in the current period only GAAP only includes manufacturing costs in calculating the cost of inventory for external reporting purposes Costing systems designed in the past conserved on information-processing costs by adopting the structure imposed by GAAP Most cost accounting systems we observe in organizations today tend to be driven by the rules that determine product costs for inventory valuation and cost of goods sold under GAAP
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Evaluation
Deciding whether the market price for an existing product makes the product profitable Determining whether a process is cost efficient compared to similar internal or external processes
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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CVP Analysis
Decision makers often like to combine information about flexible and capacity-related costs with revenue information to project profits for different levels of volume Conventional cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis rests on the following assumptions:
All organization costs are either purely flexible or capacity related Units made equal units sold Revenue per unit does not change as volume changes
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Break-even Volume
Using the CVP profit equation, break-even volume is determined by calculating the volume where profit = 0 0 = (Units sold x Contribution margin per unit) - Capacity-related costs Units sold to break even = Capacity-related costs Contribution margin per unit
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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CVP Chart
(from Exhibit 2-3)
111 111 111 111 111 111 111 111
Dollars
Units Revenue Flexible Cost Capacity-Related Cost Total Cost 2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University Profit
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Multi-Product Example (1 of 4)
Lawn Mowing Layout Design Other Maintenance Per Unit Total Per Unit Total Per Unit Total 44 4 , 4 11 1 11 1 , 1 $11 .11$11111$1111$44444$1111$11111 ,1 .1 ,4 .1 ,1 1 . 1 1 11 1 1 11 11 1, 1 1. 1 1, 1 11 1 1 11 1 11 1 1. 1 1, 1 1 11 1 1, 1 1, 1 11 1 1 11 1 1, 1 -$111 $11 ,111 -$1111 ,
Joan's Lawnscaping Services - Composite Product Calculation (based on Exhibit 11 - ) Lawn Mowing Layout Design Other Maintenance Per Unit % Total Per Unit Total Per Unit Total Total All 11 1 44 4 4 , 1 . 444 1 1 44 4 4 1 . 444 11 1 11 1 1 , 1 . 111 11 1 , 1 Per Unit Weight Per Unit Weight Per Unit Weight Total All $11 . 11 $11 . 11 $1111 $44 .1 . 44 $1111 $11 .1 . 11 $1111 .1 1. 1 11 1 . 1 1 11 11 1. 1 11 . 1 1 11 1. 1 1. 1 11 1. 1 11 $11 . 11
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Units Sold
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
Multi-Product Example (2 of 4)
The result of these calculations is a fictitious product that reflects the average revenue and flexible cost characteristics of the real products Given that the total capacity-related costs at Joans Landscaping is $300,000, use the formula for breakeven to compute the breakeven level of sales for this composite product
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Multi-Product Example (3 of 4)
Break-even quantity = 300,000/53.06 = 5,653.50 To translate this average product break-even quantity to individual products, simply reverse the process of computing the average:
Lawn Mowing = 5653.50 x 4600/6200 = 4194.529 Layout Design = 5653.50 x 350/6200 = 319.14892 Other Maintenance = 5653.50 x 1250/6200 1139.818
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Multi-Product Example (4 of 4)
Joan's Landscaping Services - Composite Product Calculation (based on Exhibit 11 Lawn Mowing Layout Design Other Maintenance Per Unit Total Per Unit Total Per Unit Total Total All 11. 1 1 11 1 1 11 1 1. 11 11 . 1 1 11 1 $44 . 44 $44444$1111 $11111$1111 $11111 $11111 ,4 .1 ,1 .1 ,1 ,1 1. 1 11 1 11 1 1 11 1, 1 1. 1 1, 1 11 1 1 11 1. 1 1 11 1 1, 1 1 11 1 1, 1 $11 , 111 $11111 ,1 $11 ,111 $11111 ,1 1 11 1 1, 1 $1 Units Sold Revenues Flexible Costs Contribution Margin Capacity-Related Costs Profit
Note that this breakeven calculation focuses on breakeven for the company as a whole and not for individual departments This breakeven calculation will remain valid so long as the sales mix remains constant
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Cost-benefit Considerations
Unlike external reporting, where the format is prescribed by GAAP, the format for determining costs for internal decision making is at the discretion of the decision maker Because the organization must pay someone to develop cost information, its expected benefits should exceed its development costs The cost-benefit consideration is important even if it is difficult to compute the value of using cost information in a particular decision
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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A cost number that is useful for one decision may be useless or perhaps even harmful if it is used for another decision
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Opportunity Cost
An opportunity cost is the sacrifice you make when you use a resource for one purpose instead of another Opportunity costs are implicit costs that do not appear anywhere in the accounting records Machine time used to make one product cannot be used to make another, so a product that has a higher contribution margin per unit may not be more profitable if it takes longer to make. Management accountants often use the concept of opportunity cost
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Creating Costs
An organization creates different costs at different stages: Starting up Early growth Reaching the boundaries of existing capacity Expanding product lines Expanding capacity Redefining the business Continued growth These costs are not created evenly over time and should be planned for
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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The composition of manufacturing costs has changed substantially in recent years Many formal cost systems were first implemented in the early 1900s:
Direct labor represented a large proportion, sometimes 50% or more, of the total manufacturing costs Direct material costs were also substantial Capacity-related costs generally represented a small fraction of total manufacturing costs Usually accumulated in a single pool and allocated to products in proportion to some volume measure such as the labor or machine hours used by the product
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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The cost of direct materials remains important, representing 40% to 60% of the costs in many plants The big change has been the vastly increased share of total costs from capacity-related costs
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Further, both flexible and capacity-related costs associated with design, product development, distribution, selling, marketing, and administrative activities have increased
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
Unit-Related Activities
Unit-related activities are those whose volume or level is proportional to the number of units produced or to other measures, such as direct labor hours or machine hours that are themselves proportional to the number of units produced Unit-related activities apply to more than just production activities
Loading shipments onto a truck is an example of a unit-related activity because it is proportional to the volume of shipments
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Batch-Related Activities
In a production environment, batch-related activities are triggered by the number of batches produced rather than by the number of units manufactured
E.g., Machine setups are required when beginning the production of a new batch of products Indirect labor for first-item quality inspections involves testing a fixed number of units for each batch produced and is, therefore, associated with the number of batches Many shipping costs may be batch related if the organization pays the shipper a charge per container or truckload
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Product-Sustaining Activities
Product-sustaining activities support the production and sale of individual products These activities provide the infrastructure the enables the production, distribution, and sale of the product but are not involved directly in the production of the product Examples include: Administrative efforts required to maintain drawings and labor and machine routings for each part Product engineering efforts to maintain coherent specifications such as the bill of materials for individual products and their component parts and their routing through different work centers in the plant Managing and sustaining the product distribution channel The process engineering required to implement engineering change orders (ECOs)
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Customer-Sustaining Activities
Customer-sustaining activities enable the company to sell to an individual customer but are independent of the volume and mix of the products and services sold and delivered to the customer Examples of customer-sustaining activities include:
Sales calls Technical support provided to individual customers
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Business-Sustaining Expenses
Business-sustaining expenses are other resource supply capabilities that cannot be traced to individual products and customers:
The cost of a plant manager and administrative staff Channel-sustaining expenses, such as the cost of trade shows, advertising, and catalogs
The expenses can be assigned directly to the individual product lines, facilities, and channels, but should not be allocated down to individual products, services, or customers
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Business-Sustaining Activities
Business-sustaining activities are those required for the basic functioning of the business For example, organizations need only one CEO irrespective of their size, and they need to perform certain basic functions, such as registration or reporting, that also are independent of the size of the organization These core activities are independent of the size of the organization, or the volume and mix of products and customers
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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If we understand the underlying behavior of costs, we have a basis to predict costs and to understand how costs will behave as volume expands and contracts
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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The management of nonmanufacturing costs is an increasingly important contributor to an organizations financial success
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Nonmanufacturing Costs (1 of 3)
Traditionally management accountants have looked at nonmanufacturing costs as a large pool of costs that should be managed by periodic budget appropriations For example, expenditures on items such as advertising are determined by what the organization can afford rather than by the mission it has to accomplish with advertising
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Nonmanufacturing Costs (2 of 3)
Nonmanufacturing costs include both flexible and capacity-related components The nonmanufacturing costs that have attracted the most attention are customerrelated costs
Cost of selling the product to the customer Putting the product in the customers hands Providing after-sales support to the customer
Can be significant and they can vary widely across different customers
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Nonmanufacturing Costs (3 of 3)
Many organizations have begun to undertake what they call customer accounting to determine the profitability of dealing with different customers or different types of customers Customer accounting systems have caused some organizations to abandon certain customers or to provide differential service fees based on the services that customers demand
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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Life-Cycle Costs
Life-cycle costing is a relatively new perspective that argues that organizations should consider a products costs over its entire lifetime when deciding whether to introduce a new product There are five distinct stages in a typical products life cycle
Not all products will follow this pattern Some products will fail early and have a truncated life cycle
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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If you have any comments or suggestions concerning this PowerPoint presentation, please contact: Terry M. Lease (terry.lease@sonoma.edu) Sonoma State University
2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, PowerPoint supplement to Management Accounting, 4rd ed., Atkinson, Kaplan, and Young, prepared by Terry M. Lease, Ph.D., CPA, Sonoma State University
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